user avatar image
5

Wise Words | What's your secret to incredible guest reviews?


146 Replies

1
Alofttonga

Our guests are being treated as part of a family or a friend that we haven't seen in a long time. We go the extra mile to make sure they're comfortable and feel safe and happy at the same time.

For our late night arrivals we have little dish of fruits, water etc offer to them before they rest. We do light breakfast to start their days well.

For early arrivals one of the staff can take them around on a complimentary scenic tour of the eastern side of Tonga so they at least see a part of the island before head out to outer islands.

Going the extra miles and treating the guests as a friend or family is part of our little tradition.

1 year ago
2
GardenMasterBedrooms

Well I personally think the room size, furniture, AC, Heating, Mini-Bar in each room, along with many little things, such as Shampoo, Conditioner, Quality Hand Soap, Air-Fresheners in each room, in addition to the welcome tray, as we call it, comes with nestle coffee-yellow and green tea-Digestive Cookies, Drinking Water & Quality Towels. Give the guest(s) what makes them feel at home away from home, is our key to our success.

The location is somewhat of impotence, we happen to be close to many world attractions such as grotto of Jetta, one of the worlds 7th wonders, and the sightseeing programs that are tailored to the guest who seeks such adventures vacation in Lebanon.

Most of our guests like to stay at the residence to enjoy the use of our BBQ area with a large gazebo/entertainment area with a karaoke-system-40" LED TV and a large outside kitchenette by the nicely landscaped garden, we have set up outside furniture in front of each rooms terrace for their privacy.

Success comes when you invest in your business, most importantly one must be people friendly, well if you like people and pleasant in your communications, they will definitely appreciate you and gives you thumbs up for their next vacation. (Give them a time to remember you with)

Pastor George Afif Boujaoude

Garden Master Bedroom Suites

Adonis, Mount Lebanon, Near Jounieh Bay Area.

1 year ago
2
GardenMasterBedrooms
  • Well I personally think the room size, furniture, AC, Heating, Mini-Bar in each room, along with many little things, such as Shampoo, Conditioner, Quality Hand Soap, Air-Fresheners in each room, in addition to the welcome tray, as we call it, comes with nestle coffee-yellow and green tea-Digestive Cookies, Drinking Water & Quality Towels. Give the guest(s) what makes them feel at home away from home, is our key to our success.

    The location is somewhat of impotence, we happen to be close to many world attractions such as grotto of Jetta, one of the worlds 7th wonders, and the sightseeing programs that are tailored to the guest who seeks such adventures vacation in Lebanon.

    Most of our guests like to stay at the residence to enjoy the use of our BBQ area with a large gazebo/entertainment area with a karaoke-system-40" LED TV and a large outside kitchenette by the nicely landscaped garden, we have set up outside furniture in front of each rooms terrace for their privacy.

    Success comes when you invest in your business, most importantly one must be people friendly, well if you like people and pleasant in your communications, they will definitely appreciate you and gives you thumbs up for their next vacation. (Give them a time to remember you with)

    Pastor George Afif Boujaoude

    Garden Master Bedroom Suites

    Adonis, Mount Lebanon, Near Jounieh Bay Area.

1 year ago
1
Jenatt

We think of what we want when we stay somewhere. Cleanliness, tea/coffee facilities, toiletries, comfortable beds, and a comfortable lounge. They are our basics to be 100% right. Add extras but don't eat into your profit too much.

We do meet and greets in most cases but are flexible depending on the guests arrival time and their needs. Respond promptly to queries. If notified of a an issue deal with it promptly. Provide information for the guest on where to find shops, chemist, doctor, dentist etc, suggested day trips, restaurant recommendations, instructions for using the equipment in the apartment. For long stay guests we regularly touch base with them.

Above all we aim to make our guest feel comfortable and relaxed. Repeat guests are the proof of doing things right.

Jenatt Apartments Salamanca, Battery Point, Tasmania, Australia

1 year ago
1
Kayze1

I just be myself. Friendly but not in their face all the time.In fact i've learnt to read people pretty well and usually can tell if they want to be left to themselves.

Keeping the place as spotliss as possible and be as professional as I can. My place is small and run by me alone, so I make sure I'm up and dressed early so as not to be caught in my nightdress.

I love meeting people from all countries and cultures so I think that shows.

