2

Does anyone know how to make a complaint ?

According to the help pages to make a complaint I have to send a message to the relevant department but there is no option to complain in the drop down list. Besides, what are you supposed to do if the department you are complaining about ignores complaints ? The situation is farcical.

+5
23 Replies
710 Views

7
Isle of Wight …

Is that a complaint about Booking.com? If so, put it on a postcard and send it to Santa at the North Pole - it'll stand a better chance of being read .....

 

I would suggest you send a message via your Extranet - use any drop-down option. You will get a nonsense reply from someone who really doesn't give a flying one about your situation, telling you that you are wrong to expect better etc. Reply to it, then reply again, and again. Insist on the complaint being handled by a manager or someone other than the minions who normally reply. And don't give up.

 

Also, post your complaint in here. Other hosts might be able to help or offer other advice.

+4
10 months ago
2
Derek Newark

I have tried everything including 6 calls to Amsterdam who were shocked at the performance of my local support (Croatia) but still am getting nowhere. The craziest thing is my issue is with accounts and when they send a response they close the ticket automatically. So amazingly I am not able to reply so I have to start a new ticket which they ignore. 

I once asked an agent why there was no link I could use to send a complaint and she answered "of course you can complain, you just click the little thumbs down image " that says it all

 

10 months ago
7
Isle of Wight …

It is shocking that BDC treat owners in this way, but that's how things are at the moment. Keep trying and don't give up. It takes time - a lot of time. Although dealing with BDC problems is important, because of the time it takes, I can only do it when I have spare time - I must focus on where everything works, like using AirBnB, and I put BDC issues as lower priority .....

+1
10 months ago
1
Grand Harbour View

Totally in agreement, exact same thing happens to me as well, they close the ticket so that I cannot reply. I send 6 messages or so, all ignored or receiving a non-sense reply...then when you call and get some kind of help and ask for a name you are only provided with a first name which accounts for millions of people around the globe, asked for the full name and got the first name again so then I asked if it is just "First name" there is no last name and I got a reply in the affirmative. A total joke...and a rip-off 19% commission for doing nothing! Only good for marketing and getting bookings but when it comes to customer care (because in reality we are BDC's customers and not the guests...without us BDC would have nothing to sell) BDC is rubbish...other platforms charge much less commissions and their customer care is impeccable...I can see why, for example, Airbnb is rising...and if BDC are not careful of the way they treat customers they will fail no matter how big...Nokia was big as well...

9 months ago
2
Derek Newark

To be honest I have no complaints with them in general. It doesn't matter how much commission a company charges, it is the net income at the end of the year that is important. Airbnb are certainly gaining market share but they are dishonest. People looking for accomodation in my small village will not be shown accomodation resulting from their search but the hosts that have generating them the most commission. The result is that guests  unwittingly book accomodation miles away when there are places here.

My experience with booking.com is that they are not dishonest but unbelievably incompetent. The irony is I owe them quite a lot of money in commission but have no way of paying. My account has four invoices outstanding in different currencies with one of them being part paid . Any other company would simply send me a statement telling me what I owe in total but when I suggested that they had no idea what I was talking about. 

Normally I would say it is down to bad management but it seems to be there is no management and just a lot of departments working without supervision. How else can you explain the refusal to accept complaints

+1
9 months ago
Anonymous

Hello Derek Newark! Thank you for your post. I think our Community is a good place to share feedback and ideas about improvement. You can start a conversation by yourself or participate in the comments. We don't delete any negative feedback. And we do our best to improve our work. 

9 months ago
2
Derek Newark

Yes support from the community is very good and members have tried the best to help. It's just a shame that booking.com refuse to support their own community. 

+1
9 months ago
10
M Adamopoulou

Sorry guys to hear that you are facing so many problems with BDC.

My two years experience working with BDC has been excellent...

My messages sometimes are been replied on the spot...as it happened yesterday when I send a message request to BDC asking to help another partner.

My local BDC support team is also very supportive and understanding....never had any problems!!!

I really cannot understand why support team in other countries is not working!!! It’s a shame!!!

Wish you all the best.

9 months ago
2
Derek Newark

It still come back to my original question. How can a company be well run when it refuses point blank to accept complaints?

+1
9 months ago
2
Dave Collier

It's not just me then? I have recently started my rooms on Booking,com -been with airbnb for yrs and always been happy with them.''' Booking.com seem to be all for the guest with minimal thought for the host.

Also getting to actually solve a problem through feedback or forums etc is laughable/impossible. 

The receiving a letter to confirm location does not work?

