Setting up a Genius Business rate

Updated 3 weeks ago | 3 min read
Save

Genius Business is an advanced targeting tool within the Genius program. It lets you offer a special rate exclusively to Genius guests who are traveling for business. This helps make your property more attractive to Genius business travelers.

You can turn Genius Business on or off anytime, and there’s no waiting period for reactivating Genius Business if you temporarily opt out.  


In this article

 


How Genius Business works

Only Genius guests who are traveling for work get the Genius Business discount. We make sure that guests traveling for leisure aren’t included. For example, guests booking weekend-only stays or traveling with children won’t see these special rates.

In addition to the standard Genius discount of 10%, a Genius Business rate lets you offer an extra discount of at least 5% (making the minimum total discount 15%) and choose which rooms to apply it to. Some properties apply Genius Business to all rooms to reach maximum occupancy, while others only use it for their more expensive rooms.


How to set up a Genius Business rate

Follow these steps to set up a Genius Business rate:

  1. Log in to the Extranet
  2. Click Opportunities, then Genius partner program
  3. Click Manage your audience
  4. Under Target reliable travelers with a Genius business rate, click Create your rate now
  5. Select the rooms you want apply the Genius Business rate to
  6. Set your Genius Business rate
  7. Click Activate rate plan to complete the set-up

If you don’t see the steps described above on the Extranet, send us a message via the Extranet inbox.


How to deactivate a Genius Business rate

As an active member of the Genius program, you can block out Genius-related discounts and offers for up to 30 days per year. For those dates, all your Genius discounts will be turned off and your regular rates will be available. This includes Genius Business discounts. There are no additional or separate block-out days available for Genius Business.

Genius Business discounts stay active for as long as you want them to. You can choose to activate or deactivate them anytime, without this affecting your participation in the overall Genius program. However, if you leave the Genius program, you won’t be able to use Genius Business.

Here’s how to deactivate a Genius Business rate:

  1. Log in to the Extranet
  2. Click Opportunities, then Genius partner program
  3. Click Manage your audience
  4. Under Your Genius business rate, click the drop-down menu next to Edit
  5. Click Stop to deactivate your Genius Business rate

To learn more about attracting business guests who spend more, cancel less, and travel off-peak, visit our Genius business Solutions page.

What do you think of this page?