user avatar image
5

Wise Words | What's your secret to incredible guest reviews?


146 Replies

1
Hanwell House

Be unique - try to find something that you can do that no-one else has thought of. Make your own cookies to put in the guest rooms, leave a cafetiere and fresh coffee on the hospitality trays, use gorgeous toiletries in the bathrooms, make your own marmalades and preserves - and above all, make your guests feel as comfortable as they can possibly be, so they feel that they are friends staying in your home rather than an anonymous person paying to stay in your guest rooms.

1 year ago
1
Brettnbeverley

Be flexible. Be kind and generous. Generous in towels for guests, generous in food, in types of teas, generous with listening, in check in time, check out time (within reason) .

We use beautiful Nutrimetics products in full size containers and guests use what they need and leave the rest. But sometimes they love them so I give them the full containers. We are always asking our guests do they need anything? We also offer our guests a lift up to the local hospital and to local functions. They love it!

1 year ago
1
Svetnov Apartments

First impressions are invaluable and are the basis of so many of our opinions. They say if you are trying to sell a house, paint the front door and have the smell of fresh brewing coffee or baking bread wafting through the property. We don't exactly go that far but try to ensure that first impressions are lasting impressions.

Our apartments are designed and built in traditional style to the region of Vysocina where we are situated. Even I must admit they look very nice from the outside. The garden, although quite small, is well kept, SW facing and is full of planted borders and pot plants; sitting under the pergola is like sitting in your own oasis and always leaves a good impression.

The apartments are kept very clean and comfortable with all requirements met. Furthermore, if we receive a specific request for an item we will often lend ours to the customer. Customers regularly comment about how much space we offer in each apartment and this, I believe, is another feature that makes the properties feel more relaxing as spaces.

Communication is key as we live in part of the same building complex and share the garden with customers. It is very important to strike the right balance. Some customers look for company and a chat in the garden whilst others prefer their own space. Above all else I try to portray an understanding that we are all equals sharing this space together which seems to work. I also throw in the odd eccentricity which is explained away due to my Scottish upbringing ;)

In terms of offering something unique which Hanwell House suggests is important and with which I agree, being a non native Czech is a novelty for most and having been a world traveller for 13 years before settling here also creates a lot of interest - Nothing wrong with a story or three to 'strike a chord' :)

1 year ago
1
Info

Spoil people - give them a treat. Home made conserves (no horrid little jars of bought jam), home baked bread, good quality breakfast ingredients Home baked goodies in the bedrooms, locally made toiletries, fresh milk (not nasty little cartons). Leave them wine glasses, champagne flutes, and a corkscrew, on their bedroom tray. Roaring fires in winter, tea or coffee on arrival. Chat to them. Be interested and make them feel welcome

But - whatever you do, and however far you bend over backwards for your guests, the booking.com review system will try your patience! I have a score of 9.8 (9.9 until last week, when someone marked me down on "facilities" because they thought the medium sized TV in their room was not large enough for their taste!

) am in the middle of gorgeous, quiet, countryside. I clearly state that I am two miles from the nearest village, yet I still get marked down (occasionally) on "location", because guests haven't read the property description properly. The adage that you cannot please all of the people all of the time, might have been invented for the travelling public, and - whilst the majority of guests will love the sociable, homely atmosphere of a friendly, welcoming B and B., others might not. Thankfully, they are few and far between, and they should probably stay in a more anonymous Premier Inn, or a Travel Lodge

1 year ago
1
Secret Pyrenees

Give 110%. There are some things that will always be subjective - location or comfort for instance. But the rest - staff, cleanliness, etc. this should be something you excel at and over deliver.

The whole reason for staying at a bed and breakfast is to have that personal touch, to stay in a home away from home. So give them that. From the moment they arrive, make them feel as comfortable and at home as possible. Nothing is too much trouble (even though it might be).

And one last thing - you can't please everyone! But that shouldn't stop you trying!

1 year ago
1
Info

Keep your prices inline with the experience you and your property provide your guests.

1 year ago
1
Coraltreecolony

Be welcoming from the very first contact - whether on the phone or on line. Go out of your way to be helpful - offer to make restaurant reservations, golf bookings etc. Almost no request is too difficult to manage. If it is an impossible request be as helpful as possible and share the reason why it is impossible.

1 year ago
1
Wgs Glasgow

We endeavour to make each guest feel (s)he is an individual, who we're genuinely pleased to have stay at our apartment ... because we are.

