Profile picture for user tarundeep.singh.booking.com t
B.
Closed Closed

Ask Me Anything: Guest Reviews with Tarundeep Singh, Senior Product Manager at Booking.com

Hello! 

My name is Tarundeep Singh and I’ve spent the last 3.5 years here at Booking.com. Prior to joining the company, I worked for almost 9 years in India as a Product Manager for multiple e-commerce companies including India’s largest OTA. 

I started at Booking.com as a Product Manager for the Partner Content team, where I had the opportunity to connect directly with partners like you. Today, my focus is on our User Generated Product (Reviews and Ratings) as a Senior Product Manager.

Here in the Partner Community, guest reviews are a hot topic. As my team and I are dedicated to developing the best guest reviews products for you, we wanted to give you an opportunity to ask me your questions.

I'm happy to answer any questions you may have about guest reviews. Please note: we are unable to answer any questions specific to your property or guests.

Please leave your questions for me below and I will answer the most relevant questions on Monday, 25 July.

Guidelines:

  • All Booking.com partners on the Community are welcome to ask questions.
  • Questions must be on topic.
  • Questions that are off topic, contain abusive language or are offensive in any nature will be removed.
  • Questions regarding individual claims, specific guests and reservation numbers will be removed.
  • This thread will be closed for comments on 21 July, and answers to the top 10 most relevant questions will be posted on 25 July.

r
2
Rodger MacKenz… 1 year ago

Hi there,

What is booking.com doing to protect hosts from malicious, unfair or in some cases; illegal  & defamatory reviews?

How does booking.com ensure that it is compliant with defamatory law in the host countries? For example, There has been a recent ruling from a US court re Glassdoor publishing defamatory reviews on Zuru that they're required to publish the identity of the reviewers as they might breach NZ standards of law on 'honest opinions' 

Why is it not possible to speak directly with a member of the review team? 

What is being done to make the review system more fair for hosts?

Can we expect to see a review system for properties to rate guests?

Why can't hosts respond to reviews with no comments?

What is the process for escalating a review when you feel that the request for removal has not been considered/done correctly? 

What has been the general host consensus/feedback on the switch from an automatically generated overall score to a user-picked overall score and has this been a move in the right direction? 

Look forward to your response. 

R&T

10
1 year ago
Profile picture for user greenharborpatong.outlook.com f
7
Fluff (new account) 1 year ago

I'll add that there is confusion amongst guests with the review system, they don't understand it and often give unintentional scores.

Another problem is via the guest version of the 'phone app, the overriding score only shows 1 to 8 on their screen if they don't scroll. This leads many guests to think that 8 is actually the maximum and they score accordingly.  

It should be made clear to guests that they are scoring the property on its own merit and not compared to somewhere else they may have stayed at twice the price.  So the score(s) should be based on the property delivering on what was listed with BDC. 

As for the sub-catagories;

E.g. LOCATION; Was the property exactly where it claimed? Were the surroundings as claimed. Was the property e.g. the stated distance from the beach? If all yes that's a 10 in theory. If the guest didn't like the local, unassociated, restaurant, that has nothing to do with the property.

etc. , etc.

 

Another point that should be clear, if a property has an average score e.g. 9.0 the guest should know that scoring less is disagreeing with other guests i.e. the property fell short of their own reputation in the guests opinion. If they score the same they agree, if they score higher then the guest is saying the property exceeded their reputation. 

8
1 year ago
i
6
Isle of Wight … 1 year ago

I echo everything said above.  I would ask more questions but, given the nonsense responses from Booking.com about many other issues, I would simply be wasting more of my time ....

5
1 year ago
Profile picture for user tarundeep.singh.booking.com t
B.
Tarundeep Singh 1 year ago

Thank you everyone for the questions, I have tried to answer majority of the questions that were in scope for this session:

Question: What is booking.com doing to protect hosts from malicious, unfair or in some cases; illegal & defamatory reviews?

Answer: We at Booking have a moderation team which has a primary focus to ensure that there are no malicious or unfair reviews being published on our platforms.
Partners like you are important for us and we have given you the option to flag the review which they believe is malicious or illegal. Then our moderation team works on it to ensure that only the correct representation of the stay experience is being published on our platform.

 

Question:How does booking.com ensure that it is compliant with defamatory law in the host countries?

Answer: We at Booking have a strong legal team which works closely with us to ensure that we are compliant to all the laws in a specific country.
It is not about defamatory laws we comply with but all compliance requirements for a specific host country.

