user avatar image
6

Did you know we’re changing the way guest reviews work?

Hi everyone,

Guest reviews are one of the most important factors of managing a property. We at Booking.com we appreciate the feedback on the fairness and accuracy you have provided of the guest review score. 

Thanks to your input, we have made some changes to the way the guest review score is calculated.

In this new system the overall score won’t be determined by the average of the 6 categories, you’ll find all the details in this dedicated article.

Let’s find out what’s new in the improved review system:

  • Now guests select an "overall" score themselves

  • Smiley faces are replaced by a new sliding scale of 1–10 for this score

  • The 1–10 sliding scale means more objective scoring based on guest feedback. 

Your feedback helps us improve! Please leave your thoughts in the comments below:

-Ilaria

 

-8
236 Replies

7
fluff

We'll see how this goes. Could you provide a screen shot of exactly what the customer will see to perform all the scoring.

I really hope the customers understand it!

+1
2 months ago
7
fluff

molto grazie

2 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Ilariathankyousomuchfor posting screenshot.

Ilaria I don’t know why but when I choose to reply to someone the inbox is very narrow.  Actually I hardly can see what am I writing.

Please let me know if I can do something about it.

Thanks again for your support.

2 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Illaria I sendyouabove a screen shot of the narrow inbox.

Thanks again in advance for helping me.

2 months ago
7
fluff

Nooooooooooooo, it was not a good system.

Please read the many posts explaining why.

+1
2 months ago
7
pibomarco

This will be interesting...  We'll see how the guest will rate overall score... I think there will be more 7s and less 10s in overall score at least for the bigger properties.  "grabs popcorn".     

+3
2 months ago
7
fluff

You said what I was thinking pibomarco !

The layout alone could well instigate this.

Should really have dumped the 4 x smiley scheme entirely.

+1
2 months ago
3
Callshannonfirst

They are trying to be like airbnb. I guess they don't know hosts disliked strongly to the point of expanding their brands. 

The only problem with the way it was, is my score was mixed in with others and brought  down.  I just received my first review score from a totally happy guest he gave me 5 smile faces and then an 8. People have no idea what a fluffing 10 means.

He was a real sweet man from India around 60 so he is used to 4 stars and then they change to 5 smile faces and now it is 5 smile faces and a score to 10? What the fluff?

+2
20 days ago
1
Σπύρος και Χρι…

This has just happened to my property. I got all 10's on the category ratings and the final grade is 7. The explanation of Booking: the client just rated his stay overall on the island, not at the property. Well, this is just plain stupid. The new system is really going to affect owners and they will leave Booking.com for this. I am already considering it. Well done, Booking!

+8
25 days ago
3
Callshannonfirst

Just experienced the same thing. sigh. 

Why do they keep messing things up?

Guess we need to get on twitter.

+1
20 days ago
1
casacorsa.outlook.fr

This seems like properties with a good rating consider the old system fine and the others bad.

Be careful what you wish for... Better the devil you know... :)

-2
2 months ago
3
Callshannonfirst

My property rating is 9.4 for the past 90 days and 8.6 forever, not sure why I cannot seem to get to 8.7. So screw the devil. I believe in Jesus. Hah, but this person is from France where nothing can get done easy. I know. My sister lives there.

1 month ago
3
Callshannonfirst

I would not call it good necessarily, but they did made an OKAY system worse. 

+5
1 month ago
1
Guest house Vi…

If someone has a 9.6 or 9.8 grade will loose it and will low to 9.0 with this introduction. 

+4
1 month ago
3
Callshannonfirst

This is stupid. It makes no sense. How are people to know that one happy face is equal to 2.5 out of 10? When you have a 1-10 and then 4 happy faces. Do you imagine people think about this? How about ditch the happy faces and put 2.5 in it's place if you want to keep the 4 places.

Why is it that my property is not ranked upon its own merits? Why is my score manipulated DOWN because of who you consider my peer group? I am a B&B so comparing me to the Bed Bug in aka the Grand Hotel, Motel 6 and Econo lodge is not fair.  My 90 day score is 9.4 but my overall score of 8.6 does not change no matter how many 10's I get in a row. What the fluff?

