user avatar image
1

Why is Location part of the guest review?

Hi,

We are a small pub with 5 rooms in a village location.  Guests can see all the details when booking & some love the fact that we are rural. Others mark us down on location as we have country single track lanes to the pub, something we CANNOT change!  Surely location is something the guest should check before booking???!  Why do booking.com make it a part of the main overall score rather than an extra, as surely this is something a static business cannot change?  Prefer an answer from someone at booking.com!

Nikki

Copied & sent direct to the team at head office.

15 Replies

9
M Adamopoulou

I have exactly the same problem with my property. I have written it and I have suggested review to be rephrased. The property location cannot change in no way I hope booking finds a suitable solution for all of us.

8 months ago
7
Katerinka12

Location is number one for pricing. I learnt it when I took real estate. And it proves as true, whether I like it or no. So, Booking follows real estate basics - Location, of course (together with other important things).

"as we have country single track lanes to the pub" Someone mentioned in review? Reply professionally to them. Don't forget to mention your strong Location points. Those who read reviews, would understand. Seeing a reply from you will make them feel wow, small place, but so professional!

8 months ago
3
cassid

Nikki, did you not realise its your fault the guest did not like your location !!! , you should have not a business in that specific location, you trapped them like a fly in a spider web.

It happens because we as humans don't bother to read information, we don't look at the pictures and we don't look at the map, or we don't read your details. But we still expect everything in our head to be 100% and if not, you will be marked down.

I have to say, I have never complained to any hotel, home etc that the accommodation was not great, because its my decision to make the reservation and I check the location. I am going away for a few days in 2 weeks. I have the route sorted and I have a few places I want to visit and am happy with my location before I even arrive. You can see the place is dirty or the service is crap but ownership for picking a location is totally on you the guest.

It's just in 2108, people don't accept blame for their own choices or decisions, its easier to blame someone else.

I had a guest mark us 5 in the review for location, then she sends me an email and she said loved our house and that she comes to my city 3 times a year and if we would have her, she would love to stay with us. You just think **, ( i marked your location down but want to stay again )

8 months ago
7
Katerinka12

Joey, if you mean me for airport location, I keep mentioning it because I am so different from majority of you, guys. Your properties are located at beach area, remote cities etc. That's why I am an exception.

However, my place only minus is absense of beach. Posh swimming pool, boutiques, hundreds of restaurants, fine dining, 6 star hotel is 10 meters from us... Yes, location. I spent my time to know who is my client. 90% are clients who lookfor high standard place to stay having a flight lay over ans again - Location

8 months ago
3
Rhjbyron

Ha yeah we invariably get 10 then 7.5 and a location comment, people are so lazy they get to us for a country break and complain pubs are 5 minutes away I do have an issue with booking not pushing enough location information to find us sometimes none! I always message people however only half reply, Cassid you are too generous I think you’re overdoing it and no one will thank you, we have a set cooked choice of three things and we always get 10 bread is homemade etc

8 months ago
3
Rhjbyron

We are pet friendly and so far no problems, what we find is sometimes people want to sit in and talk with you for ages which is fine, just be careful what you say some visitors are very opinionated!

8 months ago
3
Rhjbyron

Do most people here have tea making facilities in the room? We chose not to and never had a complaint, it’s more about potential mess and you are supposed to have an electrician check every year, I have a kit for appliances and am trained does anyone else check the appliances?

8 months ago
7
Katerinka12

Oh, I didn't know you are close to airport. Then you should 100% booked. Unless the airport serves as local monument attraction 😁

What do you mean tea making facilities? Just a kettle?

8 months ago
7
Katerinka12

Joey,

I will do that. I just thought you read all comments and I thought it was easy to understand, that it's a previous commentator Rhjbaron, who asked:

"Do most people here have tea making facilities in the room?"

Again, you are right. I should mention the name I am addressing my comment to.

8 months ago
3
Rhjbyron

Sure Joey et al , anyway practically everything is available from in depth conversation to dietary needs and a spa bath which I always hope people will use for hours :)

8 months ago
3
Rhjbyron

Interesting Joey we are very much county guest, thank Goodness we stipulate breakfast is 8-10:30 I admire level of service, guests however eat and drink whatever they want to, don’t do breakfast in bed perhaps we should for a premium !

8 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Like Joey although I I don’t serve breakfast I have everything Joey mentioned and many more goodies in my fridge and cupboard for my guests to prepare their breakfast. So far my guests have never used them all and sometimes they leave me some of their food they didn’t use.

8 months ago
1
Melindadc1

I completely agree that location should not be include in the overall score.It's not like we can move the building. And people need to take responsibility for the decisions on where they book. There is a map for them to use to see the location and most places list what is close by and the distance it is to things.

8 months ago
1
Heather Highgate

I am also in agreement, we have also had negative feedback on location, because the guest did not bother to check in what area we lived. Very frustrating.

7 months ago
3
Rhjbyron

We inveriably get marked as 7.5 for location and higher for the rest, you can't have inner city facilities for rural pricing, our location is clear and there are pubs within 5 mins and we offer free transport, we might consider a small basics shop!

7 months ago