 

Question: Why is it not possible to speak directly with a member of the review team?

Answer: We have a process setup where we get the feedback either directly from partners through Extranet or we get collective feedback from your account managers about the problems being faced by partners.
I can assure you that I personally go through all the feedback we receive about our reviews product but sometimes it takes us time to fix some of them as we have limited capacity and need to prioritize accordingly but rest assured that we always aim to fix all partner problems as soon as possible.

 

Question: What is being done to make the review system more fair for hosts?

Answer: We at Booking and review team have a guiding principle to make sure that the reviews are just and fair.
We don't and will not make it biased towards either hosts or guests, we want to ensure that the guests are able to share their authentic stay experience and partners/hosts are able to get actionable insights from their guests on how to improve their review score.
We have a few product launches in the pipeline in the coming months to start collecting more relevant reviews from customers, the communication regarding the launch will be done and shared with you all once the features go live.

 

Question: Can we expect to see a review system for properties to rate guests?

Answer: Thanks for sharing the feedback, this is a topic we are researching on but currently it is not in our roadmap.
If we get good signals from our research about the need for this product, we will definitely prioritize it accordingly.

 

Question: Why can't hosts respond to reviews with no comments?

Answer: Thanks for sharing this feedback, let me go back to the drawing board to see if and how we can implement this.

 

Question: What is the process for escalating a review when you feel that the request for removal has not been considered/done correctly? 

Answer: Our moderation teams have SLAs and there are very few incidents where we might breach the SLA because sometimes it takes time to verify the truth from both sides and act accordingly.
I can assure you that we take this SLA very seriously and want to ensure that only authentic and true reviews are displayed on our platforms.

 

Question: What has been the general host consensus/feedback on the switch from an automatically generated overall score to a user-picked overall score and has this been a move in the right direction? 

Answer: We never had an auto generated overall review score, it always has been selected by the guests.
For the fairness of the review system, Booking can not generate any review score, it has to always come from the real guests.

Thanks again for all the questions, we will continue working to make sure all your queries/problems are resolved.

Cheers!

 

2
1 year ago
i
2
Ian Robinson 1 year ago

I've only just seen this thread and note that it does not link to the existing partner thread regarding the guest generated overall score. I'm afraid your response to the final question is not correct. Until 3 years ago, probably before your time, the booking.com system automatically generated an overall score based on the individual scores for each element in the property. This meant that a score of 4 x 10s and 1x 9 gave an overall score of 9.8, 3x10 and 2x9 =9.6 etc now guests are happy to provide 4 x 10 but often, for an obscure reason give an overall of 9, they only have the option of whole integers.

It seems as though this mitigates against the good performing businesses and boosts those that receive poorer individual scores. This is a running sore that has really upset those of us who used to be rated in the high 9's and www would prefer the previous system to be re-instated

8
1 year ago
Profile picture for user greenharborpatong.outlook.com f
7
Fluff (new account) 1 year ago

Quite correct Ian Robinson

I think the rest of us are so jaded from banging our heads against the BDC brick wall, that we couldn't be bothered to argue the point. Obviously what BDC is hoping for in all their dealings with hosts and clients, this is already biting on their behind as they continue to lose ground against their competition and their reputation in tatters.

BDC do not live in the real world...maybe they will pay the ultimate price.

 

3
1 year ago
i
6
Isle of Wight … 1 year ago

Question: What is booking.com doing to protect hosts from malicious, unfair or in some cases; illegal & defamatory reviews?

Answer: We at Booking have a moderation team which has a primary focus to ensure that there are no malicious or unfair reviews being published on our platforms.

As Booking have a great many malicious and unfair reviews, your moderation team have clearly failed.

Question:How does booking.com ensure that it is compliant with defamatory law in the host countries?

Answer: We at Booking have a strong legal team which works closely with us to ensure that we are compliant to all the laws in a specific country.

As Booking allow reviews that contain unlawful comments and as Booking allow negative reviews from attempted blackmail of hosts / partners, your legal team have failed.

Question: Why is it not possible to speak directly with a member of the review team?

Answer: We have a process setup where we get the feedback either directly from partners through Extranet or we get collective feedback from your account managers about the problems being faced by partners. I can assure you that I personally go through all the feedback we receive about our reviews product but sometimes it takes us time to fix some of them as we have limited capacity and need to prioritize accordingly but rest assured that we always aim to fix all partner problems as soon as possible.

