user avatar image
1

guest reviews

what I do not like about booking .com review system is that you cannot review guests. Its seems totally unfair that if a guests leaves a rubbish review which you consider not valid all you can do is comment and barely defend yourself? We have had some  really nasty and unpleasant guests over the years that we would not recommend ever. Airbnb allows you to rate and review guests and you can at least then decide if you want them at your property? Its hit or miss with boking and you never know who is going to arrive at your place. Myaverage never gets above 8.3 as our property is different and very few guests ever read what they are going to be staying in so  we go from 5's to 10's all the time its ridiculous. We all pay booking a huge commission fee and the review system really needs to be changed.

+6
63 Replies

1
Info

I AGREE WITH YOU WHOLEHEARTEDLY!

1 year ago
7
Thuild - Your …

Dear Sam and all of the community,

I have chased this idea with our local Booking.com office so many times.

It's super necessary because it would increase the total quality of service for everyone.

We would be close to a straight 10 review score if our horrible experiences with certain people wouldn't have happened.

After receiving 8 reviews of 10, there is a guy that comes and gives a 2.5 full of lies. He also threatened us when he was checking out (however he was pleased with everything up until it came to the point where he had to check-out and pay, his attempt to avoid payment has failed). Such a person should be indefinitely banned from using Booking.com because I'm pretty sure he does the same thing at every place he stays at.

Some people just try to bash your review page for their own sick satisfaction, it's unacceptable like this. They should also be responsible for the way they behave at the places they stay at, just like with Airbnb or Flipkey.

A guest review system works wonders and everyone is purely getting the best out of the experience.

Zsolt - Thuild - Your world of leisure

+4
1 year ago
1
Sam Dingley

its very true. we had a guest who stayed last year and smoked in our yurts, he was shocking ! I made a massive complaint to booking and wanted him banned, they would not do this instead he left a scathing riview about us because he ruined our yurt! I could only write our side of story on review, he did the same on tripadvisor, abused us horribly and tainted our perfect score, he then shouted abuse down the phone at me`! I have turned down many airbnb guests by reviews people had left for them its so important. We really have had some vile people stay with us!

+3
1 year ago
7
Thuild - Your …

Hey Sam,

I totally get the uniqueness of what you're trying to offer and how certain people take a huge dump on your passion and work.
If you use Google Translate, you can still capture the essence from our review section at our property, which is sometimes entertaining but sad.
Here's the link: http://www.booking.com/Share-sgF1HG

A suggestion for you. Next time someone doesn't respect your house rules, charge them an extra fee. Like when they some in the yurt, it requires extra cleaning besides the obvious dangers it poses to the structure. Make their pocket hurt and then they will reconsider.
I have charged another night extra for someone who smoked in a room because we were unable to give it to other guests. It's your business, your rules and make sure they follow it.

Warm regards,
Zsolt - Thuild

+1
1 year ago
1
Sam Dingley

it was a year ago and since them every guest has to leave a 200e depot and sign a lieux et etat with a threat from us they will be fined 500 e if they smoke in our yurts or rooms....its worked so far.

+1
1 year ago
1
Alex

Our guess did not received an email where he can apply for a review

1 year ago
1
Info

We agree with Sam

1 year ago
1
Musiccityhomes11

My guest ask for a link to leave review. They can't find it on booking.com. Maybe they are lazy but the fact is I miss out on 70% of reviews because they want me to send them a link to review.

Such a link would be wise.

+2
1 year ago
7
Thuild - Your …

They receive a link if they have a valid e-mail address connected to their account. If not, they will not receive it, however they can still access this area in their user account:

That's the section where they can leave reviews and amend them if necessary.

So if anyone tells you otherwise, they don't want to do it, that's all.

Zsolt - Thuild.com

1 year ago
1
Newkandyresidence

some reviews disappear that already exist
can a guest review 2nd time too??