For us the 'guest experience' starts with the first message confirming the reservation and ends with the final correspondence confirming return of the Security Deposit ... hopefully until their next visit. We don't use message templates; each guest communication, somehow, manages to convey that we acknowledge who they are.

Goes without saying that all guests are met in-person upon arrival (irrespective of time) and we always try to be there for departure too.

Some guests are seasoned world travellers, others are less confident; let them determine the level of interaction during their stay. However, everyone knows we're there for them if needed - but without being intrusive.

Accept that somethings are out-with your control; our apartment is in Glasgow city centre ... it's a busy area! We're completely up-front about this and accept it will NOT suit everyone. For those things we can control (cleanliness, facilities, quality of furnishings / linen etc.) there are no excuses for not over-delivering. Never cut corners.

Finally, enjoy the experience yourself - it comes across.

1 year ago
1
Cocos

We agree with all of the above. We treat our role as more than providing a bed for the night - we focus on the entire experience for the guest's time in Broome. We make a point of knowing as much as we can about what the guest wants from the holiday (without being intrusive) and we do everything possible to ensure that they get it. If this means giving them a lift to the shops, booking tours and restaurants or simply advising the best place to eat - we do it. And I might add, we genuinely enjoy doing it. We are certainly helped by our location in iconic Cable Beach and by the design and layout of the bungalows and the tropical gardens but at the end of the day, it is personal contact and a genuine desire to help, that makes the difference.

1 year ago
1
Info

Coolbawn Lodge Farmhouse Skibbereen

My secret is " I just love guests coming to our home". My heart still jumps for joy as guests arrival time is approaching...

It's so important to have that welcome pot of tea or coffee available and some lovely home baking,and our lovely world renowned West Cork Cheese board as I find so many of our guests so appreciate it, as their lives are so busy and home baking is a real treat for them.

Always remember that guests are not in their own homes and any thing that I think they may need, no matter what, just make sure you can deliver.

Giving guests their own space, if required, is important and communicating with guests if they need to chat is also very important.

I love to grow our own herbs and organic fruit to serve on the breakfast table.

It is also very important to take some breaks and see how it feel "on the other side "of the business. You can find some things that you can add to your bed and breakfast or you might say " I would not do that in a million years..."like clearing off the table so fast and giving the hint to "move on"...

The main thing is to just "Love your guests, treasure their time spent in your home and enjoy the conversations"

1 year ago
1
Info

You know, I dont do most of the above. Everyone seems to be knocking themselves out and spending all their profit on all these frilly bits. I enjoy a 9.8% customer satisfaction by ensuring our properties are exceptionally well maintained (everything thats supposed to work does, and if something goes wrong during a guests stay, they have a contact and we respond immediately to fix it!). Also the place is spotlessly clean, there is no compromise here, it MUST be spotless. Go check after your cleaners have been and look over everything, or if you clean it yourself, have another pair of eyes look it over for you. We just provide the basics, fresh bread, milk, good quality teas and coffees, cereal selection and a fruit selection. This costs us around $21 per group of up to 6 people. People rave about this especially if they have arrived late at night and can enjoy a snack before bed or have something to eat when they wake up. My advice is do the basics incredibly well, and you will enjoy very happy guests. You dont have to kill your guests with kindness, yourve already sold the room, you just have to treat your guests as you would like to be treated taking into consideration the above, and you will never have a grumpy guest who would be more than happy to recommend your accommodation or return themselves..

1 year ago
1
Jeannie Peachey

1) don't ask for breakfast orders the night before, it's completely pointless-- what would you do differently at breakfast time if you had known what the guest wanted for 8 hours instead of 8 minutes! It annoys guests ,even if they say it doesn't , and it places one more layer of pressure on them.

2) remove any signs or advice starting with the words "please don't". In fact remove all advice signs and instructions (except statutory ones) People know how to behave. Never ask guests to remove footwear

3) Provide double sockets next to beds.

4) under-promise and over-deliver

1 year ago
1
Shelgar


I love to meet all the different people who have chosen my accommodation. They have found it attractive enough to book it (from a million other choices) and I want to deliver on their expectation. I love this small bit of the world while I live and want to share it. I greet people on arrival with home made Scottish shortbread tea and coffee, find out a bit about them and offer local infomation. We live closeby so can help promptly or provide particular items requested, but always give our guests plenty of space. Negative reviews can be annoying when you are working hard but they keep you thinking what can I do better.