Other booking channels fix problems in hours or days. Booking refuse to acknowledge problems for years, let alone fix them. Whatever this process is that you have in place, it's inadequate.

Question: What is being done to make the review system more fair for hosts?

Answer: We at Booking and review team have a guiding principle to make sure that the reviews are just and fair.

As a great many reviews are neither just or fair, that guiding principle has failed.

Question: Can we expect to see a review system for properties to rate guests?

Answer: Thanks for sharing the feedback, this is a topic we are researching on but currently it is not in our roadmap.

In the meantime, you continue allowing bad guests to book and stay with good hosts. Yet another fail.

Question: Why can't hosts respond to reviews with no comments?

Answer: Thanks for sharing this feedback, let me go back to the drawing board to see if and how we can implement this.

This has been raised as an issue for many years. Programming your systems to allow this should be a simple task. It should not take years to work out whether or not you can do it. It sounds like you need to get a new drawing board.

Question: What is the process for escalating a review when you feel that the request for removal has not been considered/done correctly? 

Answer: Our moderation teams have SLAs and there are very few incidents where we might breach the SLA because sometimes it takes time to verify the truth from both sides and act accordingly. I can assure you that we take this SLA very seriously and want to ensure that only authentic and true reviews are displayed on our platforms.

As every objection to unfair / defamatory / illegal reviews (including false reviews where someone didn't even arrive at the property) is met with "this is the guest's experience", your moderation team have failed. In fact, they've failed miserably.

Question: What has been the general host consensus/feedback on the switch from an automatically generated overall score to a user-picked overall score and has this been a move in the right direction? 

Answer: We never had an auto generated overall review score, it always has been selected by the guests. For the fairness of the review system, Booking can not generate any review score, it has to always come from the real guests.

And you've missed the real point.

Thanks again for all the questions, we will continue working to make sure all your queries/problems are resolved.

Please can you work to resolve these queries/problems to OUR satisfaction instead of Booking.com's satisfaction? They can all be resolved easily, if you have the willpower and desire to support hosts/partners. Even resolving one of them will be a major achievement. Just one. Go on, try it. Fix one thing in a way that supports hosts / partners. Just one.

And finally, I'll score your response as 1/10. Poor. Very poor.

10
1 year ago
Profile picture for user tarundeep.singh.booking.com t
B.
Tarundeep Singh 1 year ago

Hey Isle of Wight Vacations - I am really sorry that you feel this way, maybe we can setup a call between us for me to better understand the scenario and help you.

0
1 year ago
b
11
BrookAve 1 year ago

 

  • amen, well said,
  • otherwise this was a pointless topic and nothing will come from it as per usual.
  • BdC  still cant build a proper community forum and navigation under the lists.... if you cant do the basics then there no hope for ye.
     
  • so I have zero faith in them doing even one of the solutions mentioned above by Isle of Wight
     
  • There was at least 3 of the above I immediately spotted as  a 'waffle response'.
     
  • I'm all for supporting positive solutions , but when the staff keeps changing and no quick wins actioned is it any wonder so many partners become disalusioned and loose faith in BdC.
     
  • I cant blame them.
6
1 year ago
Profile picture for user greenharborpatong.outlook.com f
7
Fluff (new account) 1 year ago

1,000% agree with Isle of Wight Vacations  

A predictably flippant and arrogant response from BDC in general. Yes Tarundeep Singh  I can confirm another miserable 1/10 score from me as well.

I am so glad that we longer need to regard BDC as a serious source of trade. We have outgrown you!

Ignore your hosts and guests at your peril. While other online agents are showing real signs of recovery, improved support, willingness and haste in making changes, BDC remains dreaming of unicorns and rainbows in its ivory towers of blindness. Add to this the new vigor with which hosts are gaining direct sales, cutting out the self-appointed gurus.

All we get from BDC is "We, we, we, think this or that, our research tells us..." while you carry on with dirty tricks campaigns, fleecing hosts and guests alike, not even so much as paying lip service in support, listening or understanding.

 

Here's a little reality check for you;

 

Name is mud 1

 

Name is mud 2

 

Name is mud 3

 

ARE WE GETTING THROUGH YET?

9
1 year ago
r
2
Rodger MacKenz… 1 year ago

I have to say, we echo the comments as above. The answers don't really feel very genuine or seem to have a lot of empathy for the concerns the community has raised throughout the years.