1 year ago
7
Thuild - Your …

Reviews will be deleted after 2 years.
A guest can write as many reviews as he has reservations (I.e. 2 reservations = 2 reviews)

1 year ago
1
Lizgodfrey

I would also like to agree with the above and add that there should not be allowed to be annonymous guest reviews. If they do not have the courtesy of letting you know who they are, then they should not be able to review you.

There should also be some way that Booking.com can monitor the guests reviews with the same guests past reviews and if there is a patern of nastiness then it should become apparent and not allowed to go through.

I to would also like to be able to write a review on my guests, as there are some I would not even sent to my worst enemy.

Cheers

Liz

+2
1 year ago
1
LEONIDAS SAKEL…

Liz totally agree !

 

We have had guests we would not send to even our worst enemies !

Why can't we review them as well?

2 months ago
1
Clairehirsch

I agree. I think guest reviews would change the Booking.com landscape. We are new to Booking.com. this year. Our first set of guests were an absolute nightmare from before arrival to the end. They left a broken Nespresso machine (they had somehow stuffed around 15 pods in and jammed the entire thing despite having instructions to hand!), mess, soiled linens, etc., and had before arrival threatened us with legal action when they discovered there was a cleaning fee to pay (they never did pay it). Having failed to read our instructions about how to find the apartment and access the key safe they charged up and down our street shouting angrily to be let in at 9 pm. Our second guests seemed okay before arrival and we gave them lots of help finding routes to their work destination (which changed). They left us a mediocre review having smoked in the property constantly (despite the fact that it is non-smoking), failed to leave on time (they were still there 2 hours after check-out and we were faced with trying to prepare in 2 hours for our next (non Booking.com) guests with an apartment reeking of smoke. Ironically they said the apartment was moderately clean when it was absolutely spotless before their arrival but rather dubious after it. They didn't rate our generally sought-after location highly although it was originally (as they said) "perfect" for them until their own needs changed (not our responsibility). They stayed at an absolutely knock-down bargain price (about 50% of our normal rate plus a free night after 3 nights) yet rated us 7.5 value for money! During 3 years of Airbnb we have mostly had lovely guests. Our VRBO guests also seem like decent types. Our Booking.com guests seem to expect to stay for almost nothing and are worrying to the point where I am considering leaving the site.

+3
1 year ago
1
Angelika

100% agree, hosts should have the possibility to rate the guests. This option is very important for the hosts and will make some guests to be more responsible for what they do while they are staying and what they write about the hotel after the check-out. As a result, I’m sure it will really help to improve the whole system. The question is - how to persuade booking.com to introduce this system into the platform? If everyone who thinks Guests rating should be here, writes to booking.com a separate mail using your property own inbox, probably (after they receive hundreds applications about this matter:-)))) booking.com will have to agree and introduce Guests rating option for the hosts. Any other suggestions?

1 year ago
7
Thuild - Your …

Angelika, That is the only way at the moment to make them do something.

We just need to have a larger collective in order to make them move things. This guest review feature is one of the if not most important aspects of modern day hosting. Seems like Bookin.com is lacking behind.

The last time we brought this up in a discussion with them, they simply stated that it would require too much work and investment for them to do it.

I, personally, think that it should be dealt with as the quality of guests has gone from bad to worse.

I've already sent them 3 messages through the inbox and feedback form. However it would not be an issue for me to send them more if our voices gets heard and we get something out of this.

Cheers,

Zsolt - Thuild.com

+1
1 year ago
1
Glyngarth

Couldn't agree more, we have been with booking.com for 3 years (15% commission is far too high 10% would be fairer) every year our rating has gone down year by year. We are continually decorating and upgrading our guest house, but all you need is a couple of ridiculous reviews out of the blue and your ratings plummet. Anonymous ones are the worst, we get a lot of high scores then all of a sudden you get the one when you have someone with a chip on their shoulder that give 2.7 or something ridiculous like that. We get disheartened by these peoples reviews and try to see where we were going wrong. In the end we'll just give up because Booking.com don't seem to give a S#*it, as long as they get there 15%. They say if you give special discounts to guest, this is impossible with all the charges are taken in to consideration 15% booking 3% credit card fees 20% Vat in the end there's little profit to be had as Booking.com will not drop the size of their commission to attract guests.