1 year ago
1
ivanabb

Cleanliness and the good equipment of the apartment are very important. I always leave a basket with fruit, cookies, tea and coffee for my guests. Communication with the guest is also very important. I give them all information they are looking for as well as give them tips where to go and what to visit. They have my email and phone number ,so they can call me anytime if they have some problem or question.

1 year ago
1
Gligo Tomanovic

Respect your guests! I mean REALLY respect your guests and show your gratitudenes and appreciation for their decision to choose your place out of all others.

1 year ago
1
Elite Mostar

What will I say and write?

How to have excellent guest reviews?

This is my rule ;
I'll be short, I will not write much.

Money is not the most important thing in life.

The most important thing is that you love your job and you have to give 200, 300 or million% for your guests.

Our guests come from many different countries of the world. Different cultures, habits and the like.

We are here to see our guests like our family.

Kindest regards for all my guest

1 year ago
1
Villabeaslm

Nothing is too much of effort we put into our business but most especially to our guests. We treat them like our family, we are kind, friendly, we pay attention to detail, we help when and if we can.
To have a B&B it is a hard work but it is worth it. Cleanness, good breakfast and a friendly word can make the difference.
We love what we do.

1 year ago
2
Aitsa Nicoline

Firstly, although i would like to earn more, i try and charge a little less that others in my area.

I thank them for their booking on extranet.

I greet them personally on arrival with a welcome drink, while showing them the place to make

them feel welcome.

Leave a surprise like a little chocolate on the bed, gift or anything that they wouldnt expect.

Coffee, tea,handcream, whatever.

Tell them about your area and what there is to do/events

After the 1st evening, ask them, if the beds were comfy to sleep on and whether they are

happy and comfy.

Then leave them be to their privacy, unless they want to talk to you.

Greet them once they leave and wish them a safe trip

1 year ago
1
Parkhousecornwall

I genuinely love meeting people and spoiling them a little. Everyone has a story.....
A warm welcome, cleanliness, a few extra touches they might not be expecting go a long way. Where possible, the best of quality products and local sourcing you can afford. Basically, making it very easy for the guest feel luxuriously comfortable and make themselves at home.
Susie Wadham
Park House bnb Cornwall.

1 year ago
1
Colin Holman

We are quiet fortunate that the majority of our guests are foreigners. What this means is that on their holiday they visit between 7 and 10 establishments on their journey through South Africa. They therefore have a frame of reference and are able to compare ourselves to other establishments along the way. Locals have their homes as a frame of reference and its always difficult to compete with that. We believe in offering guests value for money, often underselling ourselves and providing services which exceed their expectations. To answer: What's your secret to incredible guest reviews? We do not give them the opportunity for a negative experience. During their welcome drink and briefing we emphasize that, should there be anything they are not happy with or anything that we can assist with we are at hand to help them at anytime. We often joke and say that while they are here we can remedy any situation, at home when they write to us or on reviews there is little or nothing we can do. So bottom line.. offer your services while they here and the reviews scores will ad up.

1 year ago
1
Info

Always use top quality food, be as chatty as your guests want you to be, and treat people the way you would want them to treat you if you were the visitor.

1 year ago
2
Aitsa Nicoline

Last, but not least if forgot:

Cleanliness and tidiness is what the majority of my guests always comment on.

You have to do this yourself or, check on your staff that they dont cut corners.

Guests notice this.

If anything is damaged, fix it immediately so that the next guest dont enter with anything

that is broken or damaged.

Hope this was helpful

1 year ago
1
Post

Treat your guests as you would a good friend without being familiar - This creates a strong bond and gives them a sense of belonging. Accommodate your guests needs - Everyone feels more comfortable with familiar things and actions so try to accommodate those. Ensure that guest's space is of the highest standard - Next to cleanliness, nice décor and surroundings creates a sense of wellbeing. Advertise honestly so as not to create false expectations - When guests tell you that their experience was everything they imagined from your website you will know that you did it right.

1 year ago
1
Evelyn

We enjoy adding extra touches, like a welcome letter on their bed with all the information they need to make their stay as seamless as possible. This includes info like the WiFi password.

Our rooms are spotless, comfortable and simple. No clutter.

We get a lot of repeat guests and keep a record of their preferences - what they do and don't eat, and a little about each person. We use this information when communicating with our guests and they appreciate the trouble we take to remember their details.

