user avatar image
1

Anonymous Reviews

I believe it is time for Booking.Com to stop allowing anonymous reviews. How do they help anyone improve a property? It is impossible to identify, what the guests is referring to in their complaint. I don't believe I have ever seen an anonymous review rate a property 100%. If a complaint or poor review is warranted so be it, but things can only be improved when a manager/owner can identify what the complainant is complaining about, whether it be a staff member or a problem within the property/room. 

If enough of us request this change, surely it should happen. 

If you have an opinion, and want to share it, you should be man/woman enough to put your name to it. 

Submitted by Malcolm Craig

  

128 Replies

2
Adam Williams

You can if they leave comments, but not if they only leave a score. That in itself is ridiculous.

1 year ago
1
Myperpignan

I can assure you they can remove reviews if they choose. I have seen a review posted at our listing where the guest complained about booking. I saw it and on the same day that review was deleted by booking. Draw your own conclusions from that.

1 year ago
1
Mackers

Ok.........hello guys..............I am in the middle of a battle with B>Com regarding anonymous reviews..........good and bad.........Please if there are an other partners that you know besides who is on this list.....Please also speak to them.I am going to leave an email address and please I would like everyone on the list to send me a mail........for purposes of getting numbers so I can continue the fight....no reviews need be sent or reasons. Just a mail saying I have the same problems. Your name will not be used to start the process but might be needed at a later stage to show them there are really that many establishments out there that are unhappy. If we need to compile a list of names permission from you will be requested and the choice will be yours. Please help us get the system right and also working for us

We are always given the run around and return mail that states "it is the visitors right to leave an objective opinion"....what a load of rubbish......lets start standing together as lodges and lets try change this

Please lets help each other

1 year ago
2
Wayne Cahoon

Mackers,

Your comments is all over the place, it was putting multiple thoughts together without a clear statement of what you want. I had to re-read it a few times to understand what you want. It's best to bullet the highlightable points such as:

Booking.com allows anonymous reviews, but:
  • It doesn't allow the B&B owner to address the issues if we don't know whom or when a poor review comes in.
  • Somethings are beyond our control; location, weather, power outage or the skunk smell in the air.
  • A guest could be asked to keep down the noise to respect the other guests and they take offense to being told to keep the noise done.
  • There could be facility problems such as a leaky faucet, but if you don't know what room the guest was in how can you track down and repair that issue.
  • Booking.com knows whom these people are, they just choice not to release that info to us.
  • Booking.com doesn't allow responses to anonymous reviews. So how can the hotelier tell whomever has done the review or others that are just reading it that the issue has been resolved, fixed or they don't have control of the weather?
  • and many more....

Please stand with me as I fight the inequalities of these one sided reviews that Booking.com allows.

Wayne


1 year ago
1
Tatjana Lucnikova

We have the same issue with anon reviews. We are only operating a couple of months and have spent a lot of money to create a luxurious accommodation. The place is spotless and we have fitted it out with the highest quality products and bedding. The last review we received from a “young couple” was 2.5 for everything including cleanliness. The previous reviews were all 10 for everything stating superb and excellent. Within a few minutest of guests leaving the anon review of 2.5 was posted with no comment so we couldn’t reply and have no way of addressing any issue. The review was totally vexatious and after contacting booking they said there was nothing they could do. We asked B.com to mediate and find our from guest what was the issue on every criteria to warrant a score of 2.5 but the said that the do not kno what guest left the anon review which I suspect is rubbish. They also said to post fhere and if enough hosts have the same issue, then they will do something about it but based on the number of posts here about this and the inaction by B.com this is probably more rubbish. If an anonymous review is totally contrary to other reviews then it should be removed.

1 year ago
2
Marshrose

WHEN IS B.COM GOING TO ACKNOWLEDGE THERE IS SOME MALICIOUS INSIDER MANIPULATION AT PLAY HERE.

THE EXPERIENCES ARE ALL TOO SIMILAR.