I'm most stricken with this statement

" partners/hosts are able to get actionable insights from their guests on how to improve their review score."

If a guest is able to leave a review with no comments, how is that congruent with the above? What can hosts learn from a review with no comments? Do you see the disparity in what you've seen VS the present reality. 

 

 

3
1 year ago
i
6
Isle of Wight … 1 year ago

I'm most stricken with this statement

" partners/hosts are able to get actionable insights from their guests on how to improve their review score."

The statement assumes that whatever comments a guest makes are to point out genuine deficiencies in our properties or service - deficiencies that we can do something about.

But many of us get regular 9/10 or 10/10, and then get one guest who writes an unfair and unreasonable review that differs greatly from all the others. That is not an "actionable insight". It is someone being unfair and unreasonable.

4
1 year ago
Profile picture for user tarundeep.singh.booking.com t
B.
Tarundeep Singh 1 year ago

Hey Rodger - Let me expand on this statement a bit, what I meant here is:
Currently guests can leave a bad rating without any reason, we are working on a product (In development, experiment to launch soon) to collect reason for that bad rating.

This is to ensure that we know why the guest is leaving a bad rating. 
 

1
1 year ago
r
2
Rodger MacKenz… 1 year ago

Hi Tarundeep,

Thanks for this and for continuing to respond to some of our concerns. So with this new product you've mentioned; can the guest still leave a bad rating and not provide a reason or is it compulsory? 

I'm also mindful that the reason just gets into a 'he said / they said' argument where the property again, doesn't get much of an opportunity to respond. If I had evidence (photographic, video etc) of a guest behaving badly, they leave me a bad rating because as a property, we might take action (might be extra cleaning charges, might need to call police etc) and their reason might again, not be based in reality. It could be retalitatory for example, but they're not going to put that as the reason for the bad rating.

Why can't we simply submit evidence to Booking to say 'actually hey, what they've written is objectively incorrect; here's our evidence' but when hosts do do that, they're told that it isn't bookings problem, that it doesn't breach your current policy on reviews etc and it just leaves hosts with a foul taste because there's no partnership in play here at all. The current system seems tremendously one-sided to the guests and there's really no in-platform recourse for hosts who need to deal with the negative business impact of these unfair reviews.  

3
1 year ago
b
11
BrookAve 1 year ago
  • let me make the product easy for ye:
    • guest is presented with a form and sliding value for categories,
    • guest sets values for each ,
      • for any under 8 automatically reveal a memo box labeled :
        • Give Reason for rating lower than 8
        • with a [i] to display this is mandatory before continuing, rating cannot be submitted if lower than 8 and no constructive feedback entered into the memo box
        • if you fail t oprovide this you will NOT be allowed to rate this accomodation. To help ensure fair ratings and combat derogatory and  or vindictive false ratings.

 

  • that takes an hour to implement ,  an hour to submit a Change request in any  ITiL Service Now ticket system for production changes along with a manager approval attached.

 

  • zero excuses why this cannot be implemented and done with in a 3 day lead time as standard practice for Normal Change requests in an IT dept.
  • not months just days when managed properly
  •  
  • this is just the bones of the idea more ca nbe added on to limit /review what they do. just build out the logic.

     
2
1 year ago
i
6
Isle of Wight … 1 year ago

BrookeAve - Unfortunately that still allows guests to post nonsense, irrelevant, unfair and unreasonable reviews. And Booking.com will still support them.

1
1 year ago
b
11
BrookAve 1 year ago

that was just the bones of the idea plenty more logic can  be built into it.

1
1 year ago
i
6
Isle of Wight … 1 year ago

logic and booking.com .... ummm ...... errr ........

2
1 year ago
b
11
BrookAve 1 year ago

🤦‍♂️🤣🙃😂

1
1 year ago
i
6
Isle of Wight … 1 year ago

Tarundeep ....

"actionable insights" ...... Our properties are described accurately. The guests can read the descriptions and be aware of what is and is not provided. They can arrive at the property and find everything exactly as described. And if so, there is no reason for them to score a property less than 10/10.

But, although the property is described accurately and they know what to expect, they prefer something different. They might prefer one particular brand of coffee machine to another. They might prefer feather pillows. They might prefer blue instead of green. Another guest might have completely different personal preferences.

