user avatar image
1

Synchronize booking.com calendar with airbnb calendar not fetching

Hi,

 

We synchronized our booking.com calendar with airbnb reservation calendar, and everything seems fine! but it's not refreshing!! meaning it's not fetching at all! I thought I can wait for a day or so, it might be fetched during that time.. but nothing had happened! can anyone help please?

 

TIA

Mohamed 

55 Replies

1
Birchije

Same problem here. I just synchronized calendars and blocked one day (for test) and nothing happens on the other site. Unless you refresh it manually. But this cancels the idea of having calendars synchronized, having to refresh them manually, doesn't it?

1 year ago
1
Alhameli99

One of my friends sent booking.com a ticket few days back, complaining about the same problem and they said there is a bug issue and they're working on solving it. Well, I have no idea why would a HUGE company such as booking.com have small problem like "bug" and they're taking more than it deserve to solve it.

Well, am so eager to see this issue solved soon.

1 year ago
1
Andreacaneva8

any idea when it will be working? I do not see the option for synchronising the calendar in my account, however I have seen it in frineds' accounts. Any idea why some accounts do have and other don't have the sync option?

1 year ago
1
Helenautsch

Would anyone let me know how to synchronise Booking.com calendar with Airbnb calendar?

I would love to work with another website in order to improve the numbers of bookings in my property.

Thanks very much!

1 year ago
1
14railwaycottage

This is still an issue today, the system is not automatically refreshing and I am now having to contact guests that the dates are not available.

This really questions my use of booking.com as I can't trust it....

1 year ago
2
Ericoutram

Kaitaia New Zealand eric having the same problem

email edhead office every day for a week no response

is any one out their , I get the run around ,with a refer to forum,does that mean

I’m dealing with space and we have to solve there problems

they then charge us

what happened to the word service ,

1 year ago
1
14railwaycottage

Just don't accpet this, phone them up and complain complain complain, this is Booking.com's fault and the least they can do is contact the guest explain the error and cancel the booking.

What particularly annoys me about this is they clear all the blocked dates so it doesn't matter if you've blocked it out months in advance the dates can still be made available.

This is a real showstopper for me with booking.com.

1 year ago
2
Ericoutram

I have just spent hours ,trying to find my way around this search engine

there then guys or cowgirls are I some other world ,I’m on a apple new tab and it asks me to type in on the sync page

I can’t cut and paste ,cut and paste went out thirty years ago

the link is too long for tablet s of today

with no keyboard, also your system editing page is shit

there no interface for single booking left ,I downloaded Abnb and have no problem with there editcalender,

i had trouble today it showed closed ,then open and when the only room I put up got booked it open that more rooms were available.

i don’t have a front desk with staff sitting around all day to wait for people to walk in and an old

computer sitting at reception to type the over length link in that’s not paste able

I had too manually close of it

then it opened next months dates when they are closed off

we are in a world of new tech

booking.com is a search engine of the ninety s when a dummies at University s realises that anyone can spend money on google add s to get business ,we may get better service ,

as always it take a new company to steal the old and refine it to supersede it

ipo last two years I give them two year then market share will be gone from booking .com

i hope someone in the office reads this as ,we might get some service from the commission we pay them to feed us shit thru the old forum system

1 year ago
2
Alasma

Hi

Can some1 please help me to sync my calendar with abnb,tripadvisor and booking.com without paying a lot of money.

1 year ago
1
14railwaycottage

Did you all get this.

Seems to have settled down for now and is working but well worth checking every day.......still don't trust teh system....

Dear Partner,

We want to let you know that due to a temporary technical error with iCal, the synchronization of your availability didn’t work correctly. As a result, you may have received reservations for dates which were unavailable. The availability synchronization failed between 2018-03-05 20:14:08 and 2018-03-06 21:00:00 CET. So potentially overbooked reservations could have been made only in this period.

Now this temporary technical error has been resolved, we kindly ask that you verify whether you have any overbookings due to this synchronization issue. If you do, please contact Customer Service, or your local team via your ‘Inbox’ tab, so we can ensure you receive the correct support. Booking.com will of course cancel the reservation for you, waive commission and make sure alternative housing is arranged for the customer.

