user avatar image
1

Anonymous Reviews

I believe it is time for Booking.Com to stop allowing anonymous reviews. How do they help anyone improve a property? It is impossible to identify, what the guests is referring to in their complaint. I don't believe I have ever seen an anonymous review rate a property 100%. If a complaint or poor review is warranted so be it, but things can only be improved when a manager/owner can identify what the complainant is complaining about, whether it be a staff member or a problem within the property/room. 

If enough of us request this change, surely it should happen. 

If you have an opinion, and want to share it, you should be man/woman enough to put your name to it. 

Submitted by Malcolm Craig

  

128 Replies

2
Polly29

I think that when looking at a review a guest has left for a property, owners and potential guests should be able to click on the reviewers profile and see other reviews the guest has left. This would show the truth of the reviewer as well. It would give a much more balanced picture as people would be able to see if that particular reviewer was just a moaner. If they always left low scores you would be able to see that they were that kind of person and review could be taken with a pinch of salt. If they usually review high it would indicate there had been an issue perhaps. People that always leave 2.5 will be visible and potential guests would be able to see that review for exactly what it was- malicious. I think Airbnb have it right, they seem to care much more about the hosts than Booking.com. In many ways I wholly disagree with Booking.com policies and the way they treat hosts. This has been very well put by other hosts in this forum.

1 year ago
2
Pottsofflemingate

In reply to Polly, I would agree with most of what you say, but apart from expecting us to wait too long on the phone, and the stupid review system, I find the service from Booking.com fairly good. If I had to rate it maybe 9 out of 10..... however, with making us wait too long to reply to phone queries maybe 7 out of 10...... and of course... the stupid unaccountable review system.....4 out of 10. However, when Booking.com realise other organisations including Google for example, are making a much better job of their review system... they will surely change won't they? Change is sometimes slow as it often involves admitting that someone in an organisation has got it wrong. It's all very childish, but then many people in organisations are.

1 year ago
2
Polly29

Well lets hope they do listen. Booking.com is my least preferred OTA. For example they incorrectly pinned my property on their map. I had provided correct address details, the correct address was visible on the listing etc. A guest booked based on where they had pinned the location. The guest stayed in the property and then wanted a full refund base on Booking.com showing it incorrectly on their map. Booking.com tried to bully me in to refunding the guest for their error. Its blatant things like that that get wind me up.

1 year ago
2
Pottsofflemingate

Hi Polly 29,

I'm sure you have it sorted now, but the thing to do is to go onto Google maps and claim and label your property yourself..... It's good free advertising.... but back to the anonymous review thing.... I have no idea what the attraction of anonymous reviews is for Booking.com or anyone involved in the leisure and tourism industry??? It's a charter for the mischievious or the cheats and even the jellous to play underhanded games. The annoying thing is that I would never trust a review that someone has not been prepared put thier name to, but unfortunately we are not all the same, and real damage can be done by hiders. This is something that Booking.com has got badly wrong..... so it's only 3 out of 10 from me for their untrustworthy website.

1 year ago
1
Info

REVIEWS BEING REMOVED FOR NO REASON MARKET MANIPULATION
1
Avatar
Info
1 day ago
Booking.com removed some good reviews i had from a guest , they sent me an email accusing me of being a fraud and threatened to close my account but yet they have no proof i have proof this guest is genuine , even after proving them wrong they did not put the reviews back, and now they are just ignoring me been to account manager she has tried i think and now they are ignoring her ?? and i just noticed today that another good review has been removed , yes i am pretty pissed about this and i believe i know why this is happening ,

Property's that pay more commission get good reviews put in + better coverage more bookings more commission for Booking.com = More money for Booking.com

They Want the Property's that pay higher commission to sell there rooms first , im not sure even if this post will make it on to the forum , but i have screen shot it so and saved it.

1 year ago
1
Alberto B.

Dear Malcolm,

I am 1,000,000% agree with you.

We had an anonymous review with no comments at all and a score of 4,6. Two months before from guests we denounced in Police Station for what they made here (damages and illegally use of our property items) we had a defaming review (I remind that Thai law punishes defamation until 2 years in jail) in which they call us racist. Obviously we denounced even this to the competent authority in Bangkok as it is a crime. So the guests can cancel at the last time and no show without the chance for us (as too many other hotels) to recharge, but the peak is that booking.com allows even to people who violate the law to publicly defame or to publish an anonymous review with no comments and a low score only to damage a business. What was the answer of booking.com ? That it was a free expression of guests' thought conform to review guidelines. What ? To defame is a free expression conform to guidelines ? Hiding behind anonymity to write nothing only to damage with a low score is a review ? It seems to me a nightmare. We made too many sacrifices and we spent a lot of money to create a little paradise and the support of booking.com for hotels with people as these was 0,000000000 ! It's simply a BIG SHAME ! Change your guidelines please in a easier form : customers can do everything they want, even violate the law, anyway hotels' owners must pay every month their commissions. This is the only important thing we take in a very good care. Excellent !!! Congratulations.

