4

Hosts Asking for Justice about the New Review System

Dear Partners,

An Overall Review System has been introduced and it's not to anyone's benefit - guests, host or even Booking.com. As a guest, I don't want to use BDC anymore, because now I doubt about the confusing review scores (2 overall, 10 on all categories) that the system allowed people to leave on the platform. 

The only review that counts is the overall. If this one is allowed to be manually set, it may not be based on considerations related to the property per se, but an emotional impression of a holiday. We urge BDC to go back to the previous system where the final review is a calculation based on the category reviews.

Please add your vote here and use the Feedback button in the footer of the Intranet platform to encourage Booking.com to revert to the previous review system, at least when it comes to the arbitrary overall review counting as the only displayed score.

Now another remark: we understand that a scale of 1 to 10 could be more accurate than the smiles, but the smiles clearly express through both cognitive and emotional channels instead of the old school purely intellectual reasoning on numbers.

Here is the message we just sent to the customer service through the Feedback section: "We demand to apply an average automatic calculation to the overall score, based on the categories. Other platforms like Airbnb have been heavily criticized by hosts and have struggled because of testing a review system like the one you're introducing. It leaves room for people to rate high reviews on categories and yet a low overall review because they had a cloudy weekend or the snow wasn't good. We demand to revert the review system to the previous average score calculation".  

 

We urge BDC to make this platform fair and clean, before further and irreparable damage is made.

Thank you.

 

Please look at the example provided:

Most individual categories were rated 10 and the overall: 2 !

 

+50
205 Replies
4958 Views

1
Vicki Webber

We too are experiencing unfair difficulties with the new rating system.  

EXAMPLE: ***.  10 for all the individual scores and then a 9 overall?

EXAMPLE: ***.  9.8 for all the individual scores and then an 8 overall? 

This new system is flawed and simply does not work.

 

+32
11 months ago
8
pibomarco

But when you will receive 7,5 for all individual scores and a 9 overall in this case you will probably not complain. :)

Sometimes you will receive a higher overall score and sometimes higher individual scores.

"Emotional impression". Lots of guests rates also the sections based on their emotional state.  I do think that overall score could drop a bit with the new system, but we are all on the same boat so in the end it really doesn't matter. 

 

-30
11 months ago
1
Vicki Webber

So far this has not been the case on any of the new type of reviews.   I also doubt that if anyone gave you 7.5 on individual - that they will give you 10 overall.

The new system will only bring down high-scoring properties.  If you have been getting mostly 10 in the past - you will go down with the new system.  While properties lower down will not be affected. So this new system is biased against high-scoring properties.  

It is not well thought-through.  

 

+32
11 months ago
8
pibomarco

My second review into the new system was basicly 7,5 in sections and 8 a final score.

High scoring properties will continue to be on top. If you'll continue to be a positive and helpful host, there is a better chance that you will receive even a better overal score comparing to score in sections.

Also because of the few reviews you can't just generalize everything. The system is new, give it some time so that we colect more numbers/reviews and we'll see if it is really that "bad". 

 

-28
11 months ago
1
Vicki Webber

Hello there,

This is exactly the problem that Jennifer (and all properties averaging over 9.0) are complaining about.  

With respect pibomarco, you do need to understand the mathematics properly before you make such casual observations.

Anyone getting above 9.0 currently WILL be disadvantaged by the new system and WILL see their average fall over the next year or so. Fact.  So the new rating system will bring high rating properties down, and support those in the 7.0 to 8.9 category.

This is our complaint. We are fastidious with our service and work incredibly hard to get 9.7.  Now without consultation (or clear understanding of their own "fix") Booking will sweep that aside.  

We are too small for Booking to pay attention. So this simply encourages us to seek as many bookings as we can elsewhere.

 

 

+33
11 months ago
3
The Reinhold G…

Hello Vicky, we second your opinion on the new rating system -- total nonsense.

cheers

 

+11
7 months ago
2
Penghana Bed &…

I hear what you're saying.

As an example we had a horrid guest who was having a bad holiday and took his frustration out on us by giving us 5 x 7.5 out of ten ratings and 1 x 5 out of ten rating then an overall rating of 6!

Since the introduction of this new system thats the only one guest review thats been not our normal standard.

We find this confusing and frustrating in the extreme.

Our concerns seem to be falling on deaf ears with our "partner" which adds to and deepens the frustration.

+4
6 months ago
2
One88 on Commerce

Hi Vicky,

Yes this is correct this is what has happened to us.

We have an impressive score of 9.8 which today went to 9.7 due to this new rating system as our scores are pretty good.

Definitely seems biased as you said.

+8
8 months ago
1
e v/d sluis

No, until now not even one review was rated higher by the single score then by the individual parts

Update : new review received recently, all individual parts a 10, even on extra score like breakfast, but overall an 8,0.... can booking.com explain why this is "better" ??   my average 9.1 for 2020 will drop down this way inevitable..

