user avatar image
2

should anonymous reviews be allowed?

 It is a matter of courtesy let alone commercial sense that anyone leaving a review should be prepared to put their name to their words. Many large companies including Google ask customers for reviews, but Google have gone about this with great common sense, asking customers to not only put their name to their reviews but also a small photo of the reviewer. Personally, I never write or say anything that I am not prepared to put my name to. It's a matter of accountability, courtesy, and commercial sense.  

10 Replies

2
Pottsofflemingate

If this topic is not aired how does Booking.com expect to improve? Booking.com is not listening to it's customer base? Annonamous reviews are not fair for several reasons already set out..... I have had an non reviews without names or booking numbers, how does anyone know they are legitimate. More reputable companies insist on names and a small photos.

1 year ago
1
Ros

I totally disagree with anonymous posts. There is little to be gained. How can a big place know which cleaner prepared the room or the date. In terms of improving service it does little. Airbnb do a much better job of this also giving hosts the opportunity to rate the guest. The quality of the guest is questionable often times and yet they can say what they like and we are on the back foot. I can usually pin mine down to a particular guest as I am small and it is usually a guest that brought more guests than they paid for, had a party and left a mess or even had their parents book for them to get around the age restrictions who leaves these anonymous reviews. Most of our guests are adorable and want to let us know it was a great stay.

1 year ago
1
Shirley

Why can't they change their policy to: Anonymous reviews will only be visible to the accommodation proprietors and will not be visible to the public. Also marked down scores will not be taken into account is no comment is given.

We have just had an anonymous review, the title was SUPERB! but yet we only received 7.5 for Staff and 7.5 for location, no other explanation was given. So what was the issue with the staff? and what was the issue with the Location? What use is that review???? Booking .com also think that we are not worthy of posting a response if no comment has been left, not even to ask for an explanation for a marked down score so that we can improve.

Booking.com clients aren't respectful or constructive as another booking platforms. I'm glad we are now getting more bookings from other companies as Booking.com are awful to deal with.

This is the response you get from Booking .com

Hi there, thanks for getting in touch. One of our policies is to allow guest to remain anonymous when submitting a review online. is a Dutch company and thus has to follow Dutch legislation regarding data protection and anonymity online. If a guest wishes to be anonymous when submitting a review, it is the responsibility of to protect the guest's privacy. One thing to bear in mind is that the right to anonymity is not provided in order to hide information from our Partners, as we can always verify in our systems if a guest has actually stayed at the property and whether they are entitled to submit a review. Hope that all makes sense and thanks again for your feedback.

1 year ago
2
Gail and John

Really really unhappy with the anonymous reviews for so many different reasons.
I can't contact the guest to apologise and to let him/her know that we are attending to their problem
I don't know which room or where the event happened.
Patio? Possibly a lot of rain and wind and leaves have blown there??
It honestly serves no purpose either to the guest writing the review, booking.com or the actual guest.
Please at least allow us the guests details privately so that we have a chance to either apologise or to address the issues.
Booking.com you need to realise that every single bed and breakfast owner, hotelier, boutique hotel owner are your source of income!!!!!!! Start looking at real issues that need to be addressed.

1 year ago
1
Thepass

"Booking.com you need to realise that every single bed and breakfast owner, hotelier, boutique hotel owner are your source of income!!" There in lies the problem. Although the operators are the ones footing the bill, our numbers are small in comparison to the guest numbers ( the user of their system)

BDC push so hard for reviews - sending multiple emails after a stay that people leave a review just to make them stop. Many people feel even though there was nothing wrong with the stay- all was well- they have no real complaints, they must say something because nobody is perfect.

Sometimes I think its unfortunate that BDC is good at their job from a guest standpoint as we as operators have little choice but to use and pay for BDC services.

1 year ago
3
Waikoninihomestead

Anonymous are unacceptable. The few I have had I knew who they were. One guest who did not how up gave a review complaining that their husband had been bitten by insects! Booking.com did remove that review. Air bnb has a good system regarding reviews, open and fair.

1 year ago
1
Pam

I recently wrote a very strong reply in the B.com portal to a client who was spiteful , mean and childish, and who blocked us from replying on-line.

Booking.com responded by telling me that the customer has rights.

So what about the rights of the Hotelier, whose reputation, built over years, can be destroyed by the whims and fancies of a cruel guest?

Whether the review is truthful or not, we should have an equal right to respond and say whatrver needs to be said.

1 year ago
2
Pottsofflemingate

there are dozens of reasons why anonymous reviews should not be allowed as many have been already mentioned but for me by far the largest reason, is that of corruption. Where money is involved, (and of course it is), having secret and anonymous reviews leaves the way open for people to do things they shouldn't. My review score went up .1 of a mark after a good review, and for no reason went down again without anything happening. Call me cynical, if you like, but Booking.com are not interested or can offer any valid explanation. Because we do not know who is doing what.... the whole system in in danger of loosing all credibility. I often notify my guests verbally about these anomallies and that Booking.com are not bothered.

1 year ago
1
Ffynnonf

I agree with most of the posts. Anonymous reviews are not helpful to anyone, and a right to reply (in the nicest way of course) should be available.

If we get a category which gives 5.7 for instance....what does that mean.....how can we improve services if all they display is 5.7....what is the 4.3 they have issues with....I would want to know if only to provide a better service.

Sorry booking.com but you have a duty to your hoteliers as well as your bookers to be fair and transparent

1 year ago