1 year ago
2
Pottsofflemingate

this seems to be a fraction of the comments on anonymous reviews as there seems to be 2 sepherate discussions....... there seems to be very many reasons why anonymous reviews are no good for anyone.... partly because inocent hotel owners can find themselves the victim of someone who's dog died yesterday and needs to take it out on someone, or the nerdy type who has phsycopathic tendencies...... or simply someone who has been slipped a few quid to rubbish a commercial opposition. I'm not saying this is happening..... but it may...... I find in life..... openness and honesty is allways the best policy..... so my message to Booking.com is simply to be honest and open and expect that from your customers.... Providing cheats and others a platform to hide is not good for us and it's not good for you either, as your review credibility is constantly being undermined.... I often explain why Booking.com's review system is not as robust as many others.

1 year ago
1
Thegantocks

Anonymous reviews should definitely be discontinued by Booking.com; there is no benefit in them and no lessons to be learned.A great idea to be able to review guests. ( as on Air B&B)

1 year ago
1
Lidomotel

I totally agree with Malcolm. How can I even know what the person is talking about, what room they were in etc.? If you have something to say , good or bad, have the courage to show who you are!!!

1 year ago
1
Alberto B.

The most absurd thing is that in booking.com extranet home it's written that they reduced 70% of anonymous reviews with no comments. So as last week we had one anonymous with no comments we are in the lucky 30%. Congratulations and thanks to booking.com. Not only for the reviews, but every time we have a problem with guests we don't receive any kind of support. Customers can lie, even defame (as it happened to us) or hide under anonymity and no help is given. They can even steal or damage and later write horrible things. It's incredible ! Not to speak about the scandal of no show or last minute cancellations whom we, as 99% of other hotels in this area, can't recharge as in Thailand is almost impossible to have a credit card machine with this chance having only the credit card number. Easy to understand why most of the hotels in Thailand put cheaper prices in agoda for the same rooms, sometimes with a difference of 50%. I am sorry booking.com we apologize, you gave a big help when we asked to cancel a defaming review (I remind that defamation is punished by law) from people whom we denounced to Police Station for what they made in the resort and for what they wrote (no comment about these guests !!!), really a big support ! You sent us an email saying that if we insisted you cancel from booking.com hotels list. Fantastic. Congratulations ! A suggestion for booking.com next advertising, it's better you say this : "Book with us as you can do everything with the hotels. We control the market and hotels depend from us. We are the real owners." Excellent !!!!!!!!

1 year ago
2
Pottsofflemingate

I agree with the comments made by these posts on anonymous reviews but what booking.com is fail to take on board is that there is not integrity in a system with no accountability. I have to explain to guests why booking. Com system is not as robust as others. We should mark booking. Com on this. 2 out of 10

1 year ago
1
Vinophiliacbaja

I agree...positive or negative, anonymous reviews are not helpful. We need to be able to respond to the guest either way.

1 year ago
1
Thegantocks

Totally agree.Anonymous reviews are cowardly and of no constructive use.Booking.com are,as usual, completely negative and arrogant on this subject.

1 year ago
2
Pottsofflemingate

Of course it's possible to leave a positive review even a 10/10 anonymously, but if your not prepared to put your name to it....... the review will carry no weight to any straight thinking person. Also an unaccountable review is open to corruption and fraud... does it go on???? No one can tell. If you can't handle that your name will be put next to a review..... either don't leave one, or write something you can live with. Simple. There is no logical reason to allow anonymous reviews and on many levels they are wrong.

1 year ago
1
Angela2206

It is not about privacy! Reviews could well be anonymous to the public, but the owner - to take action and improve - definitely needs to understand where they come from!

11 months ago
2
Kenata

Exactly Angela! Owners do their best to make everything right for guests and it is distressing and unfair when someone gives a low rating with no explanation and worst of all when we cannot reply in any way. We have also had positive anonymous reviews so it is not always bad but it is still confusing and quite simply wrong.

11 months ago
2
Pottsofflemingate

I agree Kenata. This is surly the woste sort miss use of data. Booking.com seem to be in the if it's good enough for Donald Trump, it's good enough for me school on this one. Also ignoring the fact that Facebook have just been find $50000000 for mis use of data. Odd that a reputable company would wish to put themselves in this kind of company?

11 months ago
2
Kenata

Brooke are you listening-are you still there?

These conversations about the unfair and sometimes malicious anonymous views have been going on for over a year yet nothing has changed.

The argument about 'legality' is rubbish as booking.com is not legally obliged to offer the option of anonymous reviews and it most certainly is not 'legally obliged' to publish anonymous reviews to the world.

When someone is taken to court with a complaint they get to face their accuser, the accuser is not allowed to hide their identity-this is no different and yes it can be that serious. Anonymous reviews can ruin a business.

