user avatar image
6

Calling all Guest Review Award winners!

We know impressing your guests day after day is no small task. From the first welcome message you send them to the moment you wave them goodbye, every effort you make contributes to a great guest experience.

This week, to recognise your dedication, we’re awarding a Guest Review Award to all of our partners who had with an average review score of 8 or higher (among other criteria) as of 1 November, 2018.

Did you win a Guest Review Award?

Congratulations! A great review score is evidence of your hard work paying off. Other partners would love to learn from you, so share your formula for success in this thread!

If you have any questions about the awards, visit our Guest Review Awards section in Partner Help.

162 Replies

9
M Adamopoulou

Wow Laura this is great news. You surprised me nicely!!!

Yes I am a winner. Thanks booking.com for giving me this opportunity.

7 months ago
1
Damayantha Desilva

Dear Laura !

My review score is 9.7, am I suitable for this award ?

Warms,

Dam

7 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Thank you Michael it’s my first review award and I am trilled!!! I guess you are used to getting review awards...
Have a nice day...

7 months ago
2
Sharonhaseley

Well done to all of your success , wishing you all the very best in the coming year also x

7 months ago
6
Laura, Communi…

Hi Dam, well done on a 9.7, that's very impressive. To check if you've met the criteria - and to download your digital award - enter your partner ID here.

Congratulations to all of you, it takes such an effort to maintain this kind of score!

7 months ago
1
Damayantha Desilva

Hi Laura,

Tks a lot for your text answer, wow I checked it felt great, am a winner, thanks once again.

Warms,

Dam

7 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Congratulations Dam!!!
Wish you all the best and a prosperous New Year.

7 months ago
1
Damayantha Desilva

Thank you very much dear M Adamopoulou, wish you all the very best for year 2019.

7 months ago
6
michael beeston

Well done everyone and "M" it is ALWAYS wonderful to get a good review whether it be the FIRST or LAST.....FABULOUS everyone.............I have been so busy but will check mine as well.

7 months ago
6
michael beeston

WOW !!!..........FANTASTIC !!!!.........Laura just checked our review score...................10 ....That is now twice one for 2017/ and 2018....Brilliant news, as we ALL say a lot of work and persistence and making the guest feel SPECIAL but what a wonderful achievement.............69 Tens in a row so far.......lets go for the ULTIMATE 100 in a row ( who Knows).Thanks Booking.com, and Laura and her Team,very very much appreciated.

7 months ago
1
Damayantha Desilva

Wow Michael, !

Congratulations and all the very best for your fantastic Achievement !

7 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Incredible serie Michael. WOW!!! again and again. Wish you get over 100 and much more. Hard work always pays off...

Great news this week!!!

7 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Congratulations to all!!!

First of all I would like to thank BDC for urging me and inspiring me to list my property and of course my fellow partners for their guidance, support and helpful suggestions in hosting.

As you said Laura so many things to do. I will try and describe some as simple as I can:

  1. I started by studying in depth all the BDC rules and regulations both in Greek and in English, trying to understand how BDC works.
  2. Gathered as much information as possible from other hosts with experience in the tourism industry
  3. Asked my son to help me build a complete listing. Filled in all the available information. (a guest made a nice remark about having all information in my listing).
  4. Filled in my profie with a friendly picture and wrote a couple of nice and true facts about myself.
  5. I uploaded many beautiful true pictures featuring the inside and outside area of my property (guests leave me reviews that the Studio is much better in live).
  6. Before taking the pictures I made sure that my Studio was sparkling clean and very tidy.
  7. When starting I had a competitive low price, easy and simple. I had checked out what was offered in my neighbourhood.
  8. The lower the price the more bookings I got. Getting my first excellent review I got started.
  9. Unfortunatelly my location is not in a touristic area so I was very happy to see that guests were interesting and giving me excellent reviews.
  10. Not only offer basic amenities. Offer hospitality beyond guests expectations. Makes guests feel that they are special (guests also mention it in reviews).
  11. Although I do not offer breakfast my fridge and cupboards are full of local fresh goodies that guests appreciate.
  12. Having a good night’s sleep means new bed with comfortable mattress, big pillows and cotton thread bedding.
  13. Vases with valerian and beautiful roses from my garden.
  14. In the bathroom I have luxury amenities and many huge fluffy white towels, bathrobes and slippers.
  15. Have a file with recommended restaurants, cafes, beach clubs, places of interest, maps and emergency telephones.
  16. Before my first reservation I invited friends to stay in my Studio so that they experience the house like a guests would. Their remarks helped me to do some changes.
  17. I connected my Facebook and my Instagram account. I asked friends to leave reviews. I post regularly pictures of my Studio.
  18. I have never cancelled a confirmed reservation.
  19. As soon as I had a reservation I tried to reply asap (a guest told me that he prefered my place since I had replied on the spot).
  20. Pulse app has been a great tool for me. I can handle my listing wherever I am.
  21. I accept last minute bookings.
  22. I have synchronized my calendars avoiding double bookings.
  23. My payment policies are strict so have few cancellations.
  24. Through Opportunity Centre have joined Genius program, PPP and have boost my visibility.
  25. I have added three Promotion deals.
  26. My houre rules are simple and not very strict.
  27. I have made friends with other hosts in the area. Last summer I was booked and I recommended another place. Both my friend host and guests were happy. Bonding with other hosts is good for the whole community.
  28. Almost every day I have a look at my listing. There is always something to update.
  29. My first action everyday when I get up is to check my pulse for messages and have a look at activity.
  30. Have friends regularly visiting my listing just checking that everything is working right.
  31. After a thanking message for the reservation, I try to have some contact with the guests to get knowing them better before they arrive.
  32. I send messages informing them for the weather, the location, driving instructions, arrival time, asking if they have any special requests.
  33. A couple of hours before guests arrive I double check to make sure my Studio is spotless clean and everything in the right place. If it is too hot I turn on the air conditioner.
  34. First impression is very important. I am always present when guests arrive. Give a very friendly welcome with a nice smile and offer a welcoming drink. If they are tired from a long trip I try to cheer them up.
  35. The private parking door is wide opened and I stand there to show them the way.
  36. I treat my guests like family and they love it, especially kids.
  37. I have a white board and my grandaughter draws a nice painting and I write a welcome note. (guests love it and leave thanks note when departing).
  38. After the first day I always find a way to ask my guests if everything is ok and up to their standards.
  39. As extra I cook for my guests a Greek specialty using fresh and local products.
  40. I never enter the space once it is occupied or if they are absent. I let them know that I am available any time and are very discreet (highly appreciated by guests, mention it in reviews).
  41. In the key chain I give them, I have my husbands and my iphone numbers if they need to call us. Sometimes we become friends in facebook right away.
  42. I am flexible in checking out and always there to give them a farewell gift with herbs, homemade marmalade or almonds from my garden. I do not forget to remind them very politely about leaving me a review.
  43. As soon as they leave I send them a message thanking them for the great experience and for leaving my Studio so tidy and clean.
  44. I am always polite, never use the word “no” and try to resolve any issue with the guests no matter how hard the situation might be. Once I had a problem and BDC support team advised me immediately in the best way, so both parties were satisfied.

There are no secrets to success.

Put your heart, mind and soul into even your smallest acts. Self-belief and hard work will always earn you success, in everything you do.

Thanks again FORUM for making the impossible possible.

Have a nice day friends...

7 months ago
6
michael beeston

Incredible "M"..it is like reading a Book.well done.

7 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Thanks Michael hope it wasn't boring...
Have a bright day....

+1
7 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Thanks for your kind remarks...
Cheers and have a nice weekend...

7 months ago
1
Crew

Laura,

This has been our best year yet in terms of review scores and I am excited about the award. I was wondering why the award doesn't match the review score? This year almost all are 10's except for 4 reviews: the lowest is 9.2 (1 review) and the three are 9.6 (3 reviews) - so how come my review score is 9.5?

Diane Greene

Making Waves Boatel

Toronto

7 months ago
1
Suneet Jain

We also got awarded and that too second year in a row. Thanks to Booking.com team and our team. Its the collabrative effort that makes wonder.

Suneet Jain, Hotel Fortune Plaza, Ajmer (Rajasthan) India

7 months ago
6
Laura, Communi…

Hi Diane, welcome to the Partner Forum. First, congratulations on receiving such high reviews from your guests! 👏

To understand everything that goes into the review score, check out this Partner Help article: How is my review score calculated

Wishing you a wonderful and prosperous 2019!

7 months ago
6
Laura, Communi…

To everyone, do you already have a spot picked out for where you'll place your 2018 award?

7 months ago
1
La Porte Rouge…

Hello Booking.com and B.com community,

I received notice of my reward today. Thank you very much. I'm new to the hospitality business though I was an actor in Hollywood for many years and owned my own snack food business, so I've learned much about dealing with all sorts of people. My experience in Pézenas, France has been wonderful, and I make sure all my guests feel the same way. I've become kind of an ambassador for my village. All my guests are treated like family and I make myself available at all times. I take their comments into consideration and make any necessary improvements. It takes a lot of work, but it is worth it when your guests show their appreciation. Thanks again, Mark Porro

7 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Of course Laura, from the very first moment.

My daughter was an athlete in rythmic gymnastics, has won many golden metals and cups in Greece and in Europe. This is my gold metal so it has to stand out in the best place of the house for everyone to see.