  • HOTELIER HAS VERY HIGH SCORES & KNOWS HIS SERVICES ARE GOOD
  • SUDDENLY GETS HIT WITH 2.5 ACROSS THE BOARD
  • THERE IS NO JUSTIFICATION OR EXPLANATION
  • THERE IS NO WAY TO REMEDY SOMETHING YOU DO NOT KNOW ABOUT
  • THE PATTERN OF EVENTS IS ALMOST THE SAME FOR EVERY ONE OF US
  • B.COM IS PLAYING GAMES WITH SOME PEOPLE BECAUSE THE PROBABLY ONLY WANT TO CONTROL THEIR POOL OF PREFERRED GUEST HOUSES TO A LIMITED NO OF FAVOURITES
  • THEY THINK THEY CAN CONTROL US LIKE THIS, BUT BEAR IN MIND YOUR OVERALL RATING IS DENTED ON THE WORLD WIDE WEB
  • FURTHERMORE, THE SYNCRO BETWEEN B.COM AND NIGHTSBRIDGE IS NOT WORKING VERY WELL AND IS CAUSING A MASSIVE AMOUNT OF EXTRA ADMIN TIME TO MANUALLY CONTROL
  • THEIR BOOKING SYSTEM IS INSUFFICIENT. I GET A BOOKING FOR 2 ADULTS AND 1 CHILD, BUT SOMEWHERE ELSE ON THE FORM IT SNEAKS IN THAT ITS 4 PEOPLE, THAT ONE DOESN’T SEE WHEN YOU LOOK AT THE BOOKING THE GUESTS ARRIVE, ONE EXTRA PERSON, NOT PAID FOR, AND NO BED PREPARED??
  • MY MINIMUM BOOKING POLICY SAYS 4 DAYS OVER EASTER. THEY JUST SEND ME A BOOKING FOF 2 DAYS AND EXPECT ME TO HONOUR IT. THAT IS THE POINT OF IT SYSTEMS IF THEY DON’T WORK
  • IT SEEMS B.COM JUST WANT TO PLAY THE LARGE NUMBERS GAME BUT MESS UP ON SERVICING THEIR CLIENTS??
  • B.COM – ARE YOU GOING TO REMEDY THIS. ENOUGH PEOPLE HAVE THE SAME REAL PROBLEMS WITH YOUR SYSTEMS.
  • NO ANONYMOUS COMPLAINTS. NO BLOCKING OWNERS FROM BEING ABLE TO RESPOND AND MORE IMPORTANTLY, FROM BEING ABLE TO REMEDY ONCE THEY KNOW WHAT THE PROBLEM IS (IF THERE IS ONE!!)
1 year ago
1
Frank Atherley

Hello there

Just to add my 5 pence worth:-

Our rating was 8.9, one that I am happy with and proud of.

This morning I received the dreaded 2.5 across the board anonymously with no comments.

This is not a review but a malicious attack on the business and the owner for some reason. What else can it be? It cannot under any other circumstances be considered a genuine review except in the world of Booking.com who are a law unto themselves. The guest did not review the business but used the review to attack the business or its owner for some unknown reason. This surely goes against Booking.com guidelines? Malicious, yes!! These sort of reviews should not be allowed in the first place or at least secondly removed on appeal on appeal by the owner.

Another thought! Booking.com sends the request for a review to the email used by the guest? How does booking.com know that the review written was written by the guest and not someone else???

Fortunately my rating only dropped to 8.8!!

1 year ago
2
Marshrose

well there have been too many subscribers to B.com that have now complained of exactly the same scenario. high scores and then out of the blue 2.5 across the board.???? come on B.com, please dont discredit intelligent business owners with the the attitude they are stupid and cant work out they are being manipulated. this is not in line with average human behaviour, cannot be traced to a guest and makes no sense when hosts have had very good scores up till then. this is very clearly B.com themselves playing god with peoples life investments and sources of income to their own whims. maybe we should jointly start publishing that B.com is a very bad site, and leave them? not user friendly at all!! B.com what you are doing to peoples business's is disgusting. come to the table and remove the anonymous function which your are using to play manipulation on guest house owners. there is NO WAY!!!- that any of the 2.5 across the board scores are genuine. THEY ARE ALL FAKE. SAME PATTERN EVERY TIME!! REMOVE THEM ALL NOW IMMEDIATELY AND CHANGE YOUR WAYS. THIS IS EVIL.

1 year ago
1
Pyreneescaravanpark

Hi All!
I wanted to add that I also feel very upset and wronged by these Anonymous reviews.

I received a 3.8 yesterday, left anonymously with no comments.

My property had a score of 9.1 prior to this comment. I have good reviews on every platform, not just Booking.com

I am absolutely shocked and have no idea why this guest left this review.

My husband and I are the only staff at our park, and I am usually the one at reception greeting guests and doing the cleaning. I received a 2.5 for staff and a 2.5 for cleanliness. There is no way that they received poor service or stayed in a filthy cabin.

I contacted Booking.com who assured me the review was left by a genuine guest and there was nothing they would do to remove the review as guests have the right to leave an anonymous review.

This is unsatisfactory to me, so they said my query has been passed on to a specialist and I will receive a response within 5 working days. I am thankful they have escalated and look forward to the response.

We are a small business and when you work 24/7, 365 days a year and someone leaves a review that is obviously malicious for some reason, I take that very seriously as a threat to my livelihood.

We have glowing reviews not only on Booking.com but on other review platforms as well, this review is totally out of pattern and clearly false.

I know for a fact my customer service is second to none (one guest on Booking.com even commented that it was the best customer service he'd ever received) as are my hygiene standards. I even received a review this morning saying my property was a "hidden gem" with friendly staff and clean and with a rating of 10, yet the day before it was reviewed as "poor" and scored 3.8. Go figure.

Anyway, I will continue on somewhat hamstrung with wanting to take my property off Booking.com but knowing that I will be "cutting my nose off to spite my face" if I do so.

Samantha.

1 year ago
2
Craigmoniecottage

Couldn't agree with Frank and Marshrose more.

Booking.Com demand 100% transparency from its accommoation proivders and the same should be applied to the guests booking and also Booking.Com i.e.

Like Airbnb etc. the identity of the reviewer should be public and the cut off for reviews 14day on both sides

To avoid No Show reviews - declare the No Show just after midnight this prevents any reviews being left.