We’re really sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused and thank you for your understanding.

Kind regards,

Booking.com

1 year ago
1
Giorgi Shala

Can anyone help me? I have issue syncing the Airbnb Calendar to Booking.com, it says :"This isn't a valid iCal URL – please try again." I have refreshed thousand times but it still doesnt work.

thanks

1 year ago
1
Kristina

Since we had the same problem in past, I check and synchronize calendars manually to be sure that everything is ok

1 year ago
3
ISH, Atithya H…

I am having same issue. Two days ago, I could see synchronization tab on top left side in each listing. I have checked, it was working well both ways with airbnb & tripadvisor. What has happened? The whole tab is missing? Is it a technical problem or some other problem?

1 year ago
3
ISH, Atithya H…

I am having same issue. Two days ago, I could see synchronization tab on top left side in each listing. I have checked, it was working well both ways with airbnb & tripadvisor. What has happened? The whole tab is missing? Is it a technical problem or some other problem? Can someone help me?

1 year ago
1
Indirasharma140

Hi, my airbnb calendar has been blocked from booking.com. Some dates from my Airbnb calendar look like have been booked from a guest in booking.com, but the same dates are available at my booking.com calendar. I tried to synchronize the calendars, but still no change. Any idea why is this happening?

1 year ago
1
Coyotestationr…

I still don't trust the synchronize between AirBnB and Booking.com - I just manually do it because I assume that it won't synchronize. Very frustrating for me as I am constantly checking my phone for updates from AirBnB and Booking.com as well as my own website for reservations so that I don't end up with double bookings.

It seems that the technology should be up to date with no bugs in the way.

I called Booking.com in the beginning and sat on hold for over an hour and was told to just wait 24 hours for the system to catch up and it should "fix itself". Well, it didn't.

Don't get me wrong, our reservation numbers have increased with booking.com, but the 15% commission is a little steep to be paying with the lack of customer support we receive when we need something.

The only actual person I get to talk to at any given time wants to call me and sell me some additional service they offer.

Sheree

1 year ago
1
Liam Tayler

I have had the same issue, I have my property listed on AirBNB, Booking.com and VRBO. All the other platforms sync perfectly, the only one that doesn't is Booking. It has already led to one double booking.

There doesn't seem to be any solution and I have just discovered that now even the sync to ical has stopped working.

I agree with other posters on here - this is a straightforward issue which needs to be resolved and I will not list with Booking.com next year because of it.

Liam

10 months ago
3
ISH, Atithya H…

I am not facing any such type of problem now with Booking.com. But sometimes problems occur with VRBO. Then I have to do the block calendars by hand.

10 months ago
1
Perlanegra Bnb

I am relatively new to booking.com. I have synced with airbnb. Airbnb is picking up bookings on booking.com but not the reverse. we have a long weekend coming up and two nights are booked through airbnb - I don't want someone booking it on booking.com. Is there a solution??

7 months ago
3
ISH, Atithya H…

If it does not synchronize then best thing would be to mark calendars manually both on airbnb and booking.com . Also, there is one more way to create a calendar of your bookings on Google. It will be only 1 calendar but for each property. Export ical of Google. It means copy and paste link in your both airbnb and Booking.com calendars. You can test it. In my case it works. Thanks

7 months ago
1
Reservations

I've had the same problem and think I found a solution - hope it helps. When I "import" the AirBnB Calendar Link to Booking.com, I get the following error:

"This isn't a valid iCal URL – please try again."

For some reason Booking.com does not recognise it. Strangely enough (and I don't know why this is), if I go to Home Away (copy the AirBnB link I added there, which works) and then go back to booking.com pasting that, it seems to sync.

So go to any other platform (and copy the imported AirBnB link from there, instead of exporting it from AirBnB) and past into Booking.com.

This at least worked for me...

5 months ago
1
A22ammon

I was also receiving the error message "This isn't a valid iCal URL – please try again." I read the previous comment and, because I am not listed on any other platforms, I copied my ABB link and pasted into a Word document. I then copied it from Word and pasted into Booking.com. It worked!

4 months ago
3
ISH, Atithya H…

I am also doing in the same manner. Also, I suggest you to go to the CALENDAR Link in your google account (Gmail account).

