What is Genius Business?

Genius Business is an advanced targeting tool within the Genius program. It lets you offer a special rate exclusively to Genius guests who are traveling for business.

In addition to the standard 10% Genius discount, you offer at least an extra 5% (minimum 15% total discount) and select the rooms to apply the discount to.

Genius Business can be conveniently turned on or off anytime. Unlike the standard Genius program, there isn’t a waiting period for reactivating Genius Business if you temporarily opt out.


How to sign up for Genius Business

To activate Genius Business, log in to the Extranet and follow these steps:

  1. Click the Opportunities tab.
  2. Select Genius partner program, then Manage your audience.
  3. Under Your Genius business rate, select the discount percentage and which room(s) to apply it to.

If you don’t see this option on the Extranet, contact your local Partner Services team.

Note: You need to be a member of the Genius program to offer a Genius Business discount to guests.

Jump to:


Who gets the Genius Business discount?

Only Genius guests who are traveling for work get the Genius Business discount. We make sure guests traveling for leisure aren’t included. For example, guests booking weekend-only stays or traveling with children won’t see these special rates.

 

How long can I offer Genius Business discounts for?

Genius Business discounts stay active for as long as you want them to. There are no specific end dates or times. You decide when to turn them on or off.

 

Can I block out Genius Business discounts on certain days?

As an active member of the Genius program, you can block out Genius-related discounts and offers for up to 30 days per year. This includes Genius Business discounts. There are no additional or separate block-out days available for Genius Business.

 

Which room should I apply the discounted rate to?

You select which room(s) to discount based on your needs. Some properties apply Genius Business to all rooms in order to reach maximum occupancy. Others only use Genius Business for their more expensive rooms.

 

Is there a penalty if I deactivate Genius Business?

You can activate and deactivate Genius Business whenever you want. Deactivating Genius Business won’t affect your participation in the standard Genius program.

However, if you leave the Genius program, you won’t be able to use Genius Business.

 

How do I deactivate Genius Business?

To deactivate Genius Business, log in to the Extranet and follow these steps:

  1. Click the Opportunities tab.
  2. Select Genius partner program, then Manage your audience.
  3. Under Your Genius business rate, click the drop-down box next to Edit.
  4. Select Stop to deactivate Genius Business.