More often than not negative reviews are left by Guests who have not read the terms and conditions of a property and have no intentions of adhering to them anyway so resent it when they are put in place. Unfortunately, the majority of Blame for this should be placed fairly and squarely at Booking.Com's door as they make every effort to dilute, contradict and hide terms and conditions of a property but when questioned hide behind their ill equipped / trained customer service dept. who read off the script 'well it is detailed on the site'. Well we know that and we also know as Booking.Com know that the guest does not read beyond the first page.

Of course the best way around all of this is to keep increasing direct bookings through your own website/chanel manager, also sign up to other web-sites like Hotel Bonanza and change how guests book on your site i.e. introduce cancellation charges, check in time limits etc

It is also good to see that the CMA is now getting involved with the practices of OTA's from both the guest side and the accommodation providers side. Although to-date Booking.Com has refrained from interacting with them according to a recent BBC morning TV. Programme. So it does look like that the practices of OTA's at long last are being taken onboard by the Government which can only be a good thing.

At the end of the day it is time Booking.Com recognised who their customers are - THE ACCOMMODATION PROVIDERS - AND THAT THE GUESTS ARE OUR CUSTOMERS - WITHOUT US BOOKING.COM HAS NO BUSINESS WHERE AS WE DO - OUR PRODUCT AND THE PUBLIC WILL ALWAYS FIND WHAT THEY WANT.

1 year ago
2
Kenata

This anonymous nonsense is so crazy as generally booking.com is a good site(give or take the high commission!)

It seems a really a small thing to request Booking.com simply make reviews honest and accountable with right of reply as other sites do. We have to wonder what is going on behind the scenes when there is such disregard for our views.

In contrast we recently had an Airbnb booking with a glowing written review comment and yet low star scores. When I contacted Airbnb for advice as the contradiction was obvious, they followed up with the guest who told them he had been very happy(as per the written comments) and had simply misunderstood the rating stars and yes folks Airbnb were happy to correct my star rating. That's what I call service, yet really isn't that what we should expect from all our providers?

1 year ago
2
jewel

With the anonymous review itself its a problem,k but I have encounter more even than that, there are guests who are a no show, and of course, they are being charged for a no show. And of course they are not happy so they went on to post a review, and booking.com actually let their review posted on the site, and when you have to contact their customer service, they says oh we will contact the review team and let them know that. So I guess the review team is not doing their job properly. And as for all the negative reviews and malicious reviews are from the guest point of view, that is what Booking.com customer service says, so they have a nothing to contribute of their stay, it has to do with their feeling and how they feel about their stay but nothing as to factual or the property. I am recently battling with booking.com with 2 reviews that is complete lied plus personal attack, when the guest never bother to interact with the staff but yet calling at the staff glared at her money, and she does not want to pay for her taxi ride to the bus, and our other guest paid for her portion of the ride, and there was a conversation in the car where she was along with the guest, and the conversation happens between my husband and the other guest, that he was asking how we are able to travel with such a demanding business that opens all year round, and my husband briefly discuss that we work really hard for 7-9 months and using the slower months where our staff takes are of the property and we go for vacation ( of course also for medical check up, due to I have had cancer treatment and I need to go back and forth to my hospital, but of course we would not have a need to disclose these information to our guests) and that conversation was not directly to her, yet she is able to make that conversation public by saying we are greedy owners because we boost that we travel to Taiwan, China. So she is the only how can and allow to travel? She was calling us as thieves, and none of such thing ever happened. This is consist of libel. and I have proof of that. Contacting booking.com numerous time to remove the reviews she had put, they insisted how she has the right to her feeling of her stay, but when she is accusing our staff and ourselves, this is a personal attack nothing has to do with her experienced of her stay. I had spoken to many of the customer service and their same responds, and even account manager, the respond is that you can reply, but the problem with reply, they will have a different standard for management reply, when it comes to guests it is their feeling and how they can express it, but when it comes to reply from the management, it is, you can not use certain language, but guests can do so. Double standard. booking.com is working for us, hotel management/owner, they are getting paid from us not the guests. they need to understand that. We understand we can not please everyone that comes through the door, but we can accept negative review and to improve on our shortage, but not to accept lied and accusation and assumption. The review has personal attack not truthful and factual of her stay. She was a miserable old lady that does not want to talk to anyone, I personally as the owner had greet her 4 times and she never respond to my greeting so I just stop, and figure she dont want to be bother. The last respond from review teams is that they do not know the truth and she states it and that is how it is. Maybe for those of us who been malicious slanders and defame, we can start to get together and get lawyer to represent us to make bookinig.com for a change. Hope we all get a solution to these bag reviews that are being done by bad/ malicious guests.

1 year ago
2
Craigmoniecottage

Once again be in control of your business - Declare all 'No Shows' at midnight which will stop any reviews being written whether you have charged or not.

Make sure you do not discuss anything in front of guests that is nothing to do with them which they might disclose at a later stage.

