user avatar image
1

My secret to incredible guest reviews

Every guest that enters our home is welcomed as part of our family.We provide a home away from home to everyone.

  • Spend time getting to know your guests over a cup of tea & some yummy pastries.
  • If they have been travelling for a few days as if you can do their laundry.
  • If they are staying for a number of nights send them of with a picnic to enjoy. 
  • Have useful brochures about what to see in your area & the surrounding areas also know your history of all areas.
  • Look up useful information that they have queries about.
In general treat your guests like you would like to be treated.
100 Replies

7
Katerinka12

"and I will ask it again: why is t that I can sell a room for Euro 70 in the low season through BDC but Airbnb makes me want to ask for Euro 34?"

Do they suggest it as minimum rate? You can make it fixed. Need to be very careful with Airbnb as they tend to not only not make business, but make up us bankrupts. When property is extremely very serious expense and liability.

Another reason could be, how is Airbnb performance in your country? As it was mentioned here, Airbnb has bad reputation in Australia. In Philippines its neutral.

To let you and other partners know, the income difference for us is 7% (BDC is higher than Airbnb). Provided, however, I am Superhost with excellent reviews and always on Instant booking.

With your social roles changing from tour guide to drink buddy you can try Experiences by Airbnb. You deserve to be paid for that.

10 months ago
7
Katerinka12

" I don't think it has anything to do with my country as my guests are international. But, perhaps, the biggest problem is that the calendars do not sync properly"

Our guests are also international (and that's where Booking is great at).

There must be a reason, why Booking works for you. And Airbnb does not perform that well.

Synchronization of calendars is not an answer to pricing. I do it manually. After too many problems with top performing sites, like Tokeet

10 months ago
6
michael beeston

Hi Katerinka.....................We are not quite the same as we have predominately Australian guests BUt I guess 20% of our guests are either Japanese/Chinese/other Nationalities. (All Booking.com)

We also do the calendars manually and it works for us. and yes !! we have friends who use Airbnb and it works for them..but once again for us (maybe pricing) Booking is by far the BEST site and Airbnb/Stayz virtually nothing.

10 months ago
6
michael beeston

Joey.....Same here, Airbnb are always saying reduce your price as the competition is getting the business...........CRAP !!!.if we went as low as Airbnb say, it is not worth the effort or time ( I may as well rent full time),versus Booking...great prices and consistent good profitable bookings..............renting short term for 30 Euro a night..FORGET IT !!!!!

10 months ago
6
michael beeston

Hey Joey.............I am not British..I am WELSH !!!...hahaha I went to Aussie with my parents when I was 5 and grew up in Sydney...............for the last 30 years I have been an expatriate, living predominately in the Middle East and China but came back to Australia six years ago to be with my elderly parents and to look after them.......we have a house in Dubai and still travel when we can, so a little about me.......Married/3 children/5 grandchildren...HELP !!! (haha).......you are right about certain guests..................Stupid or maybe just in HOLIDAY MOOD !!!.anyway I love reading all these articles especially from you and Katerina....keep em coming guys...I think everybody gets a lot of information from them...........many thanks Michael.

10 months ago
6
michael beeston

We also manage 54 apartments and houses in Queensland so get quite a few personal bookings as well for our property.

10 months ago
7
Katerinka12

"like for example why do guests still choose booking.com.?"

They appear on top of the search. Personally I like multilingual thing.

And this horrible thing about Airbnb. I want to pay and feel like a Queen.

10 months ago
6
michael beeston

Katerinka....................WOW !!! absolutely agree...people pay me good money for a LUXURIOUS property to stay and I want to SPOIL them (only for a short time) but that is what its all about !!!

And that is ONE of the reasons we have 55..10's in a row from Booking....One day for sure we will get a guest (for whatever reason will give us an 7/8 or 9) BUT for the time being..........Be a Queen or King for a while...haha LOVE IT..Michael.

