5

Guest review feedback

Dear friends

is there no way that we can request Booking.com to make it compulsory for guests to explain why certain points are given on the reviews?

My issue is that even though 110% of my apartment is cleaned by myself and my husband on our knees we still get guests giving us a low score on cleanliness sometimes and how can we improve if we have NO idea on what they felt was not clean? It sometimes feels that guests score according to their moods that day. It really upsets me as this has an impact on our review scores and ultimately our business, Any ideas guys?

 

+1
57 Replies

8
Leandri Klopper

Hi Moira ,

Thanks for the post. It is maddening, isn't it? Alas, this topic has been hashed and rehashed on the forum over and over again. The only suggestion that I'm picking up amongst all the threads about the review system, is to send your feedback straight to Booking.com. The more of us sending feedback, the better the chance that Booking.com will do something about it.

A few months ago, the Forum had a sit down with err can't remember the name of the person now, but he works for Booking.com and advised that they are reviewing the review system. Not sure how accurate that is, but at least there is wiggle room.

Scroll all the way down in your extranet, click on Feedback, and tell them exactly what you think the review system needs. Team work makes the dream work!

Hope this helps!

+1
9 months ago
5
Moira

Leandri, you are a star I will do that for sure thank you so much for your help. It's So funny one day it's 10/10 and the very next day it is 8/10 it drives me crazy as I was all my floors by hand even... and the complainers always seems to be either Duch or German....its a trend...and always also when you can see there is tension between the husband and wife....Thanks again sweet girl and have a super day xxxx

9 months ago
8
Leandri Klopper

Hai Moira ,

Haha, yes you get those complainers who complain about something because they can't complain about their real issues. As long as you have rest in your heart, then you will be the winner at the end of the day.

Thanks hun, have a stunning day and keep up the good effort!

9 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Moira Leandri is super star. We are so lucky having her here in the forum.
Is Gianbattista-Vespucci, Property Manager the name you are referring to Leandr???
Wish you all the best girls...

9 months ago
7
Katerinka12

"It sometimes feels that guests score according to their moods that day."

Bad sex = bad hosts. Just keep cleaning together with your husband and be happy, guys!

9 months ago
5
Moira

Thank you M. Hope you well there at your awesome home!!!
True K but this lady will Never give up trust me have a blessed day guys xx

9 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Thanks Moira. Katerina is so right. So if Guests bad sex.... hosts good sex and let it go...
Have a marvelous day guys...

9 months ago
5
Moira

HAHAHA You girls made my day lol lol thank you xxxx

9 months ago
8
pibomarco

Rating system:

:( = 2,5
:| = 5,0
:) = 7,5
:D = 10,0

Based on the rate system offered 7,5 is considered as very good score.

Top notch cleaning? Also matter of perspective.. maybe there is a spider web missed, a small hair shows out of nowhere, the outdated furniture/room can also play the role.. there can be many reasons from a different point of views.

9 months ago
7
Katerinka12

Still smiling at 7,5, he he. The guest smiles or us? :)

I just can feel that guests put lower score because they think it's smart. Unlike putting 10 after 10 is being careless and not thinking too much. Also different scores on everything make guests feel that they are self important.

Few days ago I was at very nice restaurant and staff gave me a feedback form. It had many things to rate: cleanliness, taste (everyone have different taste, right?), size of food! (I guess many people will want bigger and bigger), staff, interior, parking, etc... Very long list.

I put 10 on everything. They deserved it and I deserved a good mood too :) The staff was so, so happy that I just couldn't stop myself from asking why? They said I am first one who gave them all 10!

So, I honestly believe that low score is not judge at all on reality on how clean the place is and how hardworking the host can be.

9 months ago
5
Moira
9.4
based on 36 reviews
this is my score but I am not happy sorry when you clean everything cm for cm yourself on hands and knees??? polish everything trust me no spiders or webs in my house. 80M2 TAKES ME 6 HOURS TO CLEAN so the only thing I gather is personality and if they having a bad day.................that's why I say if the score low for cleanliness then they should say WHAT was dirty and they can even post a pic.....that is how confident I am partners xxxx and before guests arrive I even vacuum again just in case the wind blew dust in again. They should be held accountable for their scores just as we are accountable for our places xxx
9 months ago
5
Moira

one guest comes in and scores 10/10 and the next day a new guest comes in and scores 7.5/10???? anyway, we can't please all. As bookings.com told me you can have a place cast in gold and you will still get negative guest......................All I ask is they must say what they perceive as not clean they play with our bread and butter, and where can we score our bad guests that leave our places like a pig stays with filthy toilets and blood on our white towels?

+1
9 months ago
8
Leandri Klopper

hahahaha

You guys made me smile. I'll give you all a 10 out of 10.

Yes, M! That was the name. thanks so much.

hehe loved this thread.

