user avatar image
5

GUEST LIED IN A REVIEW-BOOKING,COM WILL NOT REMOVE - ANY IDEAS???

a GUEST WHO BOOKED A ROOM WITH private bathroom PUT A negative review SAYING the website says EN-SUITE

Booking.com know it was a room with PRIVATE BATHROOM as that's whats on the website -not en-suite

The guest refuses to admit he made a mistake

The negative comment suggests we have lied about the rooms facilitiesWe have had no bookings for that room last week

We are getting our solicitor to write to the CEO as the negative comment is defamation of our character

Any other ideas as I am sure many of you have experience of untrue comments about your property?

35 Replies

1
Daysinnmystic55

If you work with Wyndham it is possible to have a fraudulent review removed through Myportal/ wynreview. If you are not a wyndham property then I wouldn't be any help.

1 year ago
1
Luaay Salih

Some times, the guest himself want to change his review, but he couldn’t!?

1 year ago
1
Cowboy Junkie

The same happend to us, twice! In the first incident the guest made certain demands, and although we tried our best to accommodate him he went from there and publish lies on Booking.com about our apartments! The second was in this past month. We have 2 and 3 bedroom self catering apartments and on the booking.com webpage there is a full description of every apartment. The customer booked a two bedroom apartment, but after occupation demanded a 3 bedroom! We proofed to him that his apartment was the one he booked and the booking.com online agent also confirmed it to him. Still he published in the booking.com review section that he had been misled!

1 year ago
5
monet208

The guest refused to remove the en suite comment despite his booking saying private bathroom. Booking .com refused to remove his negative comment telling me it’s good to get negative comments as to only get good remarks makes future guests suspicious Yet another example of guest before hotel.
It’s a good job we do not treat guests the way the Review Team treats us which is the worst on the internet

1 year ago
5
David

My en-suite rooms are described with private bathroom also because I believe the word en-suite was not available when creating the room on B/C. Unfortunately a guest will get mixed up with how B/C list some rooms

1 year ago
5
monet208

Unfortunately the guest went on to describe our 5* awarded accommodation as a hostel because he had a private-his own-bathroom and gave the impression we described the room wrong on the website

En suite and private bathroom were both available on the site when we set the room up so we chose correctly

This guest clearly knew the difference but on arrival tried for a free upgrade for which we would lose £15 as he booked the cheapest room - with a private bathroom !

1 year ago
7
pibomarco

Did he describe what ensuite means from his point of view?

1 year ago
5
monet208

As I mentioned in my previous reply he clearly knew what each ment and the difference between the two

Thanks for asking

Booking.com terms and conditions regarding reviews have nothing about the guest leaving lies in a review so they told me any lies -even ones they agree are lies-stay in the review

David

1 year ago
7
pibomarco

In lots of cases are just different point of views/perspectives not necessery a lie.

1 year ago
2
Boss of the Ho…

Never, ever go into an aye/nay discussion on reviews ! If you write a reply, do it for your other potential guests, not for the person who wrote the negative comment. You can not, and will not get your right and you will scare off other guests from booking with you. Explain in your reply, what you think "en-suite" means and put the emphasis on positive things. Even if you boil from anger. Wait few days, write a replay and wait another day to publish it. Booking offers you a free marketing tool, that enables you to describe into detail, what a guest can expect from you Accept the offer !

1 year ago
1
Info

Fabrications in reviews really, really peeve us off! We will take it on the chin if we have messed up in some way. However, it is so incredibly frustrating when our descriptions, information & photos are clearly there, & guests turn around & say - "we are located in the middle of nowhere" - in fact we're 5 mins from centre of town which all maps will substantiate. Any review that contains falsehood should be removed (if the description & photos of the accommodation show it to be otherwise). It appears to me that guests have all the rights yet accommodation providers have none.

1 year ago
5
David

WOW Have just come of the phone to B/C about the very same thing

French guest living in London reserves a double room for 2 nights at my coastal bed and breakfast Her 2 friends reserve a room at a local 3/4* hotel for the same period

My guest are very pleasant and seemed satisfied with everything. BOOOM they return home.