I'm always happy to pick my guests up from the bus or the airport if they need a lift, or to be dropped somewhere. I offer to do their laundry as it mounts up when your travelling

I really enjoy what I do and I have a wonderful wee place with fantastic views over our lovely sunny Nelson NZ. Its very private with a hot tub right outside.

The only thing I get the odd negative comment about is my narrow steep drive which can be difficult for people backing down when they are not used to driving on the left. But I always offer to back it down for them which is sometimes accepted. :) And its par for the course when you live on a hill.

Hillside Cottage Nelson New Zealand

1 year ago
1
Kevinresort/Thailand

i have a 9.7 review score its nearly impossible to get this score in my location .my property, built by myself in a half circle is unique in thailand! although I am located in a remote area we are surrounded by a beautiful natural rubber tree plantation. I can speak 3 languages fluently so I take care of all my customers needs personally, in my motel you are not just a number. myself and my wife take care off all we have no employes we clean our rooms our self ,make the breakfast, this is a personal expression. if guest leave something behind nothing get lost ,my rooms are soundproof ,build with double walls so customers will not here any noise from the other rooms so customers get there rest what they need .my room rates are very low for the quality and room space you get .we are here 24/ 7 for our customers any needs any time ,no problem .this is what customers like on my motel and all this is what it makes it different.
all the best ebby .
kevinresort/thailand

1 year ago
1
Astelia Lodge

The big things matter when they arrive, a warm welcome, showing the room (without explaining every little thing about it) and the fabulous view if you're lucky enough to have one, Briefly explaining your services and providing an opportunity to ask for things you may not have thought of. It's the little things that they remember when they leave though, a small inexpensive gift on the breakfast side plate, phoning ahead to confirm an onward booking, simply wishing them well when they leave. We write to guests too, both before their arrival and 7 days afterwards to thank them for choosing to stay with us and to provide them with an opportunity to feed back, either good or bad. It gives us time to facilitate their requirements, booking restaurants, shows, food preferences and so on. At our level guests are not extremely demanding but they do appreciate the gesture and it builds rapport before they even arrive. Anticipation is a key factor too. Our guests often compliment us in that we 'seem to have thought of everything', which is gratifying. Finally, work out what kind of people your guests are (usually takes 30 seconds on arrival!) and if they don't want to be sociable leave them in peace!

1 year ago
1
Judge & Jury

I agree with what others have posted... but attention to detail is a big one. Plus the nicer things in life. Guests love the coffee machine, range of teas, hot chocolate etc. Fruit, milk and bread. Logfire burning for them so the house is warm on arrival. Super comfortable beds, lovely linen and thick towels as well as shampoo, conditioner and soap. Always meeting my guests on arrival and being flexible with check in and check out times (as much as I possibly can of course!)

1 year ago
1
Tatianabruno

The client is King! I cannot highlight enough the importance of treating them well. This starts from the very first contact we as hosts have with them as guests by email to their welcome upon arrival and then again upon departure. I always provide a basket of fruit with a personalised note for each guest and may even add fresh bread, biscuits, chocolates etc depending upon their arrival time. I ensure that I am personally present to meet them and answer any of the questions they may have regarding the property itself or their new surroundings. They need to feel "at home" and be comfortable enough to ask for help when needed. The personal touch is what makes the difference.

1 year ago
1
amanda coxon

I've read through a lot of the comments above and I feel there is one major thing that us as hosts should do. Treat and provide for our guests exactly how you would like to be treated when travelling

I would expect the following:

A clean space, clean linen and everything must be in working order: lights, fans, air cons etc

A breakfast relevant to you and your business.

We run a bed and breakfast (22 years this year) and are located in the world heritage tropical rainforests of Far north Queensland and provide our guests with home made goodies created from produce from our property, honey from our bees, fresh fruit from the garden - mangos, passionfruit, bananas, papaya etc, eggs from our hens. We make jams and preserves that they won't get at home like mango, rosella and passionfruit. We bake something fresh every day, provide a selection of cereals and make our own yoghurt as well. Absolutely no portion control products except for butter and sugar for us - for weather and wildlife reasons we've had to use pc for these products. Portion control screams chain motel.

A host that has the time to help with recommending and organising things to do in the area.