We also offer free laundry and ironing for business guests.

Ladies always appreciate fresh flowers in their rooms.

I hope this information is helpful.

Evelyn Alessandri

Sunset on Cheshire B&B, Cowies Hill, South Africa

1 year ago
1
Deridownguesthouse

I think the same as some on here we don't go over top to lavish gifts etc on our guests but do all the basic things well and check that they are comfortable and have everything they need

Mike in Abergavenny South Wales

1 year ago
1
Lucyameliaquinlan

To get the bookings in the first place you need modern exciting interiors and then when they have booked good communication and then exceed expectations, I always get my housekeeper to meet guests show them round and provide a welcome hamper , the accomadatikn should also be well kept up and very very clean

1 year ago
1
Merch Gymreig …

Be flexible in your approach, we are very, very fortunate to have held on to our 9.9 for the third year running since joining Booking.com

Offer guests the best you can afford in food, accommodation and time.

Allow your guests their own space, they will chat if they want to and learn to read when they don't!

We don't mind going the extra mile, we greet each guest personally, show them their rooms, all rooms have fridges with fresh bottled water that we replenish daily, small milk bottles and ice box with an ice container to make ice cubes; this allows them to put their wine bottles in to cool.

As we live in an area of outstanding natural beauty we are passionate with regard to the area. If our guests like to walk we will offer them a short shuttle service so that they can walk from A to B without them having to leave their car unattended at a spot. More than willing to fill flasks and make sandwiches if required

All guests are offered either tea/coffee or a cold drink with home made cakes on arrival. We leave small bite size chocolates in the rooms for them along with magazines and books, a small table top chest with all necessaries that one might forget i.e. needle and thread, plasters, small amount of pain killing tablets (max 4) and feminine necessities..

Be mindful that their money and time is important to your guests, appreciate that fact and enjoy looking after them. This, I think is what makes people return to us – sometimes up to four times a year and of course we are grateful to them for having faith in us and what we have to offer.

1 year ago
1
W Overmars

Offering my guests an Amsterdam experience is my first priority: Including the

disadvantages of a 400 year old National State Monument with lots of step and steep

stairs, restrictions of the Heritage Department and its limitations by highlighting them

as a genuine Amsterdam home.

I make them feel are friends staying in a home rather than an anonymous clients

paying for their stay. Friendliness without familiarity. From the very first contact to the

last thank you mail, they always deal with one and the same person: I’m the owner,

the host, concierge, head of housekeeping and the only person who to contact for

tips and advice. Service without fuss. Style without pretentiousness.

1 year ago
1
Crossroads Hot…

Always welcome guests by name and give your name in the introduction. Make sure the rooms are spotlessly clean with clean bed linen and towels. We offer good quality toiletries, plenty of tea, coffee and milk sachets in the room together with free bottled water and biscuits. If we are advised of a special occasion i.e. birthday or anniversary we leave a birthday or anniversary cake in the room with a bottle of prosecco. We welcome dogs, with doggy treats in the room. All rooms have a guest information folder giving them local information together with the free WiFi code.

1 year ago
1
Celynvilla

Good quality breakfast ingredients cooked well, breakfast is the last meal that guests will have with you and it should be delicious, well cooked and plentiful. This leaves a lasting impression. Everywhere should be clean and your beds really comfortable. Friendly but not too friendly and local knowledge to pass on is always invaluable. And lastly you have to like people, who ever they are and where ever they are from.

1 year ago
1
Cathy

Hire the right people to perform the function. Never fill a position with a just warm body, regardless of how strapped you are for staff or you'll ultimately regret it..

1 year ago
1
Krissie's

The keys to great reviews are:

Understanding the level of service you are willing to provide and clearly advertising what you are to attract the right customers. We supply a very niche market, no cooking self catered apartments that are slightly difficult to find, in one of the busiest tourist regions of the UK. We cannot compete directly with hotels or bed and breakfasts nor can we compete with cottage/house holidays. However we are situated in an area of remarkable culinary and artistic creativity and there is no reason to spend all day cooking. By clearly describing our services and limitations to guests on booking and allowing free cancellation if they cancel straight away, we only get the guests who love what we provide.

