user avatar image
6

Calling all Guest Review Award winners!

We know impressing your guests day after day is no small task. From the first welcome message you send them to the moment you wave them goodbye, every effort you make contributes to a great guest experience.

This week, to recognise your dedication, we’re awarding a Guest Review Award to all of our partners who had with an average review score of 8 or higher (among other criteria) as of 1 November, 2018.

Did you win a Guest Review Award?

Congratulations! A great review score is evidence of your hard work paying off. Other partners would love to learn from you, so share your formula for success in this thread!

If you have any questions about the awards, visit our Guest Review Awards section in Partner Help.

162 Replies

9
M Adamopoulou

Congratulations to all fellow partners for rewards. Celebrating continues..
Have a nice week!!!!

6 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Lou what a sensitive story. So nice to hear that booking.com has helped you so much beyond your expectations.
Have a prosperous New Year.

6 months ago
1
Lulu

Iam so proud to recieve my frist guest review award. I am so thankful to my guests for taking time to give me their views. I take these seriously and have been upgrading our Lodge based on their feedback. Most of my guests come back and acknowledge the changes I have made based on their inputs. This make them partners in growing my business -just like Booking.Com is partnering with me.

6 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Congratulations Lu. It’s time for celebration and let your guests that you are awarded...
Have a nice day

6 months ago
1
Lulu

Thanks M. Will do so!

6 months ago
6
Laura, Communi…

Congratulations again to all of the winners! It's great to see so many new and familiar faces celebrating in this thread :)

To check if your property has won an award, search with your property ID on this page: Presenting the 2018 Guest Review Awards. You'll be able to download a zip file with digital versions of the award that can be printed or shared on social media. Your physical award and letter will arrive within the coming weeks, so keep an eye out on your post box.

If you have any questions about eligibility criteria, scores and deliveries, please visit our What are the Booking.com Guest Review Awards FAQ article.

6 months ago
2
Davespiceuk

Beyond proud - I have been awarded a rare 10 out of 10 for 2018, we only had one review out of 30 less than 10/10 which was because they didn't like the view (!) and gave 9.5 . Interestingly they were the guests I did the most for in the whole of the year with lots of extra service and treats.

6 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Davespiceuk Wow!!! Excellent work... Sometimes guests are very hard to please...
Wish you a prosperous New Year...

6 months ago
1
Marie van Rensburg

Congratulations EVERYONE!!!

I never thought I would enjoy our guesthouses quite as much as I do! Meeting and greeting people from all over the world has been amazing. I have been able to keep in contact with many, and they feel like family. (Having returned two or three times!) The most wonderful thing that I have experienced, is how often guests will leave giving a hug, with a big "Thank you!"

Booking.com, thank you for acknowledging the hard work and dedication that we have been put in to make our guesthouses what they are. We appreciate it enormously.

Kind regards

Marie and Briers

6 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Marie and Briers it’s really so nice to meet and greet people from all over the world. When I first started hosting last year I couldn’t even think that I would have so many friendly guests from all over the world. Booking.com has been beside me all the time and is wonderful being part of this business family.
Take care...

6 months ago
1
S Dahleh

Dear Laura
We feel honored to be presented with this achievement and having one of the highest review scores on Booking.com. We would like to give booking.com a warm thank you. We will be diligent throughout 2019 to assure that all of our guests have the best stay possible
but please note that we have won an award of booking review in 2017 but we didn't receive the package in march 2018 , so please confirm, if can we receive the packages together , 2018 and 2017 and please clarify how the awards will be delivered to our hotel .
Thanks in advance

Regards,

Lujain Hotel

6 months ago
2
Davespiceuk

Wow Michael Beeston - that is truly OUTSTANDING - 69 x 10s in a row - Thats AMAZINGLY well done! Huge congratulations, I know how much work this must cost. You must be due some extra recognition from BDC!

6 months ago
1
Marie van Rensburg

I am pleased to know there are other people out there that are experiencing the same friendliness....I believe it is the way one meets for the first time that will either make people want to return, or stay away;)

We were awarded an acknowledgement last year too, but due to the strikes in South Africa, never received the award...I sincerely hope we can receive ours this year!

Have a blessed evening everyone!

6 months ago
1
Sharonlowdon5

Thrilled to recieve my award,didn't know they issued them,but it's very nice to be recognised!So Thankyou from a New Zealand host

6 months ago
6
Laura, Communi…

Hi S Dahleh and Marie van Rensburg, congratulations on two years of consistently high reviews! Our 2017 awards are no longer available, however you can find your 2018 award here. The physical awards are on the way, so start thinking about where you'll place it! :)

6 months ago
1
Seacliff

The Guest review awards are great & very satisfying. Our only request for future awards would be to raise the bar so to qualify for a guest review award "WINNER" then the qualifying score in our humble opinion should be 9+ & not 8+. BTW we are at 9.8 today & if it had not been for a competitors freind then we would have been at 9.9 or 10 like we were for the first 3 months of our new business venture that now sounds disrespectful terminology because we soon find out that actually it is treated by us as a way of life......

