user avatar image
2

Bullied by booking.com - false relocation costs!!!!!

We are extremely disappointed by booking.com.. We managed a property on Booking.com for a client. This property was sold and we had to relocate one guest. We gave the guest 3 months notice and found them alternative accommodation of the same standard which they refused. Booking.com then booked them in to a property for double the price and sent us the bill!!!!!!  Which we refused to pay. They have now closed 2 other properties we manage on behalf of a different client / different owner, who is fully up to date with all payments and obligations to Booking.com yet they are being penalised even though the contracts are not even in the same name! This is insanity.  Today I spoke to someone in customer service who 100% agreed and said credit control had no case at all and then 10 mins later we got another email from Credit control with lies in it saying the contracts are all in the same name which they are not as they are different owners. Bullying us again. The contracts are in different names and they have even written off the relocation invoice but they are still refusing to open our 2 other properties that have been on Booking.com for over a year and are fully up to date with payments. This would not stand up in a court of law yet booking.com seem to be a law unto themselves. Can anyone advise how to deal with a normal human being in credit control? I need to speak to someone who can think and look rather than be a robot.

38 Replies

7
Aaltje B.

Thuild, can you advice on this situation, please.

3 months ago
7
pibomarco

Would be easier just to pay the bill and try to avoid overbookings in future. Tools such as channel manager does wonders.

3 months ago
1
Marinersguesthouse

its obvious you dont realise channel manager overbook as well and why pay the bil???when its not your fault!!!

3 months ago
2
Polly29

Hi ya. Thanks for the responses. But seems you have missed the point. It was NOT overbooking. The property was sold and we needed to relocate a guest. We offered alternative like for like which they did not accept. Then booking.com booked them in to a property twice as expensive and sent us the bill. The guest was given 3 months notice and offered alternative. The other properties they closed were under different contract names. So while I appreciate your responses it doesn’t really answer the question I asked.

3 months ago
2
Polly29

I totally agree with Marinerguesthouse. This one is definitely not our fault. The point being it is not an overbooking etc etc.

3 months ago
7
Katerinka12

It is your fault. 1000%

Just accept it. I did so many overbookings and other mistakes, my goodness.

It's easier to pay the bill and ask to open other properties. It doesn't matter under what name. What matters that going to court against Booking has no sense at all.

Did you consider to list on Airbnb?

3 months ago
7
Katerinka12

"The point being it is not an overbooking etc etc."

If it's not an overbooking, then whats that? Please, name it.

Etc, etc -??? Please, explain. You are talking here to professionals, we don't entertain jokes, but trying to help you. I sincerely hope you appreciate it.

3 months ago
7
pibomarco

Well it was not Booking's or guest's fault that proeprty was sold while you had confirmed bookings pending. Usually most guests would understand this situation and would not complicate. Unfortunately in your case the guest was a ***. Also same price range doesn't neccessery mean a good alternative. Relocation policy is quite clear and "the same standard" can be also a matter of perspective.

3 months ago
2
Polly29

Dearie me. The property was sold! Please read my original message before responding. It is a waste of your time and mine. It is NOT an overbooking and it is not our fault. The guest was offered like for like alternative accommodation by us. He went to booking.com instead and they booked him in to a property twice the price which even violates their own terms. I have sorted it now anyway.

3 months ago
7
pibomarco

So it's the sellers fault, and the seller should pay this bill or the buyer. But responsible is the one who signed the contract with BDC.

3 months ago
2
Polly29

Yes! But it certainly isn’t the fault of a disrelated property owner we manage on behalf of who is fully up to date with all their financial obligations to Booking.com. Anyway I managed to speak to someone in credit control who agreed with me and sorted it

3 months ago
7
Katerinka12

I know how to read, even between the lines... And not going to step on your level.

You didn't name the situation. Name it!

Thank you, pibomarco, your advises are highly appreciated and I will use them in future as I always have overbookings.

P. S. Thuild, hello :)

3 months ago
7
Katerinka12

"disrelated property"

😂😂😂

3 months ago
7
pibomarco

I can't comment about the disrelated property because I am not familiar with this matter.
Great that you sorted it out.

