user avatar image
3

Hosts against the New Review System

Dear Partners,

An Overall Review System has been introduced and it's not to anyone's benefit - guests, host or even Booking.com.  Please add your vote here and use the Feedback button in the footer of the Intranet platform to encourage Booking.com to revert to the previous review system, at least when it comes to the arbitrary overall review counting as the only displayed score.

Here is the message we just sent to the customer service through the Feedback section:

We are upset about the change to the review system. Other platforms like Airbnb have been heavily criticized by hosts and have struggled because of changing to a review system like the one you're introducing. It leaves room for people to leave high reviews on categories and yet a low overall review because they had a cloudy weekend or the snow wasn't good. For example, We could give 1 star to the Feedback experience to make a point, because we are upset and not because of the many great features this platform offers.

To make matters worse, the only review that counts is the overall, which isn't based on logical reasoning, but an emotional impression of a holiday. We urge BDC to go back to the previous system where the final review is a calculation based on the category reviews.

Now another remark: we understand that a scale of 1 to 10 could be more accurate than the smiles, but the smiles clearly express through both cognitive and emotional channels instead of the old school purely intellectual reasoning of numbers. There has been a review where the guest marked a 1 thinking it's the best score, and this wasn't repaired." Therefore a smile could be added on each side of the scale to clarify this issue.

But more important than this advice, is the urgent request to revert the overall note according to an average calculation as it was before, before further and irreparable damage is made.

Thank you.

Our "2,0" review. We won't tolerate this much longer.

+5
23 Replies

1
Vicki Webber

We too are experiencing unfair difficulties with the new rating system.  

EXAMPLE: ***.  10 for all the individual scores and then a 9 overall?

EXAMPLE: ***.  9.8 for all the individual scores and then an 8 overall? 

This new system is flawed and simply does not work.

 

+3
17 days ago
7
pibomarco

But when you will receive 7,5 for all individual scores and a 9 overall in this case you will probably not complain. :)

Sometimes you will receive a higher overall score and sometimes higher individual scores.

"Emotional impression". Lots of guests rates also the sections based on their emotional state.  I do think that overall score could drop a bit with the new system, but we are all on the same boat so in the end it really doesn't matter. 

 

-3
17 days ago
1
Vicki Webber

So far this has not been the case on any of the new type of reviews.   I also doubt that if anyone gave you 7.5 on individual - that they will give you 10 overall.

The new system will only bring down high-scoring properties.  If you have been getting mostly 10 in the past - you will go down with the new system.  While properties lower down will not be affected. So this new system is biased against high-scoring properties.  

It is not well thought-through.  

 

+5
17 days ago
7
pibomarco

My second review into the new system was basicly 7,5 in sections and 8 a final score.

High scoring properties will continue to be on top. If you'll continue to be a positive and helpful host, there is a better chance that you will receive even a better overal score comparing to score in sections.

Also because of the few reviews you can't just generalize everything. The system is new, give it some time so that we colect more numbers/reviews and we'll see if it is really that "bad". 

 

-2
16 days ago
1
Vicki Webber

Hello there,

This is exactly the problem that Jennifer (and all properties averaging over 9.0) are complaining about.  

With respect pibomarco, you do need to understand the mathematics properly before you make such casual observations.

Anyone getting above 9.0 currently WILL be disadvantaged by the new system and WILL see their average fall over the next year or so. Fact.  So the new rating system will bring high rating properties down, and support those in the 7.0 to 8.9 category.

This is our complaint. We are fastidious with our service and work incredibly hard to get 9.7.  Now without consultation (or clear understanding of their own "fix") Booking will sweep that aside.  

We are too small for Booking to pay attention. So this simply encourages us to seek as many bookings as we can elsewhere.

 

 

+2
1 day ago
1
Vicki Webber

What can be done?  Who can we talk to?

 

+1
17 days ago
7
pibomarco

What can be done? I think nothing for now. BDC changed this review system on behalf of many fellow hosts who were complaing on the old system. 