As a host we are the locals, we have the knowledge which enables us to provide our guests with the best holiday possible. We live in area of great natural beauty and world significance and want to share all it's wonders with our guests.

1 year ago
1
Chicandfreak Como

I've traveled around the world before becoming a Host. Being able to think as a guest is the boost you need!

1 year ago
1
Khyberstern

From The Wolds in Lincolnshire

I agree with all of the above .I treat my guests as I would like to be treated

Nearly all my guests have an intresteing interesting history which I enjoy listening to.

Anne Stern

1 year ago
1
Margaretcpalmer

Situated at the edge of the Okavango Delta we realize that our guests have travelled long distances to get to this remote spot in Africa. So by offering a sense of place in décor, catering, reading material and conversational interaction everyone learns something new about each other.

1 year ago
1
Info

Treat your guests like family. Be friendly, welcoming, and helpful. Keep a clean house and serve a delicious breakfast. No question is too trivial, no request impossible. Try your hardest, and your guests will notice and appreciate the effort.

1 year ago
1
Mopelola Lawal

It's important to be welcoming to guests, ask them if they need anything, give information about your apartment, where to eat, transport links around, what's in the area. Linen must be clean, beds well made, apartment must be clean and make sure the space is free from clutter. Pay attention to what the guests need. Remember, they're paying for a service! provide it.

1 year ago
1
Lymetreehouse

I believe that a good impression starts from before their stay. I send a personalised email a couple of days after the guest has booked confirming their dates and giving them details of our nearest pub, local taxi numbers and asking if they have any special dietary requirements. I will also book taxis for them especially if they are an overseas guest. We try to be as flexible as possible and often allow an early check-in for weddings (which can mean a very tight turn around!). We have good local knowledge and can also email a longer list of local pubs and restaurants as well as help guests when they are staying with suggested walks, days out etc . There is also a comprehensive welcome pack in each room full of leaflets and we will loan our guests maps etc. We also offer guests fresh milk in a flask each evening when they return as it is so much nicer than UHT milk! Finally, we treat each guest individually and chat to some at length and others who don't appear to want that we respect their privacy. A number of our guests return on a regular basis, one couple we have even been out for a meal with! The key is being flexible in all aspects of hospitality.

1 year ago
1
Marlene Robottom

We find that guests really appreciate a warm welcome as soon as they walk through the door and the little extras that are provided. It doesn't have to cost a lot - individual chocolates, home-made biscuits and bottled water in their room, plus good quality toiletries. A cup of tea/coffee when guests arrive is always appreciated as is the unexpected afternoon tea. Guests really want a clean room - eye to detail is so important. And of course, the breakfast menu, quality of food and how it is presented will leave a lasting impression. We take the view that we want our guests to have the same quality of experience that we would expect if we were staying in a bed & breakfast.

1 year ago
1
Maree Mcdonnell

I generally just love meeting people and I want them to have the best experience possible when they stay with me. I always keep in mind what I would want if I was them and ensure all of those things are meet. I totally agree with a lot of the other comments such as being generous and kind. Obviously the room has to be spot less, great amenities, lots of local knowledge on things to do, privacy when they want it but be available if needed. It's a real pleasure to please people and exceed their expectations.

1 year ago
1
Marion

Spotlessly clean is number 1. Spring clean after every stay, behind couch, fridge, microwave. Check kitchen drawers to ensure no food crumbs have fallen in. No 1 Priority is cleaniness.

Good Linen is No 2. Top quality linen and towels. The guests need to feel the bed sheets are fresh and crisp. I wash all the guests linen and towels in 60 degrees. I use white linen and towels but provide a dark markup remover cloth.

Presentation on arrival: Small flowers/Lavendar on the towels. Warm Greeting

If Shared space such as our property respect their privacy. Check if they need anything, welcome them back from a day out but don't over do it don't make them feel they are being watched.

I always acknowledge the booking when received with a simple message that we are lookinng forward to welcoming them to the property.

1 year ago
1
Happyadventure18

Be true and manifest humane touch. We provide small complimentaries and ensure we respond to query real time.