Their review states the accommodation was impeccable 10/10 for cleanliness the staff were excellent (her words)

Then the tirade begins

No home made jams at breakfast nor homemade hash browns, the full English is not healthy to eat the building is old even though we make it clear in our property description the building is a converted Victorian town house.

Twice this guest states she was deceived by the excellent reviews other guest have submitted.A more sympathetic booking.com agent said it sounds as though this guest is accusing you of paying previous guest to write excellent reviews-THE REVIEW STAYS it meets B/C guidelines.

The joke is a guest review goes live within minutes of it being submitted while a PARTNER RESPONSE can take 7 days because booking.com do not trust us to write a reasonable and honest reply to some of these fabricated reviews

She then slates all our excellent reviews and states they are deceiving

After pointing out to booking.com the meaning of being deceived and how it is not acceptable to have these things written all because this guest could not afford a 4* hotel like her friends.

"deliberately cause (someone) to believe something that is not true, especially for personal gain"

So no matter how honest you are with details about your establishment with photos and text we still have to deal with these kind of people who want everything for nothing because they refuse to read all details then blame us.

Booking.com make their money from us but you would never believe it

1 year ago
1
Info
5.4
2018-04-11 Reservation NumberYour Booking.com reviews page
  • Stinky bed sheet, hair in bed, dust on floor, fungus on shower curtain. And big cleaning fee when I get dirty room. Freezing money almost 2 months before check-in.
1 year ago
7
pibomarco

"hair in bed, dust on floor, fungus on shower curtain." This is quite a common case though.. It does happen.. I have spotless too, but also had an example when a hair still got stuck in a new/fresh bedsheet from the washing machine and got reported from the guest.. I guess he didn't lie about the curtains..? Because we know how it is with wet shower curtians are quickly messy if not properly cleaned on daily basis.. That is why I preffer a shower cabin (had shower curtians in the past long time ago and really are messy and unhigienic).
This is quite basic report and I do understand Booking.com that they didn't delete that. If they deleted that, they should delete every negative review that was written.
And also it is difficult to proove that the guest was actually lying. Make a good and calm responce to the review, be open minded.. Once a guest showed me a hair behind the radiator (heater) and wanted a discount lol.. But that's how it is in this business.
You must take in mind, that lot of guests are not making a big deal, if they find a hair, or little dust etc. and don't even mention or report that. And there are some guests with eagle eyes that sees everything and are really bothered by this, that some easy going people wouldn't.
That is why I also don't have a cleaning fee. Guest expectations are then higher about the cleanliness and the cleanliness is number one priority in this business.

Just for an example:
In my first property (550 reviews) I have cleanlines now 8.9 (still affected from the times when I had "dirty" shower curtains etc and basicly put much less effort in cleaning service as I do now.. I am on booking since 2009, had a lower rate but it is rising slowly but surely.

On my second property (150 reviews) that I rent since 2016 I have a cleanlines 9,6.

Details does matter.

1 year ago
2
Ericoutram

Hairs ,dust,and showers

spitting hairs

,Pibamarco.above comments ,

has every one forgot the worlds perfect,

hairs short long,medium what size is normal

i must have too much time on my hands to right this

hairs well I swear,I must have had a long haired dog staying several times overnight that the quest sneak in ,after dark as

as I could make myself a wig ,from what the vacuum picks up,

as I vacuum,throughly after every quest, then

hand wash,with cotton cloth, the natural wood floors ,

and on some days ,remove anywhere up to one to ten hair on the hand wash

i usse paper towels to clean and pick up hairs ,

now I know that when any younger long hair person books

I know they’ll comb there hair in morning and litter the floor with hair ,some are ready messsy as we all know,,some are conscience of there actions ,and are beautiful people

and the slops are sloobs🌝,and I have brought brand new sheets ,and found ,I believe the machinist,from Bangladesh ,hair on it ,

washed sheets ,with hairs on after washing,

It’s all hair raising experience,

as for guests with bad reviews,here one for you

my very first guest ,paid up front when booking

i am the cheapest in this town ,at 40$

on the day never turned up ,after txting him

I’d give him a refund , he said you keep it

then two days later wrote the worst review ever .