My best place is on top of my fire place. Nobody can miss it there.

Thank you so much....

7 months ago
1
Reservations

We are delighted to receive an award for our 8.6 score. We look forward to improve our score in 2019.

7 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Congratulations to all. It's time for celebration so Cheers!!!

7 months ago
1
Joey

Good morning all!

Congrats M!

Just got an award! So grateful thanks! Working hard this year. Treat all guests as if they are family !

Just wondering why when I go on my listing to book I do not see an award posted? Wouldn't it be useful to have an award listing on the search listing so customers can see that we got an award?

Joey

7 months ago
7
Katerinka12

I am the winner for all my properties!

Question is... What do we do next? Print the reward and put into frame? I have noticed before when I traveled and from the video as well, hotels put rewards on their desks. Normally it's Booking and TripAdvisor. I guess it's another way to market both Booking and the hosts.

P. S. My apologies from being away from the forum. I am divided between several countries and will share some news later.

P.P.S. M Adamopoulou, so meaningful and useful post. I wonder if you learnt from me how to be a "prolific writer" he he

7 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Katerinka12 what a surprise. I missed you so much. Hope you share some exciting news with us...

I have learnt so many things from you indeed. Your writing and humour are unbeatable. We need some laughs here so we can live as much more as possible... Have a look at my listing and you will see that I have followed your suggestions. Nice pictures with more light, breakfast, food, drinks. Thanks again for your helpful comments and friendly critisism. I have seen the review reward in most hotels I have been. Definitely we have to frame our reward and put it up high so can everybody can see it. Also we can share it in fb, instagram etc....

Joey thanks a lot for congratulating me. I like very much your suggestion about awards on listings. Lets start sending feedbacks. Its a great idea...Are you the Joey with the mediterranean temperament or are you the Joey in Alpes now?

Have a nice weekend...

7 months ago
5
David

3rd year in a row winner.

7 months ago
1
ThemisArgi

Hi all ,

We received 9,6 and the badge winner.

What the badge winner is ?Which is the criteria to get it ? Because the last 3 years we have 9.7 and 9.6 but not the winner badger.

Themis

7 months ago
1
Fgabby1

We, at Gabriel Guesthouse, would like to thank Booking.com for this prestigious award.

It was our first year of operations and immediately was given the Guest Review Award 2018.

Time to celebrate guys!!!

Have a very nice weekend everyone.

Kind regards,

Mr. Gabriel

7 months ago
1
Tony Chaar

Thank you Laura, thank you booking.com,

Our property is 18 month old, we are not only glad to win the guest review awards for 2018, we are very pleased to work with such a partner and the team behind it, without them we couldn't have been better in this position.

Greatly Appreciated :)

Tony Chaar

7 months ago
1
Raquel

Hello Everyone,

my first time participating here, didnt know this group existed until today that I receive a congratulations message, that I am one of the hosts in 2018 who got score reviews. My flat is only a bit over a year old.

Its been very hard learning from ZERO, but now I can say that I can manage my flat remotely and finally found a reliable, so far, cleaning company.

At present our score is 9,7 and has been quite high most of the time, except for only ONE single review that made it decrease to 9,4.

Booking.com never replied or wanted to delete a low review, as the guest never read the fine print about the deposit and gave me a 8,5 review and my score went low :(

Took me a few more months but again is getting close to 10 :)

Congratulations to every host as I know that it is veeeeryyyy hard to maintain this score and to get new guests, specially in low season.

Best Regards,

Raquel

7 months ago
1
Tepapauk

First year, first award - Great!

How about making it easier to extract files,print etc. Difficult enought to access the ZIP file in the first instance.

My word version produces hyroglyphics and no printable document. The "winner.GIF" when opened with Quicktime player and windows products don't show the name of my property!!! Unscrupulous users could forward the doucment to other hosts.

PNGs are not the easiest or most relevant files to be provided with either

There's value for you for a year's hard work!!

In the words of Mr Trump, "disappointing"

7 months ago
2
JasmineCottage

It's our first year with BDC and we're thrilled to get an award for our 9.6 score. The award is an obvious marketing opportunity, we've posted it on our Facebook page and placed the certificate on our website. Any other suggestions?

7 months ago
1
ThemisArgi

Hi Lancarringthon58,

You can posted Instagram , Twitter I added in Google my business!

7 months ago
6
michael beeston

CONGRATULATIONS TO EVERYONE.I can feel the excitement in the Forum.Will send a picture next week with where we are going to put the Colorful Reward.

and to our 2 prolific writes (haha) Damn well done.!!!!.Michael.

7 months ago
1
Villakiostro

Thank you booking.com for the nice surprise. we received a 9.7 score award. We are thrilled to say the least as we are new on the market. We do our utmost to please all our guests and we also make sure that our house is spotlessly clean all the time.