Please create single or multiple calendars based on the number of properties. Copy ICAL link and paste into your airbnb or booking.com calendars. It means that you are exporting google calendar and importing into airbnb or booking.com calendars. Now synchronize it.

Once synchronized booking.com calendar booked date will be changed to the RED color. It works. This will give you guarantee. You can use Google link anywhere but best to my knowledge one cannot import other calendars to GOGGLE. Thanks

4 months ago
1
Sanjoy

I have the same problem, I have VRBO and Trip Advisor calendars pulling data into Booking.com but AirBNB will only work when you add it. This previously worked but has stopped. I have tried removing the airbnb calendar and adding it and it only pulls the data at the moment of adding, it does not synch periodically.

This is a major problem as Booking.com holds the hosts accountable for double bookings and you are responsible for the costs of alternate accommodation for your guests if you cannot host them.

4 months ago
3
ISH, Atithya H…

There may be some other problem. It works. U do not need 24 hours for fetching. It is instantaneous. Please remove calendars and re-paste them. Sure it will work.

4 months ago
1
Sanjoy

Afraid I have done that and it is still happening. Screenshot below shows when I added it last night and it synched, nothing today.

Not much support from Booking.com support staff.

"I am sorry to hear that the synching of your Airbnb and Booking.com calendars is not working as it should be.

We always aim to provide a seamless experience for our partners. However, we take no responsibility of overbookings caused by a delay in the synching of the calendars. Please bear in mind that the synching of the calendars is a free service, but it does not work as a Channel Manager.

If you would like to avoid overbookings, we suggest setting your Airbnb to booking upon request, and always manually check whether you have availability. Alternatively, consider getting a channel manager."

4 months ago
1
Pierre Bodinier

Hello, same error here, external Calendar did'nt synch since few monthes (January 2019)

No response from Booking.com support, at the end of the week, I'll close my Booking.com's account because last week, because of this problem, there is a double booking on Airbnb and Booking, and Booking.com wanted me to pay to relocate customers, as if it was my fault if their IT department is rotten !

3 months ago
3
ISH, Atithya H…

I suggest you to create Google calendar for your reservations for each property. It will be just one (1) calendar. Then please synchronize manually. You can not take chance. You can add other calendars too. Thanks

3 months ago
1
Victoriasbb

This is so frustrating and stressful. I had to to block one of my rooms on Booking, Airbnb and Agoda just to be sure to have a backup in case of double bookings. I want to close my Booking account because of these issues but I get aprox 30% of my bookings from it so I can't.

2 months ago
3
ISH, Atithya H…

I suggest you to create Google calendar for your reservations for each property. It will be just one (1) calendar. Then please synchronize it manually. You can add other calendars too. It will work. Thanks

2 months ago
1
Liam Tayler

I am afraid that solves nothing ISH. The whole point of the synchronization is to avoid double bookings...

It has now been a year and I have to go into every calendar (Airbnb, Booking and VRBO) and refresh automatically every time I get a booking to ensure that nothing is missed. I wish they could sort this out,.. it is not rocket science!

2 months ago
1
Alexandra Lungu

Hi,

I am having the same problem. The airbnb calendar is valid as I can open it in outlook but I cannot import it into booking as it gives me the same error message that Lorenzo has.

Is there a reported issue for this?

I find it hilarious that such a big company cannot fix this.

Thanks!

1 month ago
3
ISH, Atithya H…

I do not see any problem. I am fetching calendars every day. As explained earlier, please make google calendar too for each listing. Paste Google ICAL there along with airbnb ICAL scripts, then synchronize calendars. It works. You need to export calendars from Google and airbnb and import in booking.com. Please try

1 month ago
1
Alexandra Lungu

Hi,

I don't quite understand why google calendar is involved here. What I am doing is importing the calendar from Airbnb via the export ical link from airbnb. This worked fine at least until January 2019. Now, all of a sudden, it doesn't synchronize anymore.

It's clearly a booking.com problem since it worked before.

The calendar ics file downloaded when I paste the link in the browser is perfectly valid since it can be loaded in outlook and I can verify that everything is well exported.

Why is booking.com having issues with this is really the point here.