6 months ago
1
Classicguesthouse10

Thank you Booking.com for the wonderful Award...

we are so happy and honoured ...

Cheers,

Deepa

6 months ago
1
P Jarrett

Just got my award. 9.9 on booking.com! The Mill - Long Melford! Yipee!

6 months ago
1
Lodumo Guesthouse

Woow........Laura ....I can't believe I am one of the winners,I am so chuffed.I am determined to work ever harder in 2019.
Thank you very much.

6 months ago
2
Jonathan

We got a 9.6 this year which is our highest score. What did we do differently? Well, for us it is all about detail. Detail and generosity- all of our guests receive a complimentary pack of Bubbles, Chocolates, Tea, Freshly Ground Coffee, Local Milk, Toiletries, Firewood, Kindling, Matches, and Firestarters. We make every experience a great one for our guests. Yes, their small indoor pets are also very welcome. Congratulations to you all, and all the very best for 2019! :D

6 months ago
1
Sarah Golds

We at Newlands Guest House in Cape Town are also so thrilled to have received the Guest Review Award for 2018 for the second year in a row with a score of 9.5!! Well done to all other winners too, let's keep up the great work!

I think we can all agree, that it is not an easy job running a guest house (or similar accommodation). Guests are our number 1 priority. I interact with my guests by messaging them as soon as they book with us. I think in this way they know their reservation is secure. I again contact them a couple of weeks before arrival to make sure their plans are unchanged. I really think this is one of the reasons why we have had very few 'no shows' and in fact had none over our last holiday season.

Just a couple of my ideas which have helped us here. Wishing you all a fabulous 2019 with all your wonderful guests!

Sarah G

6 months ago
6
Laura, Communi…

Congratulations to all of the winners who've just joined the thread :)

Sarah and Jonathan, thanks for sharing these tips for exceeding guests' expectations, both online (courteous and prompt messaging) and during their stay (chocolate and bubbles, oh my!)

We love hearing how you did it, so keep the advice coming!

6 months ago
1
Milinmpatel

I also received the email with the award. I want to display it on the TV in the lobby. How do i download and display it? thanks.

6 months ago
1
Numi Solomons

Thanks :) Really pleased to get 9.7 for 2018! All our hard work really pays off.Hoping to improve for 2019, as most of our last reviews have been 10! It gives our guests confidence to know that other people have really enjoyed staying with us and making use of all our amenities.

6 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Congratulations to everyone!!

Milinmpatel underneath of your reward featuring in the Representing Guest Review Awards 2018 there is a download button. You click and download. Save in your pictures file in your computer and then you can post it in your social media.

Hope I have been of help...

6 months ago
1
Vincent

Hello booking.com and booking.com community

We are glad that we have received our award from booking.com for 8,8 score. We are happy and look forward to improving it.

Thank you all and wish you a happy start of the year 2019.

6 months ago
1
John

3rd year in a row! We are very honored and thankful to all our generous reviewers!

6 months ago
1
Journeys End

We are Journey's End Koh Chang in Thailand and this is our 2nd Season so very happy to get an award for 8.8 as others have said our stumbling block is we have only 6 Bungalow and a dormitory boat although not a backpackers place. 3 of the Bungalows are luxury and 3 basic so we also find as they are differently priced and all different many book the cheapest and either want to move and pay a little more or expectations are so high and we are a Homestay with a boat. Recently just had 2 people stay booked one night then wanted to stay another two nights and pay through booking. They then wrote two terrible reviews because there was a charge on a kayak, they asked for two beds, which is extra and were given a brand new large bed for which we charge 200 baht. They then said I had said the bed and kayaks were free, I was not here at the time so spoke on the phone telling them clearly that the kayaks were 100 baht for guests for unlimited time often 3 hours or more. He called me a liar in the review and wrote two reviews. Marked the staff 2.5 which against all the 10's and 9.6's for the staff looks ridiculous. We have so many lovely guests and then something like this. I am in awe of all of you with your warmth and openness nonetheless we won an award and am very grateful to reach this level so early in a new venture with no real experience...thanks to my great staff and Booking generally have been very helpful when my policies were not right and our 1st season we had 78% cancellations. That has now stopped and it is a much better year!! I know we should be celebrating such an achievement but presently I am saddened at such a personal attack particularly as the morning they were leaving we let them use the kayaks for free. Something does not feel right about the whole episode and I did ask Booking to remove one as it was the same stay. They cannot.

Again great wishes for all for the coming year and what hard work you all are amazing.

6 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Hi -Journeys-End and welcome to the forum. Very sorry for your struggles. Guests are sometimes hard to please. It’s where we should try to keep calm and try to make them understand that our intentions are to please them and not to dissatisfy them.
Congratulations for your award and keep the sad things behind. Take care!!!