1 year ago
1
Riverwalkrobigana

River Walk B&B, Tamar Valley, Tasmania, Australia

We always remember that most people have saved up and looked forward to their holidays for a long time. Yes, do the basics well, communication, cleanliness and quality towels and bed linen. Add little touches that don’t cost the earth like a couple of wrapped toffee and mints & individual biscuit and rice cracker packets. Often guests have had a long day and just love having something to nibble on before getting ready to go out for dinner, or whilst resting before cooking for themselves. Most importantly ‘listen', find out what they are looking for from their holiday and help them achieve it. Whether it is letting them know about the local area, or if they want total privacy versus a good chat, finding that out can make all the difference to a guests experience.. and therefore review.

1 year ago
1
Jadranka & Irena

We have two properties, one which we started renting out 3 years ago, and the other one only last year.

We learned by doing it. So, the property we have been renting for 3 years will take a while to improve review score - we got to 9.6 this year.

But the one we started renting this year is our shining star. Our first guests arrived while new bathroom was still having plumbing problems (shower leaking). We were sorting out numerous reno issues in between guests arriving.

The worse part was that during peak season we had to stay in our other property (1.5 h drive away). Peak season for us means same day changovers (and some guests are there for 2 weeks). I was afraid if this will work at all, trying to juggle cleaners, guests leaving and arriving - all at the same day on changeover days.

But - less than a year later we have a perfect 10.There are number of apartments in the same place very similar to ours, so our place is in no way unique.

I know what I like to see when I am travelling - cleanliness is always my first priority, second is privacy. I do not travel to spend time with my hosts, so why would I expect our guests to be different?

We provide information when needed, are there straight away if there is a problem, but nothing more that that.

It is very simple - good location, well equipped apartment, comfortable bed and most importantly, perfectly clean. Someone wrote about having second pair of eyes to look over, so true,

Well equipped modern kitchen is essential. Everything else can be eclecting, but not kitchen. The fact people are booking with us means they want more homely feel and to be able to cook, otherwise they might stay in a hotel.

1 year ago
1
Manueldeoliveira

Is nobody tired of their constant unnecessary e-mails asking us for advise, assistance, etc., we pay them to do their job not for us to do their job..... for the past year and half we have been talking about booking.com collecting payment for us, the hosts, they said to be working on it, so far, 1.5 year later still at the same point, but the lodge or their marketing team appear to have a lot of free time on their hands, when that happens they send us e-mails asking our advise on this or that, just BS.... it's like the US politics, when some politicians does something very bad and everybody is talking about it, and trouble may be on their way, all of a sudden the media start with BREAKING news on a completely different issue to divert peoples attention..... at the end nothing gets done, here the same, keep asking questions and peoples advise that way they would not worry about not having any reservations or having NO SHOW

1 year ago
1
Info

Give guests what you expect and even go that little bit more. Common Sense goes a long way.

1 year ago
1
Apartmangg

Be available for your guests from the first contact. Be nice, helpful, welcoming. Behave like you'd like hosts would treat you as a guest. Make sure your guests can relax, enjoy and not have to worry about anything. They need to feel they're welcome, they need to feel almost like friends visiting and not just guest who're paying for their stay. Pay attention to what your guests are interested in, LISTEN, don't assume. Guests are different and therefore have different things they need and like.

Make sure you provide small additional things your guest might need (eg like toiletries, coffee, tea, sugar etc), provide extra towel, beach towel if applicable. Show that you made extra effort when decorating your apartment, guest will recognize it. All of that counts.

I've read in one of the comments, money isn't everything and I cannot agree more. You need to love what you're doing and your guests will feel it.

1 year ago
1
Odytheoharis

Actually there is no real secret! Just be there, always for every guest. Treat everyone equal and as a member of your family. I believe this is what works in our properties.

1 year ago
1
Rosegardenvilla

Hello,

There is no secret for guest reviews. What I suggest is try and make guests as they are friends of you and help them enjoy their vacation and their time spent in the villa, so they will remember their vacations at your villa as one of the best they have visited.

1 year ago
1
Annah

Making guests feel welcomed seems to be the most important thing. Our cottage is very clean and comfortable (a most excellent bed) and we provide good continental breakfast provisions (fresh milk, a choice of cereals and coffee/tea options, bread, home-made jams, fresh fruit and butter), they have privacy and the peaceful garden provides a great outlook and all these things are generally really appreciated, but the thing that people most comment on is that they felt welcomed. We always try to be there to meet and greet and to point guests in the right direction for great eating places and activity option and just to have a chat if they wish. We love to hear that people have had a great time in our little village and that they would love to come back : )

1 year ago
1
Michael Sciberras060

As having this wonderful sea front apartment , this was a boost to our strong bookings. The place is well positioned in a prime tourist area close to all night life and tourist activities. Upon arrival every new guest would simply aim to go out in the terrace to see that spectacular sea view with the historic salt pans just right in front of them.