My peer group is other B&B's and maybe homestays but not motels.

+2
1 month ago
1
Guest house Vi…

From my point of view. It makes morr sense to put a 1 to 10 for each category and have the final average. It makes no sense to have the faces from 1 to 5 and a final score from 1 to 10. 

The client will be confused and all the final will be 7 or 8. Everyone will have the same score. 

+8
1 month ago
3
Callshannonfirst

Totally agree. Lets keep it simple. It is the K.I.S.S method. Keep it simple stupid.

+3
1 month ago
7
fluff

Exactly, mixing the two is not good.

+4
1 month ago
2
Pristine1917

And many guests, we're learning the hard way, will put the slider at 1 or 2 thinking they are the highest scores they can give.

+3
23 days ago
6
Isle of Wight …

"... the ratings will no longer be used to calculate your overall review score .... Having this independently chosen score is in keeping with industry best practices"

AirBnB use the ratings of cleanliness, location etc to calculate an overall score, in a very similar way to the system that BDC is moving away from

TripAdvisor appears to use a 1/2/3/4/5 system, which appears to be more like what BDC are moving to

Which of AirBnB / TripAdvisor review systems is considered "industry best practices"?

+2
2 months ago
6
Ilaria - Commu…

Hi Isle of Wight Vacations ,

"Industry best practices" it's not just referencing the travel industry. There is a norm for the overall experience to be rated separately from categories.

Industry practice is largely that an overall review rating is separate from ratings on individual categories.

Hope that helps,

-Ilaria 

-3
2 months ago
7
fluff

Yup, I have this narrow box via mobile as well.

PC version ok.

+3
2 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Exactlyfluff but I am using mostly my iPhone so that’s a problem. 

+2
2 months ago
6
Ilaria - Commu…

Thanks for attaching a screenshot of what you're seeing M Adamopoulou!

Let's see if the team can reproduce it working out why this is happening. 

+2
2 months ago
1
Tinka Milolaza

There is no way a guest can rate all 10 and then give an overall rating lower.

It makes no sense. 

 

I had a few guests that rated all 10 except for the location (which is clearly stated on the site, this not really my fault and I can not do anything about the location of my property).

I am sure that these guests would have still given me an overal rating of 10  which would make sense.

On the other hand it does not make sense that the guest gives a total overall rating lower than the rating calculated by his answers.

 

Simple as that.

+9
2 months ago
1
Laragh House

Agreed 100% just got a review of all 10s bar location which was 7.5 then overall score of 8 makes no sense

+7
2 months ago
3
Callshannonfirst

They favor hotels but want the coins from the bnb's and they attempt to control us like dogs because they think we will take it, but we will NOT take it. We will build our brands on google, facebook, instagram and twitter and then we will NOT pay their fees we will keep the money we pay them to make our businesses look like crap. OH yes I did just say that. I am sure they will alter this. No freedom.

+3
1 month ago
1
Guest house Vi…

Why you are talking always about 10. There are real cases when you can have location 7.5 or only comfort 7.6 ang the overall will be 7 or 8. By this way you will only lower the grade. There are few structure that will take 10 in everything. The right solution will be to introduce 1to10 for each category and the average as final. This was a real change not the actual one. It makes no sense ang i hope this decision changes soon without doing any other disaster. 

+5
1 month ago
3
Callshannonfirst

There are loads of forums outside of this one that are teaching hosts how to go direct. With booking and ABB taking to much control of our business and profits we are learning.  It is to much regulation when we are PAYING you to advertise on your site. Get a clue. We are learning to leave you and google will help us. It is called hotels nearby. Snap or suffer.

+2
1 month ago
1
Guest house Vi…

I had a review with all 10 and the final grade 9. It do not make any sense. 

Another one with only 2 grades 7.5 which means the average 9.2 but with the new scoring they gave 9.

At this point we will expect always 9 instead of 9.6 and 9.2.

Matematically the final score will decrease to 9.