We are lucky to be a family business with good local knowledge, and we ensure that every guest gets a full welcoming. If you supply anything larger than a room with a bed there will be quirks or instructions that are best explained in person. So we walk our guests all the way through the apartment and explain anything that needs it. For some guests this might be your only interaction and chance to leave an impression so DO NOT WASTE IT! Use it to find out their plans, some guests like privacy and wont share and that is fine. But most people have no plans and have not been to the area before and need guidance, so make sure you know what the area has to offer and always supply a variety as budgets vary. Make yourself an indispensable source for your guests and they will keep coming back to you. On a side note, we live on site with our guests but are known both for our privacy and hospitality. That's why the initial interaction is so important, we project openness and tell them that we are always available, however, after the first day we do not initiate contact we wait for them to come to us and respect their space otherwise.

CLEANLINESS, CLEANLINESS, CLEANLINESS, is the most important aspect of your guests stay. So important I will say it again, CLEANLINESS! We use a minimalist design that guests love but we do it so we can deep clean every surface after every stay. In a modern world of virus's and allergies to name a few, people value cleanliness more than they realise. We early on got a reputation for the cleanest apartments around and straight away whenever people arrived at a dirty accommodation they came to us! Like I said before, our apartments are niche but a spotless room forgives a lot.

Krissie's has been providing luxuriously furnished no cooking/self catered apartments for five years and has maintained an average of 9.5 or greater for that time.

1 year ago
1
Neil

Always under promise and over deliver.

Service and kindness with love and care, always get kudu's from guests.

Be warm, be real, be kind, be gentle

1 year ago
1
Donna J Mcdougall

It's simple. I like meeting people and I let them know this! Ask questions about them and less about you.

1 year ago
1
Info

The secret to incredible guest reviews is that we have an incredible team who will go above and beyond for all our guests. From reception to our Maintenance team will bend over backward for our guests.

1 year ago
1
Frances84

I agree with all of the above, and must stress that communication with future and current guests is the key to happy guests. I always respond to guests within a few hours of receiving their booking, and making sure the calendar is up to date. Unfortunately I do not get to meet my guests as the distance between our home and our holiday property is too great. Therefore most of my communication is via the booking.com extranet messaging or by telephone. All of which works well. I do have an excellent changeover company that looks after our apartment, so making sure that the place is spotless, as well as everything like the washing machine, TV, internet etc is fully working is very reassuring for me. I also provide a welcome pack for guests including, wine, water, tea and coffee etc. I have recently placed an information pack in the apartment with restaurants, places on interests, and nearest beaches. We are attached to a golf complex so I make sure guests know they can recieve discounted green fees when staying with us. I now have a visitors book in the property for this season so will be interesting to see those comments as well.

1 year ago
1
Apartmanivt

Apartments Villa Tanja, Okrug Gornji, Croatia

I simply visualize that I'm a guest coming to an unknown house, and I imagine how I want, to host me and my family to welcome and host.
I never calculate how many jobs I need to do, focusing all my attention on the ultimate goal, which is to prepare the apartments and the whole house to look perfect and equipped with all that the guest needs, including the details.
I never calculate how much I will earn, I just want my guests to spend nice days in my house, which they will keep in their memories.
Money as a result nevertheless came.

1 year ago
2
Mcdanielhugh

Differentiate: Guests have a choice at booking, their decision to book one place over another is made impulsively and without deep thought…We have attractive bright pictures of aspects of our farm accommodation that puts blue water between us and the local competition. We ail to
create impact and promise a different experience from the local hotels and BnB’s.

We feature pictures of fresh baked bread, bedrooms, obviously and sunny pictures of happy guests enjoying the rural life, plus humorous farm animals, horses, sheep and chickens which has a double effect.

1 These pictures act as a filter, attracting the sort of guests we like, ensuring that guests are matched to our ethos and services: and dissuading folk who would not enjoy the farm .

2 It sets us apart from local competition.

1 year ago
1
Jane

I try to make people comfortable and welcome, greet them by name and make sure everything is clean and polished I get a lot of return guests. Chat if they want to but also take note if there tired when they arrive they may not want to chat it’s good if you can read people

1 year ago
1
Info

We try to exceed guest expectations.

Slightly underselling our product and standards via our marketing messages works for us, avoids the need to provide unnecessary additional free extras and generally leaves guests appreciating a quality and value experience.

1 year ago
1
13 Bees

Don't focus just on price!

If you think about you, your place, your team (if you have one) and the memories you help to create, they will be different - and hopefully better - than the memories other stays will create within guests. So why try to homogenise your business and your offering by leading on price?

