How do I open or close a room?

Do you need to open or close a room for a few days, or perhaps longer term?

Depending on your property type, one of the following options will be available.

If you have a calendar with a monthly overview, follow these steps:

Next to your extranet ‘Home’ tab, choose the option that matches your property’s view:

  1. Click on ‘Rates & Availability’, then click on the relevant room name.
  2. Click on a date, or select the start and end dates. Under ‘Open or Close for bookings’ click ‘Open’ or ‘Closed’.
  3. Click ‘Save’ when you’re done.

If you have a calendar with a room-list overview, follow these steps:

  1. Go to the ‘Rates & Availability’ tab, and select 'Calendar'
  2. To open or close individual dates, simply click on the required date which will be highlighted in green if it’s open/bookable or red if it’s closed.
  3. If you click on a red (closed) date, the colour changes to green, meaning it’s now open/bookable for that specific date. If you click on a green (open/bookable) date, the colour changes to red, meaning it’s now closed for that specific date. Changes are saved automatically as soon as the colour of the field changes.
  4. You can also choose to close the room completely, or just close a specific rate category.

To open a room for longer periods, follow the steps below:

  1. Click on 'Edit' next to ‘Rooms to sell’.
  2. Select a date range and enter the number of rooms you want to open.
  3. Click 'Save changes' to add availability for this period.

The field for these dates turns green, meaning the room is open/bookable for that period.

To close a room for longer periods, follow the steps below:

  1. Click on 'Edit' next to ‘Rooms to sell’.
  2. Select a date range and enter the number of rooms to sell as '0'.
  3. Click 'Save changes' to remove availability for this period.

The field for these dates turns red, meaning the room is closed for that period and guests can’t book the room on Booking.com.

Tip: Remember to always load prices for any dates you have opened – if you don’t, customers won’t be able to see these rooms on Booking.com.