user avatar image
1

My secret to incredible guest reviews

Every guest that enters our home is welcomed as part of our family.We provide a home away from home to everyone.

  • Spend time getting to know your guests over a cup of tea & some yummy pastries.
  • If they have been travelling for a few days as if you can do their laundry.
  • If they are staying for a number of nights send them of with a picnic to enjoy. 
  • Have useful brochures about what to see in your area & the surrounding areas also know your history of all areas.
  • Look up useful information that they have queries about.
In general treat your guests like you would like to be treated.
100 Replies

1
Maric Park Cot…

Being genuine, friendly and helpful. We always try to be here to welcome our guests and give them a quick run through what is in the cottage and ask them their plans for the stay. If we can offer advice we do. Having said that we don't waste too much of their time. They are here to rest and relax and enjoy the area. We are on hand if they need us but let them have their own space as well. We offer little extras in the cottage which are usually very much appreciated by our guests.

1 year ago
1
Bfmpropertiesllc

Yes, I agree with Maric Park Cottages. We are welcoming and generous, giving tours, answering questions and sharing details about the cottage and area attractions/restaurants. We don't offer cooking/laundry services (I can't even make homemade brownies) because that will put us in a different tax bracket that we're trying to avoid, but we do provide our guests with tea and coffee, as well as quick breakfast items such as pastries, instant oatmeal, fruit and yogurt and daily snacks in a "help yourself" format. We provide a couple of bottles of wine and fresh flowers on arrival, bedside chocolates, bottled water and books/games. I don't make a gift basket for my guests; I tell them the entire cottage is their gift basket! We get great comments on the many indulgences they've found while staying on property. Our guests are truly spoiled!

1 year ago
1
Rohan

Our accommodation is quite old and homely however we continue to receive high guest scores. We are in a tiny town in Victoria that is a cross-road to major destinations, both north & south and east & west. We are welcoming, enjoy meeting our guests in person and having a chat, and provide comfortable accommodation with lots of extras.

We have high quality linen, soft fluffy towels, bathrobes, Lavazza pod coffee, fresh milk in the refrigerator, a range of milks for special diets & fresh ground coffee for plunger, a complimentary dinner basket for when the shops are closed, port, chocolates, fresh fruit, a selection of organic leaf tea and organic tea bags, instant coffee, and gluten free cookies. We often have fresh picked herbs from our garden in a vase. The apartments are decorated with our own art, bric-a-brac, books and furniture. Our online photos accurately reflect our accommodation. Apart from high quality toiletries in our bathrooms we also have extra shampoo, deodorant, razor, tooth brush & paste.

The two compliments most often received by us are "your attention to detail was wonderful" and "you have thought of everything". We really get a buzz from guests who appreciate our old fashioned environment and then let us know in person and through guest reviews.

1 year ago
2
Rojas950

Bfmpropertiesllc and Rohan..

wow..great wellcome..i am new in this but for sure will try to follow your advises..I would love to visit for a stay some time..

thank you for your comments

cheers

1 year ago
1
Michael

Our rental is a cabin in the mountains, and is an hour drive from where we live. So we're not there when the guests are there. But we leave them a gift basket with candy, popcorn, and a bottle of wine. We provide everything they need for their stay, except food and personal items. We have toiletries, spices in the kitchen (some of which have been left by previous guests). Our cabin is large and beautifully decorated. And we always get great reviews.

10 months ago
1
Helena

Hello. I work hard, most of the guests are well appraised, but some of them give a very poor rating, no matter how you work with them. It always affects me. I can not help: /

maybe some advice? :/

10 months ago
6
michael beeston

fantastic information from you all..Thanks and it really helps knowing these things Michael

10 months ago
1
Dandmtrainor

We also have to respect our guests privacy. There is a fine line between being friendly and being a little too friendly. Art not science i suppose. And everyones intent is always to look after their guests the best way they can. Little things alll mean a lot to our guests and they so notice. If we can brighten someones days with a posey of flowers in their room on arrival, some bikkies to go with a cuppa, herbal teas, treats. They feel like we do care.

10 months ago
1
Villa Marqua

"treat your guests like you would like to be treated"

That's the secret. That's the first step.

Image being in there shoes and start from there.

What would you except from your host is the question.

think about the answer and act.