1 year ago
1
Elizabeth Deni…

Today I received a review that was just lies

We like all of you put all our money into our business & all our energy & when someone like our guest which we upgraded for nothing just lied & went on to say we lied in the review is just shocking

I agree booking.com should allow us to do a review on our guests

When a guest tries to destroy your business with a lot of lies & crap we should be able to do something about it .

This is our living & has cost us everything

We're not sure if this is what we need to be doing as I've been effected now most of the afternoon & I can't get any answers from anyone what we can do but for my brother (lawyer) has some good ideas which we may have to pay attention to in this situation

Why should people be able to lie & try to destroy our business & we have no say ???????????????

I'M MAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

+1
1 year ago
1
Musiccityhomes11

If this happens to me, I’m walking away with my properties.. There’s much better places to market and they cost less.

If you have a lot of good reviews chances are one liar who blames others for their unhappiness wont stop other bookings.

Malicious reviews are a big deal and booking.com needs to reconsider whether they are going to offer the same fair platform where a host reviews a guest as well.

my worst guest have come from here. So really, I doubt I’ll miss leaving should I get one more bad guest or a malicious review.

examples like Trip Advisor who at least let them know to behave, respect your property and set their expectations that they too will be reviewed.

its unbelievable how some people have no appreciation for what they save in money compared to hotels.

+1
1 year ago
1
Fatimasagr

At the end most of the people who book through booking most of the time don't take a time to check all the hotel's info or location, and when in the check in process they come to know about our policies and about our services and that's when a perfect service could be turn into a disaster under the guest eyes.

One customer in a review wrote that he/she would have prefer to be closer to the beach... I wonder if she wanted to be closer to the beach then she would have click on the location of my hotel and notice or satelital position, read other's guest reviews or something before making the reservation, or just book on another property that would fulfill her own speciation.

Also I have received reviews where the wrote "Very clean hotel" but in the cleaning rate they give us a 7.5!!! To me this doesn't make any sense.

The Booking review system needs to change ASAP

+1
1 year ago
1
Kujtim Saliaj

*Also I have received reviews where the wrote "Very clean hotel" but in the cleaning rate they give us a 7.5!!! To me this doesn't make any sense.*

Same to me and it is ridiculous , what to do !

19 days ago
7
pibomarco

I will copy paste from the other responce to this matter: "First you have to accept that 7,5 is NOT a bad score based on the review system that BDC have set. If your facilities are mostly 10's and few 7,5 then it's fine. So few guests weren't that shockingly amazed by your facilities, but was happy with it, it was OK, they liked it. I would understand if you would like to know the reasons to improve if you received 5's or less..

I once received a review 7,5 for all sections (staff, comfort, value,....) and got a feedback:


+ How they liked it, that they will surely come back,...


- Nothing, everything was great. 


The point is that 7,5 doesn't neccesery mean you need to improve, or that they didn't like something. It basicly means that EVERYTHING WAS OK.    

19 days ago
1
Taylor Johanna

Sticking my oar in tonight - just got our lowest score ever. A couple of walkers who I greeted with a free silver tray with tea and cakes, got newspaper to stuff their wet walking boots and in the morning drove them for free to the start of their walk. Gave me 7.5 for STAFF (there is only me) and 5 for value! but in comments they say I was friendly and chatty - so why the low score? I feel mad tonight because I went the extra mile. GRRRR!!

+1
1 year ago
1
Musiccityhomes11

I really feel,for you here Taylor. I’ve a similar thing happen.

My new and working mantra is to offer less. Really, the less I offer then the less they have to complain about. I stopped breakfasts, haven’t had one complaint about the breakfast here since.

I call my rental small. No one has complained about the size since my check in instructions are titled your “Small Nashville Studio”

I have been waiting for a complaint about the old washer dryer. So I have a big sign saying “I know they are ugly but I wanted you to have a washer and dryer. I clean all linens here with my large capacity machines located in my house.

you get the idea.... under promise and over deliver, that’s a stars, best trick. You are doing a little over the top efforts and it just gave them something to complain about. Chatty. Bam!

