user avatar image
5

How to Delete - Unfair & Bad Reviews

( Sorry for the Click Bait - but I wanted to get 'Maximum Views' on this. )

Feature Request - The Unfair Review ( Review System )

 

- How to build a better Review System...

Look at Olympic Judges / Scores - ( This is from memory - I don't know if this still applies... )

They ignore the Top and Bottom Judges Scores... and average the rest !!

 

So if your property is gettign 8/10 from most people... 
Then someone shows up - who is just 'nasty' and wants to throw in a 4/10 - just to mess up your score.

Then your sister comes to visit - and to be nice she gives you a 10/10...

The 'Fair' system would ignore the 4/10 and the 10/10... and give you the average of the rest.

If there were a couple of 4/10's in there... then maybe there is somehing you need to fix.  If you get a couple of 10/10's maybe you are doing something right - but not everyone appreciates it.

With this very simple system - a bad review is less of a 'loaded gun' - to be used as a threat.

there would be the option to 'Hide' the bad review and ignore the score... or for the sake of transparency, People can still 'say' what they want to say - but the 'score' is not affected. - so they get to 'rant' - but the system ignores the score - so it does not affect your overall score.

if you want to see BDC to make some changes...

COMMENTS PLEASE:  ( or at least clik the Thumbs up !! )

 

13 Replies

5
MikeM

Hi Paul,

- Your solution involves money - moving and tracking of that money. that is not a 'small' undertaking. - ( also on an international scale. )

This could be why you are getting ' template responses from Bcom ' ... that means the answer is 'no' and I don't have time to explain to you in more detail.

My idea is more simple, involves no money, so less risk & legal issues.

With regard to the two 'issues' you had with my idea...

1) " if people found their reviews were removed, they would stop writing them. "

- Good, if he review was 'False' - then they should stop writing them.

but I also offered the option - that the 'review' stayed - but did not affect the score...

Websites rely on visitor numbers and Bcoms job is to get people to their website and convert that visit into a new booking (after all, that's what we're paying them for)

Yes, I don't see the rest of your point here... weeding out 'fake' or 'Bias' reviews makes the process better for everyone involved.

2) genuine bad reviews should be allowed - but fake and/or factually incorrect ones shouldn't - and let's face it this is the only area of the review system we all have issues with.

Yes, I agree with this... if you re-read my idea, you will see it's only 'capping' the top most review and bottom review. so if someone gives you a 'ZERO' and everyone else is giving you a 7/10 you will stay a 7/10... and if someone gives you a 10/10 you will still be a 7/10 - because that is your 'average' review. - one 'spike' either up or down - does not drastically change your overall score.

I'm trying to create a dialog - of idea's and suggestions how we can fix the 'review' system.

being negative, does not fix anything.

I believe things are going to change around here, for the better. - just wait and see.

If anyone has suggestions on how to improve the review system, please comment. ( or upvote )

10 months ago
5
MikeM

I'm curious - are you only on BDC or multiple platforms ?
- and only here because they have market share ?

10 months ago
5
MikeM

I'm no expert at this - i have only just started this business - so I'm still learning.

I get bookings from 2 platforms, and it's around 50/50... maybe less than 50% from booking.com

I'll be honest, i prefer the other platform better, and I have a much better 'rating' on that site.

I also get 'direct' bookings, from Facebook, and Google Maps. (but I direct them to one of the two booking sites.) - for credit card procesing.

You maybe right - and nothing changes...
- but I would rather push for change - and see what happens...

10 months ago
5
MikeM

I appreciate the feedback - ( Legally we can't do credit cards on site. ) - and yes I've had someone spend all the cash they had - and then moved on to paypal. what can I say - I make great Frozen Margarita's...

I get the booking online. OTA - then meals, boats, bar is all cash on site. ( Some - walk ins - are all cash on site. )

85% is still better than nothing. and we earn the same or more than the room rate - from meals, drinks and boat fees.

10 months ago
5
MikeM

So Paul has Vanished... and now I'm here - talking to myself ? I was about to delete.. ut... I'll leave this here... just in case a developer reads it. ?

9 months ago
1
Helenbayly

I dont think the booking.com review system is very fair. I have had one very bad review from someone who said they couldnt get into the house . ( They hadnt read the instructions and so didnt know the code to the lock box to get the key) They waited a few hours then went to a Hotel.They had rung my home phone but I was out giving my son a driving lesson . I rang them back as soon as I got home , a few times. They didnt answer their phone so I sent them a message on the booking.com site, with the key code and a message saying I had sent them the instructions. They replied saying they had gone to a hotel and asked for a refund. I contacted booking.com who rang them. BDC asked me if I would be happy to refund half the money.... even though clearly it had been their fault that they had not read the instructions. ( they are Arabic and my instructions are in English , though there is also Google maps!!) . I agreed because I felt sorry for them , having had a long drive and a long wait with a young daughter.... ( I am possible the biggest sucker out!!)