Point out to guests when relevant that any misleading information - they should contact the party they booked through i.e. Booking.Com if they have failed to digest your trading terms/policies with could be directly due to being badly placed on the Boking.Com website by Booking.Com clueless marketing team

1 year ago
2
jewel

All of no show we do it until the next morning, and it still gets bad reviews and I have to contact booking.com concerning on the status, and able to proof that the guest was no show and that is the only way they will remove it. Because it is their own fault they will remove otherwise the customer service will simply tells you they cannot remove.

1 year ago
1
Frank Atherley

Has anyone actually got booking.com to cancel an anonymous review of 2.5 across the board?

These reviews are not reviews but malicious attacks on the business and the owner!!

I have written to various links recently including our own local manager in Cape Town and have had no response at all. Completely ignoring the mail!! They realise what that these are malicious attacks but refuse to even acknowledge them.

It would be interesting to have it tested in court???

1 year ago
1
Myperpignan

The anonymous reviews are not meant to be helpful clearly. Many just give a low score and no comment. I actually spoke to someone at booking and they said to me that the ability to leave an anonymous review was a european law. That they must offer this. Do I believe this? No. I explained that price fixing was also against european law and that inviting partners to participate in this practise was questionable. You will find that these comments are not totally ignored. I am sure they are read but if you think there will be action you are sadly mislead.

1 year ago
1
Kate

Re: Anonymous reviews suggestion

I sent this email to customer service the other day. Haven't heard back yet...

I come from a corporate background so I know how often great ideas get lost on their way up from internal feedback and customer reach-out systems. I know that you Booking.com wants your 'partner businesses' to be satisfied and successful. I have an idea to improve a specific area of dissatisfaction from your accommodation partners and their clients. Please could you read this positive suggestion, and forward it to the relevant change-makers.

The current 'anonymous review’ option (without the accommodation provider being able to respond in any way) doesn’t make good business sense, either for booking . com or anyone of the stakeholders involved. There is simply no benefit for anyone in the equation.

Let me explain.

a) The 'accommodation provider’ can't ask for specific details, so they can’t fix a problem, find out or explain why a problem occurred, or even recompense a disgruntled guest if there was a serious failure of some kind.

b) The 'review reader / potential guest' has no detail but only a score on a general word like 'comfort’ or ‘value’ or ’staff'. Without specific information and an owner/manager response, they might be unfairly put off making a good decision.

c) Your company gets no benefits either: the 'anonymous score/ no response system creates a lot of anger and tension between the 'accommodation partner' and Booking .com. I have read that this is widely unpopular aspect of your review system. It’s often discussed on your own partner forum, in other hospitality forums and on travel industry social media. Also, your own customer service providers have told me that it is a very common complaint from business owners and even they are frustrated they can’t seem to do anything to change it, other than keep passing the many complaints upwards.

It is surprising that we, as valued ‘business partners’, are continue to be treated in this way - i.e. without any chance to either learn the guests' problems; explain the reasons; or most importantly make customer amends. It doesn’t seem very 'business-like’ for Booking . com to treat us like this as we are such an important element of the Booking .com success story.

At our B&B, guest disappointment occasionally occurs when a Booking . com client hasn’t read the online descriptions or amenities list on your site before booking and assumes that we automatically offer the same services or luxuries as a big brand hotel (or norms in another country). For example we've had Booking. com guests assume that we have *a 24 hour front desk or *24 hour room-service meals, or a *mini-bar, or that their sheets should be changed *every day, or they arrive expecting to fill a double room with their entire extended family, or worst of all, they smoke inside! We do not provide misleading information on your site, so we should not be penalised if there is a disparity between guest expectations and the information we have provided especially when these guests fill in an anonymous review which we can’t comment on publicly.

A publicly viewable response addition to the anonymous review would also help the many potential guests who don’t bother to read 'descriptions' and 'amenity lists' (many only read the reviews), to make a fair and informed decision.

In hospitality we are in the business of customer service and our days are spent making sure our guests are happy. In a small B&B we work insane hours for not much money, and we pay Booking. com a lot of commission every month! We should be happy to be partnering with you instead of feeling disgruntled about this very unfair and un business-like system.

The current anonymous review system (without any response option) is not how any well-run corporation or accommodation business operates their customer service department or complaint communications.

We always ask our customers face-to-face at breakfast if everything is alright or if there are any problems we need to address, so it is a genuine shock to get a low ‘comfort’ or ‘staff’ or ‘value' score, without any details to action. It is galling in fact. A low score (and not being able to fix a problem we don't know about) affects our ranking algorithms, and therefore the overall success of our small businesses, and therefore, ultimately, yours.

Frustration with these details leads to many accommodation providers being angry and frustrated, some even severing relationships with you. Not a situation you are content with, surely.

My positive suggestion is that if you must retain an 'anonymous review option' then it should always request specific details in words and include a way for accommodation providers to communicate with the reviewer, ideally as a public response or, at the very least, privately though Booking .com, and retaining guest anonymity if needed.

We care about our customers and you should be helping us do that.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. I hope to hear back from someone in your company about my suggestion to modifying this unfair system - for the benefit of us all!

Forgive my cheekiness at writing to you directly by email, but I am not getting anywhere via your relationship staff, and reading your 'partner forum' it appears this continues to be discussed (and apparently 3 months ago at management level) but it doesn’t appear to have been changed yet.