bad location,

bad cleanliness,

the unit was brand new never slept in with 200$ sheets and bed 200$covers

with flowers 💐 in the two room and brand new ensuite,with

brand new linen400thead,

all I can say that review

being my first,and being so low drag down my rate for three months

ididnt get a booking for three weeks

and now at end of season ,managed the4.5/5

shit happen s

and we live with the prefect expectation of the nice people we get

and thank god we don’t have to deal with the scum every day

life moves on

beatle song.let it be

1 year ago
3
Waikoninihomestead

It would be good if booking.com dealt with problems as airbnb do. I had a airbnb guest booked for 2 nights then considered cancelling the second night and wanted to have her dinner for free. She was advised she would still have to pay for the second night as well as her meal. She wasted an hour of my time then told me she would give me a negative review. I said go ahead! But as she was an airbnb guest I was able to give my review saying how appalling she was. And yes, she gave me a bad review!

Airbnb and booking.com guests are from different planets. The former appreciate that they are staying in my historic home surrounded by beautiful farmland but the others do complain i.e they had Australian wine for dinner but wanted NZ wine (they chose) there were no electric blankets on the bed but there are,they had no heater,yes they did, it is the the same cupboard where the dressing gown was. They complained about clothing in the wardrobe but the dressing gown is for guests to use. The same guest drove off without paying. She eventually paid. Oh well it makes lifer interesting. I am sure if booking.com reviewed their review policy it would stop some of this nonsense.

1 year ago
5
monet208

Has anyone noticed Booking.com taking any notice of any of our comments ??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

1 year ago
7
pibomarco

Why would they? Nothing new for them to see here.
I always find funny when people are comparing Booking.com to AirBnB which is totally a different case. :)

1 year ago
2
Marciaforrester51

I contacted booking.com about a guest that wrote a fraudulent review about our property with lies and even told booking.com that we had witnesses but the booking.com reviews team refused to remove the review posted even though the guest violated booking.com 's own guidelines and standards. It took over 12 days of calling and emails to finally receive a response via phone that they were not removing it. This guest was smelly and had urinated on his clothes and refused to have his room cleaned for over 6 days and he left room with 4 bags of garbage and body odor that would not go away. The guest also placed our utensils on toilet including his own personal belongings hanging over an open toilet seat, he broke our towel bar, and drain by putting towels in it. The guest made tirades of fits in front of our other guest, one incident he threw the phone from his room on my desk in front of guest and stated he didn't want it in his room because the FBI was listening in on his calls. The Guest had dirty nails and he was unkempt. With all the pictures and witnesses such as other guests, housekeeper and maintenance, Booking.com still refused, Does anyone know who is the CEO and how I can contact the CEO to review and investigate my dispute. We are sufferring loss of revenue and damages for drycleaning of towels and comforters, pillows and sheets used by this guest in trting to remove the foul odor that remained. The guest also referred to our staff and policies as " characteristics of cults" because we ask that no indoor shoes be worn inside and that you have your own indoor shoes or we will provide you new slippers at no charge.All other guests love the idea and it isn't a big issue but because we charged the guest for damages, he went on vindictive mode.

1 year ago
7
pibomarco

You charged the guest for the damages.. report a guest misconduct in the extranet, reply to the review proffesionally and calm.. Case closed.

1 year ago
2
Marciaforrester51

Thanks for the support and comments. I did report the guest for misconduct on extranet days before his departure and also charged his damage deposits post check out but note that his damages exceeded the deposit we had held.We are no longer bending over backwards to accomodate these guests because no matter how kind and attentive you are they are never satisfied nor do they say thank you. We have had people who trash our establishment and treat the things here and leave a mess as if they were pigs. We will do only the basic hosting not going above and beyond like we have done in the past. For example, we had a guest who came from another province and he forgot his medication, he was schizophrenic and he walked around all night disturbing other guests and we tried to relocate guest due to his issues and he refused. Instead of us calling the police and having them escort him out, we called his family and arranged to pay for his meds to be sent to the facility, it cost the facility $80.00 for all his meds to arrive by next day delivery.The guest never thanked us and at the end gave us a bad review even after our staff travelled with him by bus to get to his appt to show him the way because he couldn't get there even with directions. The other guest made requests for honey, brown sugar, jam, and earl grey tea. We got that for him and still he gave us bad review and lied about the condition of his room and that he had no phone when every room has a phone and he himself asked to not have phone,lol. People are just not honest and grateful today. They seem to have an expectation of entitlement. I am beginning to see that in this business.

