user avatar image
2

Untrue or misleading guest reviews

Unfair or untrue guest reviews

13 Replies

2
Gail and John

We recently had a couple stay with us. They left very early and sadly we did not get to communicate with them face to face.
Via pulse a message arrived stating that they were unable to sleep due to the damp walls and mosquitos in their bedroom. We obviously apologised and said we would look into the situation immediately.
We firstly did a visual inspection of the bedroom as it was left. We couldn't establish what the complaint was about. Net curtains and plenty of mosquito deterrent devices were still in the room. We also called in a building firm to check on the alleged damp walls and nothing! We also asked for impartial comment from other bed and breakfast owners whom we asked to inspect this bedroom. All were prepared to sign sworn affidavits confirming their findings.
We were also contacted by booking.com telling us the guest required a refund. We engaged in long communication with booking.com but were obviously not given the chance for a third party independent inspection
We have just received the review which has bought our hard earned 9.2 down to 9.1 anyone in the industry will know how challenging it is to keep your reviews good.
Something has to be wrong in a system that has many wonderful hosts and yet more often than not totally ignored our side of the story! We also earn booking.com plenty of money and yet their system is biased against the very people that keep them in business.

1 year ago
5
monet208

In the terms and conditions for reviews the telling of lies is not included so it does not matter if you prove the guest lied because the review will not be removed

I have an email from senior management stating this after a guest lied saying he did not get an ensuite room having booked a private bathroom room

1 year ago
4
Asad Chaudary

I'm surprised to hear booking.com entertained the idea of a refund to the guest. Did the guest eventually get it, or how was the situation resolved?

But I have learnt the hard way that you simply can't keep everyone happy. Some guests are just going to complain about things that are out of your control and it will affect the review score they give to your property. i.e. the birds outside are making too much noise, some of the roads in the ancient medina are dirty etc

1 year ago
1
Info

I do not understand how booking can make a review bad when people did not complain, or had an issue. When I ask my guests why they gave me a bad review they said all they did was put a not smily face on something and the rating goes down very fast. As an example, my guest wanted a TV, she wish there was a TV in the room but that is all she said and the point went down to 5!!! She told me she did not mean to hurt my business and she will NEVER review a place unless is bad, this is not good. Does anybody know how booking decides to lower the numbers in rating? I wish I knew.

1 year ago
1
Enquiries

I have cctv footage that shows that a guest has lied on the review that he has left for us but booking.com do nothing and just take the word of the guest even though i can prove that he is lying.

1 year ago
3
Riveroflifeuk

Just had a 2.5 from a couple who said my ad lied! They thought it was a hotel not a guest house. My ad is accurate. Quite clearly states its a guest house and you can see this from the photos. How they could give a 2.5 on everything I don't know. The room was immaculate. Everything spotlessly clean! But they even gave me a 2.5 for cleanliness!

11 months ago
3
Riveroflifeuk

After this experience
Im thinking of giving up. Worked from 8 am yesterday to 10 pm when last guest came to ensure my home is spotless and then I get a 2.5!

11 months ago
2
Gail and John

I have to agree with you, there is much that needs to be changed within the system. We have had guests that have also given low reviews for facilities that we clearly do not offer. Booking.com needs to also state very clearly the difference between a hotel, guesthouse, boutique guest house and a home from home bed and breakfast which is what we are. Guests do not take the time to read our full description of what we offer and expectations appear to be that they think they have booked into a hotel. We don't have pools, sun loungers, tennis courts etc etc. Reviews can make or break a business and I really think that guests need to be made aware of the responsibility of what they say.

11 months ago
5
monet208

I have raised this many times and even emailed the ceo Gillian Tans but nothing has changed in the 5 years we have been with BC
If the senior Managemnet ever get told by the sites person running this Forum as hopefully they do then they ignore the problems providers experience over reviews
The message from Management is clear and that is guests come first where reviews are concerned and if we cannot accept that it’s tough luck for those of us that are wronged by guests
Is there a solution .yes and we providers know what’s needed. Will BC change? No

11 months ago
1
Info

I had poor reviews from 3 people who have never stayed at my place or seen my place, but Booking.com have never answered to my complaint.

It is very difficult to find the page to complain. Very poor customer care indeed !!!!

Slavko

8 months ago
3
Riveroflifeuk

I have also had bad reviews from people that never stayed. I have complained in person to BC but nothing is done. All they said was that we have the chance to respond. They never take down reviews even though its clear guests have lied. I have seen my score drop from 9.7 to 7.7 over the last 3 months. Some guests have complained in order to get a refund. I suggested that we should be able to review guests like airbnb. With them I have never had a bad review for Tree Tops. They also stay longer rather than just 1 night as seems to be the case with many BC guests I've had. Only challenge with airbnb is you have to price very low but the commission is only 5%. Hope this helps. Alison

8 months ago
1
Beate Pbh

how can we , as the hosts, publish a list of guests that are PERSONA NON GRATA and blacklist them on this site.

Any IT fundis who can perhaps start this website to name and shame these guests!!!!

7 months ago
3
Riveroflifeuk

Oh YES PLEASE!!! The abuse I have had to suffer and even once had to call the Police! Even then Bookin.com took the side of the guests and both times it was really bad I lost money! It was VERY unfair. Some guests take advantage of me as I am a lone female in my 60s and they just bully me. However some are wonderful and have even bought me flowers and wine!

7 months ago