I had a guest asked for a free cancelation as he said he could not come for personal reasons, I said sorry but our policy means if "you' cancel you lose and not us who have saved the room and turned away others, the guy did not respond - then turned up by which time I had another guest wanted the room, I told him he had canceled and never told me he changed his mind, he said he did not have to, I told him so you lied about not be able to come for personal reasons, un-be-knowing to me as he had not officially canceled the booking was still live and I should wait for a know show and then is his fault, the point is if a guest cancels 2 days before arrival you have to wait thus losing potential new guests just because the guest does not have the manners to tell you " ok then I will come?"

 

+1
7 months ago
3
The Reinhold G…

Good day Dave,-- you are correct,-- it is not just you. Our guesthouse management has experienced the pain of frustration caused by the BdC support team when it comes to responding to complaints from the side of a host.With all the positive features of the BdC booking system, Host support lacks far behind.

It is good to hear from other hosts, like M Adamopoulou, that in some parts of the Globe the BdC Host-Support does work.

When it comes to the individual guest's personal attitude,-- with every new guest there come new surprises,--- we can only hope that most of those surprises are pleasant.

+2
7 months ago
10
M Adamopoulou

Sorry to hear about your bad experience.

Unfortunately some guests are not reliable...

I would suggest to make your policies more strict so when a guest cancels you have plenty of time to find a new guest.

Wish you luck.

7 months ago
10
M Adamopoulou

Reinhold, it’s terrible to hear that your support team has not good service.

I guess we are lucky in Greece.

Wish you a happy weekend.

7 months ago
3
The Reinhold G…

yes, you are a "Lucky Lady"

 

PS. after the 4th ridiculous excuse from the BdC partner support team, we just replied to their most recent message, which we received a couple hour ago.

""""

The Reinhold Guesthouse Bali

15 February 2020 - 10:04:07

Dear *** To make it short, the guest DID NOT stay at our property, but ( without notice to our management ) brought in a SUBSTITUTE person to fill her place. It is ( in our opinion ) completely illogical to suggest that the booking ( which was prepaid ) should have been marked as a "No-show". Please be assured that the Reinhold Guesthouse Management feels deeply insulted by BdC's response, and we will not surrender to your explanation. After 9 years of working with BdC, we have never experienced a completely biased situation like this, where BdC ignores, and overrides, its own policies. We claim that the person, who wrote the review, had no right to post a review, as that person was NOT the guest that the reservation was booked for. We are awaiting your reply. Kind regards The Reinhold Guesthouse Bali

 

7 months ago
7
Isle of Wight …

Keep fighting, never give up. You might never win, but fight anyway. The more of us that fight the unfairnes and incompetence of Booking.com, the greater the chance that one day, with enough pressure and a bit of luck, they might actually agree that they need to treat hosts better.

+1
7 months ago
3
The Reinhold G…

Great news, --- after 2 weeks of back and forth communication with the BdC support team, in trying to solve an unfair guest review issue, Booking,com's team has this morning DELETED ALL , ours , and their, messages that we have exchanged with them since the end of last year.

+1
7 months ago
10
M Adamopoulou

Thanks for the feedback...sorry to hear that....but I dont understand why!!!

Wish you all the best.

 

7 months ago
2
Dave Collier

So far with booking.com I have found that giving feedback, makes no difference what so ever, sending messages, gets no response what so ever. I assume booking.com assume everyone automatically understands and can navigate easily all its functions - not the case, should be clearer and easier to understand, this spell check right here does not work, I had a guest who canceled because personal reasons but then turned up but I had another guest and got penalised because he did not have the decentcy to tell me he had changed his mind, I was on all my rooms with free cancelation but was getting so many time wasters so now have changed policy.

Have been with airbnb for years and so few problems but a few weeks here are getting frustrated? 

+1
7 months ago
7
Isle of Wight …

Make sure to run everything like you do on AirBnB. Don't let Booking.com's stupid policies change how you run things. It's your property. Yours.

+3
7 months ago
2
Dave Collier

Yes also for some reason one of my rooms has been taken off - for booking subject to a quality check? no more explanation than that but I was messaged that the room would not be free for booking for 10 days and no payouts etc.....no explanation what so ever so basically I have taken the room off available until next year on booking.com, never had such an insult like this from Airbnb?

+1
7 months ago
1
DEBBIE FERREIRA

I've been accepting bookings where payments are done through booking.com

Booking.com has paid me out a fraction of the agreed amount. when I want to raise my concern. I spend 2 weeks with no success after trying everything. 

 

****** short on 1 BOOKING

****** short on another booking.

 

****** short on 3rd booking.

 

Yet they have audacity to take the commission and vat and extra, pay me out a fraction and THEN SEND ME AN INVOICE SAYING I OWE THEM???? 

IM SO TIRED OF EXPLAINING THIS TO AN AGENT SAYS THEY SORRY. BUT REALLY DONT CARE LESS. AND THEY CANT ASSIST.

ITS A NEVER ENDING BATTLE.

+1
2 months ago