Can you please advise us if we are wasting our time on this forum.

Is anyone at booking.com listening to us or even reading these?

It is a small easy change to advise reviewers that if they choose to be anonymous their review will only go to the owner not to the world - a few extra lines of code at most. We have to wonder why there would be any delay in sorting this issue out-who benefits by not making the change?

11 months ago
2
Pottsofflemingate

I agree entirely with the above post... but poor service from big business seems to be a way of life at present. They talk a good game, but talk is cheap. Like I say.... there is no bigger picture just right and wrong..... booking.com are badly wrong on this...... time will tell.... this is a total mis-use of data. Bookin.com are failing there real customers...... often the begining of the decline for most businesses, however, the ceo, can probably retire before me, and like the rest of the staff doesn't care.

11 months ago
1
Booking

When will Booking.com finally understand that negative anonymous reviews are unfair and absolutely useless both for Booking.com and the hotel?

How can a hotel assess issues with a guest without knowing who he/she was, the dates of the stay or the problems encountered? How can we improve if we do not know the reason of a negative review? How can we react if we are not allowed to post a reply to that review?

How Booking.com can allow that in a hotel where 99% of guests highly value certain things an anonymous person thrashes them without writing a single word to justify that opinion? How can we not feel completely defenceless? How can Booking.com not understand that an anonymous negative review posted the day before Booking.com closes the ranking for the year stinks to a will to damage the competition's reputation? How can Booking.com reply every time that is it the "subjective opinion of a guest" when this objectively affects the reputation and ranking of a hotel in your platform???

Without guests there would not be bookings but without hotels there would be no business for Booking.com. We need your help.

Why not banning anonymous reviews without comments? Why not making the internet a safer and more fair place? Why? I would like to know.

If at least Booking.com had the decency to take this matter seriously you would contact the guest and ask for clarifications that would be passed internally to the hotel so we could react and you would let us reply.

We are deeply upset with the way Booking.com handles this and even more when we receive the "copy and paste" reply that shows that we are just a number rather than a valued partner.

9 months ago
2
Pottsofflemingate

I agree with the above comments entirely and well said, I couldn't have put it better.... Booking.com are lazy and slack in this regard, however I expect it's just the UK franchise that are like this..... the level of service you get from the USA booking.com if you contact them late at night is in another league to the UK..... respect is something that has to be earned.... the UK is not doing it for me.

9 months ago
7
Katerinka12

Anonymous reviews do not make any sense.

1) Booking is bragging its reviews are VERIFIED. How could that be true with anonymous revews?

2) For hosts these reviews are not anonymous. We always know, who is that mr Anonymous, who was just smiling to our face, while giving compliments left and right

3) Do you really Anonymous reviews can be respected by guests? In fact, if guest is a kind of person that is guided by Anonymous reviews, he will stay away from that place. And majority of places is "rated" by anonymous revews. So, how Booking will make money then?

9 months ago
2
Kenata

Agree with the above comments.

It is not just the UK franchise that has this problem, as far as I can see it is the same everywhere at least regarding allowing anonymous reviews with no comments- just plain wrong!

I am in Australia. I have been beating this drum about the unfairness of anonymous reviews with no comments for over a year -getting nowhere - hopefully if more people join the discussion it might make a difference.

9 months ago
1
Booking

The most unfair of all for me is that if an anonymous just rates you badly but adds no comments you don't have the chance to reply. Therefore is like being accused of something without the right to defend yourself. Very unfair.

9 months ago
2
Pottsofflemingate

my comments on Booking.com's performance on this issue have been removed.... and yes they were negative about Booking.com, this smacks of hypocrisy, when I am not being anonymous ..... and I get removed..... what ever happened to free speech? Negative comments regarding Booking.com are removed no matter how honest or relevent while the rest of us can go to hell..... now that's what I call fair.... not.

9 months ago
7
Katerinka12

Dear Booking,

Stop removing comments! Anyway, no one reads your forum except for few hosts. If we will post our comments on Airbnb forum or alike, it will be disaster. Why don't you look at negative comments as a chance to correct your problems?

Do you really think, that we are kids, who enjoy posting pictures of our toys? We deal with people and money every day, and it's impossible to expect from us to say sweet lies only.

9 months ago
2
Pottsofflemingate

Anonymous reviews are possibly the worsted kind of miss use of data..... the type of which large businesses are recieving super large fines. Booking.com as the publishers are unable to verify that the facts of each review are true. Booking.com post reviews regardlessly. The guest may have stayed at the establishment and written false comments, but the misuse of this data is down to Booking.com. And that is the Law. It will only be a matter of time before they realise, but it will probably take a 'sharp slap on the wrist' in the shape of a punitive fine, to make Booking.com wake up to reality.

9 months ago
1
Jennipaolo

Totally agree I received anonymous review 7.5 fir location 30 metres to beach so would be interested in why ?  What was issue us there anything I can do to fix !

29 days ago