Why should I use google calendar? Is this the way to do it or is this a workaround?

Thanks for the answer!

1 month ago
1
Victoriasbb

I'm still having the same issues even though it has become a bit better. My routine now is to check synchronization manually after each new reservation either it's from Airbnb, Agoda or Booking. Sometimes it's synced, sometimes not. It's about 50/50 I would say.

1 month ago
3
ISH, Atithya H…

It is not necessary that you should use Google Calendar. This is just to safe guard your interest. Airbnb and booking.com calendars work fine and I do not have any issue. I am simply trying to help you. I do not work for Booking.com. Thanks

1 month ago
1
Alexandra Lungu

Hi ISH,

I tried importing something in google calendar but how to I export this back to booking?

Do you have some step by step tutorial?

Thanks!

1 month ago
1
Mark

I too get the error:

"This isn't a valid iCal URL - please try again."

when trying to import my exported AirBnB calendar. I have tried several times.

I have also pasted it to notepad and tried to copy it again from there, but same error.

When I paste into a browser, the iCal file is downloaded no problem.

So why is my import rejected?

1 month ago
3
ISH, Atithya H…

Ical is never downloaded, rather it should be copied and pasted. You can directly paste it or U can also, paste in Word and then afterwards paste it. In my case, I do not see any problem.

1 month ago
1
Mark

I downloaded the iCal file to prove the URL was valid.

It imports into Google Calendar just fine.

I think BDC just doesn't like it somehow.

1 month ago
1
Village Apartment

Having same issues today with the Airbnb calender not syncing hence I now have double bookings. Deleted Airbnb calender three times and reloaded with new cal link. Still nothing in fact more airbnb bookings dissapeared then the calender went altogether. Spoke with booking.com a few times this morning after numerous calls. Now they are saying there is a bug and we will call you back. I would have thought if they had an issue with a bug they would send out an update first off to be aware of the problem? Anyone else having issues today?

1 month ago
3
ISH, Atithya H…

Surprisingly, I do not see any problem. It could be that I am fetching various calendars.

1 month ago
1
Mark

Yes customer support has confirmed there is a problem. I've had 2 double bookings during the last 2 days as a result of AirBnB calendar syncing issues and not being able to import properly. One calendar that didn't import in Chrome, did in Firefox, but then other calendars failed with both browsers. Go figure.

1 month ago
1
Liam Tayler

Every time we get a booking I go to all the sites we list with and refresh the calendars manually - a pain in the ass, but the only way I am comfortable avoiding double bookings!

1 month ago
3
ISH, Atithya H…

I am also doing same thing in order to avoid double bookings. I am importing and exporting multiple calendars 6-7 for each portal. This is best.

1 month ago
1
Fiona

SOLUTION: For those of you struggling with the problem of Booking.com saying that the Airbnb iCal link is NOT A VALID ICAL URL, I have a solution..

I had the same problem. I selected the iCal link from Airbnb and pasted into Booking.com, and I got this error.

It turns out that when you select the contents of the dialog box that contains the iCal URL on the Airbnb site, you're only selecting the visible text. There is however additional text to the right that you can't see and which isn't selected. This means you're only copying part of the URL. To select the full URL you have to click in the box and then drag the cursor to the right, which will reveal the rest of the link. You can then select all of it by clicking and dragging all the way to the left.

If you select, copy and paste the full URL into Booking.com, it works right away. Yay!

:)

1 month ago
1
Village Apartment

Thanks I tried that however still coming invalid URL? I finallhad a response from the help desk and they told me:

Booking.com
12 May 2019 - 05:14:32
"Dear partner, Thanks for getting in touch with us. My name is Chris and I will be the agent who is assisting you today. We'd like to apologize for any inconvenience or disappointment this situation may have caused. We are currently having technical difficulties with the calendar sync and are diligently working to find a solution. Any updates and solutions on the matter will be communicated to you as soon as we have them. If you have any other questions please reach out to us again. Thank you for working with Booking.com.
Best regards"
Christopher M.
Booking.com Partner Support Team

1 month ago
3
ISH, Atithya H…

Hi Fiona, U must fully copy the script and then paste it. You can also scroll left and right using keys of your computer.

1 month ago