10 months ago
1
Simone Mendelovitz

Indeed, treat your guests as they are truly guests and not only clients. I consider I give them a lot even an washing machine and a dryer. They get 3 rooms, a big terrace and a swimming pool. We have perpetual contacts in WhatsAp and they can call me 24 /24. My guests get a super accommodation for their dogs, cats and babies. Is all that enough for a "thank you" and a good score? Unfortunately not many guests bothers to write for me two or three nice words. Really, do we have to pay them to do it?

10 months ago
1
Villa Marqua

Good moves in my opinion. We also provide them with a cell phone with free calls to and from Vodafone in order to communicate free. Well some guests maybe don't know how to write a review or even if review sustem exists. Try to "fish" them ( as we say in Greek) talk to them about reviews and how important is for you and how much appreciated you will be if they do a positive review. Of course you will need to built a good and positive attitude before asking that. If they leave and you haven't had the time to ask for a review them send them a feedback email, asking them how was their stay and how honered you will be by writing you a review. Mayby some "lies" like: we might visit you country next Christmas so how about letting us know some good seight seeings? That could be a good start. And at the end mention how important for you is that they should write a review.

10 months ago
1
Simone Mendelovitz

Thank you for your advice. The question is if Booking.com like Airbnb is asking them for a review. Otherwise you need to be so lucky for having the nicest people in the world for being your guests.

10 months ago
1
Kathedralhousing

I agree with everyone here. Greeting guests personally and providing a tour is enough to get even the most hostile guest over the edge. Because you can identify problems at the start. We offer a little welcome platter of chocolates, and non alcoholic cider, some snacks in the room. And free wine down stairs. But we know our guests are 90 % going out to see the fireworks, so they aren't going to abuse our generosity. We also are on several other platforms and as part of the information we leave on their bed, we included the book we wrote on the history of our house, and Niagara Falls. ( YEP- a real tourist guide book.:) Plus a laminated card telling them about their breakfast and picnic basket options that we provide, .. ..and a laminate card with wifi, a few FAQ answers, AND a polite explanation as to how certain platforms just changed the way they review hosts. At this point we are not referring to booking.com. Just explaining the change on another platform. After check out if they are great guests and we know they deserve a wonderful review, we tell them we are giving them one, its an easy way of reassuring guests, and we only do it if we are genuine. With booking.com guests if we see them at check out, we literally just invite them to leave a review. "Thank you for staying, it's been a pleasure sharing the falls with you. Please leave a review, your opinion matters to us, and it's a way for us to improve." That seems to do it.

10 months ago
1
Bonnie Phillips

Sometimes we get so wrapped up in what we have to do and what we are doing, we forget to pay attention to what guests are focused on. In the situations where a lower review has happened, I noticed that I failed to ask in a persistent way for feedback early - after the first day or two. Something like, "What comes to your mind right now that could be better about your experience here?" Then perhaps run through shared kitchen, bathroom, common rooms, bedroom, sleep time, etc. People need encouragement to provide what they perceive to be negative feedback. When received I thank guests profusely - it's what our business runs on. Best you smoke it out while you can do something about it. Then try to fix it. Also - I neglected to ask close to departure time, "how well did your stay live up to expectations?" "what was it you most enjoyed in staying here?"

I am working on a little handout about evaluation as I don't feel the present Booking.com review is really fair to BnBs. That said, I really enjoy Booking.com.

One other thought: When you provide unadvertised benefits, let guests know. I would often do this without charge but neglect to point it out - "we don't usually . . ."

Bonnie

10 months ago
1
Themansion

We welcome all guests the same and try our best to be consistent with all. It is tricky to get round all guests and have the personal chat, though we have a just ask policy for any wants, needs, or information. Some guests book thinking they are coming to an hotel as we have 15 rooms and an indoor pool and get huffy when there is no room service. That said our reviews are more good than bad, and I would advise asking guests what you could do better and ask what they have liked the most, they will proffer bad feed back usually at this point and some guests we just don't ask, you know the ones.

Ian

10 months ago
2
Elinnog60

We respect all our guest, leave them do their thing

10 months ago
2
Elinnog60

So far no problem with any guests, 4 years in. I am lucky.

10 months ago
1
Beryl Kristen

Dealing with rude and the self centered customers are often difficult to please. And when they don't get their way they left leaving a very bad feed back and its not good for the customers who wants to book.. I know that we put customers first but how can we deal with the ones who makes them selves too important and bargain their way in just about anything.