Please look after your hard-working business partners. After all, you need us just as much as we need you.

KB

1 year ago
1
Pyreneescaravanpark

It is a joke really. After receiving a score of 3.8 from an "anonymous" reviewer, I was furious.

I ended up contacting Booking.com office in Australia, as apparently the guest review team is all located in the Netherlands - not really convenient from a time zone perspective!

Without even listening to my complaint, the guy in Australia says "I can guarantee they won't remove it". I said WTF, you don't even know what I'm going to say and that's the answer already?

What an absolute joke. Never come across this lack of flexibility or customer service in my entire life. I'm working hard on getting bookings through other means, with a view to moving away from Booking.com if things don't change.

The patronising response I received when I requested my concerns be escalated was "there are many reasons why a property's score will vary throughout the day" - from a 10 to a 3.8 apparently! I feel like they think I'm stupid, not at my property buddy.

I'm just a small fish in a huge pond, so it will likely fall on deaf ears anyway. Needs a mass takedown of properties to do any good.

1 year ago
2
jewel

Booking.com does not give a dame of anything, and it is exactly, why they have this partner forum, so we are hoteliers can deal with our own problem without calling their customer service. This is how lazy they have gotten to the point that they dont even want to resolve issues, and if they want to resolve the issue they should check the forum and see what people as asking for. For example, I saw a post with their employee who responds to this forum, and there was a listing as for if you were to post on this forum you needed to put photo, and all the information, so why cant they practice what they preach. Apparently she turn off for comments, so I am sure we know the reason why. Cause many of us would have gone there to question about the policy.

1 year ago
2
jewel

to write email or letter to customer service is a joke, it is never replied. They just decided who they reply to and whom they do not reply to.

1 year ago
2
Marshrose

well if we all cancelled our subscriptions there certainly are other options. they are not the only booking site and if their systems allow us to be destroyed on the www maybe not being there is more beneficial than being there. they have no business to run without hoteliers, as they dont own a thing. they make money out of the hardworking business and property owners. its a bit leech like with a back bite??

1 year ago
2
Lou Borchers

@ Umbiroo:

Yes Umbiroo, great idea! And since booking.com will of course never agree to that: Maybe there is already a website for that? And if not, how about creating one??

Same is necessary for guest that write revenge reviews, recognizable easily on their all very low ratings, always because the guest could not get what they wanted on their (at us) clearly marked non-refundable reservations: Cancel with money back, shorten stay with money back and change stay dates. Only the last one is no problem for me. And if the money back is not given they create more complaints up to "it was raining when we arrived and we had to walk uphill" andnow enjoy using booking.com´s latest creation: Judging Wifi. But there is a final solution for their ability of judging Wifi: Since most guest are "married" to their "Smart"phone: Remove your wifi, tell the guest to buy data and use their phone for the internet. Problem solved!

After reading all the posts here about anonymous reviews i will open a new thread about revenge reviews.

Regards,

Lou Borchers

1 year ago
2
Lou Borchers

@ Myperpignan:

Exactly as you wrote: "and use it to attempt to damage your reputation."! It applies to revenge reviews, clearly recognizable easily on their very low ratings, always because the guest could not get what they wanted on their (at us) clearly marked non-refundable reservations: Cancel with money back, shorten stay with money back and change stay dates. Only the last one is no problem for me. And if the money back is not given they create more complaints up to "it was raining when we arrived and we had to walk uphill and enjoy using booking.com´s latest creation: Judging Wifi. But there is a solution for judging Wifi: Since most guest are married to their "Smart"phone: Remove your wifi, tell the guest to buy data and use their phone. Problem solved!

1 year ago
2
Lou Borchers
Booking told me the same what Tatjana Lucnikovawrote:

"They also said to post fhere and if enough hosts have the same issue, then they will do something about it but based on the number of posts here about this"

In my case I am complaining about revenge reviews, clearly recognizable easily on their very low ratings, always because the guest could not get what they wanted on their (at us) clearly marked non-refundable reservations: Cancel with money back, shorten stay with money back and change stay dates. Only the last one is no problem for me. And if the money back is not given they create more complaints up to "it was raining when we arrived and we had to walk uphill and enjoy using booking.com´s latest creation: Judging Wifi. But there is a solution for judging Wifi: Since most guest are married to their "Smart"phone: Remove your wifi, tell the guest to buy data and use their phone. Problem solved!

I always see only the same members (booking.com calls them "Hotel Partners", in reality we are only beggars!)

So lets act together to change something, we need more members to complain. Booking.com is too big already, they can not change anymore as Airbnb can.

Protest again and again and tell other members to do the same!

1 year ago
2
Lou Borchers

@Kanata: "isn't that what we should expect from all our providers?"