PS..The property has 100 year old Chinese antiques and 80 year old Persian carpets Plus a Versace Dinner/Coffee set/Satin and Cotton stripped sheets and pillow cases/ Cut Crystal Champagne/Wine Glasses and plenty of Paintings from All over the World.......SPOILT GUESTS..... YES !!!!!!

10 months ago
7
Katerinka12

Lets say Airbnb doesn't care that we need food to eat (not to mention Michael has 5 grandchildren :))...

People! Seriously! It's my social responsibility to warn you, that low prices are almost the guarantee that crime will happen in your place. And the line between bad and good is so thin. Who do you think government will blame, guest with no money (thanks to Airbnb low price) or you with money and more important - property owner, where something bad happened?

Can you just imagine what kind of people do low prices attract? I have never imagined that those smiling people looking intelligent and well behaved, do actually steal!

I forgot to ask Michael a question and it's a just right time: Luxury Towels @ $65.00??? How do you keep them alive?

We have 24/7 security and they are good. But how would they even know that good looking foreigner leaves the place with small bag with our luxury towels?

I was sceptical from the beginning as too many expenses suddenly fell on my shoulders, but my caretaker asked to buy premium quality towels, and I spent the fortune.

And bye bye, my money. From ALL apartments towels were stolen. Usually it's a "girlfriend" of a paying client.

Can you imagine, what happened to us few days ago? One client, a lady, forgot her shoes. We promised to return them to her. They were in the closet, we didn't bring them home. Just one night. How naive we are... The shoes are gone. Together with the girlfriend of our Chinese client. I am under stress now as I look so bad, I gave my word of promise and wasn't able to deliver it. For me, it's a big failure, normally I do what I say despite being a lady.

And yesterday we revised all our things. The beautiful glass shots for vodka or tequila are missing. We never saw them broken (which is ok for us). Most probably, someone took them home.

And someone will say "report to police", "report to Airbnb"... The question is how to do that in real life? I would never blame a person, who didn't steal. I will stop to respect myself. When I finally found out, who was the guest, who stole, I overpassed 14 days period of time Airbnb gives to report stolen things. Oh, and there should be no guest after him. Again, Airbnb loves when hosts loose money.

How can we catch the thief, if we have clients every single day? Do you think that a guy bringing a prostitute at 4am does really report to us?

OK, another person is already in China... What the sense to bring attention of local police (by the way the police station is 5 minutes away).

And didn't you know, that the person who steals runs away like a rat? They do not wait for check out time. In the middle of the night they are gone. We already lack sleep, what more can we do?

I stopped buying luxury towels. No more. We bought just normal towels. Everything we buy now is medium quality, not completely cheap staff. We still believe that appliances are hard to steal, that's why I spend a lot for them. But technically speaking... If you use elevator and the car is waiting for you at the basement... That's it!

Really, why not to spend few bucks as Airbnb insists and get in return Sony TV, Sharp microwave, luxury towels, dinnerware.. The airport is just 300m away. And did you see in real life people that get their towels insured?

We are lucky, that we are surrounded by security (many of them!), police and basically it's overpopulated country, people are everywhere. It's hard to imagine that serious crime can happen here. However, our clients are foreigners who leave the country and don't forget, Philippines is super corrupt. It's close to impossible to fight here for stolen staff. I already tried and even got Warrant of Arest. The thief "can't be found", so they can't serve it to him. Even if he walks in front of their face. That's how horribly corrupt Philippines is.

And again, why I use Booking and not Airbnb. Though Booking is not 100% guarantee, they have more professional places to stay. Lady alone, Christian, a bit pretty :) staying at stranger's home for few bucks? No way. What will I do then? Call to Airbnb "support" and cry I was raped? I would not give a single chance that to happen. No money, then stay home.

Nothing is a guarantee. That's why do not give a single chance to something bad happen. How will I fight for my rights in foreign country? Even in your own country, would you wait for something bad happen and complaing After?

Do you know that the most beautiful places to travel usually belong to countries, where law is for locals only, where "moral police" operates, where for few bucks people forget that they are people? Just to give you an idea, google cases of British people in UAE. The world does not consist only of USA and UK.