So good apartment , good location , good view. Also important to meet them properly not just give them the keys and that's it. I give them basic information like the nearest mini market , restaurant , bus services , time of traffic jams and anything that they will question. I leave many brochures of historical places, ferry trips , Gozo (our sister island) and other tourist adverts.

Most important is to give them a very clean place. Remember they have paid for this and it is their right. As standard we supply them with coffee,tea , sugar ,milk, bottled water, bread,butter, cheese and ham. Some people find travelling very tiring and arriving at the apartment especially late at night like to find these essentials .

We always offer our help and knowledge of the area. Ask them if they need anything else and make sure that they are comfortable. We do our best to help them out with what ever they need .

It is very important to us as Hosts to make sure that they leave happy and satisfied.

1 year ago
1
Mikeperdikis

Utmost respect to our guests is paramount . Being friendly but not familiar . Going out of your way to be of help . Always have some snacks on arrival,snack , fruit , cereal etc arrival Making sure they have some info to the neighborhood

I make sure i treat my guests as i'd like to be treated

1 year ago
1
Reservations

Hello fellow hospitali-tiers

Great to read the thoughts from you all, and from all over the world, there are definitely some themes that create a great guest experience. We have a 3.5 star motel, and deluxe apartments on the same site. The motel scored a fab 9 this year and the apartments were 10- so I guess we can't ask for more that! A few things resonate for me as tested and true for creating an exceptional customer service experience:

1. Under promise and over deliver - our motel delivers at a 4 star level, but we are rated 3.5 star which suits me fine

2. Treat the customer as you would like to be treated- genuine warmth and professional hospitality

3. The little unexpected things always create a lasting impression- lollies on departure, home made jams, torch in the room etc

4. Cleanliness- is definitely next to godliness when it come to our industry

5. Consistency- very important that no matter when your guests return they can expect the same and maybe even better.

6. Create a property with personality- Create a point of difference, but don't personalise too much- just because you love Egyptian furnishings, doesn't mean all your guest will (unless you're in Egypt)

7. Innovate or perish- always be on the look out for the next trends in hospitality and work out how your product can continue to move with the times- avoid a death by doily experience suffered by many older style BnB that have never evolved and perished.

People will forgive a lot, if you provide genuine, friendly service- my motel is not perfect it's a 60s style motel, so there are always things that need doing, but on the whole, people don't care because of the service we offer and the cleanliness of the rooms, and the little extra we think of. You are never going to please everyone- so try not to take to heart the odd bad review- people are weird and wonderful and well, lets face it, that's why we are in the industry!

Those are my pearls of wisdom for today!

1 year ago
1
Damirlux

We give our guests more than they expect, we give them 110% service. Although our apartment is 3-star category, we provide 5-star service. Every new guest is welcomed by personal greeting, welcome drink and something sweat and watermelon in summer time. We always tend to make check-in in person, to show them that our place is now their place. We always use high quality cosmetic products in full size containers, every room has mobile phone charger for various devices, our kitchen is fully equipped and we provide lot of toys for our smallest visitors. Also, for us guest experience starts with the first message confirming the reservation- we never use message template, always try to be helpful, cheerful and smile a lot.

DeLux Apartments Zagreb

1 year ago
1
Floodc Flood

We do not have customers we have friends and the best bit is , that, before our friends leave they pay us for staying with us.

Ask yourself 'if I was a guest at a B&B what would I like? A warm welcome, tea and homemade cake on arrival, fresh flowers , fresh fruit and Belgian chocolates fresh milk in my room, nothing shabby, everything spotless etc. It is not rocket science.

1 year ago
5
Blagoje Acho

I have something like a small school blackboard. Prior guest arrival I write something as "welcome to my city" on guest language (google translate works just fine). I also draw the symbol of the city or the country where they come from. For example, if guests arrive from Paris I draw the Eiffel Tower, if guests are from New Zealand kiwi bird draw:). My guests are really surprised and impressed with the attention. Try it and see. Guests will leave you a better review!