Yes, we should expect that but 1. Booking.com is too big and can´t move anymore and

2. is not Airbnb is quite new and CAN and DOES move and

3. Consider that we are not their "Hotel partners", we are just beggars.....

1 year ago
1
Myperpignan

I am sorry to inform you. Booking have told me that they will Never Ever change their policy regarding these type of reviews. They made it very clear in a phone call. They are only asking for opinions here so you have somewhere to vent your anger hoping you won't go to twitter etc. They want you to do it here where you can be monitored. I promise you they made it very clear to me. There will always be people out there who will wish bad things for you and there will always be people will ing to assist them. This policy was well thought out no doubt by a policy committee of iPad carrying experts. Its not going to be changed as a response to what you think. Do you see anyone here replying to your concerns promising to contact you to discuss this? No? Why Not? Ill say it again crying here is not going to help. It way well hurt. You are complaining to a group of converts who know well the issues. On a platform that has made it clear this policy won't be changed.

1 year ago
2
Lou Borchers

@ Frank Atherley
"It would be interesting to have it tested in court???"

In the EU and I am sure also in the U.S. you can sue the guest for giving business damaging statements in their reviews.

What to do:

1. Switch on that the guest have to state their full address for that case.

2. Threaten them if necessary to sue them because you have a legal cost insurance (even if you don´t).

We have a sign clearly visible in the entrance gangway saying:

IF YOU HAVE A COMPLAINT TELL US

NOW!

WHILE YOU ARE STILL HERE SO WE CAN FIX IT AND YOU DON`T HAVE TO LEAVE A BAD REVIEW LATER !

RING SERVICE BELL NOW !

Nevertheless, they are writing revenge reviews and Booking.com is clearly supporting them in doing that because they can easily recognize revenge reviews on their very low ratings, always because the guest could not get what they wanted on their (at us) clearly marked non-refundable reservations: Cancel with money back, shorten stay with money back and change stay dates. Only the last one is no problem for me. And if the money back is not given they create more complaints up to "it was raining when we arrived and we had to walk uphill and enjoy using booking.com´s latest creation: Judging Wifi. But there is a final solution for judging Wifi: Since most guest are "married" to their "Smart"phone they don´t need our wifi: Remove your wifi, tell the guest to buy data and use their phone. Problem solved!

Until now this intended addition to the sign is not yet there:

"For business damaging reviews we retain the right to sue you for damages in court!"

That will make them think first!

For booking.com that means their negligence to do something about revenge-reviews will cause financial trouble not only to their hotel beggars (they call us "partners") but also financial trouble to their prey, our mutual guest.

1 year ago
2
Lou Borchers

@ Kate
You will never get any answer, you are only a beggar, not a hotel partner, as all of their members...

1 year ago
2
Lou Borchers

@ Pyreneescaravanpark
As I said before: We are all only beggars, they will never do anything, they can not, they are too big and lazy....

1 year ago
2
Lou Borchers

OK, Myperpignan post it on Twitter and whatever else there is, that´s what they fear!
However, I am not using these "Things" the U.S. President is to proud of...

1 year ago
2
Wayne Cahoon

This is to Lou Borchers

You have a lot to say, but somethings are hard to read or understand clearly. May I suggest one thing. Write what your going to post in a word processor or as an email and re-read it before you send it. It's hard to follow what your saying some times and at other times your jumping to things I don't know what your writing about.

Record me as not liking what Booking.com is doing about not allowing a response to an anonymous review, if Booking.com is going to keep them. I prefer they didn't allowing them at all.

Just because they can do this doesn't mean they should.

So is booking.com keeping a tally? How many are for it and how many are against it?

1 year ago
2
Wayne Cahoon

Case in point Lou,

I want to follow the conversation but I don't understand what "Myperpignan post" or what the heck does this "However, I am not using these "Things" the U.S. President is to proud of..." mean?

1 year ago
2
Pottsofflemingate

I never say or write anything that I'm not prepared to put my name to. I expect the same standards of accountability from others. It simply makes no sense whatsoever to allow persons unknown to judge anything. If there is a problem with my establishment I do not have any problem at all with my faults being pointed out in fact I we come the opportunity to improve and get better. What I object to is the review that never makes no valid points, just general grumbles, then leaves an anonamous low score. It's so wrong, unaccountable, and feels unsensible. Google have started a rating site and they insist on not only a name but also a photo too. Very sensible. One day all review sites will be like Google's.

1 year ago
2
Wayne Cahoon

That's scary that Google is asking for a photo also. They are gathering too much info on you as it is and now a photo. Their photo recognition ability is one of the best in the world so they can use your photo and compare it to all the photos that posted on line and make a portfolio on everywhere a photo of you exists. That's frightening to me.

See my photo is my B&B not me. Pottsofflemingate has a pretty good looking photo of him/herself on this site so you should be careful.....

1 year ago
2
Lou Borchers

@ Wayne Cahoon:

The Twitter "Thing" was relating to "Myperpignan" who recommended to post in on Twitter. I just mentioned that I won´t participate on Twitter where the U.S. President is already blabbering all his nonsense!

1 year ago
2
Lou Borchers

This is to Wayne Cahoon and all others:
You are invited to transfer it into the proper forum thread if you like, I am tired already, it is hopeless to do anything here.

My problem is that I am new here and did not yet found out how to answer directly below another post.

Additionally, there are so many problems ONLY with booking.com that I could be busy all day long to post about it. I don´t have any problems with Airbnb, nobody ever posted there a bad or revenge review and anonymously is impossible. Also nearly no problems with the OTAs.