Your safety costs a lot and your body is a palace. Does your body cost just few bucks, that you allow yourself to stay at closed territory - apartment (oh, smiling woman in profile, but do you know who in actual?)

The person, who rents his apartment for few bucks in prime area is already in question. I know how much cleaning costs. In Majority of countries cleaning is very expensive. I wouldn't mind people smiling at me just because of my money, when in fact they hate me because they need to service me... As long as my Safety is not compromised! Everything else (hotel stars, reviews, etc) is childish staff compare to my safety.

With few exceptions only, Airbnb is known as cheapy cheapy site. I sincerely hope, they will stop pushing hosts to bankruptcy and distress, that host offered something so important and intimate - his own place and yet he can't find money for cleaning materials. That's not how this business runs.

10 months ago
6
michael beeston

Joey.I agree with what you say BUT I dont think they will change their review system............not for us anyway.and if three people come in instead of two...TOUGH !!!.....The hospitality business is very good BUT maybe 5% of people are a little "criminal"{ and book for 2 and let 3/4 stay or steal the towels or pinch the Coffee/Tea/ .it goes on.We have been "so so lucky" that NOTHING has been taken from our OWN property in almost 4 years BUT the other houses we look after....WOW !!..broken glasses/Coffee machines missing/Towels either stolen or so badly damaged they cant be used again.................

Katerinka...We ONLY use the $65.00 Towels in our property as we bought them from a wholesaler ( 15 at a time) and we use them for US ( yes we also like to be treated like Kings and Queens sometimes haha)......I have read your comments and although (thank goodness) it has not happened in our property...........the other Short term rentals we look after ( Houses which sleep 14/16 are a constant problem...mainly young people who Drink excessively/leave the property a pig sty when they leave and dont put bins out.the list goes on and on but I shall not mention these properties in this Forum as it is "purely a business" for these owners and we have $1500 Bonds which pay for any damage theft ect.................by the way I also have a cleaning company for Hospitality so have 100s of Sheets/Towels ( normal ones haha) and

10 months ago
6
michael beeston

oops pressed the wrong button....................and everything that we need for cleaning ( 4 staff) so the more mess the more I make ...silly isn't it but true..Last word........Thats the Hospitality business.all good BUT can be ruined by just a few Rat Bags.( maybe 5%)

10 months ago
7
Katerinka12

Some things are usual and normal for you, but I am a newbie compare to you. I am interested in all these details that would sound small to you, but important for me and other hosts. Like " we have $1500 Bonds" - what exactly do you mean? How do you organize your staff, responsibility, etc while having many properties?

And please... Do not forget that 5% Rat Bags in Australia could mean %50 Rat Bags in Philippines...

10 months ago
7
Katerinka12

"and we use them for US"

What does it mean exactly? Guests from USA? Properties located in USA (as I could remember your properties are in Australia)? For us = you and your wife? If so, how do you share your luxury towels with guests? :)

10 months ago
6
michael beeston

Hi Katerinka................I know the Philippines very well ( I used to work in Saudi Arabia and came to the Philippines for staff recruitment) so I know what you mean.

Back to business..............when the guests make a booking in the large houses we take a Bond ( a deposit against damages) of $1500 and after they leave we check the property for any damage/theft and if required take whatever money out of that Bond and return the balance )

The luxury Towels we use ONLY for the Pinnacle and at home for Rita and I ( 4 Towels are left in both bathrooms and 1 spare)..normally and this is true......the guest ( we Only take 2 guests and a lot of time Business people of ONLY 1) They only use one maybe 2 towels so it is mainly for show !!!.If and this is regular we have 3 separate guest in a 7 day period...it doesn't take long to use up the towels and we send them to the Professional Laundry with the rest of our sheets/pillow cases and stuff.

Yes, we are a professional cleaning company so a little different from everybody out there except Hotels..BUT our own property The Pinnacle, we rent out and treat just like all you guys.