1 year ago
7
pibomarco

Be kind and attentive as you were. Don't throw that away because of a few patients. These guests don't matter, all the other ones do. I understand that feeling.. you are trying your best with kindness, effort, positivity, and then you get some guests that doesn't aknowledge/see/respect that and it can hurt your feelings. Been there done that.. If this happens in more frequent basis, you just adapt based on your experiances. In this case set your policy more strict with a higher damage deposit.
Don't try to understand people that are "mentally" ill. Tottally different perspectives, they don't see things the same as we do.

1 year ago
5
monet208

Pibomarco - you seem to be missing the point and to say " report a guest for misconduct and reply to the review -case closed" is not real life and as many have said is a waste of time.Whilst your comments are a nice gesture on your part it does not make the grieved hotelier feel more secure in the future or is a solution to the real issues which need to be tackled

The real issue identified in many hotelier comments in this Forum is that Booking.com are not supporting hoteliers in too many ways

They do nibble at things that should have been solved years ago, such as invalid credit cards,reviews etc and saying "we" have taken notice of comments on the Forum and reviewed aspects is a load of rubbish since the Management has been aware of these issues for years

Our Forum should be a place where members go for advice and support from other members and Booking.com. It works in the former and fails badly in the latter

Has anyone actually asked the site how many guests have been banned for misconduct or how many reviews have been removed due to real evidence being provided that the guest lied?

Does the CEO Gillian Tans,read the Forum ? I cannot imagine she does as she seems such a nice person, who would not ignore so many upset partners

Rather than publishing multiple posts we all need to direct our energies in encouraging Booking.com to start supporting hoteliers at the same level they support guests

Laterooms.com had a similar Forum several years ago and the same issues as we have seen on this Forum were raised time and time again with similar nibbles at issues by Management .Needless to say the Forum died out as this will do unless members make it an effective vehicle for change

All of those of that post on this Forum should stop pussyfooting around and direct our energies and especially our posts more in this direction

1 year ago
2
Marciaforrester51

Thanks again. your support and encouragement in words has helped to lift my spirits and is encouraging enough to restore my faith back in mankind,lol. I will continue with my kindness. I always say I'm done but it's just talk because it's part of my character so I always revert back to it and then my friends always laugh and say you just can't change,lol. I am aware though, some people will abuse your kindness.

1 year ago
7
pibomarco

I needed 10 years to understand/accept that. Still struggeling from times to times.. Just be calm and focus on the guest that are nice and positive. Those are the ones that matter. I also now understand the statetment which is known worldwide: "The guest is always right". Not because he is, but because he THINKS / BELEIVE he is regardless of the facts. Big ego is a bit*ch, that is why we as hosts must never go to their level and argue with them. There are some limits ofcourse (it is still your house), agressive/abusive behaviour etc would not tolerate and I would still show them an exit door.
Reviews... I would preffer that I wouldn't be able to read them, because a "bad" review still hurt my ego a little and I have to force myself not to be irritated.. (I almost get irritated for 7,5 which in fact is a great review) same as with late cancelations or no-shows that can not be charged.. Was threathaning to guest that I will take legal action against them etc lol (in the past). Really not worth of it.. Just try to accept that all this is part of the business and just do your best. On a long term it will defenitly will be shown your good effort. Even on the most beautiful places with the best service, you will see negative reviews.. Some people are just not happy and has a discontent in their lives and see only negative. Well good for them. Just be calm, you have your policies and house rules, rely on them.. As I mentioned before, we are basicly a mental institution with a free pass. We are not just hosts, we are also psychologists. :)

1 year ago
3
hector

Our funniest bad review was a guest who state that they had had 'the most disgusting dinner of their life' with us. We don't have a restaurant and don't serve dinner. :-)

BCD doesn't remove negative comments from reviews even if they are lies, mistruths, confusions or un-red descriptions.

1 year ago
3
Waikoninihomestead

Yes I had guests who did not show up and then complained that their husband was badly bitten by insects! Yes, the review was removed, but it should not have even been there.

1 year ago
3
hector

If they were a no-show and you registered them as a no-show on the extranet, then why did BDC allow them to submit a review?