Booking.com´s main back draw is not to collect guest payments as all OTA´s are doing. I found out that they did exactly that in 2013 for some time and offered their Payments by Booking.com on a "test run" (however, officially the Philippines were not part of the countries where they did that!) to other resorts on our island, on the same beach, for only 2 % more commission. I want to have it, too of course and complained to booking several times already, tried to escalate it over our local market manager because she has not the power to grant it anyway. Nothing happens since January 2018, only blah-blah answers, forwarded it to the appropriate person.... They don´t even have a general complaint department, all complaints are handled (or better not handled) by each countries booking.com market team.

Next problem is their publishing of revenge reviews, all ratings 2.5, even the newly installed nonsense to rate Wifi and that in a third world country where the internet providers are at fault because totally unable to provide steady internet. The guest can´t differentiate who is at fault, so the hotels get the bad review, for the revenge review writers just another chance for "success".

Next problem is what this thread is about: Anonymous reviews: Totally nonsense again, does not help anything, just lowers the rating of the hotels, exactly what it is intended for by the reviewers together with booking.com.

Next problem is the language on hotel responses to reviews: Until a few weeks ago booking required responses to be in the language of the review. I wrote them if they think that any prospective new guest would translate our response if stated in a language other than English? Of course not, they just see the rating and go to the next review. Suddenly the text changed to: "- You must reply in the language of the related review OR IN ENGLISH. Responses provided in a different language will not be displayed online or translated." This is an original copy of that text.

I wrote my response in English but at that time they must have withdrawn the new settings again, the review censors team told me it´s not allowed to write in English!

At Ctrip it is possible with one click to have foreign language reviews translated but booking.com can´t do that? Of course they could, they intentionally don´t want to!

The next problem: Booking removed all formerly possible special descriptions for the rooms that were there for several years, now they have to follow their "Templates". In our case hints/warnings about the "Filipino cultural highlights" the guest must be aware of to prevent them from writing another bad review: The all present neighboring chicken, the barking dogs, the muffler less motorbikes! No problem for the locals, they have the ability to switch off their ears and also their brains. But foreign guest can´t do that. Instead of leaving the warnings as they were, booking recommended to me to make pictures of the neighboring chicken, title: Animals! Who the heck will get the idea that this is a warning of the noise these beasts are making?? So finally I show a sign on the picture "Noisy neighboring chicken" with the chicken in the background. As primitive as possible because they also can not state what all OTA´s can do: Noise free rooms can not be guaranteed!

The next thing is the no-shows, every other hotel has that problem and booking supports the guest to do that as I can read in the other threads.

The next one is the charge backs when the poor hotels loose their money and also gave their rooms for free to these cheaters. All because booking does not like to take the risk of that by collecting the guest payments. Do all hotels know that a guest can apply for a charge back for 540 days after the charge to the card?? And the credit cards will of course be on his side whenever possible, it is their customer and they want to keep him.

The next problem is insufficient funds on their guest cards.

After Global Payments wanted suddenly a yearly "Account maintenance fee" (for a virtual charging facility where there is no slider or anything else to maintain!) of 1000 US $ I canceled our business relation with them immediately, considering the insufficient funds, intentionally given wrong card data, left away CVC numbers, even names and so on, all made possible by booking.com. Worthless the whole charging process, however we never had a charge back within the 3 years it lasted but about 10000 US $ loss every year that would not have been there if booking would have charged the guest!

Now I don´t even bother about their guest´s worthless credit card data anymore. I write invoices through pay pal, send the invoice through booking.com to the guest, due upon receipt. They pay with their card by clicking on their card symbol on the invoice. The best thing is, contrary to the usual card-not present charge done by the hotel and therefore inviting the guest for charge backs, that here the guest is doing the whole payment. That makes it impossible to tell his card company why he wants his money back because no error possible on the hotel side. Of course all our reservations are non-refundable. If they did not pay on that receipt day, one reminder on the next day, open up the room already again, write the second reminder and don´t care about them anymore. If nobody else books the room again I wait if they still come or not. However, as soon as the room has been booked by somebody that also paid I have booking.com throw the guest out immediately! Until now that works well, however, pay pal collects 4.4 % for that, all these unnecessary cost because booking does not collect the guest payments.

And so it continues. I can not spend all my daily time on opening new threads on all of these problems with booking.com. I am tired, it is not worthwhile.

They are not interested to hear all that. This forum is just to get rid of hearing all these complaints. They know exactly what stinks in their system. Just look how very few hotels participate in this forum and it will not change anything anyway. We are just stupid to spend our time writing here? Maybe the other members who are NOT here are clever because they know booking.com won´t change anything?

And to you guys working for booking.com I can attest:

POOR PERFORMANCE OVERALL!

You are only thinking about your profit, not at all about your so called "Hotel partners" which you threat as beggars....

1 year ago
2
jewel

remember there is a team member by the name of Brook? she is sure reading all these input we are putting but why she is not responding? And as I had the feeling of this forum is that booking.com wants us to vent here and they dont care, so that they do not get any one of us to call them and bother them. So they dont give a dame to any of us hotelier and they are getting too big, because from us, we are making them big, its time to take action to demand what we need. Remember we are the one who make them their pay checks, if we are demanding then they will try to adjust their treatment to us. Not one of us, we have to do it all together.