And you allow them to post a negative review based on their personal preferences. You might call this an "actionable insight". So what action should we take?

You don't provide any insight to what personal preferences each guest might have. Should we stock every brand of coffee machine so that each guest can pick and choose their favourite? Should we redecorate from blue to green for one guest and then from green to blue for the next? How are we supposed to know the actions we should take in advance to ensure that every guest scores our properties 10/10?

Do you see where your "actionable insights" comment is wrong???

 

5
1 year ago
i
6
Isle of Wight … 1 year ago

Tarundeep .....

We have a property with one double bed and two single beds - the property is designed for a family of 4 people (2 adults + 2 children). We had a booking for 2 adults. That's fine. Except, we then get a review saying (this is a quote)

+ Everything we needed was provided, very comfortable lounge and large TV. Liked having a separate shower and toilet rooms. Would recommend, thank you.

- We were two adults so I was in the second bedroom with the two single beds which were not really wide enough for an adult. I did get round this by moving the beds together.

You might call this an "actionable insight". The property is designed for adults plus children. The single beds are clearly shown in the photos. The single beds are a standard size. The guests knew what they were booking at the time they made the booking. The positive comments are good. But they've scored the property 8/10, which is negative, presumably because one of the adults was sleeping in single beds.

So what action could we take from this insight?

Do you think it is fair and reasonable for a guest to give a negative review because of a choice they made? They could have chosen a bigger property with 2 double beds, which would probably have been more suitable for them, but they didn't - they chose this property.

Perhaps I should offer some "actionable insights" into the Booking.com booking system to prevent this type of negative review in the future?

Booking.com ask how many adults and how many children. You allow a guest to book for "2 adults". But you do not ask if they will be sharing the double bed. You should change this. You should also ask for some other "relationship to other members of your group" information. Is it father and son? Is it two friends? When the guest makes the booking and we have all this information, we can then make an informed decision as to whether or not the guests are suitable for the property.

You can go even further. How tall are the guests? This will tell us whether they need a king size bed rather than a double bed. How large are the guests? This will tell us whether they need a double bed or a superking bed. We can then decide whether to accept the booking or whether to point them to another property with more suitable beds and more suitable sleeping arrangements.

If the guests make a booking where photos and descriptions are provided, they are making an informed choice. They may be disappointed by their choices (as above) and you currently allow them to downscore us for their choices. That is unfair and unreasonable. So, the action you can take from this insight is to disallow negative scoring caused by guest choices like this. Why should we have 8/10 because of a guest's choices?

So, please tell us what action you intend to take from these insights ......

 

 

3
1 year ago
i
6
Isle of Wight … 1 year ago

Tarundeep

These are two review comments from different guests in the same property

Water for shower and washing up is no way hot enough

the water was too hot in the bathroom.

They are genuine review comments and have been published. Most guests say "perfect" or similar, but these two guests had completely opposite views on the hot water temperature, which they can adjust to their liking.

Hot water temperature can be adjusted easily using the taps. Although most adults will know how to turn taps to adjust water temperature, we still leave information for guests to say how to do this.

So what action should we take from these insights?

4
1 year ago
i
6
Isle of Wight … 1 year ago

Tarundeep

These are a selection of comments from various reviews on multiple properties that we manage over the last 2-3 years, with my comments in brackets. They are all totally genuine. Some were posted on Booking.com, others on AirBnB, TripAdvisor or VRBO - but the point I am making here is valid regardless of the booking channels.

The ice cream on the beach was too cold (the ice cream is nothing to do with us)

It was windy and the door blew shut (we don't control the weather and the guest could have used the door catch to keep the door open)

It was too hot (we don't control the weather)

The rain was too loud (we don't control the weather)

The WiFi wasn't good enough to stream movies to 7 devices (it wasn't our WiFi and why would 4 people want to simultaneously stream movies to 7 devices?)

Someone parked in my allocated parking space (we are not traffic police)

The neighbours were noisy (the neighbours are nothing to do with us)

The bus broke down (we don't provide bus services)

There was a fox outside at night and it kept waking us up (we don't control wildlife)

I got sunburn (errr .....)

Please can you explain how it is fair or reasonable for guests to give negative reviews of our properties based on factors that we have absolutely no control over?

Please can you explain what actions we can take from these insights?

