user avatar image
1

Easy steps for guest on how to write a review

Hello,

It's my first post..

I'm wondering how can a guest write review?

I'm asking because one guest asked me about how to write a review, as I don't know; can anyone please give me an illustrated(if it possible) step by step on how to review in booking.com ? 

Salutations,

Salmane

56 Replies

7
pibomarco

The guest (if he stayed at your place) he must have received a note/email from booking.com to write a review after his stay. I've never reviewed a place, so I wouldn't know what are the steps.

1 year ago
1
Salmane

Hello Pibomarco, thank you for the response, yes the same thing said to me when I contacted support: guest receive an email.

but yeah as (me too) I've never reviewed a place, I wonder about the steps, that would be cool and better if I sent a "how to" to my guest :)

1 year ago
7
pibomarco

Ask again the support if they can provide you with steps "how to" in case if the guest "missed" an email. :)

1 year ago
1
Salmane

I already asked for the steps in my message to support but they only told me; they will resend an email request for review to my guest, so if someone already used booking.com review and can provide us screenshots or something like this; that would be great :)

1 year ago
5
monet208

Give the guest a list of words such as

wonderful.excellent fantasic brilliant out of this world.fabulous etc etc

1 year ago
4
Pita Lie

Right after the check out date, guest will get an email or notification (if books by apps) to review. Guest will have to rate on the cleanliness, location, staff, etc from 1 - 5. There is a box where pax can write in details and give caption of the review. They can choose to be anonymous as well. Then booking.com will offer them to review extra things like coffee, internet etc and the city/area. Pax can review up to 1 month after one check out date only.

1 year ago
1
Suzy

Bookings.com sends a email or notice on the app when you check out (day of Check out) with review options. An email as well taking them back to the establishment to review. I sometimes send my guests an email reminding them to review be it good or bad as we can not improve without the reviews and its also nice to see the happy Guests :)

1 year ago
8
Leandri Klopper

Hi Salmane,

A lot of time has passed since you asked this.

So, they can still log into their Booking.com profile and they should have a spot there where they can review the property.

Would be grand if Booking.com could provide us with a link to send clients who can't find it. If they struggle too much, then they will give up.

Keep well!

1 year ago
2
David S

Hi
Little of fun: Tell to guest that every time when he/she goues at bookimg site it will appear every time notify to leave revie ( but only when is log on on site)
Now they reminding you every time about it on site

1 year ago
1
Houseofesanya

I would liked joing partner forum.Please help me.

1 year ago
2
David S

Well, find topic you are interested in and go on.. or open new one that was not discussed before.

1 year ago
2
Davespiceuk

I think a thank you gift for writing a Review is against booking.com rules, so I advise caution. By all means give a leaving gift but don’t link it to giving a review.

1 year ago
8
Leandri Klopper

Hey there,

Agreed. Remember you're not allowed to intervene with the guest's review at all. I have a little sentence at the end of my Arrival Email that reads "Feel free to let us know how you experienced your stay, Booking.com will send you an email with a link."

I send the email about a day before they arrive at the resort. It helps.

1 year ago
2
Malapascuabudgetinn

Well the best thing you can do for the guests to give great reviews is to give the best service possible.

At my hostel I do it naturally, I always invite them for a free movie nights on big screen with free pop corn every night at my hostel. If I am fully booked I give free drinks to everyone and socialize with them. If I have guests who stayed longer and kept on extending I make sure I have great dinner with them of course it’s my treat as way of thanking them. I socialize with them. I asked them of their experiences. I make friends with them. And when they say good words about my hostel during our conversation, I would immediately say oh thank you so much for that great compliment I hope you can write it on our booking reviews and tripadvisor also. I would be very happy and grateful. That way it’s authentic, and for real and very natural.

And of course I am not in my hostel all the time so what I do to make sure the service is greatly provided by my staff. I give my staff an incentives, ok guys once you get 5 excellent stars on tripadvisor and 10 perfect scores on booking I will give you bonus at the end of the month. That’s my trick for them to continue what I am doing. Well, it’s always a motivation factor to always give sinething when they were able to do great things and they feel appreciated and valued.

With the strategies that I am making. I became #1 among 13 budget hotels in the island via tripadvisor and so far having 8.3 score on booking ( the top among my competitors, next to me is 8.1, 8.0 , 7.5 , 7.4, 7.0 and 6.5). Still on top of the game.

Always make sure to have reviews because our business is very dependent on these factors:
1. Booking reviews and ratings
2. Price and location

Once you hit tha right. You will be on top of the game!

Cheers everyone!

1 year ago
2
Millie

4 of my guests were delighted with our service, but didnt know how to do it on line, maybe it is because they were Spanish and it is in English. Has anyone else had the same problem?

11 months ago
7
pibomarco

Booking.com platform is also available in spanish language.

11 months ago
2
Millie

Do all guests have to book via an app to receive a message from booking.com after check out?

11 months ago
8
Leandri Klopper

Hey Millie ,

Not everyone uses the app, some use the website itself (on a PC instead of on a phone). But yes, they all receive the message from Booking.com after they check out with the link to the review.

11 months ago
1
Tintner

It really is a major problem to get reviews from guests on booking - something I don't experience on other sites. Even with guests spontaneously raving & promising to write reviews, they still don't. It certainly would be a great help - in fact really essential - if booking.com had a facility for hosts to request reviews *on top of* the existing link. Other sites have this facility. It may well be that guests are too busy with home things once they leave, to write a review. A request a few days later might succeed. Also, I think booking.com has a fairly impersonal - hotel-oriented - look. So people may not feel the same need to review as on more personal, community-type sites - one obvious one - where guests count on being reviewed by the host too.

