user avatar image
1

Reviews

 Hi

 

Can you please tell me why the last guests reviews weren't approved?

 

 

30 Replies

2
Sergio S

Hi, we have many good reviews that, guests toll me was send it. and they never posted. Only a few goods and of course the post the badones right away. Look like they get paid by the guests no from us.

1 year ago
2
jewel

yup, booking.com need to start to understand it is us hoteliers who pays them not the guests!We all need to stand together to do something about it!

1 year ago
1
Nchabukishvili

Hi,

One of the last reviews disappeared. What could had happened?

1 year ago
1
Chandu

Hi,

I strongly agree with jewel. Booking .com have a really bad policy in regards to Guest reviews.

I had a customer booked a standard room. She saw Deluxe rooms are vacant. Next day she wrote a bad review, that she was not given Deluxe room.

I explained this to booking.com customer care, they simply said, they can't delete the post. They asked me to contact the guest. I called the guest and explained the situation and requested to change the review. She said she is not good with the computers. Now I am struck.

I am getting a bad review for using Booking.com.

1 year ago
1
Info

REVIEWS BEING REMOVED FOR NO REASON MARKET MANIPULATION
1
Avatar
Info
1 day ago
Booking.com removed some good reviews i had from a guest , they sent me an email accusing me of being a fraud and threatened to close my account but yet they have no proof i have proof this guest is genuine , even after proving them wrong they did not put the reviews back, and now they are just ignoring me been to account manager she has tried i think and now they are ignoring her ?? and i just noticed today that another good review has been removed , yes i am pretty pissed about this and i believe i know why this is happening ,

Property's that pay more commission get good reviews put in + better coverage more bookings more commission for Booking.com = More money for Booking.com

They Want the Property's that pay higher commission to sell there rooms first , im not sure even if this post will make it on to the forum , but i have screen shot it so and saved it.

1 year ago
2
Pottsofflemingate

When it comes to reviews Booking.com simply can't be trusted. Always getting things wrong in the name of free speech. See how long it takes them to hide this. There last mistake is this was

Contain content that is exclusively about a competitor and/or Booking.com, with no relation to travel

The above is a quote from your breaches of guidelines


Go to the Premier Inn 100 yards down the road.... is a quote from my review.
How do you square that one?

My advice is to go to airB&B on the next website.

If they keep treating their real customers like this they are like other big businesses that get too big for their boots.... on the way downhill.

1 year ago
7
pibomarco

No downhill for them bro. :) I am on AirbnB so? I need both of them, to accumulate more bookings.

1 year ago
2
Pottsofflemingate

That may be true but when it comes to trusting someone with your reputation, make sure it's not a bunch of clowns, that can tell right wrom wrong, or you will find your booking go down as well as your reputation. To blatently mention another business 100 yards down the road, has nothing to do with my business, so why is it on there????? They may be thick? But this must be a breach of Data laws???

1 year ago
7
pibomarco

My reputation wont go down, because I am a good host. Sure I will receive a negative review from time to time.. Can't do nothing about those patients and their different perspectives. All the other ones (the positive ones) matters. If you are a good host the positive reviews will prevail.
You have the last saying, write a reply to the review proffesionally and be calm and move on. If you are receiving negative reviews too frequently, then you are doing something wrong..

1 year ago
2
Pottsofflemingate

that sounds easy for you to say. Infact it's so easy you may be stupid enough to be working for Booking.com, however, moving on, some thing's are fair and sensible and some are not.... you may be a good host, but if you have been the victim of a malisious attack you will soon start to feel different.... Booking.com are getting this badly wrong...... they need to move on ..... in the correct direction.

1 year ago
7
pibomarco

This is part of the business.. Some hosts are reffering the negative reviews as lies. That is not necessary true. It may be a lie from your perspective, but from the guest perspective it isn't. That is why there is a saying "the guest is always right". So what is sensible and fair can be debatable. For you it may be sensible and fair, for some it may not be.. All i know is that I need BC more then they need me (into consideration that I was suspended in the past because of breach of contract after few warnings) and had a hard time to activate back my property. Lost quite a lot of bookings.. So it is easier to accept their system as it is (taken into consideration that is much improved as it was in the early years when they started), you do your best as a host and on a long term you will do well. I work with BC 10+ years.. been there done that, met all kind of guests and negative reviews, lots of frustration, hurt feelings.. So I do understand well what you are talking about. As I stated before.. we are like a mental institution for patients with free pass and we "need" to accept that. I would say that they are moving on.. slowly but they are. They have to.

1 year ago
1
Neilallan1

Hi

We have just had a very bad review which seems very strange. The guests were with us for 7 days and never complained, they complained about things that we know cant be right. They left after 7 days very happy. The review was posted 7 days after departure, we think they may have confused our villa with the next place they stayed. Is there any procedure for asking a guest to check their review is of the correct villa?

If I post a comment to the review does the comment get shared by email with the guest making the comment.

1 year ago
7
pibomarco

This situation happened to me twice in a month. Guest reviewed the wrong property. Try to contact the guest first if they made a mistake. I found that that this happened, because properties in the same area has the same photo of the "local attraction". The guest sent me a copy/paste picture why he made a mistake:
I've contact Booking.com regarding this, did take some time and they did delete the review afterwards.. The guest didn't know how to delete rhe review, so I had to contact BC.. really unnecessary waste of time.. very annoying.