6 months ago
1
Sarah Golds

Hi to all at Journey's End. I can understand how you feel. We had a similar experience - one shocking review (not on Booking.com but another source). I was very upset at the time but then came to realise that potential guests look at the overall picture and not one isolated review. So keep calm and keep up your good work!

6 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Hello Sarah-Golds you are absolutely right. Your comment is right to the point and very wise.
Nice to have you here and happy weekend....

6 months ago
1
Journeys End

Thank you both for your advice, you are right its just sometimes there is no reason at all behind it and against the other reviews of course they look a bit strange. Our place will not suit everyone this I understand and is normal but for those it does they see what I saw when I first came and love it here. I do answer and always calmly and thank for taking the time if the critic is helpful to change things too. So lovely though to have your kindness and support and many tips are helpful from many of you so thank you again......

6 months ago
1
Villakiostro

We are thrilled to say the least to be honoured by this unexpected Guest Review Award from booking.com

Il Kiostro (Malta) has been in operation as a superior guest villa/farmhouse with pool for less than a year and we are very glad to have chosen booking.com as they have returned so much good business for us as well as guidance and great support.

We put in a lot of effort to please all our guests by communicating with them often and checking their specific needs before they arrive. We also make triple sure that the house is spotlessly clean. One thing that works wonders are the unique details we leave in the house from decorations to local savouries. These things cost next to nothing but they make the stay of our guests truly special.

I'd love booking.com to start an initiative of members exchange in accommodation free of charge or at a moderately low booking fee. This will help the members cross promote accommodation listed on this engine on first hand experience basis, they will be able to exchange knowledge and will also be allowed to leave reviews.

We truly value this award. We look forward to continue our business with the most active booking engine!

Thank you booking.com

Il Kiostro Farmhouse Rental in MALTA - where the sun shines for more than 300 days a year!

6 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Hi! Villakiostro and welcome to the forum. Congratulations for your award and wish you all the best for the coming year. Nice to have you to exchange experiences...

6 months ago
8
Leandri Klopper

Hello Forum!

Congratulations everyone on their Achievements, I'm completely thrilled and experiencing goosebumps reading your posts in this thread. Hard work pays off, and keeping that up for such a long time is quite and achievement. So extra hands stands and applause for you michael beeston !

Sarah Golds - Words to live by, those Keep Calm memes you see everywhere isn't because it's funny. But more because it's True. I admire your spirit and I hope others are influenced by it.

John , congrats! I love things that come in threes, here is to wishing you a Forth next year!

P Jarrett - 9.9 ! Astounding, well well well done.

It's so great reading how proud everyone is to have received these awards. Honestly, it makes all the work you put in feel so much easier. Happy 2019 everyone, may we strive to replace or even better 2018's achievements and hard work.

*Massive rounds of applause*

3 out of 4 of our properties received awards. The lowest score being 8.5, and the other two properties both having a score of 9.2. I'll be sure to send these lovely rewards that Booking.com designed for us on to the relevant people so as to ensure the people who work hard to maintain those scores, receives the Thanks and Recognition that they deserve.

Keep Well!

6 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Leandri congratulations for all your awards.

I am sure your people will appreciate and feel very proud of the awards your holiday resorts have been awarded with.

Wish you the coming year is blessed...

6 months ago
2
Liz M Lockwood

I too was excited. 2 years in a row with 9.5. I'll be putting up next to my cork board I have where guests leave me little thank you notes haha. Reminds me I need more pins as the board is getting quite full. Lol

5 months ago
1
Stephenandrichard

Dear all as usual some fabulous posts on this forum, i too am delighted to end the previous year on 9.8 for the second year in a row, this will be my 5th year hosting, and i am thoroughly looking forward to another busy year meeting some wonderful people again,and developing my ideas to make guest stays even better.

Have a great year to all!

Richard.

5 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

My congratulations to all. Wishing you the best for the coming year...

5 months ago
2
Roman Sytnyk

In general its a very nice move to send out again the physical awards! Thanks for that!

The problem is that its sent to the property address and not the company address. We do not have a reception and the award wont be delivered.

Maybe wou can ask the hosts before sending it where to deliver it or send always to the company head quarters?

Thanks for considering it next time.

5 months ago
1
Joey

Same problem as Roman. My condo doesn’t have a mailbox nor will people be there to accept the package. Should ship to address of payment delivery. Now my package will arrive and some will steal it and possibly use it on their unit.

5 months ago
8
Leandri Klopper

Hey Roman - VISIONAPARTMENTS and Joey ,

Same here, as far as my memory goes I think Booking.com mentioned something about having to change it with them before the awards get sent. But I'm quite sure we all missed that deadline. It would be good to know.

Keep well.

Stephenandrichard - wow 5 years with such a high score! I hope they add extra confettie in your award's packaging!

5 months ago
2
Roman Sytnyk

Well actually I have had it reported last year as well. This year I wrote them to send it just in case to our billing address, but they still failed to do so. Very unfortunate :(

5 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

I only have a post office box address since postmen in our area can’t deliver letters to our property address. Will my package award find me????
Who knows maybe???

5 months ago