How do I open or close a room? [New]

Note: Depending on your property type, this feature may not be available yet. If not, follow these instructions on how to open or close a room instead.

We’ve made it very easy for you to open or close a room/unit. You’ll see different options below. Check which of the screenshots matches what you see in the extranet, then follow the appropriate steps.

 


Option 1: List view calendar

If using the List view calendar, follow these steps:  

  1. Log in to the extranet and click on ‘Calendar’ under your ‘Rates & Availability’ tab.
  2. To open or close individual dates, click on the required date which is highlighted green if it’s open/bookable or red if it’s closed/not bookable.
  3. If you click on a red (not bookable) date, the colour changes to green, meaning it’s now open/bookable for that specific date. If you click on a green (open/bookable) date, the colour changes to red, meaning it’s now closed for that specific date. 
  4. Changes are saved automatically as soon as the colour of the field changes.

To make changes for longer periods:

  1. Click on the ‘Bulk edit’ button. 
  2. A panel will appear on the right side of your screen. Select the dates you want to open or close, then click on the ‘Room status‘ box. 
  3. Select ‘Open room’ or ‘Close room’ and click on ‘Save changes’ when you’re done. 
  • You can also make bulk changes to your availability, restrictions and prices.

Good to know: There can be different reasons for why your room is not bookable on Booking.com on a specific date, such as:

  • You’ve manually closed your room: you’ll see a red ‘Closed’ label
  • You’ve entered the value ‘0’ for the number of rooms to sell: you’ll see a red ‘No inventory’ label
  • You’ve sold the rooms you’ve loaded in the calendar: you’ll see a red ‘Sold out’ label
  • You haven’t loaded any prices: you’ll see a red ‘Price missing’ label
  • All your rate plans are closed/inactive: you’ll see a red ‘Rate closed’ label
  • You have a combination of all the above issues: you’ll see a red ‘Multiple blockers’ label  

Option 2: Monthly view calendar

If using the Monthly view calendar, follow these steps:

 

  1. Log in to the extranet and select the ‘Calendar & Pricing’ or ‘Rates & Availability’ tab.
  2. To the top-left side, click on the room or unit you’d like to update.
  3. To the right-hand side, choose the desired dates from ‘Start date’ to ‘End date’, or by selecting the period directly in the calendar.
  4. Under ‘Open or close for bookings’, click on either ‘Open’ or ‘Closed’, then ‘Save’ when you’re done.
  • If you choose ‘Open’, the field turns green and the room is bookable for that period. 
  • If you choose ‘Close’, the field turns red and the room is no longer bookable.