10 months ago
7
Katerinka12

I think 20 Euros for a towel is enough. We take so good care... Hand washing with love. Any towel after many washing will loose its softness. Not to mention how do guests actually treat towels... They put on towels anything their body can produce :)

10 months ago
6
michael beeston

have a look at our website and you shall see some of the towels and stuff in the pics......................The Pinnacle Apartments God Coast..enjoy and talk again........Michael.

10 months ago
6
michael beeston

agree............we normally buy for ALL the other houses and apartments..Towels for 8/10 Euro and after a year or so use them for rags. Apart from the Pinnacle all the other houses /a[apartments are Purely Business and is run differently.

10 months ago
7
Katerinka12

"Back to business..............when the guests make a booking in the large houses we take a Bond ( a deposit against damages) of $1500"

$1500 for one day rental? Please, do not skip details as they are important to us. In other thread we discuss how to take those deposits. By cash? Credit card? How do you do that?

"we rent out and treat just like all you guys."

What do you mean? All = different. I rent out daily apartments in front of airport. Other hosts have hotels. Some villas near the beach. So different. If you stay at the place you rent out - it's completely different story..

10 months ago
6
michael beeston

Joey......Again I agree.when we decided to rent out our place ..we went to the extreme with LUXURY Towels/face washers and all LUXURY items so it would make a real difference and it has !!

Wether I would do the same with very expensive items again....( not sure because only a few guest really appreciate what is there and know how much things cost) they are there for a short holiday and just want to enjoy themselves....For example we have a 100 Chinese Cabinet in the Lounge ( worth .approx $8.000 But does anyone know. ???? or care for that matter,it just adds to the charm of the property, and makes it so different from anything else on the Gold Coast.

10 months ago
7
Katerinka12

Joey, only this time I am not joking. Yes, handwashed. And yes, taking good care - Philippines is number one. Even rich people put washing machines just to show off. What the sense of using them? Electricity is extremely expensive and housekeepers will not allow to use washing machine. It's gently washed with care, love and professionalism that runs in Filipino blood.

" people pay me good money for a LUXURIOUS property to stay and I want to SPOIL them (only for a short time) but that is what its all about !!!"

How I want it. I removed my carpets that cost (you understand how much) each. As for furniture I truly appreciate it and amazed at your taste. It's not only about every particular piece (which is out of question, a hit), but blending them into a cozy, so smooth interior shows everything about the owners - culture, background, taste.. I can read between the lines :)

And again, "people pay me good money for a LUXURIOUS property."

You will be very surprised, how foreigners are demanding to stay at luxurious property without paying good money. It seems they are just different people once in their own country and out of the country...

10 months ago
5
Sara Jarvis

My lastest booking.com left her review in a text message seen by no one but me , some don’t realise that like ABB we need them on the actual site !!!!! IT would be easier if they received an email reminding them.

10 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Sara Jarvis one of my guests did exactly the same thing. I called Booking for advice and they send a second message to the guest and finally the review was posted.

10 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Katerinka12 Hand washing is very painful. I use white vinegar in my washing machine and towels remain very fluffy.

10 months ago
7
Katerinka12

This is really an exception (do not follow as advise), because its very cultural thing. It's common believe in Philippines, that gentle care means handwashing and using washing machine means you don't take care about your clothes/towels. Even if I will ask them to use washing machine, they will say yes just to avoid debate and will still handwash.

As for me I use gloves my whole life, and my skin is my pride 😊 do you mix white vinegar with powder? 9% vinegar? Gel? And 1st or 2nd washing? I tried to boil, then used good quality German gel, washed several times... It didn't help. Then I lost my patience and took a risk - I used soft bleach. I can't say it ruined the fabrics, but that ultrasoftness is lost. And I just love to spend several hours every day taking bath tab and to feel that softness after... So disappointing
.. My ex is using towel (every day) , that I brought from Turkey 18 years ago. I even remember the price, it was 10 dollars. And that towel is still nice, 9 out of 10. And what happens now? I bought more expensive towels, but the quality is missing. They were much more soft when I bought them. I bought 4 and 3 were stolen. Someone liked the quality, I guess :)

In all my decisions and actions, I always think what if I am the guest? How would I like to be treated? You know, if I am in Australia I will buy the best towels, amazing bath robes, bring caviar and champagne... I know where to get them cheap 🍾 and will charge my guests expensive. Just like Michael. Need a luxury treatment, then pay accordingly.