10 months ago
1
Themansion

We had a 1 on TA, in a sea of 4 and 5 star marks. Some people can be empathised with, some are just odd and obviously never pleased, read their other reviews and then you won't feel so bad. I try to explain clearly our side of the points this often makes them guilty on reflection and they remove the comments. If it is genuine I have no problem taking it on the chin if it is mentioned before leaving, however have no sympathy for key board warriors who think they are Alex Polizzi.

10 months ago
2
Ccpddb

I think it is very important to recieve your guests and offer them a glass of wine or a beer or coffee or tea when they enter. We also have little baggies of homemade cookies waiting for them in their room with flowers and bottled waters. I also upon completion of their stay never let a guest leave without a care package of treats , these can be cookies or leftover pastries, bottled waters some fruit, and usually some homemade snack sandwiches for the road. We have made a practice of this and so far we have a perfect 10 on all of our reviews.

10 months ago
6
michael beeston

Hi Guys...............some interesting comments, Like our comrade Ccpddb, we offer a bottler of Champagne on arrival, six types of coffee and 6 types of tea to the guests. I personally do the meet and greet because we live only ten minutes away so no problems.. ..and I have time to talk to the guests, which I enjoy very much.............45 PERFECT 10s so far......good news indeed...Michael.

10 months ago
2
Ccpddb

Wow! Michael Beeston great job, you have every right to be proud! That’s incredible!

10 months ago
2
Ccpddb

Hey everyone, I have been reading all your comments and I really hope that we all remember that we have different types of appeal to our guests! Not all of us are high traffic or large capacity. Therefore we have to be a little different, we can’t have jacuzzis, or banquet facilities, or hold weddings at our facilities. We depend upon our unique service and specialty food service to draw customers. Let’s remember that when we are tempted to go negative in our comments in this forum. Please!

10 months ago
6
michael beeston

100% agree.................we get great responses/reviews because of our location and the fab furniture from all over the World PLUS the Champagne,.I understand that is not applicable to everyone as Ccpddb mentions But good luck in all your endeavours........................Love reading all your comments with much interest............have a look at our property (just for fun)..The Pinnacle Apartments Gold Coast Queensland and enjoy....Michael....... and come and stay one day (haha.would love it)

10 months ago
8
Leandri Klopper

Hi Forum!

Interesting read. My congratulations on everyone's efforts! I'm impressed.

All of our properties work the same. Our Receptionists checks the guests in, there is welcome drinks with a staff member from the resort (either public relations or entertainment) who bids the guests welcome and gets to know them. It works well, and each guests will get to feel like they are important. As our properties are quite large, it will be difficult to have One of one chats with every single guest like the smaller properties are able to do. Someone might feel like they are out, and that won't get us a good review. So we also organise a meet and greet event in the middle of the week each week, where more staff members are required to be so as to make sure all the guests get some attention.

If I could start a smaller B&B now, I think I would look most forward to meeting the guests myself as I'm currently missing out on that.

Keep doing what you all are doing!

10 months ago
2
Chris Gregg

Hi All,

I have a 9.9 for reviews in both my place one going a year and the other 2.5 years.

I think reviews is the most important thing there is to get more business. Unfortunately Booking com don't help this with there review system and I have complained many times. Airbnb on the other hand have it just right. I know a friend who has removed his property completely from booking because of this I am getting to that stage.

So you have a guest stay and they couldn't be happier they sing your praises and you think well I'm defiantly going to get a 10/10 here. then few days later it comes through.. brilliant write up but the score is 9.6 or a lot less. Well when this happens to us we reluctantly contact the guest to see what we had done wrong (Also depending on how we got on with the guest), from then on it was always the same thing they had made a mistake they didn't see the last smiley face or they must have tab'ed on and a face wasn't clicked. I still don't know whether its on phones or what but it happens a lot. I seen on other properties on BC really really bad scores but the write up is that its amazing place.

If this does happen to you the only way to sort it is once you are sure the guest has made a mistake ( I guarantee this happens a hell of a lot) you need to contact BC to send a link to change the review.

Its awful that we have to do this but its our business. Big hotels don't care as much as single house and small B&B's. I'm telling you now this is a big problem and if it happens to you or now you read this you think it has happen before. It is a real kick in the teeth.

As I said I have complain loads of times and been told that the review system is going to change but hasn't happen yet. This has been going on a long time.

When it does please happen to you, take the time to complain as well as I think its the only way to get them to change there system.

Thanks and goo luck to you all.