+8
10 months ago
3
Désirée van Schaick

we have the same experience, every review since the new system the overall score has been lower then the total of the subscores. Also the subscores do not have a 1-10 scale so if your overall rating is 9 and guests leave the subscores blank (which they can do), they all go automatically to 7.5 (because you didn't get a 10 and the subscores cannot do a 9).

Pibomarco, this means that its not like guests scored all the subcategories 7.5 but still scored. you a 9 overall score no, your subscores go to 7.5 because this happens automatically. And those automated subscores are visible for new customers, who will then think the room is not perfectly clean (which they are) or their room with breakfast is not totally worth the money (which it is in my opinon). So even guests who absolutely loved the room, said it was super clean and comfortable, scored 7.5 on those subcategories. 

+3
1 month ago
1
Mas'Xime

from March 14th and considering all the reviews I received from this date

based on th overall imprssion I will receive a 9.2 

 

with the same reviews and considering the notes by Item I will have 9.6

 

so on the average I lost 0.4 points !

+3
2 months ago
1
Vicki Webber

What can be done?  Who can we talk to?

 

+1
11 months ago
8
pibomarco

What can be done? I think nothing for now. BDC changed this review system on behalf of many fellow hosts who were complaing on the old system. 

-10
11 months ago
4
Jennifer and A…

In the same way the review system was changed because of people complaining, it can also be improved doing to the new complaints of hosts who don't agree with the new system. Simple as that. There's always something we can do.

+15
11 months ago
1
e v/d sluis

"Many fellow hosts" ?, well they didn't ask me... and many many others. They should have voted for a change. Although the arrogance by booking is leading....

+4
8 months ago
4
Jennifer and A…

Vicki, we're going to call Booking.com and keep connecting with people through the forum. We're also going to check for other forums outside of booking.com. If we find anything, we'll keep you posted. 

+10
11 months ago
1
Σπύρος και Χρι…

Booking.com does not want to acknowledge that they created a huge problem problem. They say some will give you lower score and some higher. And deal with that. So disappointing for such a huge company.

+10
10 months ago
8
pibomarco

Basicly fellow hosts (thousands and thousands of them as Jenny would say) initiated this "problem" who thaught 1-10 scoring would be fairer. And by the looks of it at this moment, unfortunately there is no turning back. :) 

-8
10 months ago
4
Jennifer and A…

Do not call my wife Jenny. We don't appreciate your presence. Thank you

+5
10 months ago
8
pibomarco

OK Jennyfer, thank you.   

-2
10 months ago
1
Michael

When used on a mobile phone the guest cannot see the last two or three digits i.e. '8-9-10' without sliding across. They think 7 and 8 are the best scores available on the overall section. That is why we are getting these lower scores.

I have tried speaking to Booking.com but just receive a standard reply that is the industry standard, and will not accept the system is flawed.

Personally this is affecting my business and I am seriously thinking of moving to an alternative OTA and using Booking.com as a secondary booking agent.

+9
7 months ago
2
Penghana Bed &…

We agree. For the three of the four years we've operated our B and B our property rating has been 9.5 and has now dropped to 9.4 as a result of the new guest rating system. It's affecting our business negatively.

+6
6 months ago
1
Jayne Hedges

Totally agree, we lodged our complaint feedback today.

All 10's then an overall '9' which actually makes it our worst score yet!

+4
2 months ago
1
Nigel Holmes

Exactly the same issue for me, Maths is Maths = all 10 scores should get a 10, it can't be otherwise!

+4
1 month ago
2
Gustave Righetti

Excellent initiative. I totally agree and saw this flaw as soon as it was released. With a good motivation, there's always something that can be done.

+9
11 months ago
2
Bakuflats

I have already expressed my disappointment with the new system on this forum. I think the the total score should be the sum of all the categories, otherwise it makes no sense at all to have scores for categories. The original system was logical, the new one is not.

+18
11 months ago
1
Secret Pyrenees

I also believe the new system is barmy and should be sorted out. However, I'm not entirely certain the old system was that great either.  

 

+5
11 months ago
1
Σπύρος και Χρι…

I have just received 10s an all 6 categories and a 7 as a final grade. I understood it's because the client had a problem with the island itself, not with my accommodation. It's wrong on so many levels. Booking, are you seriously going to destroy what you have built up until now? I vote for getting back the old system. The new one will bring low rating without making any sense. I am considering giving priority to other platforms if Booking decides to keep the new system.

+26
11 months ago
4
Jennifer and A…

We totally agree with you, it's unbearable to see they do nothing about it, not even a message of apology :-/ We recommended Booking.com all these years but for the moment, no more.

+11
11 months ago
8
pibomarco

A message of apology? For what? For listening to the majority of hosts that wanted a new review system? Get of your high horse. 

Oh, and I was basicly the only one defending the previous review system, when all other hosts wanted 1 - 10 system. 

-8
11 months ago
2
Casa BuonVento

I am one of those who asked for a new review system. Today, I think that the 1-10 system is good for the sub-categories, surely better than the smile system, BUT it's NOT logical, nor objective, to have all 10 and then an 8 as overall score. The solution is easy: 1-10 for the subcategories, and overall score = automatic average of the sub-categories. Elena

+18
11 months ago
8
pibomarco

Casa BuonVento you had an overall score 9,6 and wanted to change the review system to 1 - 10. Why?