 

 

7
1 year ago
b
11
BrookAve 1 year ago

🤦‍♂️🤣 that cracked me up

2
1 year ago
h
2
Holland House 1 year ago

I had a guest that gave us a 9 score because we were on a hill. I wrote to the council and asked if they could shift it... so we could improve our score - but they declined to do so. 'Councils" - so unhelpful.

I had a very very large lady guest who complained about the mattress... You should have heard what the mattress had to say  $%@#! - you get the picture right? 

3
1 year ago
i
6
Isle of Wight … 1 year ago

Perhaps you need to get Booking.com to write to the council to share the guest's insight and recommend that the council take action against the hill?

 

4
1 year ago
h
2
Holland House 1 year ago

Brilliant idea - I hadn't thought of that. I got a quote from a builder - 47 million GBP - but it didn't include replacement of trees - so I said 'no thank you' what am I - a mug? 

 

3
1 year ago
i
6
Isle of Wight … 1 year ago

Thank you for asking whether you are a mug or not. I have passed this on to my specialized team who will reply within 10 working days. Maybe.

3
1 year ago
b
11
BrookAve 1 year ago

lmao, feckin brilliant 

2
1 year ago
h
2
Holland House 1 year ago

On a more serious note:

I had one couple who stayed - their shower developed a leak which could not be repaired during their stay but they had access to a shower in another room for their exclusive use. We automatically offered them a 50% discount on their room without being prompted... they ungraciously came back and asked for a FULL refund... but worse... they added that they would give us a 'good review' if we did so.

I call that blackmail. I immediately rescinded my 50% discount offer (quite rightly in my view) and reported the blackmail issue to Booking com - who did absolutely NOTHING...   Thereafter the guest gave us a stinking review and a 1 score...  somewhere in my brain I worked out that Booking com should have done something... but maybe I am a bit odd on things like 'the integrity of guest's reviews.' I did take this up with Booking com - I thought it was important to slam down hard on guests who use blackmail to extract refunds from hosts. Booking com's response was 'Guests are entitled to leave a review' - holy cow - they actually ignored the fact that the guest attempted to use 'a good review' tactic to extract a refund. Now THAT I call unsatisfactory.

4
1 year ago
i
6
Isle of Wight … 1 year ago

Totally with you. There are always the few who try to blackmail owners / hosts. We do not tolerate it. No chance.

We also work on the basis that we are decent people and a decent company and will always do the best we can to ensure the properties are of a good standard (and clean) and the guest enjoys their stay. We manage a lot of properties. We have a large team of staff. We have our own laundry, a warehouse full of spares (including white goods). This week alone we have replaced a washing machine that broke, a fridge that died, an electric oven hood that died and a front door lock that was sticking and difficult. Not a problem to us - it's what we do. Most guests appreciate this. Other complain that they prefer sea salt to rock salt.

Last year, someone tried taking us to the small claims court. We responded, tore her complaint to shreds, never paid her a penny. Her attempted blackmail was very clear. Booking.com said "it was the guest's experience" so allowed her 1/10 review to stand.

We will NEVER give in to blackmail. And we're gradually taking a harder line against bad guests and those who attempt blackmail.

 

3
1 year ago
b
11
BrookAve 1 year ago

wow yeah, zero tolerance policy. even better if you have a camera on site to record them doing so.

1
1 year ago
i
6
Isle of Wight … 1 year ago

We're also working on the basis that "the guest has paid to stay in the property". Whether the property has their favourite colour bedding or whatever is irrelevant. So long as it's as described, they are getting what they paid for - and what they've paid for is the right to stay in that property.

There will always be issues such as failures of appliances or whatever. It happens. Under UK Law, in the first instance, the guest should give the host (the service provider) the opportunity to remedy the situation. Of course, this must be done within a reasonable timescale, which will depend on the nature of the "failure". If you offer alternatives, that is a remedy which most reasonable people may consider to be reasonable and acceptable.

And what this means is that we have the protection of UK Law. We consider ourselves to be reasonable people running a good business. Sadly, Booking.com do not consider any hosts ("partners") to be reasonable so will never take the side of the host / partner, even when UK Law does.

 

3
1 year ago
Profile picture for user m.adamopoulou.hotmail.com m
10
M Adamopoulou 1 year ago

Hello!!!!

Reviews….reviews…endless comments and argues…

 

I believe it’s luck of communication…

 

I guess I am amongst the lucky ones that have had excellent guests!!!