But in Philippines... They want luxury and pay as for hostel... Those foreigners, who believe in fairy tale that Philippines is cheap. When Philippines is expensive, big time. Plus, in addition to that, our place is for flight layover, so easy for guests to steal and leave the country.

So, Medium quality as of now. I am thinking to get premium quality (any brand recommendation?) and offer them to my loyal clients, I think they deserve it.

10 months ago
7
Katerinka12

Joey,

Please, read carefully my previous comments. I would not repeat, but will add some info :) Personally, I wash only panties (sorry for those details) and clothes that requires gentle care. Like knitted pullovers. Goose down pillows, blankets, down jacket do also require handwashing.

In Philippines even professional laundry uses handwashing. And it's close to impossible to survive with high electricity bills.

And now is very good point about the time. Doing something by hands is already in Filipino blood. They love to do any work by hands and they do that fast. What takes me to clean 5 hours, they do in 1 hour. They have been known for the best house keepers in the world.

As for result it can be achieved the same. I also find that only pillowcases need a bit of ironing. If ever :)

"Your idea of adding vinegar" it was Adamopoulou's idea. That's why I keep asking so many questions. I know one wrong move can ruin everything, that's why its better to ask and not regret later. Thank you for warning.

10 months ago
6
michael beeston

Hi everyone.............Have been reading with great interest. Katerinka..I employ 2 Philippino house keepers and they are great...hard working and fast.

When we first stated we washed and ironed all the sheets/pillow cases and stuff ourselves ( we even bought a large industrial Washing machine and Dryer) BUT it became too hard once we became a bit larger.NOW with 50 apartments we use a Professional Laundry for everything EXCEPT the lovely Towels for the Pinnacle..we still wash these at home ( maybe it is not necessary but my wife says it is better and the guests love it. ( who's Brave enough to argue with a lady !!!!!)

Katerinka...if you need any further help.my email is as follows ..michaelbeeston@yahoo.com..as when we talk my business is slightly different than one or 2 personnel apartments or houses...............Our own apartment The Pinnacle is VERY Luxurious and we look after it personally, the rest the staff and myself..sometimes during a busy week we go through over 120 Towels and dozens and dozens of sheets /pillow cases/face towels..so in future lets talk Only about the Pinnacle as its the one that we all relate too.......Joey as I said last time.......I maybe ( definitely) went overboard with The Pinnacle..the sheets are stripped cotton and Satin sheets ( like the pillow cases ) at I think 25 Euro each, that does not include the pillow cases......Do the guests notice..I am not sure but I have them so use them...........Adamopoulos about the vinegar....???..not sure about that either but my mother used to use the old fashioned ways and it WORKED.

Thanks guys.Love talking and hopefully some useful info as well.take care and bye for now.,,,Michael.

10 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Katerinka12 First of all when I buy new towels I wash them the first time without detergent. In regular washing I put one cup white vinegar when rinsing. Now for worn out towels I put one cup vinegar with detergent in the washing program. I hope it helps you also. Unfortunately softeners have great aromas but in general make our fabrics stiff.

10 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Michael Beaton Yes I thing the old fashioned ways have inspired us. It works for me. I prefer that from harsh cleaners. As for the linens I also use the cotton satins and I love them. Some of my guests have made nice comments about my linens and towels.

10 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Joey yes I use vinegar in rinsing. Only in worn out towels I use it with detergent every 3 months.

