user avatar image
6

Did you know we’re changing the way guest reviews work?

Hi everyone,

Guest reviews are one of the most important factors of managing a property. We at Booking.com we appreciate the feedback on the fairness and accuracy you have provided of the guest review score. 

Thanks to your input, we have made some changes to the way the guest review score is calculated.

In this new system the overall score won’t be determined by the average of the 6 categories, you’ll find all the details in this dedicated article.

Let’s find out what’s new in the improved review system:

  • Now guests select an "overall" score themselves

  • Smiley faces are replaced by a new sliding scale of 1–10 for this score

  • The 1–10 sliding scale means more objective scoring based on guest feedback. 

Your feedback helps us improve! Please leave your thoughts in the comments below:

-Ilaria

 

-3
169 Replies

7
fluff

We'll see how this goes. Could you provide a screen shot of exactly what the customer will see to perform all the scoring.

I really hope the customers understand it!

+2
1 month ago
7
fluff

molto grazie

1 month ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Ilariathankyousomuchfor posting screenshot.

Ilaria I don’t know why but when I choose to reply to someone the inbox is very narrow.  Actually I hardly can see what am I writing.

Please let me know if I can do something about it.

Thanks again for your support.

1 month ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Illaria I sendyouabove a screen shot of the narrow inbox.

Thanks again in advance for helping me.

1 month ago
7
fluff

Nooooooooooooo, it was not a good system.

Please read the many posts explaining why.

1 month ago
7
pibomarco

This will be interesting...  We'll see how the guest will rate overall score... I think there will be more 7s and less 10s in overall score at least for the bigger properties.  "grabs popcorn".     

+2
1 month ago
7
fluff

You said what I was thinking pibomarco !

The layout alone could well instigate this.

Should really have dumped the 4 x smiley scheme entirely.

1 month ago
1
casacorsa.outlook.fr

This seems like properties with a good rating consider the old system fine and the others bad.

Be careful what you wish for... Better the devil you know... :)

1 month ago
3
Callshannonfirst

My property rating is 9.4 for the past 90 days and 8.6 forever, not sure why I cannot seem to get to 8.7. So screw the devil. I believe in Jesus. Hah, but this person is from France where nothing can get done easy. I know. My sister lives there.

1 month ago
3
Callshannonfirst

I would not call it good necessarily, but they did made an OKAY system worse. 

+2
1 month ago
1
Guest house Vi…

If someone has a 9.6 or 9.8 grade will loose it and will low to 9.0 with this introduction. 

+2
1 month ago
3
Callshannonfirst

This is stupid. It makes no sense. How are people to know that one happy face is equal to 2.5 out of 10? When you have a 1-10 and then 4 happy faces. Do you imagine people think about this? How about ditch the happy faces and put 2.5 in it's place if you want to keep the 4 places.

Why is it that my property is not ranked upon its own merits? Why is my score manipulated DOWN because of who you consider my peer group? I am a B&B so comparing me to the Bed Bug in aka the Grand Hotel, Motel 6 and Econo lodge is not fair.  My 90 day score is 9.4 but my overall score of 8.6 does not change no matter how many 10's I get in a row. What the fluff?

My peer group is other B&B's and maybe homestays but not motels.

+1
1 month ago
1
Guest house Vi…

From my point of view. It makes morr sense to put a 1 to 10 for each category and have the final average. It makes no sense to have the faces from 1 to 5 and a final score from 1 to 10. 

The client will be confused and all the final will be 7 or 8. Everyone will have the same score. 

+4
1 month ago
3
Callshannonfirst

Totally agree. Lets keep it simple. It is the K.I.S.S method. Keep it simple stupid.

1 month ago
7
fluff

Exactly, mixing the two is not good.

+1
1 month ago
6
Isle of Wight …

"... the ratings will no longer be used to calculate your overall review score .... Having this independently chosen score is in keeping with industry best practices"

AirBnB use the ratings of cleanliness, location etc to calculate an overall score, in a very similar way to the system that BDC is moving away from

TripAdvisor appears to use a 1/2/3/4/5 system, which appears to be more like what BDC are moving to

Which of AirBnB / TripAdvisor review systems is considered "industry best practices"?

+1
1 month ago
6
Ilaria - Commu…

Hi Isle of Wight Vacations ,

"Industry best practices" it's not just referencing the travel industry. There is a norm for the overall experience to be rated separately from categories.

