user avatar image
1

BAD REVIEW AFTER MISCONDUCT

Frank's backpackers has only one 6-bedded dormitory room, shared by self-sustainable guests who are keeping everything tidy by themselves.

 

But often, when I send the requirements of my special concept,

people tend to simply not react or agree, without really reading that what they agree on and without registering in advance so I can send them a door code to get in, any time they want.
Usually expecting to find a reception that will let them in anyway as they have already paid.

As I am usually not present myself like I explained in my automatic reply, the problem should solve itself when this guest cancels or finds out he should have answered within the 48 hours I asked him to, twice.

But if I am present at the moment of arrival, accepting them to pay me a deposit to make sure that they will live up to what they agree on,

even when I give them a chance to make up and do what they should have done, receiving back their deposit anyway,
they tend to write me a bad review, lowering my score,
complaining about a concept they agreed on, in advance.

Even in rare cases when I have to report a guest for bad behavior, Booking.com still gives this guest the opportunity to give me an extremely low review, drastically lowering my overall score.
Specially when he can repeat that with several separate bookings.

Does anyone else have a problem with this as I am asking Booking.com to please consider changing this policy.

I don't see the benefit of reporting misconduct if the guest can punish me for that.

Thank you, Frank

17 Replies

1
The Warehouse

I recently had the same experience: guests who violated seriously every house rule: taking in other people, smoking inside, being loud (and keeping other guests from their sleep), using drugs. I reported the misconduct to booking.com immediately, but still the guests can place a bad review.

The policy of booking.com is that a booking is a confirmed booking immediately. There is no possibility of screening in advance, as a host you can't refuse a booking. The other side of this policy should be that when a misconduct is reported (especially when there are witnesses), there should be no possibility anymore for this particular guest to leave a review.

Petra Faber

The Warehouse

Amsterdam

6 months ago
2
Jay

Entirely agree with your comment, Petra Faber. Reporting someone for misconduct, especially if they're part of the Genius scheme, is likely to cause resentment and respond with a negative review. If a person has behaved in such a way that they are reported for misconduct Booking.com should prevent them from reviewing that property because they know that negative rating is going to affect ranking and also put off some potential guests from booking in future.

6 months ago
1
The Warehouse

But how can we take this to a higher level at booking? Customer Service repeats the same message over and over again. I'm certain we are not the only hosts with this experience, but it's almost impossible to talk to someone at booking who's responsible for the policy.

6 months ago
1
Tangoteamwork

Thank you Petra and anonymous respondents,

I think we can take this to a higher level if we react like we do now but preferably not anonymous.
We should take a stand for this serious problem.

I am sure you all work hard to get high scores en then just one guest who misbehaves can bring this score down extremely by giving the lowest score possible for things she/he even agreed on.
And when bookings are booked separately for weeks, this guest can even multiply this impact.

Another problem is that if we don't report misconduct, we can't even refuse this guest next time he/she books.

I discussed this subject several times and all Booking.com agents agree completely but feel like being stuck with the common procedures.

Hopefully Booking.com will take into account that most hosts are working too much to even have time to look into this Forum and react but I assume this problem should count for all hosts.

Greetings, Frank

6 months ago
2
Jay

Hi Frank, being entirely new to the forums I had no idea how to create a profile - until now, so hopefully I am now no longer anonymous!

It is incredibly frustrating that such a major company within the travel business would neglect this area - one of several I've already noted. It stands to reason that if a guest has behaved appallingly to the point they are reported for misconduct, they are likely to respond by leaving a negative review knowing that it has the potential to adversely affect business for that listed property.

Another area there's an imbalance.. a guest's review is instantly published, the responding owner/manager has to wait for their reply to be moderated before being published and that can take several days. It's been three days since my received negative feedback and still my reply has yet to be published - I did email them yesterday and as yet, continue waiting for a response.

Let's hope the powers that be take note and implement a balance, so that businesses are also protected.

Kind regards,

Jay

6 months ago
1
Tangoteamwork

Great contribution Jay, thanks.
I have the same problem with my reply to the negative feedback I received three times in a row from the same misbehaving guest.

Greetings, Frank

6 months ago
2
Jay

I'm curious, Frank, as you had x 3 negative reviews from the same guest, why not block them from returning to your property after the first time they engaged in misconduct on in your property, or was that before BDC introduced the Misconduct/Block features?