I then noticed that they had given me a very very bad review

" Good points No good points "

"The entrance to the apartment is like a deserted building" etc

This has obviously had a very negative impact on my bookings with many cancellations following. and a lowered rating.

I wrote a reply to his review but even though I was very very polite and only outlined the facts...that he hadnt read the instructions, and that I had refunded half his payment, my review has not been published.

I would like this review removed and I think also it is a very unfair system that we are not able to respond to guests ,,,unless it is positive.

Airbnb have a much fairer system, where both guests and hosts are encouraged to write reviews and both are published.

Has anyone else had this issue?

Thanks

Helen

+1
8 months ago
1
Casa Da Paz

I totally agree with you. We have had the same problem with review scores on booking.com and I believe it is completely unfair that booking.com does not allow hosts to review guests. Nine out of ten of our review scores are 9-10 but we have had a couple of very nasty guests who leave negative reviews out of spite and nastiness and false scores. Our last guests stayed for one night, three adults, three beds, spotless clean home, over 100 channels cable TV, a bag of coffee, sea view, 2 minute walk to beach. These people left very average 5 review because we require 100 Euro Security Deposit which is stated clearly in the policy and which they get back on departure, no pay sports channels to watch their futbol and we speak very little French. They did not comment but reviewed less than most of our guests. Very frustrating. Booking.com needs to allow hosts to review guests. AirBnB has a much fairer review system and Booking.com should follow suit to allow freedom of expression from hosts.

24 days ago
1
Daileyrenewalretreat

TripAdvisor Fined $610,000 in Italy for Failing to Prevent Fake Reviews

Booking.com review system (much like TripAdvisor used to be) gives Guests the power to abuse Reviews inflicting their suffering on the property.

7 months ago
1
Helenbayly

My comment still stands . I see that the Olympic judge system is fair and that the score should perhaps be done like that but its not just the score it is what is said that people remember.

The guy who wrote my very bad review didn't even get into the apartment...yet he still commented on cleanliness, comfort etc. How can he tell how comfortable the apartment is if he hasn't read the instructions and found the key to even enter the place!!! Guests reading that review don't know he didn't stay there and they will remember those nasty very untrue comments .

However what is really unfair with the booking.com system is that I wasn't allowed to put up my comment. As I said before I explained what had happened and that the guy hadn't stayed in my place and that I refunded him half of his money.....but booking.com wouldn't let me post that. So people reading his comment don't know the other side of the story.

Is that fair?

7 months ago
1
Aidanmcgourty

What about people who leave no comment but give very low grades which still grate even if not in keeping with general reviews. For example my average score is 9.9 yet a brother and sister left me around a 5.8 average without a comment. I could have made a complaint about this pair because they got up very early and went down to the kitchen and made tea and noise waking other guests.. They refused to move to the dining room for breakfast and I let them stay and eat in the kitchen -- big mistake !!!! They even marked us down for cleanliness whereas we always score 10.

I was sympathetic to them because they were over on a quest to visit a grave of an uncle killled in the flying accident in ww2 and offered them an early breakfast. They stilll got up earlier and there they were waiting in the kitchen with their cups of tea.

Hard to believe I think it was to do with brexit. They were brexiteers and I am not but did not make an issue of it. . .

3 months ago
1
Pantai Paris H…

OK Guys, The solution is very very simple. Booking,com should just take not the average but the median of all reviews as the "property score". The system now is very unfair because 1 single person can put your high score down significantly, just because of nastiness. Especially if you do not have (still) many reviews.

If you use the median (for who don't know, pls google it), It takes much more nastiness to do this.

Booking, you earn money on us, pls listen to us!!

+1
2 months ago
7
fluff

The median can also work against you, especially with less reviews.

Here's an example pulled off the net dealing with fuel prices but the principal is the same;

Example 1: The Jameson family drove through 7 states on their summer vacation. Gasoline prices varied from state to state. What is the median gasoline price?

$1.79, $1.61, $1.96, $2.09, $1.84, $1,75, $2.11

Solution: Ordering the data from least to greatest, we get:

$1.61, $1.75, $1.79, $1.84, $1.96, $2.09, $2.11

Answer: The median gasoline price is $1.84. (There were 3 states with higher gasoline prices and 3 with lower prices.)

Soooooo, the median is $1.84 but the average is $1.87. Leaving some properties gaining from less impact of extreme reviews but also a lower score than they deserve if devoid of such extremes which is still unfair.

2 months ago
5
MikeM

intellectual masturbation...

Even if we 'define' the perfect solution - but nothing changes.  - is it worth it ?

If you want my $0.02

Let people write there own 'Formula'...   The data is still confidential, but if I want to compare properties based on A, B & D - because I don't care about 'C' - then let me.  - show me a score based on that.

Then as a Host - Let me know the most 'popular' formula people are using.

 

24 days ago