1 year ago
2
Murciafit

Well, I agree with a lot of the posts on here about booking.cm not having hoteliers backs. I have been dealing with a guest issue for over three months, all while going through surgery, which is besides the point. Short version, guest trashed house, broke, left vomit, blocked plumbing and more, all costing more than his deposit would cover, so I did not return it, after legal advice.

hours of phone calls emails with booking.com, several emails saying how terrible I did the right thing, then other representatives disagreeing, emailed eveidence and invoices, would sometimes speak with a supervisor, but must refuse outright to let you speak with one.

Told case closed several weeks ago, however, today I received an invoice for a refund for minus a few euros pm the whole amount of this guests stay! So this guest has had a free holiday, trashed my house,left a nasty, untrue review, and is still sending me malicious and graphic text messages!

After this season I will stick with my other booking sites where the hosts are given respect, it is daylight robbery and unfortunatly booking.com have lost the edge they used to possess many years ago.

1 year ago
1
Finca Alexandría

We had the same.
Client booked budget room and showed up demanding a complete apartment.
We didn't have an apartment free. Anyway feels like this person just booked the cheapest room to write a damaging review.

BDC help was just a big waste of time
We now only offer apartments on this page

11 months ago
2
Louise

In my last place (an old 15th century village pub), there was a short flight of stairs to the B&B rooms, and both rooms had various steps in them to get into the rooms and into the bathrooms. Plus the rooms were pretty wonky, being so old (no right angles anywhere).

So, in the description I put 'not suitable for anyone who has trouble with stairs,' just to be on the safe side.

Yes, you've guessed it. A guest marked us down for too many stairs and steps. Luckily we had a very high score so one low number did not affect the score, but if you were someone just starting out and it was an early review, it would ruin your score.

I simply replied that I thanked them for their review. Was disappointed that they had not seen my warning of the stairs in the description and that I would make an effort to make it much clearer for future guests.

Some people are just downright weird!!

But also remember that someone booking a room who wants to read the reviews will look at the overall score, look at a few reviews and if there is a bad one, weigh it up the the reviews overall. I know I do. A couple of bad reviews against lots of good ones just makes me assume these were people who has their own problems and were taking it out on the hotel.

I suspect the feeling that Booking.com does not have the hoteliers backs is true, but I also think they have got so big that it would become an impossible task to try and get involved with every awkward guest review.

10 months ago
2
Boss of the Ho…

On the other hand, guest also tend to read the negative reviews, even if there are only a few. Comments telling everything is fantastic doesnt learn you much. Negative comments draw your attention to the problems and issues you will encounter when you pick this hotel. In the case of the stairs, its a good thing they commented on that and your reply was perfect. Next guests will easier notice the stairs issue. ;-)

10 months ago
2
Louise

You are absolutely right. Negative comments can be helpful but on this thread people are saying that the negative comments they were getting were actual lies.

So, I was trying to make Monet208 feel better by pointing out that it would hopefully not affect her overall bookings because people read between the lines and make judgement calls. I'm sure most people would read that review, realise that private bathroom and en-suite is a technical point and completely discard the review anyway. She mustn't get hung up on this one review.

If they are lies/incorrect reviews, it's best to ignore them, don't take them personally and just move forward. Always write a reply that is polite but you can point out any errors in the review (calmly) and then the customers reading the reviews can see you reply anyway. The public in general are quiet discerning!!

10 months ago
1
Cottages

What's most annoying is that Booking.com allow (of course) people to make negative comments (in our case which they subsequently admitted to Booking.com were completely untrue!) in the 'positive comments' box of the review, which Booking.com then pick up and show in the 'What guests love most' column of our listing again and again - WITHOUT GIVING US RIGHT OF REPLY TO CLARIFY THAT THE GUEST WAS WRONG AND HAS ADMITTED IT.

Numerous calls and emails to Booking.com have failed to get them to resolve the situation - they accept it is unfortunate, have apologised,but refuse to budge.

7 months ago
7
pibomarco

The only way to modify/delete the review is if the guest contact BDC with the request for a modification. So basicly you have to convince the guest that they contact BDC. But the situation in your case it sure is unpleasant.

7 months ago