I do think those of us in this industry are given a rough deal in some respects because we are forced to accept general bad behaviour due to the issue of receiving negative feedback which we can do nothing about, and that needs to change.. So, come on, Booking.com, please revise this procedure and make it more balanced.

Kind regards,

Jay

6 months ago
1
The Warehouse

Totally agree with Jay.

* we're not able to screen the guests

* when a misconduct is reported, the guest stil can place a negative review

* as a host you can reply, but you have to wait for publishing.

And you never get to speak to someone who is responsible for the policy. How do we reach other people?

6 months ago
1
Tangoteamwork

That's right Jay, the 3x negative feedback was after giving him another chance several times.

6 months ago
2
Jay

Oh Frank, that is awful, and a tremendous shame for you. While I take into consideration that people are away and looking for a good time, so perhaps aren't as careful and considerate as they perhaps usually are, I still operate a zero tolerance stance, e.g., if I can prove they've smoked on my premises, they have to leave as I'm not jeopardising my other guests, insurance and fire safety for their feel-good-factor, and I won't be held to ransom by the threat of a negative feedback either, which is why BDC needs to review/upgrade their policies and work at also protecting the hosts who advertise businesses through them.

6 months ago
1
Karinkazno2

This site needs to update policy's.

guests can leave us feedback so why can't we do so for them?

Likr other sites ( airbnb)

that way it's fair .

i have just marked a mid conduct guest yesterday so let's see what happens!!!

5 months ago
1
Tangoteamwork

I just received a guest that didn't confirm to agree with my special concept of keeping everything clean and in the same state without any reception available.
Although he didn't receive any door code, another guest let him in.

Because I was at home myself I gave him one last chance but next morning all the light was left on, sinks were dirty and wet, etc.
Seemingly a guy who is used to get what he want by simply stretching his limits.
He begged for another chance but from experience I know this can get me into lots of trouble so promised him to pay him back the nights he didn't stay and I let him sign a paper that he wouldn't leave a review.

How's that for a temporary solution until Booking.com figured out a solution?

Greetings, Frank from Frank's backpackers.

5 months ago
1
Tangoteamwork

Hello everyone,

I just had another bad review from a guest that didn't live up to what he agreed on and misbehaved and I sent another message to Booking.com to look into their policy.

I also called Booking.com and the person I was talking to gave me the idea to go to inbox > Booking.com messages > and scroll down to the end of this page.

There you can find a button for feedback and I asked booking.com to please look into this issue as specially low budget hosts must have more problems with it but cannot find this community so share it.

Please follow my example and let's make a difference.

Thanks, Frank

4 months ago
1
Campassi

To submit a misconduct report:

  • Confirm that the info provided is truthful and accurate
  • Agree that the info provided can be shared with the guest, who is the subject of your comments, as well as with third parties (including law enforcement). This includes the context of a data subject access request or a question from the guest as to why he/she is blocked from booking at your property.
3 months ago
1
Frank

So is this the new version of how to submit a misconduct report coming from Booking.com??

If this is the case I confirm that the info provided about any guest that gave me a bad review in the past is truthful and accurate.

I agree that the info provided can be shared with the guest, who is the subject of your comments, as well as with third parties (including law enforcement).

I understand that if this includes the context of a data subject access request or a question from the guest, he/she can be blocked from booking at your property.

Did I understand that right Campassi?

3 months ago
1
Campassi

I am not the expert. I am just a user like you. I have a similar issue, did some research, and copy&pasted this quote from Booking.com hoping to help others. I am in the hotel business. I decided not to report the guest misconduct because I have learned several things ... among them - people are far more motivated to post bad than good, - paying attention to a bad guest such as responding to a bad review is just what they wanted so I ignore most bad reviews, and - Google has told me on a recorded line, that they "are not concerned with the truthfulness of reviews" when I offered to prove that a person threatened a bad review if not given a free room.

3 months ago
1
Frank

Wow! That must have been an impressive experience Campassi.

Booking.com management doesn't seem to be concerned whatsoever about the well-being of their partners as you can see for they still didn't even react.

This is why I found my own solution.
Every time a guest misbehaves I ask him/her to leave my building, promising to return the money of the missed nights,
after they have given me a review of at least a 10 ;-)

3 months ago