d
2

Does anyone know how to make a complaint ?

According to the help pages to make a complaint I have to send a message to the relevant department but there is no option to complain in the drop down list. Besides, what are you supposed to do if the department you are complaining about ignores complaints ? The situation is farcical.


d
2
Derek Newark 4 years ago

I have tried everything including 6 calls to Amsterdam who were shocked at the performance of my local support (Croatia) but still am getting nowhere. The craziest thing is my issue is with accounts and when they send a response they close the ticket automatically. So amazingly I am not able to reply so I have to start a new ticket which they ignore. 

I once asked an agent why there was no link I could use to send a complaint and she answered "of course you can complain, you just click the little thumbs down image " that says it all

 

s
1
Scott Black 1 year ago

Hiya - could share the number you have in Amsterdam, I been trying to track it down but can’t find it there HQ number in Amsterdam 

 

much appreciated 

p
1
Paul Jones 1 year ago

Yeah like the other person said.. share that number for Amsterdam please, more the merrier that keep trying to get through to them  

k
2
kriton tornaritis 8 months ago

The fax number which is on the official booking address details to Holland. i will start legal notices and follow with legal actions as until now I have had no answers

Profile picture for user bookings.isleofwightvacations.com i
7
Isle of Wight … 4 years ago

It is shocking that BDC treat owners in this way, but that's how things are at the moment. Keep trying and don't give up. It takes time - a lot of time. Although dealing with BDC problems is important, because of the time it takes, I can only do it when I have spare time - I must focus on where everything works, like using AirBnB, and I put BDC issues as lower priority .....

g
1
Grand Harbour View 4 years ago

Totally in agreement, exact same thing happens to me as well, they close the ticket so that I cannot reply. I send 6 messages or so, all ignored or receiving a non-sense reply...then when you call and get some kind of help and ask for a name you are only provided with a first name which accounts for millions of people around the globe, asked for the full name and got the first name again so then I asked if it is just "First name" there is no last name and I got a reply in the affirmative. A total joke...and a rip-off 19% commission for doing nothing! Only good for marketing and getting bookings but when it comes to customer care (because in reality we are BDC's customers and not the guests...without us BDC would have nothing to sell) BDC is rubbish...other platforms charge much less commissions and their customer care is impeccable...I can see why, for example, Airbnb is rising...and if BDC are not careful of the way they treat customers they will fail no matter how big...Nokia was big as well...

d
2
Derek Newark 4 years ago

To be honest I have no complaints with them in general. It doesn't matter how much commission a company charges, it is the net income at the end of the year that is important. Airbnb are certainly gaining market share but they are dishonest. People looking for accomodation in my small village will not be shown accomodation resulting from their search but the hosts that have generating them the most commission. The result is that guests  unwittingly book accomodation miles away when there are places here.

My experience with booking.com is that they are not dishonest but unbelievably incompetent. The irony is I owe them quite a lot of money in commission but have no way of paying. My account has four invoices outstanding in different currencies with one of them being part paid . Any other company would simply send me a statement telling me what I owe in total but when I suggested that they had no idea what I was talking about. 

Normally I would say it is down to bad management but it seems to be there is no management and just a lot of departments working without supervision. How else can you explain the refusal to accept complaints

I
Anonymous
4 years ago

Hello Derek Newark! Thank you for your post. I think our Community is a good place to share feedback and ideas about improvement. You can start a conversation by yourself or participate in the comments. We don't delete any negative feedback. And we do our best to improve our work. 

d
2
Derek Newark 4 years ago

Yes support from the community is very good and members have tried the best to help. It's just a shame that booking.com refuse to support their own community. 

Profile picture for user m.adamopoulou.hotmail.com m
10
M Adamopoulou 4 years ago

Sorry guys to hear that you are facing so many problems with BDC.

My two years experience working with BDC has been excellent...

My messages sometimes are been replied on the spot...as it happened yesterday when I send a message request to BDC asking to help another partner.

My local BDC support team is also very supportive and understanding....never had any problems!!!

I really cannot understand why support team in other countries is not working!!! It’s a shame!!!

Wish you all the best.

d
2
Derek Newark 4 years ago

It still come back to my original question. How can a company be well run when it refuses point blank to accept complaints?

Profile picture for user canterburytalescafe.hotmail.com d
2
Dave Collier 4 years ago

It's not just me then? I have recently started my rooms on Booking,com -been with airbnb for yrs and always been happy with them.''' Booking.com seem to be all for the guest with minimal thought for the host.

Also getting to actually solve a problem through feedback or forums etc is laughable/impossible. 

The receiving a letter to confirm location does not work?