1 year ago
2
Gail and John

Booking.com please disallow anonymous reviews.
Firstly we cannot apologise or address the problem???????
A guest has just given us a 5 for cleanliness, how do we follow up?
We normally have a fairly good score in this area.
Surely booking.com wants to have happy guests? How in the world do we work with this "anonymous" review system.
Unfair in so many different ways!!!!

1 year ago
2
Marshrose

Booking.com you are really missing the point entirely in building good relationships with those that provide your income. what sane mind can find anything positive in anonymous, non specific, untrue, vicious comments which could be coming from inside Booking.com and not even from a guest. IF YOU CANNOT PROVE WHICH GUEST POSTED THE COMMENT IT CANNOT BE LEGAL TO POST IT. IT IS TANTAMOUNT TO DEFAMATION OF CHARACTER!! STOP IT NOW AND CHANGE YOUR WAYS. prove yourselfs honourable with integrity , after all , you also need our facilities to make your easy money while we take all the sweat and expense with pride , of the infrastructures we create. what is your case booking.com? are you deficient of understanding?why are you so stubborn & non responsive

1 year ago
1
Shirley

Obviously Booking.com are not listening to the feedback regarding anonymous reviews and the general hatered of them. Does anyone have any other suggestions on how we can make them listen and changed this pointless, potentially damaging, anonymous review system?

Bit of a joke really when booking.com wants us to reply to all our customers when they send a message, but they don’t reply to us THEIR CUSTOMERS!

1 year ago
1
Shirley

Totally agree with Marshorse.

1 year ago
2
Dmitriy Bolobolov

Ok, finally we can send email with a link to this thread to b.com CEO Gillian Tans. Her email is known. With or without some comments on review issues but I think better just the link) As a subject we can use a part of Booking.com Review Team reply to my complain: "If you want the review to be removed, then you require to terminate the agreement, after which the review will be gone forever..."

1 year ago
2
Lou Borchers

The hotels have to create a counterpart to the travel agents, unite! Booking.com does not care at all about your/our problems, face it!

1 year ago
2
Gail and John

I know, I agree.however in our country South Africa they are by far the largest.agency and most guests use them. There aren't really any other strong contenders and I guess they know it!

1 year ago
2
Pottsofflemingate

Most things booking.com are good and it's good to work with them but when they get the small things wrong like this, ( I have been with them a long time and seen many changes), it takes them a while to realise and put it right. These big companies copy each other so when they realise that all other companies reviews are not anonymous they will alter their policy. I hope it's sooner rather than later, but getting these small things wrong is what often what makes the difference, between good and great..... They may change when they realise that Google's review system insists on accountability, and even a photo, as all companies should.

1 year ago
1
Angelika

100% agree, anonymous reviews are useless both for hosts and for our future guests, however they affect the score((. Another very important matter is about Guests rating by the hosts. Hosts should have the possibility to rate the guests. This option will make guests to be more responsible for what they do while they are staying and what they write about the hotel after the check-out. As a result, I’m sure it will really help to improve the whole system. The question is - how to persuade booking.com to introduce this system into the platform? If everyone who thinks Guests rating should be here, writes to booking.com a separate mail using your property own inbox, probably (after they receive hundreds applications about this matter:-)))) booking.com will have to agree with us and introduce Guests rating option for the hosts. Any other suggestions?

1 year ago
1
Owlsroost

We were proud to receive a Guest Review Award of 9.3 for 2017. A couple of weeks ago I discovered 2 anonymous reviews of 5.0. Both identical and scoring 5.0 for every item. I was flabbergasted as our lowest review in our history for the apartment was 7.9. Needless to say our current review rating dropped to 8.8.

I wrote to customer services requesting clarification and removal as as it is clear that the reviews were mischievous. I consider publishing anonymous review discriminatory and not constructive at all. I received a call today from Francesca and could not convince her of my view. As an employee she has a policy to defend. However, one review will be removed as: "the system has doubled the review by mistake we will cancel one".

I suppose I must be grateful for small gifts!

This episode has severely shaken my belief in the integrity of the Booking.com review system.

PS Our other apartment scored 9.7 for the second year!!!!!!!!

1 year ago
2
Marshrose

this is clearly plain maliciousness coming from 'booking.com. no one else can post the reviews but them. the fact they duplicated it is just further evidence. the attitude of their staff is the same cold brush you off sick tone and they have been primed to do so. they have been trained to stand like a brick wall because they are intent on being malicious. it sick!

1 year ago
2
Pottsofflemingate

I agree holehartedly with Owlsroost, I have had very similar experiences, and it's fine until it happens to you, so while I agree that Booking.com are pretty good overall, this is one area where improvements should be made..... change is slow but when they realise that they are the only review system operating like this, change will happen...... in the meantime I will rate Booking.com at 2 out of 10 for a review system that is unaccountable and old fashioned.

1 year ago
2
Pottsofflemingate

ps. there is no need for ananomity in any case, what is wrong with open honesty???

1 year ago