+1
1 year ago
1
Elizabeth Deni…

I've got to the stage I can't understand guests being able to give reviews

I can get many great reviews in a row & then one that wants the cheapest apartment we offer at a discounted rate & then expects a full kitchen enough tea & coffee for their their stay & then take all tea & coffee, sugar , toilet paper,Soap & shampoos with them when they leave & then say value for money 5 or 7.5

Yes & when we go over the top we get lower reviews.

I believe we should have the right to have some of the rubbish removed as they are NOT an honest review .I have requested this to happen & have been told it's an honest review of how the guest saw it .It simply is not true

One of mine complained & received her money back or a discount to stay another time .She was going all round NZ doing this & having a holiday for next to nothing

We we're left totally shattered for days & I have someone else deal with our guests for several days because of her abuse

We really need to strong & when it gets hard to a break so you can get restored & remember most guest are great Cheers

1 year ago
3
Waikoninihomestead

Hello Elizabeth, What is this persons name just so that I can be on the lookout? Where is your B&B?

Kin regards.

Mary

1 year ago
1
Fy60nw

Some of your experiences sound awful Elizabeth.

Our last guest left us 10 out of 10 for everything except confusingly for the value for money...7.5.

We are new to the whole B&B market and when you know you have tried your best and given guest a great stay, or so you think, it really is upsetting to me to get a low score on a review, he seemed so nice and happy with his stay.

We provide new freshly decorated comfortable en-suite rooms with free WiFi, smart tv's, all toiletries, towels, hairdryers, a well stocked hospitality tray a small bottle of wine per person and bottled water. For breakfast he had natural yoghurt with freshly prepared seasonal fruit. toast,cereal, free flowing tea and coffee plus Smoked salmon scrambled eggs mushrooms and tomatoes..........what the hell did he think wasn't value for money at £65.00.

All our previous and returning guests say brilliant, fabulous, couldn't ask for more.....so on receiving a 7.5 it really dampens your spirit. I have even thanked him (through gritted teeth) for staying with and for his review and politely asked him for feedback to let us know what we are lacking.......he has not answered as of yet, obviously cannot think of anything. As a previous B&B landlord himself he should know how upsetting and damaging low scores can be.

I have held myself back from commenting to his review online as don't want to be seen as a person who cant take criticism, I welcome feedback but he didn't offer any...........ok so thats my moan over.

regards Sam

1 year ago
1
Mina

I can certainly relate to each of your comments - my staff cringe when we expect Bppking.cxm guests. We experience issues most of the time. Some how I think we get all the "lazy" guests making use of Bppking.com as they click on the top of the page G oogle "ADS" that Bppking.cxm run for each establisment or area.

We have very little "staff" inter-action in order to leave our guests to enjoy privacy and then get a 5 rating for "staff"

Generally the review for location gets between 5 and 7,5 - my question; why book with our establishment if you do not want to be in the location - we all have access to google maps now a days.

In my country, people using this booking system also do not understand that they make an actual booking and get irritated when we request payment, as they under the impression that they only inquired for availability.

I find it to be a lot of information guests are expected to read through on this site - specially the "lazy" ones I refered to above!!

Would be wonderful to be able to "black list" some guests

My two sends worth for today

1 year ago
7
Thuild - Your …

Dear Mina,

Which country are you from? So I can better understand this guest behavior.

You can ask BDC to blacklist people, fortunately we only had to do this once till now.

However, you can report guest misconduct at this time on the right side of each booking in the extranet:

Cheers,

Zsolt - www.thuild.com

1 year ago
1
Rathbonemansions

The fact that this doesn't exist is a poor business decision on BDC's part. We try to put rooms on vacation rental sites as much as possible because the guests are generally more respectful. That's due to a number of factors, but one of them is definitely that they also have a review.