+3
1 month ago
3
Callshannonfirst

Not true. ABB was using this stupid method long before booking adopted it and if you go on any airbnb facebook forum you will see no owner likes it. A guest can give 5 stars in every category and then they are asked for overall with a silly caviot of did your host do something exceptional or unexpected. Not did you get what you paid for which is the thing. Us hosts left Airbnb because of this. I don't like ABB anymore. I was happy here, but now booking wants to be like ABB and they suck. Shoot loads of people on booking don't even know about them. This was an advantage, but now booking charges us for cleaning fees which ABB never did and NOW they have tacked on the ABB  final score *** I guess I should go back to ABB. I expected better of booking because they seemed smarter, but now I know different. They just did not catch up to stupid yet. Silly Corporations. Booking needs to remember that they are just the yellow pages of hotel reservations. Quit with the fancy dumb ass ideas and stick to the basics.  We pay you to list our properties NOT control our businesses. End of Story.

+3
1 month ago
1
Guest house Vi…

Airbnb didn't change the scoring after some years. It was the same from begining.

In booking it do mot make sense now. 

+3
1 month ago
3
Ian at Numurka…

yes, they are controlling our businesses.

we should all write to the Ausralian Government about it.

+1
23 days ago
3
Callshannonfirst

NO they do not.  Airbnb changed a long time ago. 

Now it is 5 stars and an overall score.

This has really been hurting hosts because guests don't really understand.

The question is did you host do something unexpected?

and then a choice of 5 stars

4 if you got what you paid for

3 if you thought they could have done more

5 if your host stood on her head whist serving tea.

Loads of super hosts lost super host because they got 5 in all catagories

and then a 4 total score. People don't know that 4 is death on Uber and AircrapandB

+1
20 days ago
1
Weatherpine Inn

This doesn't pertain to this topic but I have no where else to go. I have been with Booking.com for 7 years. When I started I placed a restriction on my property that we only took 2 night bookings on weekends. Today I got booking for a Saturday night only. I called to sort this out and was told by 2 people at Booking.com that there indeed was a restriction. I then got an email telling me I didn't have restrictions and that I needed to update. I called in again (each time I waited about 20 minutes). The young lady I spoke to told me that I had set a stop date for the restrictions. As I explained to her that made no sense as nothing had changed in 7 years. She then said she would walk me through the process to add this restriction. I apparently have to do each room separately. I have no intention of wasting my time on a Booking.Com error. I asked to speak to a manager and she told there was no manager. (wish I had had a job with no boss). She finally said they did have a team leader but that person to could not have calls transferred to them. Unbelievable!!!! Instead I have blocked off my calendar for Booking.Com. I have asked to have the team leader call me back but I have no confidence that that will happen.

2 months ago
7
fluff

Yes, each room rate must bet set individually. I was caught out in the early days as well but plenty of places need this feature.

+2
2 months ago
3
Callshannonfirst

It is all a bunch of Fluff. No pun intended Fluff, LOL You know I want to say another word, but should not. smile. It is all a bunch of ****. My current score is 9.5, my closest bed bug hotel with 24 hour city cops and ambulances is 7.8. 

Guess what makes that ****? My current score is 8.6 because of this peer group and their collective 'Peer" score is 6.6. 

My hard work raises them to 7.8 and their lack of cleanliness makes me a 8.6. What kind of ***** is this? I mean really? Is this a socialistic scale? No offense. I am  just asking because in the USA and most American sites my score is MY SCORE. It is what I have earned. I am 4.8 on Airbnb and 4.5 on Google. 

That is me and my market interacting. 

Not me and some random dirt bag notel group. I wonder if this will be deleted?

 

1 month ago
1
Vilabalaia

The problem is that Booking.com persist in keeping control of some procedures with the extranet and this should progress to a total freedom to manage the page by the partner / owner of property. 

Booking.com should make the extranet more user friendly year by year and this is taking far too much time...

+3
2 months ago
3
Callshannonfirst

They need to get off of us. They are nothing more than then the yellow pages phone book. We pay them to advertise on their site. NOT to control our business. We need to step up and control our brands. 

+4
1 month ago
3
Callshannonfirst

Yeah it is called we don't understand English and we don't give a rip because you are just a little guy. Booking wants our business and our money but does not protect or serve us. It is time to build your own brand. Stop depending on this new version of back stabbing yellow pages. Think about it. This year I have spent thousands with booking, but it is not enough to garner respect.

+3
1 month ago