-2
16 days ago
3
Jennifer and A…

In the same way the review system was changed because of people complaining, it can also be improved doing to the new complaints of hosts who don't agree with the new system. Simple as that. There's always something we can do.

+5
16 days ago
3
Jennifer and A…

Vicki, we're going to call Booking.com and keep connecting with people through the forum. We're also going to check for other forums outside of booking.com. If we find anything, we'll keep you posted. 

+3
16 days ago
1
Gustave Righetti

Excellent initiative. I totally agree and saw this flaw as soon as it was released. With a good motivation, there's always something that can be done.

+3
16 days ago
2
Bakuflats

I have already expressed my disappointment with the new system on this forum. I think the the total score should be the sum of all the categories, otherwise it makes no sense at all to have scores for categories. The original system was logical, the new one is not.

+6
15 days ago
1
Secret Pyrenees

I also believe the new system is barmy and should be sorted out. However, I'm not entirely certain the old system was that great either.  

 

+2
14 days ago
1
Σπύρος και Χρι…

I have just received 10s an all 6 categories and a 7 as a final grade. I understood it's because the client had a problem with the island itself, not with my accommodation. It's wrong on so many levels. Booking, are you seriously going to destroy what you have built up until now? I vote for getting back the old system. The new one will bring low rating without making any sense. I am considering giving priority to other platforms if Booking decides to keep the new system.

+3
3 days ago
3
Jennifer and A…

We totally agree with you, it's unbearable to see they do nothing about it, not even a message of apology :-/ We recommended Booking.com all these years but for the moment, no more.

+3
3 days ago
7
pibomarco

A message of apology? For what? For listening to the majority of hosts that wanted a new review system? Get of your high horse. 

Oh, and I was basicly the only one defending the previous review system, when all other hosts wanted 1 - 10 system. 

-3
3 days ago
1
Casa BuonVento

I am one of those who asked for a new review system. Today, I think that the 1-10 system is good for the sub-categories, surely better than the smile system, BUT it's NOT logical, nor objective, to have all 10 and then an 8 as overall score. The solution is easy: 1-10 for the subcategories, and overall score = automatic average of the sub-categories. Elena

+5
3 days ago
1
Casa BuonVento

Here I am... I just had a 10 on almost all the sub-categories and 8.0 as overall score (our average overall is 9.6). A solution could be the following: guest rating 1-10 the sub-categories and overall score = automatic average of the sub-categories.  I hope that Booking.com will solve the problem... Regards, Elena

+5
3 days ago
7
pibomarco

I quite believe that once the categories will be changed to 1 - 10 the scores will be lower comparing to emojis, specially for the properties that in general receive top scores. Those 10s that you all received with emojis, with the new system would most likely be rated 8 - 10. Just another indicator why emojis perform better.

Also your overall score is 9,6. Why did you want to change it in the first place? Obviously the old system was working in your favour.

-2
3 days ago
7
pibomarco

My math:

:D = 10 = 8 - 10

:) = 7.5 = 6 - 8

:| = 5,0 = 4 - 6

:( = 2,5 = 1 - 3 (but most of them will probably score 1)

Is it really better? Perhaps "fairer" yes.

As I stated before it wasn’t  really the emoji problem. The main reason was 7,5 score that hosts felt was unjust / too low. But took 10s for granted.

The fact is that with new system we’ll receive more 8s and 9s instead of 10s (also in categories).

 

-2
3 days ago
1
Hotel Centrale…

Very bad experience with the new system.

We have to come back to previous one.

It's a shame.

Also ..what about the feedback without comment? Why i cannot reply ?

Horrible

+4
1 day ago
3
Jennifer and A…

I agree with Pristine1917: "many guests, we're learning the hard way, will put the slider at 1 or 2 thinking they are the highest scores they can give"  So if the 1 - 10 system remains, it would be intelligent to at least have a smile :-( ......... :-) on each side of the scale. And of course, revert to the average calculation would be smarter. Our "2,0" review. We won't tolerate this much longer.

+1
15 hours ago