Industry practice is largely that an overall review rating is separate from ratings on individual categories.

Hope that helps,

-Ilaria 

-2
1 month ago
7
fluff

Yup, I have this narrow box via mobile as well.

PC version ok.

+2
1 month ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Exactlyfluff but I am using mostly my iPhone so that’s a problem. 

+1
1 month ago
6
Ilaria - Commu…

Thanks for attaching a screenshot of what you're seeing M Adamopoulou!

Let's see if the team can reproduce it working out why this is happening. 

+3
1 month ago
1
Tinka Milolaza

There is no way a guest can rate all 10 and then give an overall rating lower.

It makes no sense. 

 

I had a few guests that rated all 10 except for the location (which is clearly stated on the site, this not really my fault and I can not do anything about the location of my property).

I am sure that these guests would have still given me an overal rating of 10  which would make sense.

On the other hand it does not make sense that the guest gives a total overall rating lower than the rating calculated by his answers.

 

Simple as that.

+5
1 month ago
1
Laragh House

Agreed 100% just got a review of all 10s bar location which was 7.5 then overall score of 8 makes no sense

+4
1 month ago
3
Callshannonfirst

They favor hotels but want the coins from the bnb's and they attempt to control us like dogs because they think we will take it, but we will NOT take it. We will build our brands on google, facebook, instagram and twitter and then we will NOT pay their fees we will keep the money we pay them to make our businesses look like crap. OH yes I did just say that. I am sure they will alter this. No freedom.

1 month ago
1
Guest house Vi…

Why you are talking always about 10. There are real cases when you can have location 7.5 or only comfort 7.6 ang the overall will be 7 or 8. By this way you will only lower the grade. There are few structure that will take 10 in everything. The right solution will be to introduce 1to10 for each category and the average as final. This was a real change not the actual one. It makes no sense ang i hope this decision changes soon without doing any other disaster. 

+2
1 month ago
3
Callshannonfirst

Booking is tanking us for our Peer group? Who are they? The local No Tell or another B&B? Yeah the bed bug inn that is who they compare us to which keeps our scores low. I am sick of it. No matter how man 10's I get in a row I am still 8.6 when my 90 day score is 9.4. Not fair.

+1
1 month ago
7
fluff

How many reviews in the last 24 months? That is how your average is calculated.

When we took over our place we really struggled to shift the score up by much, despite gaining great reviews, until the previous peeps bad scores fell off the system and VOILA, decent score overnight.

1 month ago
3
Callshannonfirst

It is much more than that Fluff. It is also your peer group. May I ask what you charge per night because I have an idea that my under 110 price is sticking me with a bad peer group. Such as, the bed bug get shanked inn with private bath complete with urine all over it for 75 a night.

26 days ago
3
Callshannonfirst

There are loads of forums outside of this one that are teaching hosts how to go direct. With booking and ABB taking to much control of our business and profits we are learning.  It is to much regulation when we are PAYING you to advertise on your site. Get a clue. We are learning to leave you and google will help us. It is called hotels nearby. Snap or suffer.

+1
1 month ago
3
Callshannonfirst

It does not matter. I get 10 out of 10 most times and still my score does not move because they clump me in with cheap ass bed but INNs. This is a giant pile of crap and you should all look at getting your own websites and getting on google,claim your name, meta tag hotels near me and hotel nearby. Time to remind booking who butters their toast.

+2
1 month ago
1
Guest house Vi…

I had a review with all 10 and the final grade 9. It do not make any sense. 

Another one with only 2 grades 7.5 which means the average 9.2 but with the new scoring they gave 9.

At this point we will expect always 9 instead of 9.6 and 9.2.

Matematically the final score will decrease to 9.

+1
15 days ago
3
Callshannonfirst

Not true. ABB was using this stupid method long before booking adopted it and if you go on any airbnb facebook forum you will see no owner likes it. A guest can give 5 stars in every category and then they are asked for overall with a silly caviot of did your host do something exceptional or unexpected. Not did you get what you paid for which is the thing. Us hosts left Airbnb because of this. I don't like ABB anymore. I was happy here, but now booking wants to be like ABB and they suck. Shoot loads of people on booking don't even know about them. This was an advantage, but now booking charges us for cleaning fees which ABB never did and NOW they have tacked on the ABB  final score *** I guess I should go back to ABB. I expected better of booking because they seemed smarter, but now I know different. They just did not catch up to stupid yet. Silly Corporations. Booking needs to remember that they are just the yellow pages of hotel reservations. Quit with the fancy dumb ass ideas and stick to the basics.  We pay you to list our properties NOT control our businesses. End of Story.