I had a guest asked for a free cancelation as he said he could not come for personal reasons, I said sorry but our policy means if "you' cancel you lose and not us who have saved the room and turned away others, the guy did not respond - then turned up by which time I had another guest wanted the room, I told him he had canceled and never told me he changed his mind, he said he did not have to, I told him so you lied about not be able to come for personal reasons, un-be-knowing to me as he had not officially canceled the booking was still live and I should wait for a know show and then is his fault, the point is if a guest cancels 2 days before arrival you have to wait thus losing potential new guests just because the guest does not have the manners to tell you " ok then I will come?"

 

Profile picture for user admin.theReinhold.com t
3
The Reinhold G… 4 years ago

Good day Dave,-- you are correct,-- it is not just you. Our guesthouse management has experienced the pain of frustration caused by the BdC support team when it comes to responding to complaints from the side of a host.With all the positive features of the BdC booking system, Host support lacks far behind.

It is good to hear from other hosts, like M Adamopoulou, that in some parts of the Globe the BdC Host-Support does work.

When it comes to the individual guest's personal attitude,-- with every new guest there come new surprises,--- we can only hope that most of those surprises are pleasant.

Profile picture for user canterburytalescafe.hotmail.com d
2
Dave Collier 1 year ago

Moving onto Feb 2013 I have been scammed by booking.com and have taken my rooms off their site.

e
1
Ettiene Gouws 8 months ago

Well, it is 2023 now and I am experiencing exactly the same as what you described.. The guest is everything and the owners, well stuff them! How the hell one is suppose to run a business with Booking.com as a partner I dont know - pathetic replies (or lack of) and support, especially with their unwillingness to cancel a booking after a guest failed to confirm his booking after I reached out to him several times for over almost a week!! Result is the dates on my calender stays blocked and I have to anyway mark the guest as a No Show after not pitching - as I warned Booking.com that's what's going to happen if they dont cancel the booking and allow me to get someone else! Looking for an alternative; cannot carry on like this. Costing me money!!

Profile picture for user m.adamopoulou.hotmail.com m
10
M Adamopoulou 4 years ago

Sorry to hear about your bad experience.

Unfortunately some guests are not reliable...

I would suggest to make your policies more strict so when a guest cancels you have plenty of time to find a new guest.

Wish you luck.

Profile picture for user m.adamopoulou.hotmail.com m
10
M Adamopoulou 4 years ago

Reinhold, it’s terrible to hear that your support team has not good service.

I guess we are lucky in Greece.

Wish you a happy weekend.

Profile picture for user admin.theReinhold.com t
3
The Reinhold G… 4 years ago

yes, you are a "Lucky Lady"

 

PS. after the 4th ridiculous excuse from the BdC partner support team, we just replied to their most recent message, which we received a couple hour ago.

""""

The Reinhold Guesthouse Bali

15 February 2020 - 10:04:07

Dear ***
To make it short, the guest DID NOT stay at our property, but ( without notice to our management ) brought in a SUBSTITUTE person to fill her place.
It is ( in our opinion ) completely illogical to suggest that the booking ( which was prepaid ) should have been marked as a "No-show".
Please be assured that the Reinhold Guesthouse Management feels deeply insulted by BdC's response, and we will not surrender to your explanation.
After 9 years of working with BdC, we have never experienced a completely biased situation like this, where BdC ignores, and overrides, its own policies.
We claim that the person, who wrote the review, had no right to post a review, as that person was NOT the guest that the reservation was booked for.
We are awaiting your reply.
Kind regards
The Reinhold Guesthouse Bali

 

Profile picture for user bookings.isleofwightvacations.com i
7
Isle of Wight … 4 years ago

Keep fighting, never give up. You might never win, but fight anyway. The more of us that fight the unfairnes and incompetence of Booking.com, the greater the chance that one day, with enough pressure and a bit of luck, they might actually agree that they need to treat hosts better.

Profile picture for user admin.theReinhold.com t
3
The Reinhold G… 4 years ago

Great news, --- after 2 weeks of back and forth communication with the BdC support team, in trying to solve an unfair guest review issue, Booking,com's team has this morning DELETED ALL , ours , and their, messages that we have exchanged with them since the end of last year.

Profile picture for user m.adamopoulou.hotmail.com m
10
M Adamopoulou 4 years ago

Thanks for the feedback...sorry to hear that....but I dont understand why!!!

Wish you all the best.