 

Thanks partners for your comments on this very serious matter…authentic and accurate reviews are extremely important for both the guest and the hosts…BDC is responsible for establishing a more secure and reliable system to help us provide the best hospitality to our guests…

 

Together we can do it…

 

0
1 year ago
Profile picture for user greenharborpatong.outlook.com f
7
Fluff (new account) 1 year ago

Hi Maria!

"Together" yes, unfortunately BDC does not believe in the concept.

1
1 year ago
Profile picture for user m.adamopoulou.hotmail.com m
10
M Adamopoulou 1 year ago

Hi fluff!!!

 

We must try…

 

0
1 year ago
g
2
Gerard Murphy 1 year ago

I agree with all the comments from the hosts above, Booking.com are obviously not listening to us or not taking us seriously so I think hosts should stop paying commission to Booking.com until the above issues are resolved. I know this may result in Booking.com threatening to suspend our accounts but at this stage I'm so fed up with Booking.com I don't care. At this stage about 65% of my bookings now com from Airbnb (with whom I never have a problem) with the balance coming from Expedia, Booking.com and direct bookings. So, if they suspend my account it will just mean more business for Airbnb, Expedia and me, the only one that will loose out financially will be Booking.com.

So, I for one am refusing to pay any further commissions to Booking.com until my outstanding grievances in relation to guest reviews are resolved.

2
1 year ago
m
1
Margarita 1 year ago

I still don't like how the whole emoji review system works, it makes no sense. I understand it is simple and quick for guests to fill but they aren't even aware of the raiting they provide. If a guest wants to give 9 or 8 in a category they simple can't, since the are only 4 choises. 2.5 / 5.0 / 7.5 / 10

Even the guests don't know the raiting they provide when choosing those faces. I had a few reviewers picking :) and not knowing it rates as 7.5. After talking over the phone with them they were surprised and most would change their review.

Also why in the god's name we can't answer to reviews without comments, this has to change! 
You can't have guests who are breaking rules, damaging property and then leaving a bad review without a comment where you can't even defend yourself.

3
1 year ago
g
2
Gerard Murphy 1 year ago

BDC have deleted 3 posts from this conversation - it's amazing how BDC can't delete unfair reviews but they can go in and delete posts from this so called "Partner Hub"!!!!

1
1 year ago
i
6
Isle of Wight … 1 year ago

Do you know which posts were deleted??

1
1 year ago
i
6
Isle of Wight … 1 year ago

Were they the replies from Tarundeep? I can't see them anywhere ......

2
1 year ago
m
1
Melanie Evans 1 year ago

Hi.  I hope you don´t mind me joining the conversation.  I am new to booking.com but have become concerned about some things I have read on this hub saying that reviews have been left by people who were no show and didn´t go anywhere near the properties.  Is it true that people who haven´t stayed at your property can leave a review?  surely if they never stayed they should not be given the option to leave a review?

2
1 year ago
i
6
Isle of Wight … 1 year ago

Yes, it's absolutely true .... had one myself this weekend, got to get the review removed

2
1 year ago
b
11
BrookAve 1 year ago

Yes if they are still on old app version. Confirmed by Didem recently. 

 

My solution is to force old versions to upgrade or on next open app block with a banner message telling them to go to app store and upgrade.

 

You'd think the device would do this by themselves but I suspect they are an external 3rd party, so every change, update has to be paid for.

 

Either way they need to get it done now

2
1 year ago
Profile picture for user m.adamopoulou.hotmail.com m
10
M Adamopoulou 1 year ago

Hi Melanie and welcome to the Partner Community…

 

I guess it is…makes no sense!!!

 

Wish you a great start!!!

1
1 year ago
i
2
Ian Robinson 1 year ago

there is no moderation of the comments left by guests although in theory only those who have confirmed bookings can leave a review. there is always the option of leaving a response and pointing out any inaccuracies or falsehoods but sadly the responses are not given the same prominence as the initial review.

2
1 year ago
i
6
Isle of Wight … 1 year ago

There is no option to leave a response if the guest doesn't leave a comment .... a guest could score you 1/10 and you have no comeback or anything .....

3
1 year ago
m
1
Melanie Evans 1 year ago

This is very bad.  Surely tech people working for booking.com could set it up easily for people who didn't stay not yo be able to leave a review?  It's one of the first and most basic things to set up even you are creating a review capability. I'm pretty sure you can't rate on Airbnb unless you've actually stayed.   That's absolutely crazy.

2
1 year ago