Some of my other tips for great guest reviews.

/en-gb/community/consigli-e-suggerimenti/fifth-tip-great-guest-reviews-it-really-works

1 year ago
1
Jovan588

Wait for your guests with a smile, treat them with respect even though sometimes not everything is as written in the policy. The apartment should be sparkly clean, as you would like it to be if you were a guest. So always put yourself in a position on the other side, what would you like, how do you like to be treated, and on top of it do some individual specialties that will make their stay even better.

1 year ago
1
Dimospaterousis

We are always ready and available to give tips and hints about places to visit , where to eat and activities to do. We put the personal contact in first place as well as the cleaning and to fullfil every need of our guests.

1 year ago
1
Gillian Davenp…

Our accommodation is a little surprise to our guests when the arrive they have everything that they need, home made cookies and fresh milk, fruit from our orchard when in season. A book on things to see and do we point them in the right direction for all the special spots.

Cleanliness has always been one of our top priority, good quality towels and linen are a must, fluffy dressing gowns for relaxing after they get out of their own private spa bath in winter to sit in front of the fire in their room.

Guests only meet another couple at breakfast or if they book dinner in our private dining room where we provide a complimentary bottle of local wine and they have al a carte dining. We do ask guests in advance what they would like for dinner so we can source the freshest produce as we are a far drive to the supermarkets. We do also ask guests their choice for breakfast as we have an extensive menu, with home mad preserves, jams etc and the choice of 3 mains.

We have been doing B/B for the last 28 years and still not tiring. When we get a review that is not up to our standard it is as one guest said that they cannot handle the luxury that we offer.

Gillian Innkeepers House

1 year ago
1
Daan Henning

@Annah

"Making guests feel welcomed seems to be the most important thing. Our cottage is very clean and comfortable (a most excellent bed) and we provide good continental breakfast provisions (fresh milk, a choice of cereals and coffee/tea options, bread, home-made jams, fresh fruit and butter), they have privacy and the peaceful garden provides a great outlook and all these things are generally really appreciated, but the thing that people most comment on is that they felt welcomed. We always try to be there to meet and greet and to point guests in the right direction for great eating places and activity option and just to have a chat if they wish. We love to hear that people have had a great time in our little village and that they would love to come back : )"

Well said.....and I agree totally with all the posts.

However, I do believe some guests not always completely honest with their reviews. I have had low score guest reviews, yet the same guest return a few times. Asking the guest why such a low review score the reply was: "I was not in a good mood that day..."

So be it, I know my place is not perfect, we only started out 2 years ago and building on it.

My believe in a good guest review is all basics like clean rooms, comfy and clean linen, quality breakfast is not negotiable. What I have found to be the most important factor of a happy guest is the way a guest is received and welcomed upon arrival. be honest friendly and genuine. Remember, most of the time guests have traveled a long way, are tired, sometimes grumpy and irritated, but a warm welcome and good hospitality all change that quickly. First impressions last. Make the effort to meet guests as they drive in your property. Offer to help with luggage, be friendly and above all read the mood of your guests. Offer a welcoming cup of coffee or tea.(In our South African hot climate many guests prefer an ice-cold beer) Explain all amenities to guests and make them fell welcome and comfortable.

We still have a lot to learn and we wont ever give up in trying to improve. For me the most important factor is to be friendly and helpful.

A lovely evening to you all

Daan@IntakaGuestHouse

1 year ago
1
Spring

Under promise , over deliver

1 year ago
1
Mrs Suzy McPhail

I believe that guests should feel the warmth of a welcome from the moment they step foot on your property.We are always there to greet them into our home.I like to show them all the areas they are welcome to be in and as yet have never had to inform them of restricted areas as they have all been so respectful.Making them feel at home straight away in a relaxed and friendly way and letting them decide when they want privacy and when they would like to be interactive with us is so important.Make every group feel like they are special.There is always fresh baking for them and plenty of seated areas for them to relax in.Be flexible and thoughtful of their individual requirements at all times.Talk about their journey and provide them with your ideas of the best places to visit.Be a good listener so you can foresee what some of their requirements may be.Before they leave I often print off favourite destinations and how to get there.We also provide bottled water for them to take on the trip.If you love having people in your environment and sharing experiences with others from all around the world it enriches us all and helps make the world a better place.