10 months ago
3
Akwador

We have developed a diagram map with the Guest House at the centre and all shops, banks with ATMs, bus station, restaurants, takeaways and bars listed. The recommended restaurants are coloured in red (based on previous guests feedback, our personal experience and a glance at Trip Advisor).

Further, we then give them a tour of the premises and end up at the notice board where they are introduced to the above described map and encouraged to snap it on their phone so they always have it to hand.

We then advise how the buses work, where tickets can be purchased and numbers of local buses. If they are chatty and not tired after their trip, we cover places of interest and discuss trip timings plus where the swimming holes and beaches are.

If we undertook the private transfer, they are met at Airport Arrivals with a sign bearing their name and then whisked to the property. If they can speak English well, there is usually a conversation in the car (after having determined if they have been before or are first time arrivals) regarding the size of the country, the transport system and any other useful bit of information like "Is the water safe to drink?"

We firmly believe that letting the guest know they don't have to stay in their room but are welcome to roam the kitchen area and make free tea & coffee plus sit on the roof terrace 24/7 - we want the 'home from home' feeling. This gives a guest a running start and the confidence to go exploring.

8 months ago
3
Akwador

Chris Gregg - we average 9.4 , only once dipping to 9.3 one year which we immediately made an effort to recover from and have been 9.4 since.

You are doing very well with your scores, but suspect that if you had you 8 to 10 rooms and therefore several guests to accommodate at once, you would also dip in points.

My wife is more gutted by lower scores than I am - as long as we are in the 9 and above, I am happy - the competition is 7.5 to 8.5.

Nevertheless - we are also annoyed as we frequently get 'great location' but a 7.5 for location score?! We do not go back to our guest and challenge them - I am convinced that scores are subjective.

Some guests say they had a great time and give us straight 10. We like that. Others rave about their stay and rate you 7.5! I am convinced that in their mind they think that no one is perfect and they seriously think that is a good score. I cannot explain it in any other way.

8 months ago
8
Leandri Klopper

Chris Gregg ,

I rate your post 10/10.

As Booking.com allows the score to have a Massive influence on how the property shows, which then involves performance, methinks there should be a better review system.

Very good

8 months ago
2
Chris Gregg

Hi Akwador, I think you are right if I had more rooms... You are doing well with a score of that and if your competition is lower then happy days. I also agree with what you say that people give great reviews but lower the score. I have had lots of similar things happen just had people who left and said they had a great time and everything was perfect made a point of saying it was in a fantastic location and had all they needed but mark us down on location and facilities. I contacted them to ask what we could do better to improve and they said it was because it wasn't luxury. It worked out that as their was 5 of them, they were paying £25 per head per night meaning less than the local hostel. Our view is if you want the Hilton book the Hilton but unfortunately we can't say that.

I have read reviews on other hotels and B&B's and have seen fantastic reviews but the score being 2.5. Sometime you just cant win.

To stop a little of it we contact guest when they leave and ask was all good. If it was we follow up with another message asking for a good review.

Thanks Chris

8 months ago
7
Katerinka12

"I have had lots of similar things happen just had people who left and said they had a great time and everything was perfect made a point of saying it was in a fantastic location and had all they needed but mark us down on location and facilities."

I would imagine how you feel. Imagine, we are just 300m (!) away from the airport and you can walk through brandnew fully air-conditioned walkalator and they still complain about location!

With 71,263 people per square kilometer, Manila is also the most densely populated city proper in the world.

I can't believe that people, who represent themselves as successful businessmen, can't simply google. And also I found out, that they have been to the country, so they know that space here is very expensive. And yet enough is never enough for them.

"It worked out that as their was 5 of them, they were paying £25 per head per night meaning less than the local hostel."

Taking a chance, I would like to warn other hosts not to make to low prices. I made such mistake before as a newbie and got more problems than money. People, who do not pay, do not have respect for others as well.

8 months ago
2
Chris Gregg

Hi Akwador,

The property I have going for 2.5 year has 154 reviews its at 9.9 and the other going a year middle of October has 55 reviews and its just gone to 9.8. Would be as much as people with lots of rooms.

I sort of think its a target now for people to give it less reviews but as long as people go away happy hopefully try to keep it above 9.7.

Hi Katerinka,

I agree when it comes to pricing but I target larger families and small groups. I try to offer a better alternative than a hotel which would cost them up to 4 or 5 times the price. We would have a lot of competition now and because it's from people who are doing it as a part time job they can charge less. I'm happy with where my pricing is now and do keep an eye on it more now than I did before.

