Making changes to rooms or units

Updated 2 months ago
Save

You can make changes such as adding, opening, closing and deleting rooms or units displayed on your property page, and set the room availability in the extranet. It’s important that you keep this information up to date to maximise your property’s visibility while avoiding overbookings.


What’s in this article


Adding a room or unit to your property

Here’s how to add a new room or unit to your property on our platform:

  1. Log in to the extranet
  2. Click on Property and then click on Room details or Property layout
  3. Click on Create a new room, Create a new apartment or Create a new property
  4. Enter the details of the new room or unit and then click on Continue
  5. Under your new room or unit, click on Upload photos or the camera icon and select photos to add

We’ll add your new room or unit to your property page right away. Before travellers can book it, you’ll need to open it for bookings using the instructions in the next part of this article.


Opening or closing a room or unit for bookings

Depending on the kind of calendar view you use in the extranet, you can open or close a room or unit for travellers to book on specific dates. Reference the images below to understand the different calendar views, click on the drop-down box that displays the name of the view you’re currently using and then click on the view you want to switch to.

List view calendarMonthly view calendar
new_calendar_list_view_help
new_calendar_monthly_view

 

Using the list view calendar

If you use the list view calendar, here’s how to open or close a room or unit for travellers to book on specific dates:

  1. Log in to the extranet.
  2. Click Rates & Availability or Calendar & Pricing and then on Calendar.
  3. Dates that appear in green are currently open and bookable, and dates that appear in red are currently closed and not bookable. Click on the Room status field for the date and room or unit you want to open or close.
  4. The colour of the field will change when the status is updated. If something is stopping you from opening or closing the room or unit, a popup window will appear containing more details. Follow the instructions in this popup window, then click on Save. The colour of the field will change to confirm that the status has been updated.

You can also use bulk editing to quickly open or close a room or unit for longer periods. Here’s how to do it:

  1. Log in to the extranet
  2. Click Rates & Availability or Calendar & Pricing and then on Calendar
  3. Click on Bulk edit next to the room or unit you want to open or close
  4. Enter the dates you want to open or close the room or unit for
  5. Click on Room status and click on Open room or Close room
  6. Click on Save changes and then click on X to leave the Bulk edit screen

If a room or unit isn’t bookable on a particular date and you want to find out why, check to see which of these labels is displayed in the Room status field on the calendar:

  • Closed – you’ve manually closed this room or unit
  • No inventory – you’ve entered ‘0’ for the number of rooms available to sell
  • Sold out – you’ve sold all of the rooms or units of this type that you loaded
  • Price missing – you haven’t loaded any prices for this room or unit yet
  • Rate closed – all of your Rate Plans are closed or inactive
  • Multiple blockers – a combination of these issues is stopping your room or unit from being bookable

To quickly resolve these issues and make your room or unit open and bookable again, click on the Room status field to open a popup window with more information.

 

Using the monthly view calendar

Here’s how to open a room or unit for travellers to book if you use the monthly view calendar:

  1. Log in to the extranet.
  2. Click Rates & Availability or Calendar & Pricing and then on Calendar.
  3. In the drop-down box, click on room or unit you want to open or close.
  4. Select the dates you want to open and close this room or unit for, either by dragging the two three-lined icons on the calendar itself or by entering the dates into the Start date and End date fields.
  5. Under Open or close for bookings, click on Open or Closed.
  6. Click on Save

The dates you selected will turn green on the calendar to confirm they are now open and bookable, or red to confirm they are now closed and not bookable.


Deleting a room or unit from your property

If you've made changes to your property and some of your rooms or units are no longer available to book, you can delete them from our platform. What you need to do depends on whether or not you have any upcoming reservations for this room or unit.

Here’s how to delete a room or unit if you don’t have any upcoming reservations for it:

  1. Log in to the extranet
  2. Click on Property and then click on Room details or Property layout
  3. Under the room or unit you want to remove, click on Delete
  4. In the popup window, click on OK

If there are upcoming reservations for the room or unit you want to remove, you will not have the Delete option, only Edit or Upload photos. You won’t be able to permanently delete the room or unit until those reservations have been fulfilled and the guests checked out. 

 

In order to block (future) reservations, you must remove all availability for that room type via the Calendar until you can also delete the room type. Here’s what to do to make sure you don’t receive any more bookings for this room or unit: 

  1. Log in to the extranet.
  2. Click Rates & Availability or Calendar & Pricing and then on Calendar.
  3. If you’re not already using the list view calendar, switch to it by clicking on the drop-down box that displays the name of the view you’re currently using and then click on List view.
  4. Click on Bulk edit next to the room or unit you want to close.
  5. In the From field enter today’s date, and in the Up to and including field enter a date that’s at least a few days after the last check-out date for the upcoming reservations for this room or unit.
  6. Click on Room status and click on Close room.
  7. Click on Save changes and then click on X to leave the Bulk edit screen.

Once all of your upcoming reservations for this room or unit have been completed, you can permanently delete the room or unit by following steps mentioned above.

If you need to immediately and permanently delete a room or unit even though you have upcoming reservations for it, those reservations will remain active and you’ll need to accommodate those guests in a room or unit of the same standard. This will help you to make sure your guests have a good experience during their stay, and it usually means you’ll receive better reviews from those guests.

Have you created a room/unit type by mistake or it has been duplicated by mistake, hence a reservation cannot be fulfilled? You’ll need to connect with your guests to inform them about the mistake and propose an alternative solution, a suggestion would be to approach this as you would an overbooking

Is this article helpful?