1 year ago
5
Moira

my guest phoned to say he wants to review me but dont know how or where please help

1 year ago
1
Lemoulindelaportes

I am trying to canvass opinion on if someone simply clicks the sad face for all categories and then provides no comments should we be automatically given a right of reply? Or other option that they have to put a comment so we can have a right of reply. Would this improve things as I had had this happen and feel should have a right of reply. They are entitled to review as they wish but likewise I should have the opportunity to publicly comment back on this review?

10 months ago
2
Gail and John

False Review - Legally wrong? Defamation?

We have worked and given everything we own heart and soul into our Bed and Breakfast.

A guest booked a bedroom that clearly states that no cleaning services are available over the weekend.

We have just been reviewed about the "lack of cleaning services over the weekend"

IT CLEARLY STATES IN THE ROOM BOOKED THAT THERE ARE NO CLEANING SERVICES OVER THE WEEKEND . BUDGET ROOM ETC.....

I've just got off the phone with a booking.com agent and am now even angrier than ever, no sympathy no Im sorry about that...... NOTHING.

They review is posted and there is nothing that can be done about it - I quote.

HER ANSWER WAS SEND A EMAIL TO ***

Gosh why are we even in this industry - we stayed awake to welcome these guests after our close off time- they said they were hungry and we offered them food.

Has anyone else had a similar experience, did you manage to get the review deleted.

Thanks so much John and Gail.

9 months ago
1
Lemoulindelaportes

If they comment you can at least post a reply but no they won’t remove. I emailed and emailed them but they would not take down and in my case they hadn’t even commented so could not reply. Just scored the sad face for everything which results in a score of 2.5 out of 10.

9 months ago
5
Moira

I was in the same position with 2 guests and very upset that they busted my 10/10 score I maintained so far from all my other guests. Staff....thats me was scored 7 after treating them like royalty as I do all my guests. when they score us badly they should be forced somehow to explain why so we can at least give our side as well before it affects our scores

9 months ago
7
pibomarco

We all try, but we can not please them all. That's part of the business. It's easier to let it go and move on and do your best as a host.

I was in a very similar situation "long time ago", guest expecting daily cleaning which is not included in the rate for apartments. Received a low score.. What I did I reported a guest misconduct for not reading/following the property description/rules (I think this option is not available anymore), and marked that he is not able to book in future at my place. Got at least some kind off ego satisfaction I guess.

Not worth it though.. life is to short to be irritated because of the patients that you probably won't meet/host never again. If you're a good host, the potential bookers will recognize this despite of few low scores.

10/10 score is a lol. It' wont happen on a long run even if you gonna rent your place for free.

7 is considered as good as I recall - not bad.

9 months ago
1
Lemoulindelaportes

My issue is not the low score it’s with the fact that if no comments are made we have no right of reply. If I could post a comment underneath then at least the potential bookers can see my response. Everyone should have a right of reply!

9 months ago
5
Moira

You are 100% correct my dear Can Bookings.com please give us feedback on this issue?

9 months ago
7
pibomarco

And what would you reply to this guest that scored you 2,5? Do you have at least a clue why he scored you the lowest?
I've got once 2,5 where guest made a mistake, he thought that he rated us 10. He then modified it cuz he aknowledged the mistake, when I've contacted him and urged him to contact Booking.com to request a modification.

9 months ago
1
Lemoulindelaportes

My guess is we would have to lobby the reviews team but they always just respond with their policy. Maybe I need to contact the CEO!

9 months ago
5
Moira

Wel Pibomarco then I have been super blessed as ALL my other scores were 10/10 since I opened. x

9 months ago
1
Lemoulindelaportes

I would just put a generic message saying that always looking to improve and sorry they had a bad stay. At least other boomers can see I tried to sort out their issue.
I think they did make a mistake as they were an elderly couple and perhaps not emoji savvy.

9 months ago
7
pibomarco

Well moira, and now the reality just "hit" you.

Lemoulindelaportes it's quite possible that it was a mistake. I host on Booking.com for 10 years, have aprox 700 reviews per year/two, and got also few very low scores, but never 2,5 (only if it was a mistake). Try to call them if you have their phone number if you think that it was a mistake. It could happen easily specially to elderly.

9 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Pibomarco I agree with you life is too short you can’t please them all. Be happy don’t worry too much. try your best and good reviews will come. Reply with kindness and understanding to bad ones and you will get their appreciation. Booking.com is trying to help us all but sometimes things are complicated.

9 months ago
2
Gail and John

I really wish that they would start treating their hosts better. This review issue has been ongoing for a long time. If we supply exactly what was offered on our listing, the guest incorrectly writes that something was not supplied, how difficult is it for booking. Com to amend the review. One year working our butts off to raise to a 9.2 dashed. P. S how is it that it takes ten reviews more of say 10 to regain this rating but one bad to bring down quickly. Oh well at least this forum is great for a bit of venting :) &

9 months ago
7
pibomarco

It's just a math -> Arithmetic mean ( the sum of a scores divided by the number of numbers in the collection) The more reviews you have, more stable the rating is.

9 months ago