+2
1 month ago
1
Guest house Vi…

Airbnb didn't change the scoring after some years. It was the same from begining.

In booking it do mot make sense now. 

+3
15 days ago
1
Weatherpine Inn

This doesn't pertain to this topic but I have no where else to go. I have been with Booking.com for 7 years. When I started I placed a restriction on my property that we only took 2 night bookings on weekends. Today I got booking for a Saturday night only. I called to sort this out and was told by 2 people at Booking.com that there indeed was a restriction. I then got an email telling me I didn't have restrictions and that I needed to update. I called in again (each time I waited about 20 minutes). The young lady I spoke to told me that I had set a stop date for the restrictions. As I explained to her that made no sense as nothing had changed in 7 years. She then said she would walk me through the process to add this restriction. I apparently have to do each room separately. I have no intention of wasting my time on a Booking.Com error. I asked to speak to a manager and she told there was no manager. (wish I had had a job with no boss). She finally said they did have a team leader but that person to could not have calls transferred to them. Unbelievable!!!! Instead I have blocked off my calendar for Booking.Com. I have asked to have the team leader call me back but I have no confidence that that will happen.

1 month ago
7
fluff

Yes, each room rate must bet set individually. I was caught out in the early days as well but plenty of places need this feature.

+1
1 month ago
3
Callshannonfirst

It is all a bunch of Fluff. No pun intended Fluff, LOL You know I want to say another word, but should not. smile. It is all a bunch of ****. My current score is 9.5, my closest bed bug hotel with 24 hour city cops and ambulances is 7.8. 

Guess what makes that ****? My current score is 8.6 because of this peer group and their collective 'Peer" score is 6.6. 

My hard work raises them to 7.8 and their lack of cleanliness makes me a 8.6. What kind of ***** is this? I mean really? Is this a socialistic scale? No offense. I am  just asking because in the USA and most American sites my score is MY SCORE. It is what I have earned. I am 4.8 on Airbnb and 4.5 on Google. 

That is me and my market interacting. 

Not me and some random dirt bag notel group. I wonder if this will be deleted?

 

26 days ago
1
Vilabalaia

The problem is that Booking.com persist in keeping control of some procedures with the extranet and this should progress to a total freedom to manage the page by the partner / owner of property. 

Booking.com should make the extranet more user friendly year by year and this is taking far too much time...

+3
1 month ago
3
Callshannonfirst

They need to get off of us. They are nothing more than then the yellow pages phone book. We pay them to advertise on their site. NOT to control our business. We need to step up and control our brands. 

+3
1 month ago
3
Callshannonfirst

Yeah it is called we don't understand English and we don't give a rip because you are just a little guy. Booking wants our business and our money but does not protect or serve us. It is time to build your own brand. Stop depending on this new version of back stabbing yellow pages. Think about it. This year I have spent thousands with booking, but it is not enough to garner respect.

+1
1 month ago
1
Abajaz Motor Inn

Does this mean that there will no longer be reviews that we can't reply to?

In the past if a guest just marked each individual category without putting a subject name or comment on the review the property had no right of reply ... will this remain the same if a guest just uses the sliding scale?

+2
1 month ago
2
Ivybridge Gues…

Very good question Abajaz Motor Inn! Property owners should ALWAYS have the right to respond to any form of guest feedback, surely that's equal say!

I expect over all score will ALWAYS be based on whether the stay experience was value for money! What else is an over all score unless you feel you got your money's worth? 

There is still way too much emphasis on guest review scores which are about as accurate as friendly rugby internationals!

+4
1 month ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Yes Ilaria we know, guest review system has changed... a fellow partner has informed us a couple of weeks ago.

fluff has a point...screen shot would certainly help us understand better the new guest review system.  

I also hope guests understand the new review system!!!

I try very hard every time to convince them that both guests and hosts benefit using it. Many of them don't even know it exists!!!

Cheers!!!

 

1 month ago
1
Guest house Vi…

Till now i am not seeing any result. Just client who gives high scores for each category and the final 7 or 8.

At this point all tbe scores will tend to this number. There will not be differences between 8.8 or 9.2 or 9.5. It will be all 8. So no one will take the score in consideration. No sense. 

+1
1 month ago