 

The only thing that 1-10 subcategories would change is, that we would receive lower scores also in subcategories. Perhaps in many cases even lower then an overall score. That's the only difference.

-5
10 months ago
3
Désirée van Schaick

Pibomarco I am not at all against a 1-10 system. But the introduction of the overall experience score leads to people rating their whole holiday experience, not the experience in your property. People low scoring because it rained, because they couldn't find this one restaurant. Because there was no mobile phone signal in parts of the surroundings. Also - as I explained earlier - it leads to non representative scores in subcategories as they do not have the 1-10 system. 

+3
1 month ago
2
Fabrice

@pibomarco Don't you have work to do?

+2
1 month ago
2
Casa BuonVento

Here I am... I just had a 10 on almost all the sub-categories and 8.0 as overall score (our average overall is 9.6). A solution could be the following: guest rating 1-10 the sub-categories and overall score = automatic average of the sub-categories.  I hope that Booking.com will solve the problem... Regards, Elena

+14
11 months ago
8
pibomarco

I quite believe that once the categories will be changed to 1 - 10 the scores will be lower comparing to emojis, specially for the properties that in general receive top scores. Those 10s that you all received with emojis, with the new system would most likely be rated 8 - 10. Just another indicator why emojis perform better.

Also your overall score is 9,6. Why did you want to change it in the first place? Obviously the old system was working in your favour.

-6
11 months ago
8
pibomarco

My math:

:D = 10 = 8 - 10

:) = 7.5 = 6 - 8

:| = 5,0 = 4 - 6

:( = 2,5 = 1 - 3 (but most of them will probably score 1)

Is it really better? Perhaps "fairer" yes.

As I stated before it wasn’t  really the emoji problem. The main reason was 7,5 score that hosts felt was unjust / too low. But took 10s for granted.

The fact is that with new system we’ll receive more 8s and 9s instead of 10s (also in categories).

 

-5
11 months ago
7
Isle of Wight …

The fact is that we'll receive nonsense and unfair review scores.

 

Another fact is that newer properties with fewer reviews will be hit the hardest. For older properties with say 100+ reviews and an overall score above 9, they'll get the lower scores but it'll take time for them to drop below 9 overall. One of our newer properties which, a few weeks ago, had a 9.6 overall score, now has a 9.0 overall score.

 

You see a smiley for a 7.5. Potential guests don't. They see 7.5. They also see other (older) properties maintain their 9+ scores, not because they're better, but because it takes longer for them to drop below 9.

 

Have you noticed that you're the only person supporting the new review scoring system?

+8
10 months ago
8
pibomarco

1. Have you noticed that I never supported the new review system at all? Please quote me where does it show that I support the new system.

Based on my post that you replied it clearly shows that I support the old system.

 

2. Have you noticed that I was basicly the only one defending the old review system before the new went into action? And I know why you replied here, because you were one of those that complained a lot about the 7,5 score and you were basicly supporting the new review system. 

 

3. The fact is that we'll always receive nonsense and unfair review scores from time to time no matter the review system. 

 

4. Each start is somehow "difficult". The point is no review system is gonna kill your reputation or overall business performance, if you are a proffesional host, providing excellent service, maintain your property and constantly trying to be better. The only thing that hurts here are ego's and feelings. 

-8
10 months ago
1
Kristina Markovic

I agree with you ISLE!

I hope so we can change new sistem!

 

+2
7 months ago
1
Hotel Centrale…

Very bad experience with the new system.

We have to come back to previous one.

It's a shame.

Also ..what about the feedback without comment? Why i cannot reply ?

Horrible

+13
11 months ago
1
Tan

Dear All

I have the same problem which i was given perfect 10 in all areas, however the total score is only 8? Gosh this is not fair to us. BDC please revert to the previous system before my listing poorly rated and losing revenue.

What a 8 after everything else is 10

+19
11 months ago
1
Simon Baxter

We have suffered from the same issue. How are you meant to attract guests, improve upon what you do, and reflect this to potential customers if the ratings mean nothing? We had a friend pay to stay at our chambre d'hote and they gave us 10 for all categories which translated to an 8 overall bringing our overall grading below the magic 9.5. Not impressed and having been a marketing director in large organisations in the recent past, I would be seriously looking at the impact of this issue on both customers and hosts - unfortunately no effect on Booking probably either way which shows a lack of care to both parties! Not impressed and will look to other referral sites & my own marketing abilities to move away from them eventually.

+5
1 month ago
1
La Bardonniere

I recently had the most bewildering overall mark of 6 (!) ...when virtually everything else was marked up as 10!!    I hate this new system that gives a bad impression of my property and let Booking know how I view it...they invariably answer my rants with "our other partners really appreciate the news review system!"   So I was glad to find this forum!    To my mind it appears that Booking.com are literally begging guests to find SOMETHING wrong!  

Thinking of moving away from them...  

+1
14 days ago