user avatar image
3

Guests leaves apartment in total mess, then write bad review

Hello.

We are renting our apartment for almost one year. We try to be nice, handsome and communicative and in any case help our guests. Lot of guests are in our apartment every year. We spent a lot of time to rent our apartment in perfect condition. We meet a lot of nice guests, but also we have a few bad experience with guests. One example is with the guests from Asia. They have check-in very early, we help them but they behave very bad. In the conversation with them they behave nicely. During the night they have their own party, drinking and making noise. In the morning, we check apartment before their leaving. Total chaos: bathroom was full of water, kitchen equipment burned or damaged, living room and dining room was full of garbage. We ask them did they behave like this at home. They were frightened when we have a loud conversation with them. They spent almost 24 hours and make a catastrophe. Leaving apartment we get a review with bad grade. Why? Only because we have our rules which are maybe for them not normal. We hepled them in any case and leave them to have party. We have conclusion that they don't aprreciate our kindness. 

Can someone help us with own experience and what someone of us do in that case. Does Booking.com have a mechanism to stop that way of behaving?

Thanks for answers, suggestions and cooperaion.

13 Replies

8
Leandri Klopper

Hi there,

Sadly there is not much to be done about this. Guests' actions can't be controlled nor can you assume everyone will behave well.

There is a Repost guest misconduct button on each reservation. This way you can report the guest and their behaviour to Booking.com who then takes over the investigation. Booking.com can at the end of the day block the guest from making further bookings with Booking.com. It can't really stop the bad review, nor will they remove it, but it protects other properties from experiencing the same bad behaviour from the same guests.

Best of luck!

1 year ago
3
Robert

Hi there,

We are aware that guests actions and behavions can't be controlled. I also think that Booking.com has to make a system in which guests who made a mess or cause a problems can not leave a comment or do anything else. Because in this situation they are protected. They cause a problems for people who are very serious in this business, write bad comment and refuse potential guests with their review.

I didn't know actually that we have Repost guest misconduct button on reservation. I know check this button and we can use them only 7 days after date of guest check-out.

We truly hope that we will not have any problems like this in future. I hope that our experince will have an influence on other people in this business. How people say, man is learning during his life.

Thanks a lot on comment.

Best regards,

Robert

1 year ago
2
Dmitriy Bolobolov

Hi Robert,

Unfortunately Booking.com does not care about their Partners and we can't get any help when it comes to reviews. I had several bad reviews posted and even with evidence from my side that they were full of lie Booking.com refused to delete them. As usual in the situations like this they send you their policy and tell that the review does not breach their rules. Once after I sent evidence I received this from BDC: "...If you want the review to be removed, then you require to terminate the agreement, after which the review will be gone forever."

I sent complaint to BDC CEO Gillian Tans. Nothing has changed - she just does not care too.

After that I decided to decrease my sales via their site as much as I can. However, they are very popular and the result was not good enough.

I'm thinking about my own site now.

Best regards,

Dmitriy

1 year ago
3
Robert

Hi Dmitriy, Thanks a lot on your comment. We are aware that we are unable in situations with reviews. But I don't know what is sense of that type of business with guests who uses this opportunity to make damage on apartment in which they spent some time.

They have to create a mechanism in which these type of behavions will be penalized. I am also working in hotel in which we have similar problems. We try to give our best to the guests but some of them are not respect that type of behavions. In some situations we are giving more than guests need.

I warmly hope that in future Booking.com will make some changes in a system of ratings and reviews to help us and avoid some negative influence of guests.

Thanks a lot for a comment which was very helpful.

Best regards,

Robert

1 year ago
1
Info

Hi Dimitry

Firstly you should respond to the review so people can see you care and you actually read the reviews you can also put your point forward to prospective guests.

If the guests have damaged your property or left additional cleaning you should charge them for this on their credit card, this may also help future hotels as these guests will think twice next time. If you don't have a credit card facility consider using a virtual one and take peoples card details on booking- it has stopped many of our problems.

I had been told that BDC were thinking of implementing a compensation package for hotels who suffered damage by guests and this was going to be part of the reporting misconduct- not sure if this has happened or will ever but at least they recognise the problems.

Gillian Tans does care I made a complaint and she contacted me personally and sorted the problem out with our local manager.

Kind Regards

Jon

1 year ago
2
Dmitriy Bolobolov

Hi Jon,

I don't want to be impolite but the first sentence in the comment looks like reply from Booking.com review team.

That's great that in your case you got help, however, I did not get one. Yes, CEO replied to my message and forwarded it to another manager who forward it to my local manager finally. Final answer was: "...If you want the review to be removed, then you require to terminate the agreement, after which the review will be gone forever."

Moreover, it does not matter if I reply to such review or not because it has already down my rating. In all similar cases with reviews the problem is that people post untrue, offensive and defamatory reviews and owners could not delete them. I'm talking about ineffective review system and refusing to look into the case from BDC.

I believe that BDC must start to listen to the owners and change this awful, unfair system.

Kind regards,

Dmitriy

1 year ago
1
Info

Yes I hate them too but reviews are in every part of life now and most people read between the lines-

We currently have 162 reviews and work really hard to get guests on side but I can say I hate logging on every morning- some of the stuff people come up with ruins your day and just leaves a bad taste in your mouth.

On the other side without BDC I would be looking for a job- I just have to live with it!

Kind Regards

Jon

1 year ago
2
Dmitriy Bolobolov

I do understand you clearly and agree that unfortunately BDC has become very popular. However, there are many OTA on the market and you always can try to set up your own site to gain sales through it.

I have another property that I sell through AirBnB and I'm not going to post it on BDC. The main reason for it - AirBnB does not hide under discriminating review policy like BDC and always helps with false reviews. And of course you do not pay so high commission like here.

Kind regards,

Dmitriy

1 year ago
2
Ditk8

Hi the problem is with Airbnb is their cancellation policy..it is terrible

1 year ago
1
Beate Pbh

Fake REVIEWS is like Fake NWS Horrible sign of out times and sad that a GLOBAL ORGANISATION like BDC doesnt have relevant measures in place!!!!!!

9 months ago
2
GardenMasterBedrooms
6 months ago
2
GardenMasterBedrooms

My advise is lets move forward and concentrate on the future guests who will make the changes in your favor.

6 months ago
3
Waikoninihomestead

Hello George,

I have had problems with guests cooking in their room,breaking house rules eg flooding the bathroom and leaving rubbish everywhere. For the cooking in the room, booking.com advised if anyone does that in the future you ask them to leave immediately. For breaking the house rules they can be reported to booking.com and if their behaviour continues they will be blocked from booking with booking.com in the future.

As for damages last season they broke a toilet which has been replaced. I give all guests a copy of house rules with a note that they will be charged for any damage to sign on arrival. I have had a guest recently that took a cabin bag that was mine back to China. I contacted them but have had no response. I charged them on their credit card.

I hope this information helps. Good luck!

Kind regards.

Mary.

"Waikonini Homestead" Peel Forest NZ

6 months ago