How to add, open, close, and delete rooms or units

Updated 3 weeks ago
Save

You can make changes to the different rooms and units displayed on your property page—and set their availability—on the Extranet. It’s important to keep this info up to date to both maximize your property’s visibility and prevent double-bookings.

In this article

1. How to add a room or unit to your property

2. How to open or close a room or unit for bookings

3. How to delete a room or unit from your property  


1. How to add a room or unit to your property

Here’s how to add a new room or unit to your property on our platform:

  1. Log in to the Extranet
  2. Click Property, then Room details or Property layout
  3. Click Create a new room, Create a new apartment, or Create a new property
  4. Enter the details of the new room or unit, then click Continue
  5. Under your new room or unit, click Upload photos or the camera icon and select photos to add

We’ll add your new room or unit to your property page right away. Before travelers can book it, you’ll need to open it for bookings using the instructions in the next part of this article.

 


2. How to open or close a room or unit for bookings

This depends on the kind of calendar view you use on the Extranet. If you’re not sure which one you use, take a look at the screenshots below and follow the instructions that match what you see on the Extranet.

To switch between views, click the drop-down box that displays the name of the view you use, then click the view you want to switch to.

List view calendar Monthly view calendar
Image
new_calendar_list_view_help
Image
new_calendar_monthly_view

 

2.1. How to open or close a room or unit using the list view calendar

If you use the list view calendar, here’s how to open or close a room or unit for travelers to book specific dates:

  1. Log in to the Extranet
  2. Click on Rates & Availability, then Calendar
  3. Dates that appear in green are open and bookable, while those that appear in red are currently closed and not bookable. Click the Room status field for the date and room or unit you want to open or close.
  4. The color of the field will change when the status is updated. If something is stopping you from opening or closing the room or unit, a pop-up window will appear with more details. Follow the instructions in this pop-up, then click Save. The color of the field will change to confirm that the status was updated.

You can also use bulk editing to quickly open or close a room or unit for longer periods. Here’s how:

  1. Log in to the Extranet
  2. Click on Rates & Availability, then Calendar
  3. Click Bulk edit next to the room or unit you want to open or close
  4. Enter the dates you want to open or close the room or unit for
  5. Click Room status, then Open room or Close room
  6. Click Save changes, then X to leave the Bulk edit screen

If a room or unit isn’t bookable on a particular date and you want to find out why, check which of these labels is displayed in the Room status field on the calendar:

  • Closed – you manually closed this room or unit
  • No inventory – you entered “0” for the number of rooms available to sell
  • Sold out – you sold all the rooms or units of this type that you have loaded
  • Price missing – you haven’t loaded any prices for this room or unit yet
  • Rate closed – all your Rate Plans are closed or inactive
  • Multiple blockers – a combination of these issues is stopping your room or unit from being bookable

To quickly resolve these issues and make your room or unit open and bookable again, click the Room status field to open a pop-up window with more info.

2.2. How to open or close a room or unit using the monthly view calendar

Here’s how to open a room or unit for travelers to book if you use the monthly view calendar:

  1. Log in to the Extranet
  2. Click on Rates & Availability, then Calendar
  3. In the drop-down box, click the room or unit you want to open or close
  4. Select the dates you want to open and close this room or unit, either by dragging the two three-lined icons on the calendar itself or by entering the dates into the Start date and End date fields
  5. Under Open or close for bookings, click Open or Closed
  6. Click Save The dates you selected will turn green on the calendar to confirm they’re now open and bookable or red to indicate they’re now closed and not bookable.

 


3. How to delete a room or unit from your property

If you made changes to your property and some of your rooms or units are no longer available to book, you can delete them from our platform. What you need to do depends on whether or not you have any upcoming reservations for this room or unit.

3.1. How to delete a room or unit if there aren’t any upcoming reservations for it

Here’s how to delete a room or unit if you don’t have any upcoming reservations for it:

  1. Log in to the Extranet
  2. Click Property, then Room details or Property layout
  3. Under the room or unit you want to remove, click Delete
  4. In the pop-up window, click Okay

3.2. How to delete a room or unit if it has upcoming reservations

If there are upcoming reservations for the room or unit you want to remove, you won’t be able to permanently delete it until those reservations have been completed. In the meantime, here’s what to do to make sure you don’t receive any more bookings for this room or unit:

  1. Log in to the Extranet
  2. Click on Rates & Availability, then Calendar
  3. If you’re not already using the list view calendar, switch to it by clicking on the drop-down box that displays the name of the view you’re currently using, then click List view
  4. Click Bulk edit next to the room or unit you want to close
  5. In the From field, enter today’s date. In the Up to and including field, enter a date that’s at least a few days after the last check-out date for the upcoming reservations for this room or unit
  6. Click Room status, then Close room
  7. Click Save changes, then X to leave the Bulk edit screen

Once all your upcoming reservations for this room or unit have been completed, you can permanently delete the room or unit by following steps in the How to delete a room or unit if there aren’t any upcoming reservations for it section above.

If you need to immediately and permanently delete a room or unit even though you have upcoming reservations for it, those reservations will remain active and you’ll have to accommodate those guests in a room or unit of the same standard. This will help to ensure your guests have a good experience during their stay, which usually results in better reviews from those guests.

What do you think of this page?