3 months ago
2
Polly29

Yep. Disrelated. Different owner. Anyway I don’t think you have come here to be helpful Katerinka12. Never mind. At least I sorted it which I am pleased about. No need for anyone to comment further and thanks for the helpful advice from some 😀😀😀😀

3 months ago
7
Katerinka12

Same manager. Same irresponsible, unthankful manager, that wants people stay on the street at their own expense.

3 months ago
2
Polly29

I’m not sure I understand the comment but never mind. They were offered same standard property as per earlier messages. But all sorted now. So all good. Thanks for everyone’s help!
Ps. All my properties are extremely highly rated 😀😀😀😀 9 being the lowest.

3 months ago
7
Katerinka12

1) you refused to pay. That means that either a person stays on the street, or someone pays for his stay. In your situation, it's Booking. The Booking paid for your mistake. And you refused to pay back ANY amount. Irregardless of "standard".

2) high rated? Your properties are CLOSED now, so no one will leave any kind of "rating".

That's just the situation. Sorry for being straight forward, but it helps (I hope). How would you feel being in the shoes of your guest? Arriving to your country and hearing "the property was sold! Not my fault!"

Booking sees you as problematic host and you should break it. I suggest you pay relocation fees, so no one can blame you for money. I hope, you can see those fees as minor expense verses your income.

After your bill is paid, take screenshot and send to Booking saying that you don't have outstanding balance, that you will take care of the guests and you are responsible host who loves people. Booking is made of people, so they are more important than "other owners". They know that you have created a problem for the guest. That's why they blocked your other listings. Now it's a time to deal with the problem and let them open your listings. Make them sure that you are responsible host, do your best and we are here to help you.

3 months ago
2
Polly29

Sorry I probably did not explain sufficiently. However this has resolved in my favour and booking.com agreed with me fully in the end. We also have 25 properties. The one I was talking about is one that was sold in august 2018. I agree with an earlier comment where the guest was basically being a ***. As I also said we gave them 3 months notice. So they would not be arriving in a country to no property at all. We fully explained the scene to them and like the earlier comment most guests are usually extremely understanding and a few others that we had to sort out were very understanding and happy with the alternative highly rated properties we offered them. The guests where this charge was in question were also offered a like for like by us. It was 2 properties that were closed. However I also missed to say that this property was sold in August. The guest was informed in June that we would not be able to accommodate his booking in sept in that property as the owner had decided to sell. We offered him a lovely alternative. The relocation invoice was actually written off in Oct and it was last week that 2 other properties under different owner name/contract name were closed as result. So there was added time. I see your point but it’s been resolved in my favour as the relocation costs were invalid based on the proof we provided and the closing of the other 2 properties were also invalid as they were fully up to date with their financial obligations to booking.com and were in a different contract name/owned by someone else. I also agreed the seller in this instance could have been held accountable. Anyway, as I have said it is now resolved so that’s good. It is hard to illustrate the full scene by message thread but I hope this message clarified it somewhat.

3 months ago
7
Katerinka12

Dear Booking,

Please, open our properties #number.

We do not have any reason or any explanation why our listings were closed by you. We feel it is unjustice and we would like to host your guests (if you have bookings, mention them here and provide the number).

If you need to contact us, our telephone numbers are:
xxx

Your name

You should send a letter, so there will be a proper record. Just send something, so you have a proof.

3 months ago
7
Katerinka12

Dear Booking,

We are writing to find a compromise about the booking #and date.

Unfortunately, we were not informed that the property was sold. We, in fact, really tried our best, to inform the client in 3 months time!

Moreover, we offered our client a similar place. We honestly tried to satisfy the client from you and we wish to host more guests in furure.

If your client didn't like the relocation, we regret about it. As for us, we did our best!

Again, we are waiting for good clients and hope you can open #listing number.

3 months ago
7
Aaltje B.

Hi Polly

Thank you for writing that the situation is solved.