 

Profile picture for user canterburytalescafe.hotmail.com d
2
Dave Collier 4 years ago

So far with booking.com I have found that giving feedback, makes no difference what so ever, sending messages, gets no response what so ever. I assume booking.com assume everyone automatically understands and can navigate easily all its functions - not the case, should be clearer and easier to understand, this spell check right here does not work, I had a guest who canceled because personal reasons but then turned up but I had another guest and got penalised because he did not have the decentcy to tell me he had changed his mind, I was on all my rooms with free cancelation but was getting so many time wasters so now have changed policy.

Have been with airbnb for years and so few problems but a few weeks here are getting frustrated? 

Profile picture for user bookings.isleofwightvacations.com i
7
Isle of Wight … 4 years ago

Make sure to run everything like you do on AirBnB. Don't let Booking.com's stupid policies change how you run things. It's your property. Yours.

Profile picture for user canterburytalescafe.hotmail.com d
2
Dave Collier 4 years ago

Yes also for some reason one of my rooms has been taken off - for booking subject to a quality check? no more explanation than that but I was messaged that the room would not be free for booking for 10 days and no payouts etc.....no explanation what so ever so basically I have taken the room off available until next year on booking.com, never had such an insult like this from Airbnb?

d
2
DEBBIE FERREIRA 3 years ago

I've been accepting bookings where payments are done through booking.com

Booking.com has paid me out a fraction of the agreed amount. when I want to raise my concern. I spend 2 weeks with no success after trying everything. 

 

****** short on 1 BOOKING

****** short on another booking.

 

****** short on 3rd booking.

 

Yet they have audacity to take the commission and vat and extra, pay me out a fraction and THEN SEND ME AN INVOICE SAYING I OWE THEM???? 

IM SO TIRED OF EXPLAINING THIS TO AN AGENT SAYS THEY SORRY. BUT REALLY DONT CARE LESS. AND THEY CANT ASSIST.

ITS A NEVER ENDING BATTLE.

w
1
Wanderfalls Gu… 2 years ago

They are the absolute worst in how they treat their "Partners."  Often, their policies and inaction result in theft of service. 

I think it may be time to get the Attorneys Generals involved here in the U.S.  

d
2
Derek Newark 1 year ago

This topic has gone way off-subject. I simply wanted to know how one could make a complaint, I assume it is still not possible as the last time I asked the agent she told me it is done by clicking the thumbs down icon which beggars belief.

I have to be fair and say that while customer support is appalling, I have found Booking.com to be excellent. My original problem was with accounting and they made such a total mess of my invoices that knowing the fault was at their end, they decided that it was more economical for them to write off the £700 commission I owed than to sort it out.

Since then I have started using their "pay by booking.com" service which I love and have had no problem getting paid. I have not had a single no-show or late cancellation.

Having said that, creating policies is still a mess and not surprisingly, when I contacted support their reply was nonsense so I have accepted I will have to live with it.

So going back to my original question, there needs to be somewhere we complain to when customer support is not working. And I am not talking about making a complaint to the department we are complaining about.

p
1
Paul Jones 1 year ago

You want to complain that you cant complain to a complaint that wont be contemplated?? It would be nice to have an actual working complaints department in the first place no?! 

d
2
Derek Newark 1 year ago

If you look at my original post you will see that is precisely what I was asking for

j
1
JOHN POUROULA 1 year ago

Don't bother complaining no one from B.Com cares.

I've made and received (some) more than 24 phone calls with no one competent enough to fix my problem.

The most useless organisation I have ever dealt with and I can't even contact their head office.

How are they still in business?

k
2
kriton tornaritis 8 months ago

I will send them legal notice as they have not answered me and also delete my complaint. if they continue I will proceed with legal measures also in the European body responsible. 

Profile picture for user m.adamopoulou.hotmail.com m
10
M Adamopoulou 1 year ago

So sorry to heat that BDC ignores partners 😕

 

Profile picture for user NelFerrero7.gmail.com n
1
Nel Ferrero 8 months ago

BdC is managed by a bunch of kids, they love playing games with hosts. They ignore the fact that we are people trying to make a living and pay bills out of what we get back.

They lack education, training, they seem to be drunk or on drugs all the time.

I'm completely frustrated with this type of service, actually disgusted!!

I called the other day to get help, because on Airbnb it's very easy to manage in contrast with bdc, so I said to the agent: "I'm able to duplicate my listing in Airbnb to stop the old and have a new one, but not in bdc, so can you please guide me through it? ...' she put me on hold and when she came back she had cancelled my listing. And until today I don't have a listing because there's no way to get help on this from bdc!! It's insane but it's real!! I don't know what to do. If I take them to court what will I gain with it. They have full monopoly as they manage the accounts, phone call recordings, they won't give any of that away.