Thanks

8 months ago
1
Huntmadeleine

Is it there possibility on booking dot com to transfer reviews from other sites? Since the calendars are synchronised the same should apply to reviews. there are possibilities to invite guests to leave the review on homeaway trip advisor and other even if they book through different site . It really make sense to synchronise that in order to make clear and matching with other site picture of the listed property

8 months ago
7
Katerinka12

I think transferring reviews from other sites is not a good idea. The crowd is different from site to site, why to mix them?

8 months ago
1
Huntmadeleine

I beg your pardon Katerinka12...what do you mean by "the crowd is different" ? When people search for holiday destination they using as many sites as possible to find the best and most suitable accommodation. The same location should have matching information on all sites including available dates, price (that could vary depends of the interest charges of particular site) ,description and guests opinions and comments.

8 months ago
7
Thuild - Your …

I once had a perfect 10/10 review score and then came some super shady guests who left 5.2, 5.4 and then a 2.5.

If you ever had to deal with dramatic romanians, you know what I'm talking about and how ugly it can get because they think that they can get away with anything.

Well, not on my watch.

Anyways, everything above 9.0 is a great total score and you should be thankful for it.

Some places have 8.6 and they are amazing places to stay at, just that guests don't have their expectations meeting their pockets, that's where the issues start to happen 80% of the time.

I do agree that we need an overhaul of the review system in BDC because it's horrible compared to other OTAs and sites. People reviewing simply mess it up because it's counter intuitive the way BDC presents it to them.

I also have issues with the location score. Seems like a quiet near the forest B&B is not something that everyone wants or that they say the location is not in the city center, well I have yet to see a forest in a city center (ok, maybe Central Park in NY).

People are people and what matters is how they feel and when they return, that means you've done a great job.

Zsolt - www.thuild.com

8 months ago
7
Katerinka12

Are you a host or a guest? :)

Why to look from guest's perspective only?

The same place can be totally different player for each platform. In other words, good Airbnb place can be good only with Airbnb and nowhere else. And yes, the crowd is different. I don't want my Booking guests know about my happy Airbnb clients. Though my score will reach ten.

I am here for business and I am not renting my place for free or almost free as many guests from Airbnb except. My area is Luxury in all senses and Very Expensive. We strive to provide classy service, not a chat over coffee ala "meet locals" in exchange of providing the "free" (not used) bed. Though Airbnb started to change, it's not over one night people will change their mindset and expectations (and some can't change pocket, period:))

Anyway, despite what is said above... Why? Why out of all platforms in the world its Booking who has to pull out reviews from other sites?? I have never seen such discussion on other sites. Hey! Airbnb! Pull out reviews from Booking. It makes me smile. Why, they will say. And who will pay for it? You?

I understand, Priceline owns Agoda. That's why reviews to Agoda are pulled out from Booking. But why all of a sudden Booking will pull out reviews from His Competitors??? Didn't you know that if Booking will do that, they will be sued right away. For hundreds of millions of dollars.

8 months ago
6
michael beeston

Hi Joey and Katerina.....great to see your replies and yes Joey, we sell the rooms on a week day (*when its quiet) for 100 Euros but more on the weekend and Xmas /Easter...We shall make over 32 Thousand Euros this year (Gross) and like Katerinka12 says ..its purely BUSINESS for us.!!! .THE PROPERTY IS VERY LUXURIOUS AND HAS EVERYTHING THE CLIENT WANTS.!!!.....we have stopped using AIRBNB as AIRBNB in Australia has a poor name (unfortunately) but if their BRAND improves we shall use again but with booking.com its almost full full and at really good prices...........Joey/Katerina....you are ALWAYS welcome to stay.........The Gold Coast in Australia is BRILLIANT !!..Thanks for the very interesting comments EVERYONE.......Michael.

8 months ago
1
Huntmadeleine

Yes I am a host Katerinka12 and I totally disagree about some mysterious selection of guests which belong to particular sites. Accommodations are often recommended to people by searching engines rather than individual search. The first ones which are automatically selected are those ones that match the person requirements and have most positive reviews in general. If anyone have lots of reviews on any other site than BDC then the BDC is loosing potential clients who will book the same property through other site only because have more reviews on it.