Instead, pay attention to what goes on in your locale and price accordingly; either above or below for promotions, but never settle on average. If you do - and excuse me Booking.com - but the search engines suck all the added value out of your offer.

Not every guest is looking for the cheapest price! Just great value for the memories you are helping to create.

1 year ago
1
Martin de Rusett

We've made two unbreakable rules. 1) Never expect your guests to receive lower standards than you would accept yourself. 2) Set yourself only the very highest standards.

After that, enable your guests to really feel at home. Be there when they want you.....and not there when they don't!

Essentially, enjoy their company and let them see that you appreciate their visit.

1 year ago
1
Onthebeach

Take the extra time and talk to your guests. Don't be afraid to ask them if everything is OK - the sooner you find out about any issues (especially the small ones) the better equipped you are to be able to fix them or deal with them immediately showing that you do care about their stay with you and you want everything to be as good as it can possibly be.First impressions do count, but last impressions count as well - think about giving a gift on departure - something small - maybe with a discounted booking code attached for return visits :).

1 year ago
1
Holmsleighestates

I believe that being yourself and genuine is a great way to greet, and allows guests to be at ease and also encouraging them to be themselves. It is difficult to compare as it is clear from reading these comments that we all deliver a guest focused service based on our surroundings and that is what people attract to and as long as we are true to that, then majority of guests are not disappointed and leave great reviews.

A unique and personal experience is finding out guest needs and then quietly arranging, no fuss because they know what to expect, but then being approachable is the key without offering the world, a small thing can mean so much . Not so much trying hard, just being aware.

That said, we are a small B & B and I can imagine it is very frustrating for hospitality if staff do not share the same enthusiasm for customer satisfaction. Enthusiasm is a great thing .

1 year ago
1
Aqeelahabderoof

Be friendly, warm and welcoming! Make your guest feel like they’re family being welcomed home! I find guests love engaging in conversation, making them feel like you’ve befriended them. Aside from the obvious superior service that should be offered,
a warm smile and an eager willingness to assist always goes a long way and almost always guarantees a return guest :).

1 year ago
1
Smdlotus

Our priority is to treat all guests as individuals as each guest is unique,all guests have differing needs and requirements. The starting point for us is good communication prior to the guests arrival, ask if they have any special needs or requests and importantly the time of checking in,be flexible and try to meet any requests that are reasonable.Put the coffee on and make sure the house is well presented and immaculately clean,we actually get on our hands and knees to ensure all corners are as clean as the main areas even moving the fridge out to make sure there are no debris underneath !!

Always a couple of bottles of wine on the table,fresh fruit and kitchen essentials to hand,soaps and all household items included in the rental cost,go to great lengths to welcome the guest first impressions are important,ask if they have any special requests for the first night,simple things like a bottle of milk in the refrigerator and a bottle of orange juice,it really goes a long way,its really simple just make them feel truly welcome,most of our guests comment on the cleanliness and appearance of the house within ten minutes of arrival so we know our efforts pay off. In season we allow guests to help themselves to fresh produce from the greenhouse and peaches,apples and pears from the garden,home made preserves are often placed in the house to the delight of our guests. There are many things we do to ensure our guests are happy but the most important thing for us is to see the guest totally relaxed and enjoying the house and gardens,our hospitality is free the superb comments of our many guests are priceless !!

1 year ago
1
Stephenandrichard

Firstly always remember customer is king, they are there reason you are working in hospitality, and that word again 'hospitality", should be your mantra. At my gites in the beautiful Deux Sevres, France, I'm constantly trying to innovate and develop ways in which to bring to my clients a warm and personal touch. Sometimes its the small things, a freshly baked bread,home made confiture, fresh milk, if you have chickens leave some fresh eggs, or get some good quality local ones, coffee, teas, sugar and handy pantry items are a bonus too, as are some nice quality toiletries. Im fortunate to have a large vegetable garden and it gives me immense pleasure in sharing my home grown produce or making up veg boxes that guests are happy to pay for. Bedding and towels should be good quality and clean, and it goes with out saying the accommodation should be clean,welcoming and warm.

Provide good tourist information and share with your clients you experiences locally, perhaps over a glass of wine and some nibbles.

At the end of guests stays, don't rush them and politely ask them to fill out a questionnaire asking for suggestions on how you can improve or what could be better.