We've had some guests verbally abuse our staff to the point where we've lost employees. One instance involved some extremely racially insensitive language. We have no recourse whatsoever except to ask that guest to leave with no refund. Then of course, they can leave a nasty review with no fear of any consequence.

Also, regarding mistreatment of rooms, I noticed that @Zsolt mention charging guests an additional fee in the case that they abuse the room (in our case, we've had a good handful of intoxicated guests in New Orleans vomit their Hurricane drinks on our beds and ruin linens). Our experience is that guests can easily challenge these charges and credit card companies nearly always side with the consumer in these cases.

If BDC considered this additional feature, I can tell you honestly that we'd consider narrowing the number of OTAs we list on to encourage a guest review system.

1 year ago
1
Info

I so agree that having an ability to review guests would make the whole system work better! If guests leave crappy to mediocre reviews and meanwhile, have been difficult, demanding and unreasonable, why should our voice not be available for others to see?

I also have to add that Booking.com's guests seem to be THE most negative. We get really great reviews on other sites, often 10/10, and on this site not so much! ( Someone actually dinged us because we were watching our own TV in the common area. We do only have one TV for guests, but wifi everywhere, often we do watch TV in the common area, and when guests come in, we invite them to join us. Why would our watching TV be an issue?

Not sure why Booking.com attracts visitors who seem to relish being nitpicking and negative.

1 year ago
1
Lizgodfrey

I do feel that there are guests from all avenues that will just be nit pickers, because they can.

As I said previously and it seems we all agree, reviews both ways may make guests be a little more honest with their reviews.

What does it take for Booking.com and others to read our posts, they have added this as a facility, but seem to ignore it from their end.

I was raised to look after my clients.

We pay Booking.com, not the guests, so why is our voice over powered by the guest.

They would be well and truley be in the crap if we all decided to withdraw our properties, but they no that won't happen, so by ignoring their clients (US) they do not have to deal with the reality that thier paying clients are not at all happy with the process.

To be able to leave a review saying only "The coisontts were not flakey enough" is just dam unaceptable. Is that all some moaning bugger can write after 3 days of free things and being spoilt rotten.

It's a shame they cannot run our business for a week and see what we do and how hard we work for them, they may have more respect then!!!!!

Keep your chins up guys, and remember there will always be one in the bunch, and I am guessing other prospective guests will see through the lines when they look at our reviews in the whole picture

Cheers

Liz (New Zealand)

1 year ago
1
Ccfrontdesk

I am new to the hotel industry and find the anonymous reviews to be quite gutless. I would love to see them taken off. They provide no help to the hotel so we can address an issue.

+1
1 year ago
1
Berndsass

Order of guest reviews
For the past 10 days I’ve continuously ONLY negative reviews pushing through to the top on mobile sites - positive reviews make it to the bottom only by default. Nobody at Booking.Com understands the impact this is having or is able to do something about it. Anyone addressing this glitch can they call me on 0044 7906 521536

1 year ago
2
Hamera06

I would like to add here too please. Yes absolutely booking.com should not have anonymous reviews because they themselves have no clue who has written the reviews. I had one guest recently left me 3.5 for complete lies. From the beginning she parked her car she was tutting and huffing and kissing her teeth. She came dressed in a filthy bathrobe with her partner who looked really scary. My immediate instincts were to refuse them entry as I honestly didn’t feel safe having them stay. I don’t usuaally judge people on
Appearances but this was an unusual
Way of checking in. I had to stay the night at the property. She left a scathing review with complete lies. She had a asking space which she lied about and about other things. I contacted booking.com and sent them footage of her parking in the parking space. They haven’t even bothered to reply or acknowledge this footage or email. I’m getting tired of booking.com and their behaviour towards the hosts. We pay a huge commission and get nothing back. I am seriously considering moving to another site.
I would request booking.com to change their policies. And if proven guests are completely lying then reviews should be removed immediately and these guests banned. After this incident I have had this guest constantly harassing us with pretentious bookings through phone calls. I have had to inform the police of this. Booking.com will not acknowledge anything and just says it’s goif for a business to have negative reviews ???? Yes it’s good but if they are genuinely honest reviews not lies booking.com and especially when they are proven to you.
We should all have a petition and send it their CEO to look into this as it’s highly unfair system and damaging to our businesses. These guest leave their option open to re-book with us by leaving anonymous reviews and we have no clue who they are and what to expect the next time.
Thank you

