1
Answered Answered

Post COVID discounts from booking.com are overstepping

Good morning I have already spoken to the contact center for partners regarding this matter, which I summarize briefly. Yesterday I received a private request for a quote from a customer, so I proposed my direct booking rate. The customer then informs me that on booking.com he found a rate at 1 € lower than my proposal (95 €), at the moment I thought it was impossible for the following reason. My room for quadruple use has a rate of € 110 and a discount on weekends of up to 10 /% on mobile (therefore € 99) and a maximum of an additional last minute discount of € 5 (but yesterday was Monday and the booking it was Saturday so impossible). In addition to making a bad impression of submitting a higher rate for direct booking, I clearly had to make an even lower price (90 €) to the customer, who, not being stupid, points out to me that your markup is 15% and that neither he nor I earn by booking on booking.com. Having said that, I am aware that in reality it is a price that I am willing to pay € 4 in order not to waste 3 quarters of an hour of my life to book a customer, but obviously a customer who knows that he can get even only € 5 discount, it doesn't even stop in front of our lord Jesus Christ. I get to the point of the problem, yours totally discretionary discounts even if out of your pocket it is EXTREMELY DAMAGING for the image of structures like mine that develop a relationship of trust with the customer. Who no longer knows who to trust. But the worst thing is that you do the math in our pockets, as much as I can appreciate the visibility that booking.com offers me, I will never give up the tariff sovereignty of my structure. IN THE BEST OF ASSUMPTIONS, I need to be constantly aware of the proposed offers and when they click to have total control over MY property. I hope I have been clear enough.


user avatar image
B.
Claire - Accou… 1 month ago

Hello Locanda Agnella,

 

Thank you for your message. I see that you have already spoken to the Booking.com team in regards to these pricing concerns you have, as per your message.

 

If you believe Booking.com still continues to display rates that you do not think are correct, kindly give the team a call again so they can get to the source of the issue so that the error does not occur again. If you have a particular reservation that was affected, provide this to the team so they can investigate. 

 

You can give them a call via your extranet under Inbox > Booking.com messages. From here you will either see a ‘Contact Us’ button or ‘See Contact Options’  then under contact us select the relevant topic > Other > then click ‘See all contact Options > Call.

 

 

Kindly note that your extranet is the best place to seek help as your inquiry will go to a specific department depending on the topic you choose when you send a message.

 

 

Kind regards,

Claire

 

1
Locanda Agnella 1 month ago

Dear Claire

Even tho i've spoked with the contact center, i'm still very concerned that Booking.com can arbitrarily modify my prices to random customers, which they still call me to obtain better prices, because they know booking.com asks a commission.

This is a cause not only of constant needing of answering the phone with customers, which makes me lose a lot of time, but is also very bad publicity for my Inn. Please inform partners about your discount, so we can behave accordingly to customers.