m
1

Review Policy

It seems that there is a gap in the guest review system of booking.com , there must be a limit to a bud review a guest leaves for the property especially when this is made with revenge or other motives .

 


z
3
Zoo 9 months ago

Of course it is but booking.com doesnt care.

v
2
VILLA ELLEO 9 months ago

One would like to think so, but as we've been battling 6 months with booking.com to get a nasty review we got of 1/10 removed - (with no comments - so we can't even reply to the guest) when we'd never had a review lower than one or two 7/8 out of 10 reviews and 90% of the other reviews have all been 9's and 10's (our average review score was 9.6/10 from 30 post covid guests) so a 1/10 deserved looking into. Not the case. We have tried and tried, and whilst everybody we've spoken to agrees it's WRONG they haven't done a thing about it... We've spent hours and hours trying to get a wrong corrected, (and it could be done easily) but it seems it's all been a complete waste of time. They're happy to refer to us as Partners, but that's clearly not what we are. We're a tiny little fish (that makes BC about USD 15,000 P.A) in a gigantic booking.com pool that couldn't and wouldn't care if we were there or not... Sad but true.

z
3
Zoo 9 months ago

you can try it for 3 years. they wont remove it. and it doesnt matter if others agree that its wrong.

v
2
VILLA ELLEO 9 months ago

We gave up after 6-7 months. They simply don’t give a dam…. They don’t see things the way every person with any common sense does, so it’s pointless banging our heads against a brick wall. We even wrote to the CEO of booking.com (Glenn) in the hopes something might be done, but we don’t even get the courtesy of a reply… 

l
1
Laura Niermann 8 months ago

Bad reviews can be a positive thing, and you do have the option to reply to the guest if they have made a comment    i see it as the good reviews out-number the bad and that an intelligent person reading them can see right through them.   I see it as 'competition being good for business'.   I ALWAYS respond to comment good or bad, so that readers or potential guests can see who really is or was at fault.   

z
3
Zoo 8 months ago

you didn't understand. bad reviews of for example no-shows shouldn't be allowed by default!

or overall ratings with for example 1/10 and subcategories 10/10 also doesn't make sense.

v
2
VILLA ELLEO 8 months ago

We aren’t averse to poor reviews… We rarely get them. What we think is wrong is being threatened with a bad review, and while you always respond, (so do we) you can not respond when the guest does not leave a comment….. We simply notified the police that the guest was missing something, and that our staff were being accused of stealing.. It turned out the guest had the missing item the whole time. That is not a reason for leaving a review score of 1 out of 10 with no comment - resulting in the host not being able to respond. The review score is so out of place, that we know any prospective guest would not take any notice of it… what we do care about is the effect this malicious review has done to our overall review average, which we have worked hard to maintain (and still do) Years of building it up to 9.7 out of 10 have been wiped out with one malicious review…. You may think that’s acceptable.. We disagree. 

l
1
Laura Niermann 8 months ago

I agree that it is not fair to get a bad review score and the guest has not left a comment - because you cannot respond to it.   I don't condone that, and if it would dtop my overall score with Bdk then I woild also want an explanation.   I have not had any problems in the past with contacting BDK via telephobe or message and always get a satisfactory response/ resolution.

v
2
VILLA ELLEO 8 months ago

I think we had 37 BC reviews since Covid travel restrictions started to lift in March/April 2022 and our review average was 9.6/10 with the lowest review score we’ve ever received (in 7 years) being a 7/10 and this one review of 1 out of 10 dropped our average down to 9.2 out of 10

This is still a very respectable average review score, but to get back to where we were, is now going to require us to get over 26 reviews of 10 out of 10 in a row. That one malicious guest, can have that effect on a host is simply not right, or fair. Enough said, it is what it is. 

z
3
Zoo 8 months ago

The overall rating should be calculated by the average of the subcategories and most problems are solved.

It shouldn't be possible that guests can rate the overall rating separately. If the guest rates all subcategories with 10/10 and leaves an overall score of 5/10 it doesn't makes sense.

Aks the guest why he left the 5/10. Some answers: it was raining, i was in a bad mood, beach wasnt nice etc.

So tell me, what has this to do with the accomodation???

Nothing! And that's why the rating system doesnt make sense in general.

 

v
2
VILLA ELLEO 3 months ago

That’s all very well if you’re given the opportunity to reply. When guest leaves “no comment” you are not given the opportunity to reply. So a review score of 1/10 just has to be accepted…

We agree that most potential guests will see right through one poor review, but what hurts is when a hard earned average review score of 9.6-10 (which places a property in the “Exceptional category” drops to 9.2/10 “Wonderful”

etc… 

g
5
Guido Kück 3 months ago

Villa Eleo. like I mentioned before,  please copy and paste your statement  in the post that I mentioned above. All complaints should be in one "big" complaint.

v
2
VILLA ELLEO 8 months ago

Our review of 1 out of 10 (with no comments) had the following breakdown:

Staff: 2.5 (we know why - because we notified the police of a theft that never occurred)

Cleanliness: 5

Location: 10

Facilities: 7.5

Comfort: 7.5

Value For Money: 7.5

And somehow you end up with a 1 out of 10.

Interested to know what relevance the subcategories have on anything.... because they do not seem to have any relevance whatsoever. It is 100% clear what happened for this guest to threaten us with a really poor review, (with no comments) and yet because it does not contravene the BC guidelines for removal - it remains with us - if only for 3 years. At the very least, we think that the review could remain, but our average review score should be re-instated. 

That now seems very unlikely to happen, even though we did get notified in writing a few weeks ago that (and we quote word for word) "As per your request, the review has been successfully removed" only to find it had not been removed, and that BC have now changed their minds and the review can not be removed..... 

 

  

v
2
VILLA ELLEO 3 months ago

Hello Guido, We have soooo much correspondence on this unfair review we aren't sure what to copy and paste... 

g
5
Guido Kück 3 months ago

Hello Villa Elleo. I fully understand but it would be great if you state what happen, what you do not like etc. in this one post I mentioned. It does not cost so much time but it does not help that so many people make their own separate complaints because they do not react to that. My review was deleted because I sent it to the No. 2 of booking.com personally and that should be done again that someone responsible must read all the problems that a lot of guests have. Different hosts suffering the same. Like we all can see from this many complaints it is not a single problem that occurs from these unfair rating system, many hosts  suffer from it. But when not escalating this to the right person, nothing will happen..That is the sad truth..