9 months ago
5
Moira

lotsa hugs Leandri lol xxx

9 months ago
8
pibomarco

It is important to aknowledge that the guest doesn't review us with numbers (10 or 7,5 or 5,..) but with smiles. When guest reviews us with :) instead of :D does that mean that he reviewed us low? Or that he had a bad sex or is in a bad mood? :) Then he would score at least :| (5,0)
Guest was happy with the stay, service and cleanliness, but he perhaps wasn't AMAZED or it was not over their expectations.

If I have clean & fully renovated bathroom vs bathrom that wasn't renovated in 30 years but is still sparkling clean, can you maybe still understand why would someone rate it :) instead of :D
Just thinking out of the box a little bit and trying to see a bigger picture as to why. There are so many scenarios possible..

+1
9 months ago
5
Moira

Thank you, dear, noted but brand new everything.......and freshly painted apartment in my case xxxx

9 months ago
5
Moira

so my suggestion to booking.com is not to use smiley faces but a point system.

9 months ago
5
Moira

PIBOMARCO thank you for that one it does make better sense to me now knowing about them rating with smiley faces I was not aware xxxx

9 months ago
8
pibomarco

It's like you can't be mad at the guest when they score 7,5.. but from our perspective 7,5 does hurt a little and asking ourselves what went wrong, but actually everything was fine.

Once I received an overall score 7,5. And they mentioned in review that will defenitly come back for sure. I almost replied: No thank you, we look forward to never seeing you again! :) 7,5 pffffsss

9 months ago
5
Moira

So true my friend as potential clients do not understand when they see a review score of 7.5 on a place. HEHEHE know the feeling lol have an awesome evening.

9 months ago
7
Katerinka12

"I almost replied: No thank you, we look forward to never seeing you again! :)"

I got 7.5 today and replied that I would love to see him again :)

9 months ago
5
Moira

Girl, I love your spirit kill them with kindness xxxxx

9 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Hosting with kindness is the name of the game...

A little thought and a little kindness are often worth more than a great deal of money.

So keep on smiling....

9 months ago
8
Leandri Klopper

Heya all,

That is hysterical. It's like an inside joke that only property owner will get, when replying to a review end it off with the smiley that indicates the score. Sadly in my case, adding smileys on reviews isn't "the professional image we are trying to create". Would've been fun.

Moira , there are SO many on the forum who have said this "Booking.com should be asked to change the smiley/emoticon review system". But Booking.com even has a Smiley/emoticon review system for us (the property owners) to rate them. Haha!

:-) :-D

9 months ago
8
pibomarco

It's a review system for dummies basicly.. and it works so it seems. The only bad thing for us is that we may receive a bit more 7,5's :)

9 months ago
5
Moira

pibomarco I agree. But let's keep our heads high and Never give up. Strongs to all xx

9 months ago
5
Moira

At Least 2018 was ok

9 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Moira congratulations for your excellent review award.

The review system might be for dummies but if that means excellent reviews its not so bad after all.

For some reason BDC thinks that the faces system works better for evaluation...

+1
9 months ago
5
Mashi Niwarthana

Ms. Moira,

wow..! What a score. 9.8 Congratulations... You have worked so hard to come to this level.. I'm really proud of you.. Keep it up..!

+1
9 months ago
8
pibomarco

The review system does work because it is simple to understand (for dummies). :)
I don't have nothing against it, my property score is great.

-1
9 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

It seems that BDC prefers to use an easy way for guests to evaluate their stays. They also use the same system for us when BDC ask us to evaluate surveys.

9 months ago
3
Eddy

There's nothing easier about this system it's just more confusing to all.

+1
4 months ago
8
pibomarco

More and more? I see just a few but hurt hosts. :) Confusing to guests? Explain what is so confusing for the guest in this system. 

+1
4 months ago
5
Moira

Thank you all for your valuable comments, It is so appreciated.  xx Have a blessed day xxxx

 

+1
4 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Hi Moira...long time no hear.  So nice to hear from you.

How is the season going for you???

Share some pictures....

Wish you a nice weekend my sweetie...

4 months ago
5
Moira

Hi sweet girl thank you xxxxx Will do soon M crazy this side will share some soon xxx Blessings and take care xxxx

4 months ago
5
Moira

very quiet season as winter is not a great tourist time for us but we are thankful for all the precious bookings we got. Looks like August will be better xxx

4 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Moira I am so happy for you that everything is fine.

Awaiting your photos...

Have a beautiful day my dearest.

+1
4 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Wow!!! Moira, thank you very much for this amazing video.  Was that you in the video???

Have a nice day my dearest...

+1
4 months ago
5
Moira

No sweetheart not me lol. Thanks just wanted all to see our little town. Have a blessed day xxxxx

+1
4 months ago
9
M Adamopoulou

Oh I see!!

I loved your video...

Wish you a beautiful weekend...

+2
4 months ago
5
Moira

Thank you sweatheart and to you and your family xxxx

 

4 months ago
5
Mashi Niwarthana

Ms. Moira, 

 Highfive 🙌. I also agree with you. 

+1
4 months ago
5
Moira

Thank you dear Mashi x

+1
4 months ago