Introducing your guide to a stronger summer season

We’re sharing data-backed insights about travellers searching and booking on our platform, and solutions to help you meet these travellers’ unique needs. Find out how you can leverage these insights to attract new demand.

Get started

Traveller Review Awards 2021: FAQs and all you need to know

Updated 1 month ago | 8 min read time
Save

What’s in this article:

What are the Traveller Review Awards all about?

Am I eligible for an Award?

How is my Award score calculated?

What do I do if I think my Award score is wrong?

When will I receive my Traveller Review Award package?

Why are the Awards all-digital this year?

Can I change my property details for my Traveller Review Award?

Why aren’t they called the Guest Review Awards anymore?

Why is ‘Traveller’ spelt with two letter ‘L’s?


What are the Traveller Review Awards all about?

The Traveller Review Awards are part of an annual appreciation programme that recognises our partners for their exceptional hospitality, as demonstrated by the review scores that travellers leave after their stay or experience.

In January 2021, we’ll launch the Traveller Review Awards 2021, the ninth edition of the Awards – and we’re excited to announce that, for the first time ever, more than one million of you, our partners, have won an Award.

Am I eligible for an Award?

To be a winner in the Traveller Review Awards 2021, on 1 December 2020 you need to have had:

  • An average review score of between 8 and 10 (see below to find out how this score is calculated)
  • At least three reviews left by Booking.com travellers

How is my Award score calculated?

Your review score for the Traveller Review Awards 2021 is based on the average score of all your guest reviews published on our website and app between 1 August 2018 and 30 November 2020.

To make this calculation, we used your review scores as they were on 1 December 2020. That means that if you checked your score on another date, it may have been slightly higher or lower than the one we’ve used to determine whether you’re a winner in the Traveller Review Awards 2021.

We introduced a new guest review system in August 2019, and we made further changes to it in August 2020. We’ve calculated your review score for the Traveller Review Awards 2021 based on reviews you received using both the old and new systems.

What do I do if I think my Award score is wrong?

Please make sure you’ve read the information above about the eligibility criteria and how we calculate your Award score. If you still disagree with the score on your digital Award or with the fact that you haven’t won an Award, please contact us so that we can look into this for you.

When will I receive my Traveller Review Award package?

This year’s Awards are all-digital, which means you no longer need to wait around to receive your Award in the post. If you’ve won an Award, we’ll let you know by email in January 2021 and we’ll include a link you can use to download your digital Award kit on the Partner Hub.

Your all-digital Award kit contains a letter from our CEO, a shareable digital Award, two printable Awards to display at your property, a digital sticker and tips on how to share the news of your achievement.

You can download your all-digital Award kit until 30 November 2021.

Why are the Awards all-digital this year?

You’ve told us that sustainability is important to you, and that’s why we’ve chosen to make the Traveller Review Awards 2021 all-digital. We’re excited that this allows us to avoid generating the kind of carbon footprint involved in producing and mailing more than a million physical Award kits worldwide.

Can I change my property details for my Traveller Review Award?

If you’re a winner in the Traveller Review Awards 2021, the property name that will appear on your Award is the one registered with us on 1 December 2020. This is when we calculated your average review score and selected this year’s winners, so it’s not possible to change your property details after this date.

Why aren’t they called the Guest Review Awards anymore?

We switched to the new Traveller Review Awards name in 2020, when we began using the Awards to recognise the achievements of not just accommodation partners but also our transport partners. Since transport partners have customers and passengers but not guests, the new name better reflects everyone who’s involved.

 Why is ‘Traveller’ spelt with two letter ‘L’s? 

UK English is the standard language we use for all our communications with partners and travellers before they’re translated into up to 43 other local languages. That’s why we used UK English when we renamed the Traveller Review Awards in 2020 – and in UK English, the word ‘traveller’ has two letter ‘L’s.

Is this article helpful?