user avatar image
3

guest review scores

How many of you out there feel that booking.com need to change their guest review score system. Presently they only allow guests to score using 4 smiley faces out of 6 categories. Each smiley face equals 2.5 points which goes towards a maximum property score rating of 10 points. 

It would be much fairer to all properties and also easier for guests if guests were given 10 smiley faces to score with. How did booking.com ever come up with only 4 smiley faces. This really penalises properties who have worked hard to get a high score of above 9 points as just one unsure guest could easily drop your overall score but giving a majority of 3 smiley faces in their scoring. Having 10 smiley faces would allow guest who don't want to give maximum points the chance to still give a high rating to a property.

I also strongly feel guests should not be allowed to give a score rating without writing any comments as there is no way we can know what to improve on when guest just give a score for one of the categories. 

Those who agree with me please reply to my post as booking.com will only change things when the majority of us want a change. 

+1
20 Replies

5
jaybeegee

Just to add on a seperate but related note ... it would be nice for owners to be able to rate guests! this I think is an important missing feature. 

+1
1 month ago
1
Honeypot Guest House

Airbnb have that facility. I feel that creating trust and an understanding between our unknown guests, their expectations and demands versus host capabilities are clearly underestimated on the Booking.com platform.

29 days ago
7
pibomarco

AirBnB is a home based platform. Booking.com is hotel based platform. Huge difference. 

28 days ago
3
Stay

Yes I agree that would also make guests think more seriously about their ratings and reviews they give and the consequences of them to property owners. It may of course become a weapon for property owners to use against guests who write bad reviews but I think overall it will be a much fairer method as dishonest hosts will still be exposed and at least so will dishonest guests.

1 month ago
4
Janefryer

Absolutely agree,

We just had bad guests which I shall write separately about.  But I have already told bdc that we need to review guests.   And this thing about if they dont write anything, we cant defend ourselves or even tell them what great guests they have been.

+1
1 month ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Hello guys!!!

I fully agree with you . Review system is not very understanding especially to guests that are not familiar with it.

Those smiley faces sometimes confuse guests.  Some have told me that they get confused.

Hopefully in click the review system will be discussed.

Wish everybody well...

+1
1 month ago
1
Clover Taylor

I agree this is unfair on property review scores. 

If a guest doesn’t want to give 10, their next option is effectively 7.5, which is a huge drop. 

Come on Booking.com, there must be a better way of doing this! 

+1
28 days ago
7
pibomarco

the review system is simple as it gets for most guests. It is basicly made for dummies so "everyone" or lets say majority would understand it. Hosts have to get used to that 7,5 = VERY GOOD. That's NOT bad. 10 smily face also means that guest can give you 1 (instead 2,5) which is bigger drop in overall score.  Also 10 smiley faces, is less simplier, guest need to spend more time thinking how many smiles to put. 

-1
28 days ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Hi! pibomarco nice to join us again.  Believe me for guests that make reservations through BDC  reviews are hard to understand some don’t even understand the use of it.

Some guests don’t even bother to leave review.

I always try to explain to them the reasons and the benefits even for them.

Wish you an amazing weekend...

 

 

+1
28 days ago
7
pibomarco

Hi Adamopoloulou.. I udnerstand what you're saying but:  How many reviews/guests do you all have in average, so that you can point out that the review system is bad and not understandable for the guest? To rate something from "sad" to "happy" is understandable for the majority. In my 900 reviews, noone made a mistake with scoring comparing to the previous system where I received few 2,5 scores where the guest ment to rate 10.  Also not even one (out of thousands guests I hosted) complained about the system.   Ofcourse some guests don't even bother to leave a review (I am one of those guests). Not because of the review system, but because they are lazy or they just don't care that much. 

23 days ago
3
Stay

Hi pibomarco

where is this incredible property of yours ?

23 days ago
3
Stay

Nice. Big property or just something small that does not keep you working ful time ?

23 days ago
7
pibomarco

We have 20 units.  I prefer to stick to the topic. 

23 days ago
3
Stay

It is very related to the topic as you seem to be the only person in favour of the present b.com guest review score system but none of the points you make in favour of the system make any sense. You also constantly make defamatory remarks of the public in your replies which I  feel is very unprofessional so I'm interested to see what you actually offer to the public in the form of accommodation. You of course don't have to declare any of your private business on this chat but if you are going to post any replies to my posts I put on the web please refrain from insulting the human race as I don't appreciate it and I further feel that it goes against booking.com policies of this community chat room. 

23 days ago
7
pibomarco

My replies are usually always well argumented. I am on Booking.com since 2009 and I know what am I talking about through years of experiences. I am also a super host on AirBnB and it's funny how everyone likes to compare the two which are totaly different.  Here you go:  Garni Pension Pibernik &  Glamping Pibernik Bled Insulting? But hurt hosts? Well cry me a river. :)

22 days ago
3
Stay

I should really correct my suggestion of 10 smiley faces. Smiley faces is a totally ridiculous icon to use and how would you grade the faces from sad, sad to happy, happy ?

I only suggested 10 because of the maximum score b.com gives to properties but really a maximum score of 10 also makes no sense what so ever especially when 4 faces equals 10. How can anyone say that not confusing ??

Everyone else gives 5 as a maximum score. Even before these wonderful OTA's came about hotels were and still are graded out of 5 stars. Most quality scoring is out of 5. Come on booking.com don't try and be too different. We know you are pretty good at what you do but way back in the 50's and 60's the French tried to be different by having yellow lights on their cars and look where that got them....actually they still try to be different with many things but we won't go there.

Booking.com just change your scoring system...no one wants it except maybe Pibomarco

 

-1
28 days ago
7
pibomarco

Stay, yeah sure. Good luck with your iniciative ;)

27 days ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Wow!!!

Stay thats incredible news.  Finally BDC  after so long time understood that review system needed to be changed. Are the changes for the benefit of all???

As Leandri once said the more we ask the better results we have.

 

Thanks again for valuable information and have a pleasant night.

+1
14 days ago