8 months ago
7
Katerinka12

Thank you, Michael, for your warm invitation. This year Australia should wait :)

Did you see Dick Smith's videos about foreign otas killing local tourism business? Its so funny to read the comments. They say a lot what different people think about OTAs, do they love to pay otas or not, do they book directly in Australia or not (I was surprised, most in Australia don't), and many people say Dick Smith should run and be vice president :)

8 months ago
7
Katerinka12

"mysterious selection of guests which belong to particular sites"

It's not misterious. It's Arbnb! (I mentioned them and described in full colors).
They have common characteristics. Though as Partner to Partner I wish you wouldn't meet them :)

I find this information contradictory:

"Accommodations are often recommended to people by searching engines rather than individual search."

I am confused. First its search engine recommends. And not individual. And then suddenly its individual and "only because have more reviews on it."

And "only because have more reviews on it." - and that's definitely not about me and many other people. It's simply impossible that other people will decide for me. Again, I never choose any accommodation "ONLY because have more reviews on it."

Just think! More reviews LOL... If ever I even read reviews, one powerful review will beat hundreds of clones. And yet, never ever ANY review will push me and my money to any property.

If other people (and in your case definitely misterious) push you to decide where to put your own body at your own expense, then what can I say...

"The first ones which are automatically selected are those ones that match the person requirements and have most positive reviews in general."

That information is not true. Thus your conclusions.

Its not "automatically" selected. Those who pay get to top. Google doesn't care about any reviews. They care about budget for Google ads. And Booking paid more than anyone to appear on top. And lately they paid more to control Google maps.

Its money, money, big money that decide!

8 months ago
6
michael beeston

Hi everyone *

Just another funny story about people and their expectations and reviews.....................we had a Chap who stayed a month ago and went to the Horse races on Saturday morning..are you ready..he gave us a 7.5 for location because he had to catch a taxi to the Racecourse ( approx 3 kilometers away)..then gave us 10 for everything else..I rang him and said " did you not look at the location on Google maps before booking.... he said yes but I thought it was closer !!!.He then said he loved the place so much he has booked for another 4 nights...I then said "what about the location"..He said I will still give you 7.5 for location but 10 for everything else !!.WHAT TO DO (haha)

Another story.............we had a couple from the UK who stayed 3 nights......Champagne in the Fridge/Sparkling water/Beautiful Soaps/Shampoos/Luxury Towels @ $65.00 each/Tennis Raquets and balls for the Tennis court/Heated Swimming Pool/Movie room with 1.5 ,metre screen/Huge BBQ area with deck chairs and spectacular views/30 metres to the Nerang River and 300 metres to the World Famous Gold Coast beaches.........I went to see her and say hello before they left and her answer.."It was nice but not enough facilities and we didn't drink the Champagne because we don't like it and there were too many boats on the Nerang River..hahahaha still gave us 10 But Wow !!!.what more can you do..........

last one........A couple from France..gave us 7.5 for cleaning and 10 for everything else!!..I rang and SHE said there was a cockroach in the apartment, it must have been "dirty"...They had left the balcony doors open all night because they loved the fresh air !!!..Guess what the cockroach had flown in (hahahaha).you have to laugh BUT that is the fickle part of Guests sometimes..

Has anyone any more "funny" stories about people and their expectations..MAYBE WE SHOULD ALL WRITE A BOOK and call it the Great Crazy Reviews.

8 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

My reviews are excellent but I also have problems with the location since we are in a village up the hill and the village center is 3 kilometers away. The location can’t change and surely guests know where they’re coming. I think Location review has to be revised.

8 months ago
3
Akwador

We have all had the guest who cannot be appeased and sure enough slates everything in their review. The only thing I dislike more than that is the guest who is all smiles for their entire stay and tells you that 'they had a great time' and THEN slates you in a review, quite often anonymously - but you know who he is as he was the only Italian speaking guest for the entire month!

We had a Spanish couple who came with a baby. They never told us about the baby but we provided a cot for them free of charge. They had no English, so probably understood half of what I was saying. They stayed three nights - and just as they were leaving he said that there was 'no water' in the basin.

I went to check the room and found nothing wrong. When his review arrived, he said they had to use the shower only as there was 'no water in the basin taps'. Basically he was turning the tap side to side and not lifting it first to get the water! I tackled that review by explaining that and then using the opportunity to say:

Future Guests: If there is anything wrong, PLEASE come and tell us - we cannot assist if we do not know something is wrong!'

!