1 year ago
2
Denz

I am also new to BC so don't have many reviews so far 3 reviews and this 3rd review they still give me a high mark overall 8.8 but they left a comment that air-conditioning was too load what was interesting I was able to reply and now that reply is on the website the only small issue is that I used google translate and as you know sometimes things get lost in translation I thought I was only answering them not everyone else to see. The frustrating part they were there for 5 days not one day did you say anything to me I would have called the service person to investigate and it could have been just a minor issue. I have asked the guests that are currently in the apartment that a guest left a remark that the air con is noisy and they said it is nothing more nothing less than any other airconditioners and they are extremely happy with the apartment. What is interesting booking.com didn't put a positive comment they have written.

1 year ago
2
Hamera06

Good morning all, I have constantly raised review issues with booking.com but they don’t care. I have had a guest recently that stayed here and she left me a 3.8. I responded back to this review which led to quite q few issues..I sent in pictures proving this guest had blatantly lied and was being malicious. Booking.com
Did not even bother to aknowlege anything instead had the most rudest person calling herself a manager speak to me like I was a criminal. The funny thing was booking.com agreed the guest had lied but refused to remove the review. They told me it is good for businesses to receive negative reviews.
I gave up in the end and am looking elsewhere with other sites to go to.
The really astonishing part is that when you call the partner helpline they send you a survey to answer.
Now this rude booking.com apparent so called manager knew I would give her a negative response in that survey. SHE DIDNT BOTHER SENDING ME ONE.
Booking.com why do your staff pick and choose for their surveys? Yet you sit there and tell us to accept our reviews regardless they are malicious and full of lies.
Why do you change your own policies? Why don’t you let us leave the reviews for you abnoxious staff?
As you say reviews don’t matter so negative review for your staff should fall into the same category.
I have recently had a flow of bad guests through booking.com and yes you are correct they are not the good guests and I actually dread having guests through them. I am in talks with other sites and should be moving soon.
Booking.com have no respect for their partners and their staff are rude and rude. No body acknowledges anything and you feel like you’re talking to a brick wall. There are no complaint departments, there are no managers, there are no phone numbers, they can’t transfer you anywhere, they just come up with the same line EXTRANET SND EXTRANET. Yes I would go on the extranet if you replied back like you promise.
I have had enough with them and their bookings.

1 year ago
1
Musiccityhomes11

Perhaps that “manager” did not agree that your negative response on their survey would be “Good For Her Carreer!”

A lot of shoppers on this platform are not looking for vacation rentals yet they stumble on them.

others are brand new to the experience. I will suggest that B Com set their expectations with a paragraph of the vacation rental etique that they should acknowledge., this setting their expectations. It’s not a full service hotel.

currently I am sending each guest who books from here a note or I call....asking if it’s their first one and assuring them so there’s no surprises.

Tammy

1 year ago
2
David S

Hello
I read booking.com policy for removing review and I am very dissapointed with booking decision not to remove review which I requested to be removed.

As its written one of reasons for removing review:
Remove reviews in certain situations:
-When the review includes abusive language, swearing, discriminatory remarks, language that negatively targets a staff member, or personal political, religious, and ethical viewpoints.

Review that I got 20 days later from guest that had very serious problem with alcohol is:
'Thoroughly, it’s a real little man who wants to be alert. Don’t fall into the trap of seemingly hospitable enthusiasm' Reservation: ***

As our rental of apartment is family bussines, We feel very offended. And if this is a way booking.com protect me as a partner than it is shame.

What is your oppinion?

