What is Genius Business?

Genius Business is an advanced-targeting tool within All you need to know about the Genius programme. It lets you offer a special rate exclusively to Genius guests who are travelling for business.

In addition to the standard Genius discount of 10%, you simply offer a further discount of at least 5% (minimum 15% total discount) and select which rooms the discount will be applied to.

Conveniently, Genius Business can be turned on or off at any time. Unlike the Genius programme itself, there’s no waiting period for reactivating Genius Business if you temporarily opt out.  


How to sign up for Genius Business

To activate Genius Business, just log into your extranet and follow these steps:

  1. Click on the ‘Opportunities’ tab.
  2. Select ‘Genius partner programme’, then ‘Manage your audience’.
  3. Under ‘Your Genius business rate’, select the percentage to discount and the room(s) it will be applied to.

If you don’t see this option in your extranet, contact your local Partner Services team.

Note: You need to be a member of the Genius programme to offer a Genius Business discount to guests.

 

Jump to:


Who gets the Genius Business discount?

Only Genius guests who are travelling for work can receive the Genius Business discount. We make sure that guests travelling for leisure are not included. For example, guests booking weekend-only stays or guests travelling with children won’t see these special rates.

How long can I offer Genius Business discounts for?

Genius Business discounts remain active for as long as you want them to. There are no specific end dates or times. You decide when to turn them on or off.

Can I block out Genius Business discounts on certain days?

As an active member of the Genius programme, you can choose to block out Genius-related discounts and offers for up to 30 days per year. This includes Genius Business discounts – there are no additional or separate block-out days available for Genius Business.

Which room should I apply the discounted rate to?

You get to choose which room(s) to discount based on your needs. Some properties apply Genius Business to all rooms in order to reach maximum occupancy. Others use Genius Business for their more expensive rooms only.

Is there a penalty if I deactivate Genius Business?

Genius Business can be activated and deactivated whenever you want. Deactivating Genius Business will not affect your participation in the overall Genius programme.

However, if you leave the Genius programme you’ll no longer be able to use Genius Business.

How do I deactivate Genius Business?

To deactivate Genius Business, just log into your extranet and follow these steps:

  1. Click on the ‘Opportunities’ tab.
  2. Select ‘Genius partner programme’, then ‘Manage your audience’.
  3. Under ‘Your Genius business rate’, click on the drop-down box next to ‘Edit’.
  4. Select ‘Stop’ to deactivate Genius Business.

Want to attract business guests who spend more, cancel less and travel off-peak? Learn more about Genius Business