user avatar image
1

quality review by booking.com

I am confronted by a one sided unannounced action of our partner, Booking.com. While being a partner for almost a year, frequent reservations and a customer review score of over 9,5!!  Booking.com decided to switch off the account for a quality review.

Consequences are that my chalet is sold out according to the booking.com site and the partner help desk give no answer on why, when etc. They only inform me that they don't know anything and that it will take NORMALLY 5 working days!!

 

WHO ELSE HAS EXPERIENCE WITH THIS TYPE OF ACTION BY BOOKING.COM AND PUTTING YOU FOR AT LEAST FIVE DAYS OUT OF BUSINESS !!!!

UNBELIEVABLE.  HELP !!

REPLIES ARE APPRECIATED 

 

 

 

 

15 Replies

7
Katerinka12

Hello,

I am sorry to hear about your problem. Booking does not turn off your account just because of bad reviews, or the score.

Can you calm down and explain what actually happened?

9 months ago
1
Alan

Hi I have just had the same thing happen to me although this time it is for a new property I have listed. I have 9.6 reviews for my other properties. I put a new property up and have taken 5 bookings already and now my “partner” has closed the listing and will not tell me why for “security reasons”
If anyone else has had the same experience I would be interested to know how they handled it

3 months ago
1
Helen Izatt

Hello

This has just happened to me, the email advised that this would be resolved within 10 days. (not specified if this is 10 working days) But it is now 14 days later and I've not heard anything. It's most frustrating that there is no way to contact Booking.

Would be interested if others were switched back on? And if so how this happened?

Helen

2 months ago
1
Campbellsbedan…

I have been with Booking.com for just over a month, with lots of booking in the first week. Then nothing. Followed by cancellations galore!I have just found out that there has been a “quality review” ongoing since 5th March ! Stunned!

2 months ago
7
Katerinka12

Are you on cash basis with Booking or do you accept payments through Booking payments (credit cards)?

2 months ago
7
Katerinka12

What do you mean no difference? It's a big difference. How do you accept payments from the guests?

2 months ago
1
Campbellsbedan…

Sorry, I didn’t mean no difference, I just wasn’t sure what you meant. No I don’t get payments directly from guest. I get paid though Booking

2 months ago
1
Helen Izatt

I have been messaging Booking.com, general enquiries. They have said that a message was sent on Thursday with options. I can't see any options. Has anyone had this problem. Meantime my property is not bookable for nearly 3 weeks.

Helen

2 months ago
1
Campbellsbedan…

Also found out that booking has cancelled bookings and said that it was me that cancelled!

It wouldn’t be so bad if they had told me on the 4th of March what was going on! Being honest with the guests would of been good too!

Its left me nearly speechless and very cross with booking 😕

2 months ago
7
Katerinka12

I am not sure what do you mean "quality control". And how did you know its Booking who canceled and not the guest? Did they provide you with explanation?

What cancelation policy do you have? Booking also sends as marketing push invitations to the hosts to provide free non refundable cancelation with no time restrictions. You should know for sure what kind of cancelation policy do you have and treat to it accordingly.

When I started hosting, I was also feeling upset when I saw cancelations. Later on I understood that they are just normal part of the business and they happened not because I did something wrong or my place is bad. Plans change, flights get delayed...

As for us we can't be strict on cancelations, because my properties are located in the airport area, so it's normal to experience them though we have them rarely. I also return money to the guest with no questions asked even if I have the right to charge them. They are just human beings and don't know what to do in their life, as their plans change every minute. Some of them really appreciated such behavior, wrote me good reviews and even said that might stay in the future.

You can opt to make your cancelation policy more strict.

2 months ago
7
Katerinka12

Also, keep your doors open. If I have a problem with Booking (guest canceled and left, but the date is blocked for him), then I open the room on Airbnb. And vice versa. For that reason I don't use channel manager, I am the channel manager myself :)

2 months ago
1
Campbellsbedan…

I got in touch with the last guest that cancelled, to check that he had cancelled. (Due to arrive tomorrow) and he explained that booking told him that I’d cancelled.

2 months ago
7
Katerinka12

And if he tells you that Madonna is his wife, would you believe him?

Please, dear forum members, don't post someone's else's words as the truth. This is for your own sake - always ask direct source, like did you write to the Booking to ask if they really canceled on your behalf and without informing you? Treat your partner as a partner, let him talk.

One woman was detained in jail for many years and she was incredibly missing her mother. Once she was realesed the first thing what she did she came to her mother's house. She was walking fast, being very excited.

But her mother was sick and lying in bed. Her aunt instead met her at the door. She told to that woman, that she is a bad daughter, bad niece and that her mother does not want to see her! Go back to jail, she said!

The woman believed her aunt and left crying like a river. Only after her mother death she found out, that her aunt lied being jealous of her, and that her mother loved her and wanted to see her very much. But it was too late.

Never allow this situation happen. Booking never decided on your behalf. They don't deal with cancelations. Even when their help is needed (in case of dispute), it's hard to get them involved.

It's only up to the guest and you to cancel. You are not allowed to cancel on your own, without guest accepting cancelation on his side. It's 2 way for you. But it's a 1 way for your guest to cancel without communicating with the host. And when the hosts asks him why, the easy escape to say that the host is bad (just in case, what if any charges?), that's why he is flying to see Madonna.

2 months ago
1
Wordonthekerbuk

So I managed to list my property on Booking.com. I started receiving reservations and then BAM! all of a sudden Booking.com randomly decided to do a quality review on my property and made my listing unbookable. I got an email stating this would take ten days and that they would keep me updated.

It is now thirty days later and they still ain't done it. They never kept me posted I have to constantly ring them. They tell me that they have a backlog of properties to review and until they get round to me all bookings and payments will be suspended!!! Which begs the question: why would they still randomly be selecting properties to undergo a review when they have a massive backlog?

So incredibly frustrating and half the call staff are clueless. It really doesn't seem fair that Booking.com can hold onto my money until they do a quality review when they have no idea of when or how long such a quality review could take.

I am not enjoying this 'partnership' and will be looking at alternative ways to rent my property that doesn't involve partnership with Bookiing.com

2 months ago