1 year ago
2
Hamera06

Hi, they won’t remove it. I sent in proof of a guest completely lying about everything and they still didn’t remove it. I sent in picture evidence too. They acknowledged that the guest was lying but still refused to remove review. Go to another site such as Airbnb where you can leave a review for the guest. Booking.com doesn’t listen to anything and they don’t care. They probably told you a negative review is good for the business.
Thanks

1 year ago
2
David S

Well first they send me a message that everything is ok with text and it will stay on site, then I was called by phone snd they told me also what you said 'its good for business' but also that thair team red review and that thay made decission that is all ok with review!!!! Someone tells you one site: that you are little man and don't fell in our traps... and its fine for them. And they told me that is against policy to change decission about not removal-what is horror in my oppinion!!! IF YOU SEE YOU MADE BAD DECISION OF COURSE THAT IS THE BEST TO FIX THAT- MAKR IT RIGHT. WE ALL MAKE WRONG DECISIONS IN LIFE AND IT IS FINE TO ADMIT IT AND TO DO IT RIGHT. I BELIEVE IN THAT!

1 year ago
1
Nicky Tipu

Hi. I had a client who put in the review as negative the distance to the beach, although this is already show in location info and on the map. He made the reservation knowing that this fact is according with the price.

I want to erase his review. Can i ?

1 year ago
2
Hamera06

You can’t have a review removed regardless of what they write. Booking.com will tell you it’s good for your business so no point calling them. They don’t care and they won’t remove it. Sorry to hear you got a bad review. There’s nothing you can do :(

1 year ago
1
Lasourcesermaise

I totally agree that you should be able to rate a guest. For a guest to leave an unjustified or false review seems acceptable but the host/owner/manager should also be able to leave reviews on guests which would make guests think more about whether they want to write things which are untrue. It also seems that guests are able to leave negative scores for things which they don't like - the location, for example - because they have failed to read the listing correctly or booked too quickly.

1 year ago
7
pibomarco

Example when guest doesn't know how to rate the property correctly. :)

"It is wonderfully relaxed and quiet. No special luxury, but we have really felt like at home."

1 year ago
1
Info

I agree, this person did not understand the rating system!

i had guests who saw a negative review I received, were appalled on my behalf and sarcastically made similar comments in the review as a joke- -booking.com lists that as another negative!

18 days ago
2
Hamera06

The review system is bad and some of the guests are malicious. I recently had a couple where one of them had a disability but we were never informed prior. They left a scathing review which We was fuming about because we offered them a choice of rooms and a relocation as the property is not suitable for disabled access. I think some people having nothing better to do and just enjoying writing things like this. I had another who arrived after midnight and left saying customer service was bad. I’m not sure what they were expecting after midnight. Yes we should also have a review system like Airbnb where we can also leave them reviews and see how they like it. It’s terrible how people can do this to hardworking businesses.

+1
1 year ago
1
LEONIDAS SAKEL…

So true ! People are soooo malicious !!!!!! having nothing better to do than writing bad things. Totally agree with everything you said !

As for the disabled people, we had one such case ourselves....so, we totally empathise with you. As for customer service/staff, we were happy to offer free of charge late check out at 17:00 ! only to realise they left a low review score !

Unbelievable !

-1
2 months ago
7
pibomarco

Well AirBnB is little sketchy though.. When guest leaves you a review you don't get to see it. So you are basicly shooting blanks..
I remember I once wanted to write/reply with a "bad" review with facts, because I was certain that it will not be positive. But it turned out they wrote a positive review.. Different characters and perspectives I guess.. I was so glad I didn't respond.. With that experiance I am always reviewing the guest in positive manner. It would be a different story if I would host a guest that would be making more serious problems. And that would be the only reason for me to write a negative/honest review on AirBnB. Which I never did so far because I didn't have to, luckily.
The system on AirBnB is good, because overall it reduces the negative reviews.. But are they honest? Negative reviews are also pushing hosts to improve their service/property etc.. Even I came from 8,2 to 9,0 in one year.. And I can say because of the negative reviews that "forced" me to improve.

1 year ago