We are expecting the printed copy of the award any day now. Does it come in a package that shows 'do not bend' as our letterbox is an old style of box and not very big and my concern is that the post person may bend or fold the certificate to post it in the box.

Daniel and Clinon

Villa Kiostro - Malta (EU)

7 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

I have posted mine also in Facebook and Instagram.

Congratulations to everyone...

7 months ago
3
Ginascott57

Congratulations to you all on your awards. I'm sure you all work very hard to achieve great reviews from guests, even to the point of asking for 10/10 reviews ( yes that is a norm in the system). I personally don't ask for accolades.

My difficulty with the system is that I have 5 different styles of accommodation for which guests leave ratings.

The most significant problem I have identified over a period of time is this - Guests choose the cheepest accommodation for their stay, then complain it did not have all the features and amenities they would like - when they could have chosen a different style of accommodation on the property and had all they needed - THUS we get rated down. The system is not really fair to us.

For example: they will choose the spa studio room $145 which does not have a lounge room nor a kitchen (which the listing explains) then complain, because they would like these amenities, and mark us down. They could have chosen the fully self contained apartment for $170 and had everything they needed.

But we are content with our "winner" 8.5 rating which is up slightly on last year.. You see it is very easy to gain top marks for just one room/ apartment/studio but a huge challenge to get guests to choose the correct accommodation for their needs and rate it accordingly.

Best of luck to you all for the coming year.

7 months ago
1
Hotelsantorinineiva

Hi all.

We are very grateful to the Booking.com team for the excellent work and the permanent help they give us to improve.

The Guest Review Award is a good incentive for all of us and we hope to reach a better score by working with greater dedication so that our clients always feel comfortable.

Congratulations to the winners .. !!

7 months ago
1
Abeventsmatale

i am Kishor from Srilanka having low budget guest house in centre of Srilanka i would like congratulate all the winners of booking.com award for 2018

7 months ago
1
Superbextreme3

Hi, this is my first time receiving Guest Review Awards, congratulate to everyone who received it too. I have inquiry here, may I know how do they normally post out the hard copy? Is it by normal mail without signature or Express Mail with signature? I ask because the mail box outside the house is just for normal small mail, not suitable for big parcel. So if we need to sign before receiving the parcel, then it's good as we can take it on the spot from the person without putting it outside the house. Another question I would like to know is the content inside this parcel for 1st time receiver. Are there any frame inside for us to hang the certificate/award on the wall? What else will be included? Thanks.

7 months ago
1
Wind valley Homestay

We also got awarded and that too second year in a row. Thanks to Booking.com team .

wind valley homestay

7 months ago
1
Patrickn

Thanks Booking.com!

Just a question. Last year we received a award for a rating of 9.6. Our rating this year has stayed the same but our award is now for 9. Are you rounding off this year?

7 months ago
1
Luciano (Lou)

We at Arena Blanca Holiday Home are very new to this business and we are extremely happy of having been awarded such a recognition, therefore I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate all the awards recipients and thank Booking.com for such a great initiative and recognition to us all for putting so much dedication and commitment into our businesses.

Our story is:

Because the glorious location with many white sand beaches at our door step, we built the house as our holiday home back in 1985 and we designed it into 3 section/apartments for when parents or other family members got together in the house, however it was intended to be separate but connected and practical for when a large number of family members gathered, which was the case during most summers and specially during the Christmas, Easter and school holidays.

But, as most holidays homes when family extends to a 3rd generation, due to today’s social and work commitments the usage by family members is reduced and, in our case, it was to the point where the apartments were unoccupied for up to 6+ months at the time, therefore we explored the option of selling the property but, as a trial we decided to list the apartments booking.com with absolutely no expectations due to the large number on BNBs in our geographical location, but to our pleasant surprise, we received bookings almost on the next day and we now have the apartments boked months in advanced into 2020 and we are loving the experience of meeting some great people and having the opportunity to share our holiday home with others whist generating some very healthy income.

Robyn and I are hands-on and plan to continue enjoying the short-term holiday rental experience as long as we can. By the way we are in the process of building another studio apartment onto the property by next summer.

Luciano (Lou) Casmiri

7 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Hi! Patrickn and welcome to the forum. In this thread above Laura gives an explanation and a thread about review rating, so have a look.
Congratulations for two in a row...

7 months ago
1
RyanB

I received a reward, BUT it has the wrong score!!!!!!

Very upset and demotivated by this error. How do I get it rectified???

No obvious way to contact the right BDC department.

Any help would be appreciated.

7 months ago
6
Bandara Hotels…

This award is really important and help us a lot. Thank you.

7 months ago