9 months ago
2
Millie

Good Morning Liandra, thank you for your comment, but do guests only receive the message from booking.com for a review if they book through an app? or do all guests receive the message from booking.com even if they have booked via their PC

9 months ago
8
Leandri Klopper

Hello again Millie ,

Pleasure!

They all receive the link. If someone has booking through booking.com (via an App, a PC or pidgeon) they will receive the link to take them to the review.

I'm just not sure how many of those emails actually Reach the guests if I'm looking at the amount of Stayed guests versus the amount of reviews on one of my properties.

Anyway, best of luck!

9 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Leandri I absolutely agree with you all guests receive a link for review not only in English but in the language they prefer. One of my guest didn’t know how exactly to proceed and I phoned booking.com and they contacted him again and finally the review came live.

9 months ago
1
Tintner

One other v. poor thing - unless I've missed something - is that booking.com never informs you when you've been reviewed. Every other site does. Or have I missed something?

9 months ago
7
Katerinka12

Booking always sends automated message that you got the review. Replying to the review is a different story...

9 months ago
1
Tintner

Thx for reply. I can't recall one - and have had several reviews. Any idea why that might be?

9 months ago
7
Katerinka12

Honestly, I don't believe that you didn't get any notification from Booking that you have got the review.

What are you using? Pulse app or extranet?

9 months ago
1
Tintner

Extranet - on p.c. Def. didn't get some review notifications, and can't actually remember any, I'll have to check with them about this by phone. Thanks again

9 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

I agree with Katerinka12 my reviews come from both pulse and extranet. It suprises me. When my guests delay to send reviews I phone booking.com asking them if guests submitted a review and they always inform me either way.

9 months ago
1
Tintner

Wow, well lucky you. My experience has been as I said. I'm doing well booking-wise -& already have several "booking bookings" for next year. But I'd like to do even better.And I've only had 7 reviews (incl one PITA!).

9 months ago
7
pibomarco

Shout out to people who rate & review things, because I don't like to rate or review things but I like to know how things are rated & reviewed.

9 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Even if we shout do you think they will hear us?

+1
9 months ago
7
Katerinka12

Easy steps for guest on how to write a review:

Small fight with my partner = staff is good, location is bad
Big fight with my partner = staff is bad, location is ok
Partner forgot about my birthday = bad coffee
Partner doesn't give me money = bad value
Bad sex = bad everything. Especially the location! :))

9 months ago
7
pibomarco

Some people rate & review things some just don't. I am one of those who doesn't. I guess I am too lazy and don't care enough.

Shout out -> A public expression of thanks or gratitude. :)

9 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Katerinka12 Good sex = good everything. Especially the location. Spectacular view is also visible from the bed that’s why I don’t have curtains. Who cares about location if the view is spectacular???

9 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Katerinka12 I insist Good sex = good everything = exceptional review. My last guest the one who requested logs for the fireplace and I did not permit him to use it for security reasons left me the best review ever. Have a nice evening my beautiful partner.

9 months ago
7
Katerinka12

One joke per day keeps stress from the guests away! :)

9 months ago
8
Leandri Klopper

hahahaha well that went a different way than I expected.

pibomarco , totally agree with your shout out. Now that I'm on the other end though I tend to do more effort to rate things. Even rated a restaurant the other day, which I never do, simply because they gave me a free shooter when I made a joke that I wanted one.

Tintner , lol you've had several "booking bookings", I like the way you phrased that. I find the same thing is happening to me. Lots of "booking bookings" but not lots of reviews. Which isn't hindering my performance with the property but it doesn't help my ego and my standing on Booking.com.

We've not started sending SMSs when the guest check out to ask them to take a second to rate us.

Keep well

9 months ago
1
Aaastay

Has anyone got a manual for guests "how to score your stay in your review".

I have noticed that approx. 20% of guests don't understand what they are doing scoring their hosts and stays. They don't understand that 7.5 out of 10 is negative.

Would like to support them with a simple manual for this.

6 months ago
1
Tintner

Hi Malapascuabudgetinn

6 months ago
7
Katerinka12

"They don't understand that 7.5 out of 10 is negative."

Negative? Why?

6 months ago
7
pibomarco

I beleive the guest can score your property from "1 - 4":
:( - 2,5
:| - 5,0
:) - 7,5
:D - 10

So based on that, 7,5 is defenitly NOT negative.

6 months ago
1
Aaastay

Theoretically you are right 7.5 is still positive cause it’s a smile. However it is still lowered rate, from 10 to 7.5 is a huge gap and in the area I operate with 7.5 I can close my business!
Secondly if my average rating is over 9 how can I perceive 7.5 as positive when it contributes to degrade my business?

6 months ago
7
Katerinka12

Are you located in Warsaw? If so, then with 758 reviews, average score 9.0 (not 7.5), location score 9.6 and being on 2nd place, but with a way better price, you have nothing to complain about.

Booking said that it's very rare to see places with more than 7.5 score... I hope this review was accidental and you may continue to do business with pleasure, no stress :)

6 months ago
7
pibomarco

It really doesn't matter how you perceive it. 7,5 and above is considered good. Want to be more competitive and have a higher review score? Improve services, renovate, ect.

6 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

My reviews are excellent but most of my guests rate location with 7.5. I cannot change my beautiful location so I just have to live with that.
Cheers!!!

6 months ago
7
Katerinka12

Oooopppsss!

In another topic you recommended me to change the country: "Maybe you have to change country!!!!"

So, no that easy, right? ;)

6 months ago