1 year ago
1
Phill A

There's so much you can do to create a great guest experience.

First and foremost is the way in which you brought guests to your establishment, usually a website or via social media. Don't overrate your property or provide photographs that make your establishment look much better than what it is. Take good photos and display your property in the best light possible but don't exaggerate. This way, guests are not disappointed from the get go.

Before guests arrive, send them some information. Our property is hidden amongst hills and valleys and can be difficult to find. 2 days prior to travel, our management system automatically sends directions and a few interesting stops along the way. By the time they arrive they feel welcome and important.

If possible, provide guests with a walk through, not just a room key. We take our guests to their room and along the way, advise them of places they might want to see, restaurants / cafes or just a nice drive. Point out where to find hotel facilities then mention if they need anything at all, they can call or visit reception - whatever creates a welcoming guest experience, find it.

During their stay, be interactive where possible, but don't sit and chat or be overly friendly for too long. We find some people just like to chill-out.

Of course, nothing is going to work unless your rooms are cleaned to a very high standard. You can be certain that if there's 1 hair strand on the bathroom sink, incoming guests will find it irrespective of how clean the rest of the room is. This can make a difference between a 7/10 and a 10/10 guest experience. Strive for 10/10 in whatever review category can.

1 year ago
1
Philip Gallon

Cleanliness, cleanliness and cleanliness.........Well equipped but not cluttered. A degree of flexibility and availability to respond to queries or issues.

1 year ago
2
Kyra

Most of our reviews relate to Yellow Wood being a home away from home. The telephone number of every guest that checks in at Yellow Wood is stored, when they call again, it is a personalized greeting.

Upon booking, we send them a location marker, advise them of weather conditions and aske if this visit is linked to a special occasion like an anniversary. We then add some flowers to mark this special event. Upon arrival they will find a good bottle of wine and chocolates, wood in the fireplace and firelighters.

If this is a home away from home, our guests are treated like family. We love our dogs, as our guests drive up the winding path path to our home, there are signs that ask them to drive slowly because Jack Russel Children live here. Pet lovers just love this and their pets are welcome.

7 months ago
4
k2u

Provide excellent service from the start.. You must be friendly, courteous, eager to help make your guests very welcome and comfortable. Listen to their needs. Be sure your staff does the same. We offer complimentary coffee/tea, store bought cookies, ect. We cannot bake or cook here, our kitchen is private and not of commercial use. I actually am not sure if I could bake cookies or goodies and just give them for the holidays or special occasions like a guests anniversary or birthday because our kitchen is not equipped for license. Very clean

Cleanliness is the utmost importance. Beds to be made like hospital/Military corners with clean linens, blankets, ect. Clean towels daily. Clean the sink, in our case its a vanity with sink. Clean the shower/tub so it shines from wall to floors of the shower/tub.. should take a just a few minutes. Check under the beds, dresser draws... No guest wants to find anything under the beds or in dresser draws. Check and clean refrigerator and Microwave. NO HAIR on anything !!!! Dust everything. Be sure to check for spider/dust webs daily. The rooms must be spotless !

What I do here, after our housekeeper is done with the room(s) I go in behind them (its a good way to be sure nothing was overlooked) sometimes something may have been forgotten so its a good thing so you know everything is to your standards before your guests arrive. This way, if a guest says something is dirty or found something you know yourself that's not possible.

Keep your prices inline with high and low seasons & holidays.

Just remember your guests come first, if it wasn't for them you wouldn't be in business. Do everything you can to make your guests as happy as possible, yes I know you cannot please everyone although you try very hard.

7 months ago
6
michael beeston

K2U..great answer response, I have been reading all the comments in detail and one word !!!..WOW...the amount of people in the Forum that genuinely care for the guests is amazing...Cleanliness/respect/communication.All of them make for a great review and if not its a standard we all try to achieve.........I was very very impressed with all the comments.Fabulous.....Michael.

and learnt a lot as well..I only wish I could cook as well as a lot of you do (haha) Fresh home cooked bread...wonderful. Thank you all for the ideas and thoughts, very interesting.

7 months ago
4
k2u

Thank you Michael and yes I think we all learn a lot. Ah the smell of fresh home baked bread, theres nothing like it !!

7 months ago