What is an anonymous review, and can I remove it?

When a guest leaves a review, they can choose to:

  • use their own name

  • use a nickname

  • remain anonymous

An anonymous review is when a guest leaves a review without including any personal details.

We respect our customers’ right to privacy, so it’s important to give them this option. If a guest chooses to leave an anonymous review, it is also Booking.com’s responsibility to protect their privacy, so we’re not able to share any details about such guests.

All reviews on our website, including anonymous ones, are 100% verified. We check and make sure that every review is submitted by a genuine guest who booked and/or stayed at the property (unless their reservation is reported as a no-show).

If a guest submitted an anonymous review with comments, you can reply to it through your extranet ‘Guest reviews’ tab.

When it comes to removing an anonymous review, the same guidelines apply as for any other review: we can only remove reviews in certain situations.