There are so many things you can do to make your guests feel like they are home from home, I'm not sharing all my tips..youll just have to visit to see for yourselves.

Lastly don't stint on the loo roll...theres nothing worse than looking cheap!

All the very best to my fellow Booking.com'ers...

Richard.

1 year ago
1
Lynnwathes

I don't do home made preserves and I no longer make the bread (used to but too much was left over) but my price reflects what I do and I get consistent positive comments about being good value for money. Everywhere is immaculately clean - spotless. I treat the guests as I would like to be treated. Friendly, helpful and interested. I provide a very big selection of teas and coffee in the rooms - lots of herbal and decaf ones too. There's also a plate of chocolate biscuits and a large bowl of fruit from Aldi. (Aldi also do great super seeded bread and 97% pork sausages) I also have a mini fridge in each room with a jug of fresh milk and cartons of orange and apple juice. Guests loathe UHT milk. The beds are very comfortable with electric blankets and silk pillows. The ensuite bathrooms have plenty of towels and face clothes and I show them where they can help themselves to more towels as required. In the bathroom I also supply shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, hand wash, nail brush, and supplies of personal hygene products, razors, new toothbrush/paste etc in case they've forgotten something. Also ear plugs, cotton budgs, wipes, etc.etc. Each room has a TV with DVD slot and very fast wi-fi. Also a multi-plug charger for any device. Guests can make use of a travel cot, high chair and potty loo seat plus kiddies bowls, plates, etc. I put on the bed soft cuddly toys for any child up to 5. There are a rack of brochures about local activities in each room. I am totally flexible about breakfast - guests select the time they want it and what they want to eat.Guests are always asked the night before what they are likely to want so, if its a traditional fry-up, I can then have everything except the eggs ready when they get round the table. Because we only have two rooms for B&B (can sleep up to 7) I sit everyone round the kitchen table. I think I get good reviews because I listen. We've only been doing this for just over 2 years and its guests' suggestions which have enabled us to improve. eg. providing a knife in the fruit bowl, a long handled shoe horn in the rooms, a magnifying movable mirror so women can put their makeup on using daylight near a window. Having said all the foregoing, we find the whole thing great fun. You have to accept you wont get it right for everyone all the time. And you absolutely should not let a lower mark upset you. Someone else said they were marked down for 'location' or 'facilities'. Me too. When I asked what facilities would have helped, the answer I got back was that because they didnt use the pool or the gym they felt they couldnt give me full marks!!

1 year ago
1
Susy Bretherton

info says it all.

You can get 10's in a row and then wham, someone for the first time in 6 years slams a 5.4 there!!!!

No real reason and no constructive criticism. But, although that hurts it shouldn't bias your thinking towards guests!

We greet our hosts by showing them the pool deck area, the tracks to the beach,give them a brief run down on what they can use...kayaks etc...and then show them their room. I always ask where they have driven from that day and then how long they are visiting our country .

Spotless presentation, perfectly made beds and dressed bathrooms. Beach towels and Pool towels. Nespresso machines in all our rooms. It really all comes down to presentation of both yourselves and their environment you are offering.

1 year ago
1
Vale View Apar…

I don’t normally write ‘Host’ posts as I don’t feel much of a hospitality expert but oh, go on then, Booking.com, you twisted my arm with your email about my “reviews” being “incredible” and would I ‘share my secret’ =))) Yeah, I’m a sucker for flattery!

But then I thought, actually hang on, I always encourage, appreciate and rely on my guests to post their thoughts, so I really should do the same in return to the request from the site that brought those guests to my door in the first place.

That all said, I still don’t feel enough of an ‘expert’ to offer anything more valuable or useful than others who’ve already done the same so well in the comments before me. I really don’t do much differently than the rest of you, which is of itself, a great relief to me personally as I’m not a hospitality professional!

But, you know, ‘personally’ is a key word there because no matter how often we tell ourselves not to take it personally when people review, I’m sure most of us do because it IS personal: we’ve invited people to stay in our properties if not our homes and there’s very little more personal than that; so I suppose the key point to remember as a host is that you make your guests’ experience personal.

Pick some/all of the ideas my co-hosts have mentioned that you’re not already offering and can feasibly / economically / appropriately implement at the type of accommodation you’re providing, and do everything you reasonably and practically can to ensure your guests receive great value for money, whatever your price! And then keep your fingers crossed your guests take the time to leave you a positive score!

1 year ago