It is a complex and unusual one, and especially when many people are involved you get so many different opinions doesn't make it easier.

And now, time to start again afresh.

Wishing you a great season and wonderful guests.

Greetings

from New Zealand.

Aaltje B.

3 months ago
2
Polly29

Thank you Aaltje B : )

3 months ago
5
David
Katerinka12 You come across as a very confrontational person what the original poster was saying was very clear unfortunately it was you that made yourself look a little stupid.
3 months ago
7
Katerinka12

David, you might be right :)
Please, explain why

3 months ago
5
David

Dear madame I do not have to explain why one just has to read your very aggressive replies to Polly29 .

3 months ago
2
Polly29

Thank you David! I appreciate your comments. I actually felt attacked by Katerinka12 and not helped at all. I also felt the replies showed my comments had not been read remotely and the comments continued even when I had said it was handled and in my favour.I had also been accused of things that were not true when I am an extremely caring host. I was quite disappointed and upset by her replies to be honest so I appreciate you saying this.

3 months ago
5
David

Your welcome Polly29. It is as clear as day follows night that this person was behaving in a very confrontational manner.Recently my business partner died we to had to cancel many future bookings which some agents at Booking.com threatened me with relocation charges, after pointing out to them that death is unfortunately unavoidable they decided to act in a far more humane and understanding manner.

Where guest have made bookings far ahead and paid no deposits there should be no problem in them finding alternate accommodation. Things happen, after all we have to suffer with guest and the way they behave with fake credit cards, no shows with often loss of revenue.

Finally there is no place for keyboard bullies who think it is acceptable to behave in this manner Katerinka12 as done herself no favours in this instance.

3 months ago
7
Katerinka12

I will stand by the Truth. Whether you like it or no.

I helped. I even wrote sample letters to protect her other properties. Did anyone on this forum even took care to think of your income? I did my best not only to explain your responsibilities, but also did my best to help you to save your income, your bread.

3 months ago
2
Polly29

I am sorry to hear about your business partner David. Yes, all situations are not the same and the need for a relocation does not necessarily mean an overbooking or error on the side of the host. I had already said the situation was handled numerous times before you wrote the letters Katerinka12. You also did not read my original post and answered based on what you thought you read not what was actually said in my post. It was not helpful and you presumed things about me and my business that were simply not true and you expressed this on an open forum very aggressively, I think the fundamental thing is you did not understand what I was actually asking and you accused me. I would never do that to someone. I know you didnt read my answers as you continued to post even after I said it was sorted in my favour.

3 months ago
7
Aaltje B.

Dear ladies.

I think the problem is solved.

I am glad it is.

Let's look at the future now.

Shake hands and move on. The world is complex enough.

Forgive each other, and make a new fresh start. Thank you.

Greetings

Ella B.

3 months ago
7
Katerinka12

The only aggressive person here is David, who uses inappropriate language to describe himself.

Polly, we were writing at the same time. While I was preparing my answer, you already posted. You are taking things very emotionally. I am not your mama or free psychologist. You are talking to experienced hosts here, who are adults. Irregardless if you knew or didn't know (which is very surprising, but anyway) that property was sold, active booking is still your responsibility. People die yet they are still responsible for something. You failed to convince the client to cancel the booking. Moreover, your other properties were at risk. This is much more important rather than fighting katerinka. Wise person accepts his mistakes and corrects them.

3 months ago
5
David

Katerinka, me pointing out your borderline rudeness does not make me a bully. As Polly once again points out to you she IS NOT a property owner but a management agent of several properties,if something goes wrong or there is some kind of misunderstanding with one property that is managed then you do not penalise other properties managed by Polly but owned by others.It really is that simple and that's why Booking.com finally understood this where Polly is concerned.

Once again we will give you a day or two for you to get your head round the facts and hopefully it will sink in this time.

3 months ago
5
Ilaria

Hi all,

This space is all about sharing your expertise with others.

In an effort to ensure that it remains a helpful and supportive environment for all partners we have closed this thread for comments.

Thanks for your ongoing participation.

-Ilaria and the Community Team

3 months ago