10 months ago
7
Katerinka12

As long as your wife is happy! In Philippines and other countries as well we are spoiled with helpers, but at one point of my life I understood that my life is fully governed by the helpers. I also became too successful in business and disorganized at home. Does woman really need it? So, I stopped relying on my maids. I stopped dining only in fine dining restaurants or eat what maids cooks. I love to take care of my own things even if they need handwash or special knowledge on vinegar :) Besides I made research that woman needs to work with her hands. It adds feminity and improves heartbeat :)

It's my life plan to have 3 kids, 5 grandchildren and 64 (?) apartments. So, I am like 3 percent done :) I knew from the very start, that it will require delegating tasks and the boss should concentrate on expanding, not being completely involved in routine tasks. So, I trained my staff, created a team, got steady flow of clients and slowly expanding. I already understood that Pinnacle is the one your heart belongs to. So, not to confuse 2 businesses I will prepare email to you with many questions and thanks in advance for your help!

10 months ago
1
Wendycroft02

I am new to booking.com. I don't understand how the reviews works here.. Im hosting in airbnb for a year now and Im a superhost there.. I just joined to booking recently.. First guest were happy, contacted me after 3 days of check out that she wants to come back. But didn't leave a review. Second, says the room is nice and beautiful , and the negative is there is no taxi.. , overall score is 3.8, I was thinking maybe he made a mistake with the scoring, like maybe he thinks 1 is the best and 10 is the worst.. He complains about the location and gives it a 7.5 score and the rest is 2.5 .., I am still thinking how Im going to recover.. 3.8 is a very low score and its my first review from guests..

9 months ago
2
Chris Gregg

Hi Wendy,
From your post I would think that is a mistake. I would contact the guest and ask them did they mean to give that score and ask for feed back on what you could do to improve guests stay. If it is a mistake explain that this will affect your business and would they mind changing the review to correct the error then contact booking to either remove or change. You will need to contact booking for a number to pass on to guest or ask them to contact guest. Booking will then send them and email to allow them to do this.
The way the reviews work is not great basically the guest has to hit faces the happiest face is for 10. I believe there is 6 sections. If you press the wrong face you can't go back and change it.
Airbnb review system is far better for our type of properties. Booking have been saying their going to change for a long time amd have made small changes but it needs a complete overhaul.
Very unfortunate. Good luck with sorting it out.
Thanks Chris

9 months ago
5
Sara Jarvis

Hi Wendy, don’t worry my friend up the road had nothing but 10s on BDC and is devastated that the last guest did 0 on everything although he tried to rebook a further week

it has to be a massive mistake

9 months ago
1
Wendycroft02

Thank you so much Chris and Sara.. I appreciate your encouraging comments. Your input is very helpful.Im hoping that I can compensate the low rating with the future guests . Regards. Wendy

9 months ago
1
Beryl Kristen

Hi Wendy

I am also new to BDC. We went through the same experience! Our very first guests who actually stayed at the accommodation left us some very disturbed feed back which in our opinion had affected our score rating and caused the agency to do an urgent verification on the property. My exact thoughts were, that we were not so fairly treated prior to the fact that we went through an agreement to grant good discount.

One of the visitors even contacted privately wanting to re book a team to stay at the accommodation regularly whenever they visit the country! You can guess what our answer to that is :) Even the disturbed feed back was revised for a better one. Anyway, after that with our other guests, our scoring has improved even to an awesome 10"

So I think we will always have expect the good and not so good at times! So don't be discouraged. It will get better.

9 months ago
2
Nabin Giri

No matter how does guest react from your answering but the thing is you need to stand in font of them i mean like once you start give suggestions that should be workable and match able, guest should feel that this place is safe to stay and once they understand your hospitality then you will not chose another place to stay and as my view guest don't like to shift the place, they always love to stay into the same place but the things is that, just we need to shift the rooms when they chink in again. They need to know the difference ....

6 months ago
1
Gina

Beware of the free booze offering - we had a gentleman staying who was a licensing officer, attending Court the next day. He advised that a gift of alcohol to a paying guest on an unlicensed premises is a sale of alcohol. He was perfectly okay but serious about the warning. Check the profession first is my best advice.

Thank you Booking.Com we love hosting and meeting so many people

6 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Hi! Gina and welcome to the forum. Wow!!! What a story you shared with us!!!! Never thought of that. Thanks again for warning.
Yes, meeting so many different people is such a challenge...

