Setting up a Genius Business rate

Updated 3 weeks ago | 3 min read time
Save

Genius Business is an advanced targeting tool within the Genius programme. It lets you offer a special rate exclusively to Genius guests who are travelling for business. This helps make your property more attractive to Genius business travellers.

You can turn Genius Business on or off at any time, and there’s no waiting period for reactivating Genius Business if you temporarily opt out.  


What’s in this article

 


How Genius Business works

Only Genius guests who are travelling for work can receive the Genius Business discount. We make sure that guests travelling for leisure aren’t included. For example, guests booking weekend-only stays and those travelling with children won’t see these special rates.

In addition to the standard Genius discount of 10%, a Genius Business rate lets you offer a further discount of at least 5% (making the minimum total discount 15%) and choose which rooms to apply the discount to. Some properties apply Genius Business to all rooms in order to reach maximum occupancy, while others only use it for their more expensive rooms.


How to set up a Genius Business rate

Follow these steps to set up a Genius Business rate:

  1. Log in to the extranet
  2. Click on Opportunities and then select Genius partner programme
  3. Click Manage your audience
  4. Under Target reliable travellers with a Genius business rate, click Create your rate now
  5. Select the rooms you want apply the Genius Business rate to
  6. Set your Genius Business rate
  7. Click Activate rate to complete the setup

If you don’t see the steps described above in your extranet, send us a message via your extranet inbox.


How to deactivate a Genius Business rate

As an active partner of the Genius programme, you can choose to block out Genius-related discounts and offers for up to 30 days per year. During these days all your Genius discounts will be turned off and your regular rates will be available. This includes Genius Business discounts – there are no additional or separate block-out days available for Genius Business.

Genius Business discounts remain active for as long as you want them to. You can choose to activate or deactivate them at any time, and this won’t affect your participation in the overall Genius programme. However, if you leave the Genius programme you’ll no longer be able to use Genius Business.

Here’s how to deactivate a Genius Business rate:

  1. Log in to the extranet
  2. Click on Opportunities and then select Genius partner programme
  3. Click Manage your audience
  4. Under Your Genius business rate, click on the drop-down menu next to Edit
  5. Click Stop to deactivate your Genius Business rate

To learn more about attracting business guests who spend more, cancel less and travel off-peak, visit our Genius business Solutions page.

What do you think of this page?