8 months ago
6
michael beeston

Akwador..............TOTALLY AGREE !!!.we also had a guest who arrived at 2pm and rang me at 7pm in the evening to say the TV was not working...I only live ten minutes away and tried to tell her, maybe it was a battery in the remote or could it wait until the morning.She said No so i went over ..ONLY to find she had NOT switched the electrical plug on !!!! and YES !!!.people who smile all day and then write a poor review are painful and most of the time it is anonymously.

I always say if there is something wrong please please call me............very interesting comments everyone..Michael.

8 months ago
7
Katerinka12

Hi Everyone!

Your place, Michael, sounds like perfect luxury place to stay, where guests after champagne should forget about any reviews!

Some guests, who are still under euphoria from the trip, do not write reviews. And some guests, I found out, just... Lazy! That's what they told me turning over their phones asking me to write review for myself.

And I don't know the reason why...but Austrians do always write a review. No wonder many hotel general managers are Austrians.

Joey, you really make me smile, because your love for Airbnb is amazing :)

In the biggest nightmare I cant imagine the guest asking you to polish his shoes!

We have 24/7 Concierge and Security (you can videochat with them right from apartment). They can help with anything you need, like manually catching taxi for you.

PLUS (!!!) in addition to that, there is a dedicated manager, who stays in the area till 10pm. I remember, when I was traveling to Bangkok and stayed in Shangri-la, I paid huge money for personal butler. Thailand supposed not to be expensive like UAE and Qatar (butlers there cost a lot, I tried).

Imagine, how does it feel to have a person, who is attached to you personally and not serving 100 guests at the same time. Cleaning, laundry, buying tickets, exchange money, call taxi, get movie tickets, grocery delivery, travel advise, etc.

And yet.... The guest wrote in review "Poor English" and gave low score. Just another very disappointing thing that English-speaking person expects 3rd world country speak perfect English. And completely disregards that over taking care practically about anything no nonsense guest can ask for.

We are not even Bed and Breakfast, but I will be honest with you, partners. Joey wouldn't polish his guests shoes, but in Philippines it's normal and for small tip is even appreciated (we are lucky, so far no guest asked for that, he he)

I am also disappointed with Booking allowing using vulgar words in reviews!!! Those guests are just angry with the country and all their anger falls on us. I cant teach them after bad review, that Manila is the highest density city in the world and we can't stop traffic in the prime area of the capital! Those things are out of our control!

I wrote 3 (!) times to Booking asking to remove vulgar words from review as it is exposed to general public. I quoted several dictionaries and laws (I hope no one doubts here my ability to quote 100 things :))

And here is the thing, Booking. If you allow to publish on your site and allow your partners to be called **, what kind of respect do you think you can gain from us???

When we got racist comment on Airbnb, there was one special department involved. They tooked it absolutely very seriously and removed this comment. Before receiving that awful comment, I offered 2 nights for free to the guest, who was disappointed with the whole country. That's another prove, that champagne, Michael, is not enough facility :))

All those "magical" electric plugs require printed House Rules with step-by-step explanations.

8 months ago
7
Katerinka12

Some facts:

1) Advertising budget = top place in search

Now this sounds interesting. We know OTAs have been spending a fortune on Google AdWords for years (with Priceline Group Inc. and Expedia Inc. actually accounting alone for about 5% of Google overall revenue, some estimate). But seeing referrals from meta-search specifically listed here is actually a big change in Priceline’s visibility strategy. In other sources, Priceline is said to have spent about $350M on Trivago cost-per-click based advertising in 2016, representing about 10% of overall Priceline online advertising spend.

2) Different business models

Advertising business model:
TripAdvisor

Agency business model: Booking.com

Merchant business model: Expedia

3) Law vs. Dream :)

8 months ago
7
Katerinka12

You are right about vulgarity. You know, there is always a "first time".

Booking.com publishing competitors price on its site.. Wow, so unprofessional. And what is completely out of order, that they do not revise their reviews, and yet they can be sued for that (it's not the threat just stating the fact).

Booking, wake up. You need to reorganize your review officers. As the situation became comic.

Ready to laugh? :)

"Dear Partner,

Thanks for your request. We’ve taken another look at the review in question and have decided not to remove it because the comments don’t go against our policies. The review in question will remain online because it meets our guiding principles of being:

Appropriate for a global audience
Travel related
Genuine and unique
Respectful of others’ privacy"

I didn't know that SH#%/T is genuine and unique!!!

8 months ago