6 months ago
6
michael beeston

Hi Katerinka..................haha I have 3 children/5 grandchildren and 54 apartments we look after......haha I am ALMOST there. I love all the comments, so bloody interesting and informative..!!!..Cool as.

6 months ago
2
wendy crews

We have a backpackers lodge and a holiday home on the same grounds. We live at the front of the lodge and share the kitchen with the guests. Doing this allows us to be available without being intrusive. Generally the guests think this is amazing and often join us for meals.

When we first bought the property five years ago I had no idea how to run it. Some friends said I should have themes for the rooms but that is not me. In the end, time went by and I found being myself was the answer. I love to make people happy I love to remember every guests name and also I know to step back when people want their own space. I had a cleaning business before the lodge so our motto is clean and friendly. This has given us a 9.3 score when we are not in a tourist area.

I think you have to work within your own personality then it will be real and the guests know that

6 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Personality is the combination of thinking, feeling, behavior and attitude.

Having a good personality is more important then being so good looking and guests appreciate when hosts have it.

Wish a good day to all...

6 months ago
1
Debrasutherland

I only wish untrue reviews could be removed. I had a guest leave me a 5 as there were only 2 small heaters (which are meant for the bedrooms) in the house. This is not true, I have reverse cycle A/C in the main living areas. The gas isn't available in our town so this is the best electrical heating we can have. Another downrated me to 7.5 because I had patched the doors and I should have replaced them. Turned out to be the corkboard notice boards he was talking about. Also said some one was living upstairs in the storage area and the females in the group were scared. This was possums on the roof. We have those in Australia. Someone else wrote that she had a creepy crawly feeling on her skin like there were dust mites. Never has anyone else mention this and I've never felt like that. Did however say the house was spotless. Luckily the majority of my reviews are 10s but these untrue lower scores bring it down.

4 months ago
6
michael beeston

Hello Debrasutherd........................Sometimes and I mean Only sometimes people make silly silly comments..Possums are as Aussie as Vegemite !!! and I made a comment a few months ago,,,we had a British lady staying at the apartment in Surfers and she left the balcony doors open during the evening, next day a small cockroach was there ,she rang me and said the apartment needed pest control haha I told her we have pest control every three months but you MUST CLOSE the doors at night !!!..what to do !!!

4 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Michael thanks for posting. Now that Spring is here all kind of small insects try to enter the house. We have door nets in all of our doors and windows but these little insects can creep everywhere. Most guests understand that living in the country this is normal but some like to make a fuss of everything.... so I always inform guests to close door nets. In my house rules I mention that door nets have to be closed to avoid entrance of all kind of insects.
Don’t worry as long as we have Champagne!!!!!

4 months ago
6
michael beeston

haha as always........enjoy Spring, we are beginning Autumn......average temp around 24/25..very nice.

4 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Average temp 24-25 is Spring temp....you lucky guys... At the moment we have very strong winds...but starting from Monday and April 1st promises better weather...
Happy happy day Michael and Rita...

4 months ago
1
Thug3841

Could not agree more, bookings score system is very clever way of marketing themselves, they

give far too much tolerance between the points system,potential clients never really assess the difference between say 5 a 7-5.

4 months ago
1
Vera lloyd Farmilo

My rating score has gone down a point every year. 9.9 , 9.8 and probably on the slippery slope, yet I think the experience for guests gets better every year. Ratings are unbelievably one sided with hosts not being able to ask why they only gave a 9.2 for breakfast when they raved about it...and I expected a 10. I clearly state we are a 10 minute drive to Hobbiton Movie Set and get marked down for distance. I clearly state that I only take one booking at a time and then get marked down because the guests wanted to meet more people.(I'm sure a lot of people don't bother to read booking info)

What ratings have taught me is that I'm highly competative ,

I also don't like hounding people for reviews when they are on holiday.

However reviews seem to be a necessary evil!

4 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Most guests are aquainted with reviews. Although its optional to leave a review they think its their responsibility to leave a review so other guests can be informed...

4 months ago